2008
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.84/5Overall Rating 4.84/5Overall Rating 4.84/5Overall Rating 4.84/5rating 4.84
4.8
(177 Reviews)
Latest review over 2 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

FD
Frances D.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/29/2017
The 2008 Hyundai is a very good economy car.
I like the Sonata for the comfort, the good mileage, the quietness of the engine, and the car is so very easy to drive.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CM
Christopher M.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/27/2017
My 2008 Hyundai Sonata
My car is excellent and I have been very happy with it,

Pros
It has been a great car for me to drive.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BL
Bruce L.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/02/2017
Sonata
this vehicle has been the lowest maintenance and most reliable car I have ever owned. Love the styling and comfort.

Pros
Reliable. Low maintenance.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
Stephanie M.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
02/28/2017
Sonota is a nice car
Smooth ride and easy to work on simple things like headlights, etc. Wish the fuel economy was a little better, but wouldn't trade it for an even smaller car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
JEMIR C.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/06/2017
My sonata
I Love my car,had it for 8yrs no problem my best car so far. Great job Hyundai.

Pros
Everything is great with this cat

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
June R.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/03/2017
sonata
I presently own a 2008 Sonata. This is the second one I have owned. All in all I am very pleased with the car. The only comments I would like to share is that I feel the car should have a full size spare tire instead of the tiny donut. Secondly I would suggest Hyundai figure out a way to advise the driver which tire needs air. Showing that the air pressure is low is wonderful but with 4 tires not knowing which one needs air is not very helpful. If they can tell you which door out of 4 is open I would think they could do this. Finally I think they should reconsider the low profile tires. They always look like they are low on air so add that to the confusing tire pressure light and it's a little frustrating. Aside from these three things I am very pleased with the car.

Pros
All in all I like the care.

Cons
The three items I mentioned in my comments.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DV
Dich V.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/30/2016
Owner
Very nice car to own and to drive for pleasure and for work

Pros
Everything

Cons
Leather need to be softer

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GT
Gary T.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/16/2016
Excellent Car
I love my 2008 Hyundai Sonata. It is a great car. Gets wonderful gas mileage. Anything that has been wrong fell prior to the warranty ending at 100,000 miles and was covered. Knock on wood that only a few minor things have happened after the warranty and I still love my car! It has 120,000 miles on it and I expect to get that many more! :) Best decision I ever made was buying this car!

Pros
great gas mileage
comfortable car for everyone inside
smooth ride

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DW
Dottie W.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/14/2016
Hyundai Sonata
I bought my current vehicle for my late husband. I liked the way it looked and the safety features. Since he passed away, I sold all of the other vehicles we owned and kept this car as my main means for travel. I have been please with the performance and mileage this car gives. Since I've bought this car, I'm aware that Hyundai has improved on certain aspects of the newer models, such as installing back up cameras and other safety features. I'm interested in updating in the near future.

Pros
My car is great for the purpose for which I use it.

Cons
My car is an older model, one of the first ones out, but the newer models have more of what I wanted when I got this one.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RC
Ron C.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/10/2016
sonata love
it is the best car i have ever owned , super reliable , good fuel mileage , parts are reasonably priced , the newer models keep getting better in comfort and style !!

Pros
everything is laid out well in easy reach of driver . good quality materials in interior , exterior holding up well . very seldom replace any bulbs

Cons
terrible ride quality very stiff suspension , have to dodge manhole covers , so it wont bump so hard , good hiway car bad in city driving

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HH
Harold H.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/16/2016
Completely satisfied
I taught 3 grandchildren to drive in the car, so have many happy memories of it.

Pros
Dependable

Cons
No complaints

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TS
Terry S.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/08/2016
Love my Hyundai!
I love my Hyundai Sonata. Handles well. Great gas mileage.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
Sharon M.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
11/07/2016
2008 Hyundai Sonata
It's time for another car!!!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RG
Rose G.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/07/2016
Status review
Love, love love my Sonata. Couldn't ask for s better car. I have over 308,000 miles on it and very little maintenance. Hoping to get another Sonata in the new year.

Pros
Extremely reliable

Cons
head lights need replacing frequently

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CM
Charles M.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/28/2016
100893614
8
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SE
Shirley E.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/24/2016
Happiness and a Great Ride
My 2008 Hyundai Sonata has exceeded my expectations. I bought it new at my husbands recommendation. He had done all the Consumer Report research and had bought his in 2007. I was skeptical as I had driven the same Mercedes for 25 years. It was a good peppy ride but after 25 years needed to be replaced. My brain went "Huh? Buy a what? Well I did it! I bought the limited edition as I wanted the leather interior. I got a whole lot more: A great ride, Comfort, Speed, Peppy, economical and at service time, folks that really make me feel welcome and a bill I can live with. Thanks Winn Hyundai. See you soon.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JA
Jeramy A.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/22/2016
Love the car
I love my 2008 Sonata limited 3.3 V6. I've had it 5 years. The only thing is it seems to be going thru the front valve cover gaskets. They leak in the same corner as the alternator and drips oil onto the alternator. I understand this problem was covered under a recall for the Santa Fe but NOT the Sonata. Which doesn't make any since because it's the same motor in BOTH..

Pros
Great dependable , comfortable , a lot of car for less money

Cons
3.3ltr V6 Front valve cover gaskets leak a lot and leak onto the alternator. Poor design on that aspect

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Joseph M.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/17/2016
MY SONATA
Our Sonata is now 8 years old. We have had the car serviced as required. Any problems were taken care of. Recall on air bag, taken care of

Pros
Car has been very good since the first day I drove it

Cons
None at this time

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
Jacqueline D.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/05/2016
Hyundai Sonata 2008
This vehicle has been very reliable and comfortable for me. I will definitely put the Sonata at the top of my list when replacing it.

Pros
Comfortable and fun to drive. Heated seats are great!

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GD
Gail D.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/30/2016
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Love my car!

Pros
Love the look and feel of the car.

Cons
Not the best on.ice and snow.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 121 - 140 of 177 in total