2008
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(181 Reviews)
Latest review 12 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

DO
Diana O.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/08/2019
Diana
The car handles great. It drives so smooth. We have a Limited with the special rear view mirror which is great. The car looks great. Especially love the V6 engine. I won’t settle for less than a V6 on my next sedan.

Pros
V6, special wheels, leather seats, how the car handles.

Cons
No heated steering wheel.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BB
Brenda B.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/12/2019
Great Customer Care !
Thank you for such great care of our car ! Your team is outstanding, as always ! Colleen is, "our gal", and the service manager of the express lane took great care of us also. We will continue to get our cars serviced at The Fox !

Pros
Great service, thank you !

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BE
Barbara E.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/11/2018
My Favorite Car
Because I think of my Sonata as being the most comfortable car I've owned, I don't want to replace it. Regardless of the season, it works well, and during warm or cool weather it's pleasant to drive.

Pros
The characteristics I have enjoyed for years are listed above.

Cons
I haven't thought of any.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NC
Nicholas C.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
12/11/2018
Hyundais are garbage cars and Hyundai Motor Company will charge you for every OEM issue
Needs new trans after 10 years-NO aid. 2 engine rebuilds, battery drain, cooling system leaks, check engine after leaks fixed. A/C compressor, visor, cup holder, change drawer,console latch all broke.

Pros
Good gas mileage ~30 highway/25 city
Comfortable
Roomy
Big trunk

Cons
Unreliable
HORRIBLE in rain or snow - skids and hydroplanes if it rained four hours ago
EXTREMELY EXPENSIVE to maintain
Parts break often and catastrophically
Hyundai corporate delivers ZERO customer service - except 'servicing' my bank account
No Bluetooth or Aux port
Radio head unit has poor reception
Side view mirrors are solid build not collapsible - I had TWO snapped off in parking lots
Rear seats don't fold flat so you can't transport anything large
Donut instead of full size spare
The "driver door open" ping is SO ANNOYING

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BL
Bruce L.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/06/2018
2008 Sonata
Bought this car used in 2010. Has performed very well. Reliable, great gas mileage. Limited edition with leather seats very comfortable ride. Low maintenance compared to other cars I have owned. Plan on keeping this car for a while longer.

Pros
Very reliable car with normal maintenance.

Cons
None so far.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LG
Linda G.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/30/2018
Best car.
Excellent in every aspect. This car is reliable and easy to drive. Is very economical on gas and very comfortable both front and back. Very large trunk and the look of the car is very easy on the eyes. I love the color.

Pros
Excellent all around

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RV
Ronda V.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/28/2018
Sonata
I have a 2008 Hyundia Sonata and the car is a beast! Besides regular maintenance, I have not had any problems with the car! It is awesome in the snow! And would buy another without hesitation! Live the car!

Pros
Everything about the car! Handles great in the snow. Awesome gas mileage.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PW
Paul W.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/27/2018
Excellent
Has been a good reliable rehicke. The mileage is good. We bought a Santa Fe at the same time and have been pleased with both vehicles. Would recommend the vehicle for mileage and and reliability. Would purchase a newer version of the vehicle.

Pros
Reliable

Cons
Parts are expensive

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

YC
Yunsuk C.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/13/2018
The Most Reliable Car - Hyundai Sonata
I have driven a Hyundai Sonata for more than 10 years without having any problem.
Of course it has scratches and dents mostly caused by my lack of driving skills. The first scratches were made when I parked the car in the street. .....10 years later, my Sonata still looks cute and runs well.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PJ
Patricia J.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/11/2018
Love Hyundai
Bought our Sonata used with 121,000 miles. Three months after purchase we headed to Albuquerque and had no worries at all about car problems. Best car yet!
Definitely will be in Greenville Hyundai for our next vehicle.

Pros
Almost everything!

Cons
Need electric seat on passenger side in front.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TG
Thomas G.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/04/2018
2008 Hyundai Sonata
I wish this car would last forever. I love it. The newer models are uglier, so I'm glad I have the beautiful 2008. Only complaints are that I can't kill the incessant beeping before I buckle my seatbelt and no one claims responsibility for the woefully inadequate Sirius/XM screen display which covers only 2/3 of the screen with a way too large character font. But that's it. All else is great.

Pros
Performance, styling, comfort, value.

Cons
Seatbelt beeper, Sirius/XM screen display.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KG
Karen G.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/25/2018
The BEST Car we ever had!!!!
We loved our 2008 Hyundai Sonata! It was the most reliable car ever. However, after 10 years and 275 thousand miles, it was time for a change. So we bought a 2018 Hyundai Sonata. We only hope our new Sonata is as reliable as our last one!

Pros
10 Years and 275 Thousand Miles...nuff said!!!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Mary B.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/21/2018
2008 Hyundai Sonata GLS
Purchased the Sonata New in November 2007. Now has 91,500 miles on it. Has been an excellent reliable comfortable drive. All it needs is 4 weel drive and higher ground clearance for more off road adventures. Perhaps I should have purchased a off road Hyundai?
But this Sonata with 4 cyl. engine gets 32-37 M.P.G.! Which helps my budget a lot. Has excellent Cold air conditioning. Has never needed A.C. service.

Pros
Same as above

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VB
Verdell B.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/30/2018
Sonata is tops with us. We love it.
Twice we rented a Hyundai Sonata for trips to other western states. We enjoyed the cars so much that we just had to have our own. Our vehicle has been very reliable and we have really enjoyed it. We bought it from Murdock Hyundai in Linden, Utah. It has been back for service and frequent car washes. It is always a good experience to return to the dealership. We have been treated royally and will certainly stay with this dealership when we need another vehicle.

Pros
smooth ride, quiet operation, reliable and comfortable.

Cons
AM radio only works intermittently.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TY
TERRY Y.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/13/2018
Just a great solid little car!!!
I bought this car used! Runs flawlessly. Easy on gas, high on quality! Would buy another without hesitation!
The car had 91,000. Miles when I bought it! It now has a little over 114,000. I have been very pleased overall!

Pros
High quality!!!!

Cons
4- cylinder is sometimes a little underpowered. Auto-settings on AC System could be better.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FO
Frank O.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/28/2018
10 1/2-year-old car
I've had my sonata for 10 1/2 years it's the best car I ever bought still looks brand new I've really had no problems with that car change the battery Change the tires change the belt when she'll wipers and that's it great car
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KB
Kevin B.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/23/2018
2018 Sonata
I bought my Sonata in October and absolutely love it. It is very easy to handle and the inside has plenty of room and is very comfortable. It is quiet when driving, built very well. Love the style and the color I chose.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JX
Jianping X.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/11/2018
Good Sonota.
My second hand 2008 Sonata, I am the second owner so far, it is OK, changed wheel bearing, brakes, wash the transfusion fluid...... Right now, only the both visor drop and I need to fix both of them when I am free.

Pros
better than Nissan versa, sentra

Cons
both visor need update

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KB
Karen B.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/27/2018
My Hyundai
I really like my car hardly any major repairs have almost 100,000 runs great. I actually inherited from my Mom. She bought Hyundai vehicles for the past 20 years, I have enjoyed this car like I said no major problems Good running car.

Pros
Love it

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LG
Linda G.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/23/2018
My 2008 Hyundai Sonata is my pride and joy.
I drove a Hyundai Sonata for the first time in 2006 when I rented a vehicle. I enjoyed the vehicle so much that I kept it for a month. When I was ready to purchase a vehicle, I went looking not just for a Hyundai Sonata, but for the exact make, model and color of the car that I had rented that I enjoyed so much. Being new to Texas at that time I needed to learn my way around before I would purchase a car. I found the exact car in new condition, never owned, but the dealership was out of my comfort zone. So I had to find a dealership in the area that I was most familiar with and did so at Allen Samuels Dodge, Jeep, Hyundai now AutoNation Hyundai. I purchased a Hyundai and have loved it since acquiring.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 21 - 40 of 181 in total