2006
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5rating 4.82
4.8
(269 Reviews)
Latest review 21 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

RB
Ruby B.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/27/2019
Sonata
I chose to purchase a Sonato after having the opportunity to rent one. I found them to be roomy and quiet. I purchased my Sonata in 2014 used and have not had any major problems with it. This one did not let my judgement form change and when the time comes to replace it, I will look forward to purchasing the latest model.

Pros
Very reliable, roomy, gas saving .

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GE
Gary E.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/16/2019
2006 Hyundai SONATA
This vehicle is the best car we have ever owned. It is 13 years old and still gets 30 miles to the gallon. We have never had any serious mechanical problems with it. We get the oil changed every 3000 miles or so and have most of the scheduled maintenance done. We have 240,000 miles plus on the engine and it is still running great. Hyundai did something right when they made this car. We plan on putting a new engine in it when the time comes and keep on driving it. The styling is timeless and it never looks old to us.

Pros
Reliable always.

Cons
There are none.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MA
Marc A.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/08/2019
Could be the best car I have ever owned!
I have only owned my Hyundai a year and a half. I have been a life long Toyota fan, and up until this time around, they have been my number one choice! My Hyundai is at a close second and steadily rising to the top. We will see in the next year or so. At this moment, it is just excellence on wheels!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MD
Mary D.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/08/2019
Started out as a good car
Low mileage-151,000. 13 years old. Transmission gone and Power steering gone. I was hoping to drive it longer. I usually keep a car for about 15 years and was hoping to drive this one longer than 13 years.

Pros
Started out strong

Cons
Transmission gone at 151,000 miles

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
MATTHEW M.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/26/2019
Got my $$$ Worth
For a car that I've had for 13 yrs. Over 100000 no unexpected issues with the car.. well worth the money i paid. Never broke down. It has plenty of interior room and trunk space. I enjoy the sunroof when weather is nice.

Pros
Safety features 6 airbags. Traction control. Fog lights. Good power V6, highway milage is solid.

Cons
Intown gas milage not good.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CP
Cecil P.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/21/2019
EXCELLENT VEHICLE
The vehicle handles well , good on gas consumption. Its attractive and well built. Besides being a good and affordable vehicle, the primary point for me is the after purchase SERVICE. This is my third Sonata , my testimonial.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JK
Joann K.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/20/2019
Don't know what this means?
I love my 2006 Hyundai Sonata!!!
I have had 9 previous cars and the
Sonata was my first foreign car.
I never had any issues until my check engine light came on and
now it is time for a newer car.

Pros
I love my car.

Cons
City mileage could have been better.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LR
Linda R.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/17/2019
Vehicle review
I have been very pleased with my Hyundai Sonata. No major problems. Keeping it maintained has always been a priority in my book. I definitely would recommend this make and model to everyone. Love my car overall.

Pros
Love my car overall

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
Jan C.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/13/2019
Reliable comfortable that attractive
Reliable comfortable that attractive. I have had my car for 13 years and it runs like a champ. The only thing I don’t like about it is the paint that is starting to peel. The motor has been very reliable

Pros
Reliability comfort and style and price

Cons
Poor quality paint job. Should not be peeling all over the car without having dents chips etc causing the paint to peel

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Michael M.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/10/2019
Love My 2006 Hyundai Sonata!
Yes, I've had my 2006 Hyundai Sonata for 13 years now and it has been one of the best cars that I have ever owned...I've taken it in for service checks every six months and have had no problems whatsoever.....It is a very sturdy car....very well made....excellent quality....great design and model....I have always felt very safe and secure due to its excellent quality!

Pros
Everything as mentioned in my review and ratings!

Cons
None!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KS
Karen S.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
03/31/2019
Great car initially but......
Premature failure of transmission with no clues, noise, or slipping, nothing, it just quit working properly. Otherwise vehicle has only had issues with seat belt light and sensors in the seats, door panel control switches.

Pros
Great vehicle, that I expected to run 250 to 300,000 miles as I believe in maintenance of my vehicle.

Cons
Premature failure of transmission, continued seat belt light issues, door and window control panel failures.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HC
Harry C.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/27/2019
Darn Good Vehicle.
I drive a 2006 Sonata with 422,000 plus miles on it and have never experienced any major failures. The only negative I have about the Sonata product is the unavailability of the 6 cylinder engine. There is not much else to say, this is an excellent vehicle.

Pros
Everything

Cons
Nothing

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
Maria S.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/26/2019
2006 Hyundai Sonata
With 170,000 miles on board this car has been one of the most reliable and comfortable I have ever owned. The recalls were honored by the dealer as well as all maintenance repairs within the warranty. Totally recommend both Lehman and Hyundai!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GE
Gary E.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/19/2019
Best car we ever owned.
We had a rough time buying our Hyundai at Bronco Motors in 2006. The salesman was less than professional and kept us there all day even when we kept telling him we lived in Garden Valley and our dog was inside our home and we had to get back to him to let him out. He was not an asset to your company, I can assure you. Even when we had an ad from the newspaper saying Bronco Motors would sell this car for a certain price, he refused to even consider letting us buy it for that price. We should have walked away then, but wanted the car so badly and had waited so long already. To make a long story shorter, we did buy the car and have had it for over 12 years. The absolute best car we ever owned! It has almost 250,000 miles on it and still runs like a charm. We have always gotten great service from Bronco Motors and have tried to keep up on all maintenance. We will probably keep this car until it just won't run anymore. It may outlast us, who knows. Great service professionals at this business!!

Pros
Great styling, never looks like an older car, it is like the energizer bunny; it just keeps on going. Fun and safe to drive. It always starts the first time we try to start it even after 12 years. Keep making them like this, Hyundai!!

Cons
Could use a outside temp gauge, seats can become uncomfortable on long rides, and visors have been a problem.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LR
Linda R.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/02/2019
Hyundai Sonata
My Hyundai Sonata has been an exceptionally great car. I am very pleased with it. Even with the high mileage I have never had any major problems. Would definitely buy another Hyundai Sonata in the future.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DW
Donald W.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/22/2019
Veary satisfied
I always get the VIP treatment, I don't think it has anything to do with the fact that I always bring Louis Bakery Cookies! The girls are real nice and friendly, I will bring two dozen cookie next time.

Pros
Every thing is Wonderful!

Cons
None!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TC
Thomas C.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/21/2019
Best vehicle I've owned
I bought my Sonata new in 2006 and have put on about 185,000 miles since then. During that time I've only had a couple of major repairs, the rest has been standard maintenance (oil changes, tires, batteries, brakes, etc.) It's still running great.

Pros
My Sonata has been vert reliable and performs well. At the time I bought it, it was much less expensive than the competition. Great value for the money.

Cons
The only issue I had originally was that the ratcheting mechanism for the driver's side visor broke about three times in the first few years I owned the vehicle. Otherwise, no cons that I can think of.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BL
Brenda L.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/17/2019
A Great Car
I purchased the 2006 Hyundai Sonata new, no main problems would purchase again and recommend this car to all. Over the years with regular maintenance, I had no issues. I love the color, gas miles used when traveling.

Pros
quality built and reliable

Cons
price is not always quality

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
Joyce B.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/04/2018
Sonata
I have already made a comment. I wrote a whole box about my Hyundai and do not feel like doing it again. Please this is very annoying. I love my 12 year old Hyundai and had 2 other hyundais before this.

Pros
My Sonata is 12 years old and this is my third Hyundai. It is still rated a 10 in most areas even though it is old. People have remarked that my car does not look that old. I have had compliments on the comfort and the performance of my Sonata. People have said they could hardly hear it running it is so quiet.

Cons
I can't afford a new one.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Jeannie M.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/23/2018
2006 Hyundai Sonata
I've had my 2006 Sonata for 12 years and rarely had anything major wrong with it. Has been a good reliable car!! May be looking for another one in the new year if I can find a 6 cylinder. Might even look into a small SUV from Hyundai.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 269 in total