2008
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(186 Reviews)
Latest review almost 3 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

TD
Travis D.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/25/2017
Great value for the driver who just wants to drive
I drive a lot of different cars for my job, so looking back at when I bought my Sonata, I definitely made the right choice. While not a very large car, it handles well and is extremely nimble for a car of this class. And the Sonata's roomy interior leaves me plenty of leg room; the clean console design means easily finding the controls and features I need. There's no being crowded by a cluttered console, and no fumbling around with an obtuse layout. I keep up with the recommended maintenance schedule and my Sonata still runs as well as the day I bought it, used, 7 years ago.

Pros
Roomy interior, lots of leg room in front and back
Easy and responsive handling
Neat console design without clutter
Great visibility all around, few blindspots

Cons
Exterior aesthetic isn't anything special
4C engine offers little power for this size car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
Judith H.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/20/2017
staff
allison and terese were excellent and very helpful
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KG
Kathy G.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/18/2017
The key word is reliability
The 2008 Hyundai Sonata has been, despite it's advancing age and mileage, a car that has only needed routine maintenance. In addition it still gives a smooth ride and an average of 36 mpg on the highway - higher than advertised. It is a roomy comfortable sedan. I love it so much I plan on purchasing the current model when I'm ready to buy.

Pros
Reliability, quality, interior design

Cons
exterior is just average for a midsize sedan

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EH
Edward H.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/15/2017
My car has been in service for 10 years
I just got new tires and it rides like new.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JA
Janice A.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/12/2017
Satisfied Customer
I love my 2008 Sonata. Everyone comments on the smooth ride and efficient merging capability.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JAMES M.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/08/2017
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Car was purchased new from previous owner of dealership. Car still looks and runs good with 109,000 miles. Fuel mileage is not as good as new Sonata. It is a comfortable, solid car that meets my needs. I will probably trade for new Sonata next fall.

Pros
comfortable, solid car...looks and runs good, dependable

Cons
car has always had a very sensitive accelerator when starting from a stop. Jumps ahead if not careful.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LP
Louise P.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/02/2017
My sonatas 2008
105,000 miles..10 yrs old..the engine and transmission are as quiet as first day I bought it..no breakdown beside changing wipers blades and new battery every 4 yrs and perform required maintenance..thx hyundai
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
John H.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/29/2017
Poor man's Caddy
Have always loved this care. 4th Hyundai

Pros
Loaded

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AJ
Antoine J.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/23/2017
great 2008 hyundai sonata vehicle
Never gave mechanical isssues after 10 yrs of service. Approaching 80k only requires the recommended fixes that will enable it to run the next 80k. Will keep this car no matter if i get a newer car.

Pros
Great dependable and reliable family car

Cons
As it gets older the seats are not as comfortable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JA
James A.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/21/2017
Smart Purchase!
Purchased for teenage son based on safety and reliability.

Pros
Low maintenance!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AB
Andrew B.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/20/2017
Great automobile
I have 180k miles on this vehicle and haven't had to replace anything but wear and tear items. Great auto, great company. An affordable high quality vehicle!!

Pros
Well built, handles well, smooth, quiet interior

Cons
cup holder needs to be larger to accommodate more than one large cup at a time

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SF
Samantha F.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/19/2017
Excellent
Will love to get another ine someday

Pros
Rides smooth

Cons
Warranty should be longer

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LN
Litia N.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/18/2017
Great car
I have no problem since I bought my car except tires. A good car to have. Excellent for road trip

Pros
Everything

Cons
Radio need more features

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TS
Thomas S.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/17/2017
Car Review
Car is just what I need for my life style. This is the 2nd Sonata I have had in a row. Just a good model for the value.

Pros
Just like the car for comfort and style and fuel economy for size of the car

Cons
Nothing

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Mary B.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/15/2017
Excellent Mileage, reliability, comfort, safety features.
Excellent Mileage, reliability, comfort, safety features.

Pros
All of the above.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EH
Edward H.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/02/2017
My car has been in service for 10 years
Best car I ever owned. After 10 years it still has a great ride and performance, no rust.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SL
Susan L.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/28/2017
Great car
I purchased a previously used 2008 Sonata , original everything and it’s stoll going strong. I enjoy everything about the car except the front cup holders. I wish they were in a different location.

Pros
Reliability
Gas mileage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BC
Byron C.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/12/2017
2008 Hyundai sonatA
Very reliable transportation with excellent comfort and mileage pet gallon
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Mary B.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/10/2017
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Purchased new in November 2007. Has been an excellent, economical, safe car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
Mark W.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/10/2017
2008 Sonata
Overall a good reliable vehicle that performs well.

Pros
Comfortable, reliable good performing car.

Cons
Too many recalls.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 61 - 80 of 186 in total