Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

JW
Judith W.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/17/2020
Quiet old beast. Still pleasant to drive.
This car is old, a 2006. It has been very reliable, has lots of power and is quiet. It's a little hard on gas compared with newer cars and I wish it had a backup camera, I nearly traded it a couple of years ago and am glad I didn't.

Pros
Comfortable, even on long trips, quiet, lots of power. Very reliable.

Cons
Harder on gas than new cars. No backup camera.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SG
Steven G.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/21/2020
2006 Sonata
Huge Mistake !!!!!!...If you dont own one, Buy one today,I have had mine for 14 years,(268,000), miles .and have taught 3 sons to drive while owning it, and it still runs great,very reliable,and the ride is very smooth and economical

Pros
Paid for and still going at 268,000 miles

Cons
I want a 2021,but cant afford one,at this time

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
M S.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/15/2020
Great car
I have had this car for about 10 years now. This car has not given me any major issues until more recently. This is expected with wear and tear over the years. I will definitely invest money to repair the faults and this car should continue to see the road for 4+ years. Knowing that this car will not last forever, I already started looking for my next car purchase. I will be buying another Sonata. There 2020 model looks very sharp.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LS
Linda Or S.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/23/2020
She is old, and not the prettiest, but I still rely on her.
Bought the 2006 Sonata brand new, she still runs good, yet her age and mileage, she sometimes becomes costly. I always joke with the Service Manager that if it looks like it is going to cost more than possible trade in, let me know. So far the Sonata comes lower. Only problem I have noticed that like a lot of 2006 Sonata surveys, is the paint starts to peel on Trunk Lid really bad and front of Hood. I am on my 4th Hyundai vehicle, my last being a 2018 Santa Fe.

Pros
Very reliable for an old car, still runs great and is not a gas burner.

Cons
Paint on Hood and Trunk peel really bad.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
Maria S.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/09/2020
2006 Hyundai Sonata
This car has been the best I have owned, reliable and trustworthy. I have taken care of it as recommended and only have been stuck on the road because of flat tires. I have had German cars, American cars, and this one has been the best.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RA
Robert A.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/29/2020
It was a banner year for me.
The 2006 Sonata was when I suddenly took notice of Hyundai's models. I was not attracted to their lines; nor the quality of the make. But 2006 they suddenly got sexy looking. Inside was leather seats, sun roof, heated seats, heated side mirrors, 6 CD player with a incredible sound system, 17 inch rims, 3.3 liter V6 power, etc. So much car with a price tag that seemed to not add up correctly...and leaning very much towards my favor. It drives solid. Runs smoothly. And still after 14 years, gives this owner confidence when traveling. The sexy lines have continued. And I'm sure all the newer models are superb outside and in. But for now, my fun with this one has not ended. I'm done talking. Go talk to my two sons if you need to hear more. Both have 2012 versions. One has a Santa Fe; while the other drives an accent.

Pros
Strong poiwer. Comfortable ride. Plenty of room. Ideal gas mileage. 8 inch screen. Nice sound system (6 CD player). Heated seats.

Cons
Makes the owner spoiled.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BR
Barbara R.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/29/2020
excellent
Hyundai cars ride well and since I had it I did not have much trouble since I bought it. Hyundai's service department is very reliable and accommodating. very good service. will highly recommend. Very satisfied

Pros
rides well

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

US
Urszula S.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/28/2020
The sonata is a decent car. 14 year old car with limted problems.
Decent car for the money paid 14 year ago. Very few problems but we do keep up on the upkeep pretty much to the book. It is helpful when Armando's sends out reminders about maintenance. My wife brings the car in as I am usually unable to and she is very satisfied with Armando.

Pros
The vehicle was bought new with little or few problems. It was the usual maintenance issues that pop up with an older car but no major expenditures.

Cons
No cons

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
John R.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/12/2020
Best bang for your buck.
Performing the way you expect with very few negative experiences. Enjoy the ride and the ability for the car to ride smoothly and accelerate promptly when you need it. This one of 3 sonata's and each has been outstanding cars. I look forward to my next new Sonata.

Pros
Love it all.

Cons
A great vehicle

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RW
Robert W.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
03/28/2020
Just purchased this vehicle 2 weeks ago and have great expectation of it's performance in the future.
This vehicle has a great representation in this community and that is the reason why I purchased it used and in it's current condition. We shall see over the months to come if it preforms the same as my other Hyundai vehicles.

Pros
Will be able to evaluate it over the next year

Cons
It was not in the best of conditions when I purchased it a few weeks ago.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JL
Jason L.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
03/26/2020
Bought car new
This car has only had oil changed every 6 to 8 thousand miles full sytentic motor oil the motor is a 4 cyclender has 247000 have had no problems not even a check engine light I have found the door latches are prone to break Let her than that I would get in this car and drive around the world 10 out of 10

Pros
The 4 cyclender version can get up 2 40 miles per gallon on highway 80 miles pre on cruze

Cons
Door latches prone to brake

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
Cherry C.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/11/2020
Great car
Have had the car for 14 years and as of now, no major problems. I plan to keep it for many more years. It rides nice, handles easy , the only problem that bothers me is that the trunk lid is awkward to lift up, no easy grip to lift it and is very heavy when it drops with a solid bang.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
JAN W.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/01/2020
Best Car I've Ever Owned
Over 267,000 miles and still going strong! No major repairs have been needed even after the 100,000 mile warranty expired. Zero engine repairs. The automatic window mechanisms did fail. Regular maintenance has been performed, of course.

Pros
Quality, performance, reliability, comfort, good gas mileage, warranty, etc

Cons
Can't think of any.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BM
Brian M.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/07/2020
2006 Sonata
I bought the car about 8 years ago used. All three of my daughters have driven the car over the years, it’s been very dependable. I’ve been very happy with the car. I did just have the passenger airbag fixed . It took a few weeks because the seat was sent to California for reprogramming but it was covered by Hyundai which was great since the car is a 2006. I think it’s great that Hyundai still covered it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GC
George C.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/31/2019
Sold on Hyundai
Our 2006 Sonata is the 5th Hyundai owned by either my wife or I, two Sonatas for my wife and a Tuscon and two Santa Fe's for my business. We love the Hyundai product. The best value out there for the money, in our opinion. All of the vehicles have been purchased at the Stew Hansen dealership where we have always been treated fairly and courteously whether in the sales or service departments.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KC
Kaye C.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/31/2019
Great car.
I could go on forever but great is the best word to cover it all. Handles great. Stands up perfectly after all these years. It is a 2006 model and still looks great and handles well.
I would recommend to anyone who wants a reliable car.

Pros
Best car for cost and service.

Cons
None that I have found.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LC
LARRY C.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/07/2019
2006 Hyundai Sonata
We were so pleased with the reliability and dependability of our 2006 Hyundai Sonata that when we recently were looking for a new car we went to Hyundai first. We purchased a 2019 Hyundai Tucsan. We hope we will enjoy this vehicle as much as we have our Sonata!

Pros
Reliability, dependability, smooth quiet ride.

Cons
Leather seats are slippery and the design of the seat caused me to slide forward in the seat. I had to slide back up in the seat frequently.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Misty M.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/12/2019
Great buy
I love my 2006 Sonata. Every car has a weakness and with this one it is brakes. The brake pads and rotors have to be replaced more often than cars I have had in the past, but this car has been reliable and stylish from the start. At 103K miles I anticipate passing "Sonny Sonata" on to my daughter in a few years.

Pros
Reliable, stylish, fun to drive, great pick-up even with the 4 cylinder engine

Cons
Brakes and rotors need replacing more frequently than the other cars I have previously owned.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NW
Nicole W.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/05/2019
Car review
I have a 2006 Sonata, and I love my Hyundai and I am looking forward to upgrading my car to the SUV Santa Fe. I have had Hyundai since 2004. Never had any major issues and love how it handles the road especially in the snow. My kids have had access to my car and grandkids. It needs cosmetic care due to rough handling but as far as everything else I have no complaints. When taking car in for service prices are about the same as everywhere else.. Love my Hyundai and will not change. I had 2019 rental car a Jetta , but I could not wait to get my car back it wasn't a Hyundai

Pros
Interior features for basic things.. And the six air bags for safety.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TP
Tobias P.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/31/2019
2006 Hyundai Sonata w/ 213,000
My 2006 Hyundai Sonata is still going strong after driving it for over 13 years. Its or family Work Horse for our commute to and from work. It still has the same Horse power as if we just bought the Car brand new. Me and my Wife love it!!! :)
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 291 in total