2008
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(182 Reviews)
Latest review almost 2 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

LG
Linda G.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/23/2018
My 2008 Hyundai Sonata is my pride and joy.
I drove a Hyundai Sonata for the first time in 2006 when I rented a vehicle. I enjoyed the vehicle so much that I kept it for a month. When I was ready to purchase a vehicle, I went looking not just for a Hyundai Sonata, but for the exact make, model and color of the car that I had rented that I enjoyed so much. Being new to Texas at that time I needed to learn my way around before I would purchase a car. I found the exact car in new condition, never owned, but the dealership was out of my comfort zone. So I had to find a dealership in the area that I was most familiar with and did so at Allen Samuels Dodge, Jeep, Hyundai now AutoNation Hyundai. I purchased a Hyundai and have loved it since acquiring.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HH
Harold H.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/16/2018
Great car
Even though it is a 2008, it only has a little over 53,000 miles on it. Most of those miles were going to grandkids events.
I taught 3 grandchildren to drive in it and they took their tests in it. I get good gas mileage on it, even though most trips are short.

Pros
It has been reliable and still looks in style.

Cons
I wish it had some of the new safety features but they weren’t available then.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ME
Mack E.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/04/2018
my hyundai
My Sonata is the best and most reliable car that have owned and driven in the past 60 years among many makes and models that I have driven, the only parts that I had to replace during the past 10 years that I owned this car are a battery and a set of tires. If I need to buy a new car it will be another Hyundai.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
Deb S.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/02/2018
Best car ever
Love my 2008 Sonata. Have 170K miles. Have only done suggested maintenance and tires. No issues with this car. I’ve owned Honda and Camry and will stick with Hyundai. Great customer service too.

Pros
Reliability

Cons
Can’t think of any

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FJ
Franklin J.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/29/2018
Oldie but goodie
When we bought our 2008 Sonata, it was July 2010 and the car had about 30,000 miles on it. We thought we’d get 5 years out of it before trading it in, because we don’t like to get stranded, and we don’t like the depreciation of a new car. Currently we have about 140,000 miles on it, and while making “normal” repairs and consistent maintenance, it’s still cost us less than $100 per month and nothing serious has happened to us.

Pros
Reliable beyond expectations.’
Folding rear seat backs turn it into a mini-truck.
Fairly quiet most the time.
The fabric seat covers are incredible for wear!

Cons
Don’t much like the 4-speed auto tranny.
The switches on the drivers door need “exercise” or they’ll quit.
Not as much power as I’d like.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SD
STEVE D.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/20/2018
Professionalism & Integrity - Both Of Which Are Becoming Rare
Kevin was very courteous, informative and professional. We've found that to be the the case with the entire staff since we started using All Tire. This is definitely one place you can go to where they'll level with you and you'll get quality work done.

Pros
Very reliable and easy handling car. I love it!

Cons
I really can't think of any except the usual cons when you get close to 100,000 miles - which many of you may not intend too... even at that mileage it performs well considering. This car can last a long time if it's taken care of properly.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DH
DEANNA H.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
03/10/2018
Sonota 2008
Overall it's been a good car, good gas mileage. There are some issues that I'm upset about the biggest being that my car needs valve covers for the third time! This is an expensive repair, runs about $700.00. The first two replacements were done at Hyundai service centers. The last replacement was 2-3 years ago, I really think these should last longer than that! Hyundai needs to stand up admit there is a design flaw and take care of the problem! The second issue is the sun visors. They will not stay up or down pushed against the window so can have a clear view. They hang straight down which obstructs vision and when getting into car, you hit your head on them. I have tried Velcro, several different types, this will not hold them in place. Finally I put plate hangers on the visors and pinned them to car top to hold them up. I looked into replacing the visors but they are over $200.00 each and from what I've read, the new ones will be just like the old ones within 6 months. The last issue I'm having is electrical, there various issues with this everything from driver seat adjustment does not work correctly to seatbelt light doesn't work correctly.

Pros
Good gas mileage
Comfortable ride

Cons
Valve cover issue,
Sun visor issue
Electrical issues

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RH
Richard H.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
03/05/2018
Purchase/Install two fog lamps.
It has been very reliable with my only complaint the excessive wind noise-barely hear the radio. The suspension has been somewhat weak with the front bouncing when going over small changes in roads. I have not regretted purchasing the vehicle, but believe I should have purchased one without a sunroof.

Pros
Very reliable, the design is not that different from autos newer and more expensive

Cons
Wind noise.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HS
Howard S.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/02/2018
Love it!
Excellent car for the, value and low maintenance on upkeep. Has the power, 6 cylinder, for that get up and go along with sustained power for the long haul. And very comfortable, with plenty of room for those long trips.

Pros
All around excellent vehicle for short and long trips.

Cons
The only problem was that the brakes lasted 121,300. miles on the original set!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
Davood S.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/15/2018
Don’t know what to put down in here
I am extremely happy with my sonata; with such a high mileage still runs like a new car and had never put me down. I am so proud of it! It is very reliable car and drives very smoothly and comfortably.

Pros
Great car overall

Cons
Sun visors are not good quality. I had to replace the driver side and passenger side is now not functioning right and is getting loose and doesn’t hold in place.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LG
Linda G.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/30/2018
Best car ever owned.
My Hyudai Sonata is the best car I ever owned. Comfortable, great in gas and excellent handling. Styling is beautiful and great overall performance. Plenty of space and comfort not only for the driver but also for the passengers.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PB
Patricia B.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/26/2018
An oldie but a goodie!
Although I have had this car for over 10 years and it has very low mileage, it has been a real workhorse. Just normal maintenance. Lots of power, and purrs like a baby. Up until my last oil change, there were no leaks or oil usage, but I developed a small leak in the gasket and had it immediately repaired. The only problem I had is that the window cable on the driver's side snapped -after 10 years of hard usage. What a track record!!!

Pros
What a reliable and wonderful car -probably the best I have ever had

Cons
Very poor turning radius and this is the only con

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TM
Terrence M.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/20/2018
Sonata
I actually own two Sonatas. One is a 2008 4 cylinder and the other is a 2009 6 cylinder. They both are low maintenance and drive well. The 4 cylinder gets better gas mileage and works well for around town. The 6 cylinder is nice for traveling with the added power.

Pros
Good value.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JN
James N.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/18/2018
2008 Sonata Limited
This is a solid car with good interior space in front and back. Many optional features are included. The gas mileage is above average for a car in its class. Safety and reliability were important to us and this sedan offers relatively high reliability and safety ratings according to Consumer Reports.

Pros
Feature set. Gas Mileage. Reliability. Leg and head room. Reasonable total cost of ownership. Safety and reliability.

Cons
none that we have identified.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CD
CHARLES D.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/12/2018
You can't wear it out!
As an Uber driver I've had over 2,000 riders, and hit potholes by the hundreds...yes in the hundreds, and it just continues to perform magnificently!! The interior (leather) looks amazing. After seeing the inside no one can believe I've had all those passengers, but it's documented.
At the oil change yesterday the mechanic was impressed with the condition of the transmission fluid for a car going on 150,000 miles!
Hyundai, my hat is off to you; I feel so blessed!

Pros
Even though it's going on 10 years old, it doesn't look dated. The body looks amazing. While it was up in the air on a lift for the oil change yesterday, I was impressed at how Hyundai went the extra mile in design and protection that the average owner never sees.

Cons
Was disappointed that this particular Hyundai Sonata Limited didn't have the sunroof, whereas most did for this model year. After seeing the Azera wish I had bought one, they have every luxury imaginable.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
JEMIR C.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/02/2018
My Best Car
I have a Hyundai 2008 and I tell you best car ever, runs great ,economic in gas, comftorble and it looks great. Never had any problems . Overall I recommend this car to anyone. Service is not that expensive either. This is the best car Hyundai has so far.

Pros
has a lot of space inside and a very big trunk.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TD
Travis D.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/25/2017
Great value for the driver who just wants to drive
I drive a lot of different cars for my job, so looking back at when I bought my Sonata, I definitely made the right choice. While not a very large car, it handles well and is extremely nimble for a car of this class. And the Sonata's roomy interior leaves me plenty of leg room; the clean console design means easily finding the controls and features I need. There's no being crowded by a cluttered console, and no fumbling around with an obtuse layout. I keep up with the recommended maintenance schedule and my Sonata still runs as well as the day I bought it, used, 7 years ago.

Pros
Roomy interior, lots of leg room in front and back
Easy and responsive handling
Neat console design without clutter
Great visibility all around, few blindspots

Cons
Exterior aesthetic isn't anything special
4C engine offers little power for this size car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
Judith H.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/20/2017
staff
allison and terese were excellent and very helpful
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KG
Kathy G.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/18/2017
The key word is reliability
The 2008 Hyundai Sonata has been, despite it's advancing age and mileage, a car that has only needed routine maintenance. In addition it still gives a smooth ride and an average of 36 mpg on the highway - higher than advertised. It is a roomy comfortable sedan. I love it so much I plan on purchasing the current model when I'm ready to buy.

Pros
Reliability, quality, interior design

Cons
exterior is just average for a midsize sedan

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EH
Edward H.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/15/2017
My car has been in service for 10 years
I just got new tires and it rides like new.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 41 - 60 of 182 in total