2008
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.84/5Overall Rating 4.84/5Overall Rating 4.84/5Overall Rating 4.84/5rating 4.84
4.8
(178 Reviews)
Latest review almost 2 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


SF
Samantha F.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/19/2017
Excellent
Will love to get another ine someday

Pros
Rides smooth

Cons
Warranty should be longer

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AB
Andrew B.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/20/2017
Great automobile
I have 180k miles on this vehicle and haven't had to replace anything but wear and tear items. Great auto, great company. An affordable high quality vehicle!!

Pros
Well built, handles well, smooth, quiet interior

Cons
cup holder needs to be larger to accommodate more than one large cup at a time

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JA
James A.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/21/2017
Smart Purchase!
Purchased for teenage son based on safety and reliability.

Pros
Low maintenance!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
John H.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/29/2017
Poor man's Caddy
Have always loved this care. 4th Hyundai

Pros
Loaded

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LP
Louise P.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/02/2017
My sonatas 2008
105,000 miles..10 yrs old..the engine and transmission are as quiet as first day I bought it..no breakdown beside changing wipers blades and new battery every 4 yrs and perform required maintenance..thx hyundai
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JAMES M.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/08/2017
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Car was purchased new from previous owner of dealership. Car still looks and runs good with 109,000 miles. Fuel mileage is not as good as new Sonata. It is a comfortable, solid car that meets my needs. I will probably trade for new Sonata next fall.

Pros
comfortable, solid car...looks and runs good, dependable

Cons
car has always had a very sensitive accelerator when starting from a stop. Jumps ahead if not careful.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EH
Edward H.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/15/2017
My car has been in service for 10 years
I just got new tires and it rides like new.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KG
Kathy G.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/18/2017
The key word is reliability
The 2008 Hyundai Sonata has been, despite it's advancing age and mileage, a car that has only needed routine maintenance. In addition it still gives a smooth ride and an average of 36 mpg on the highway - higher than advertised. It is a roomy comfortable sedan. I love it so much I plan on purchasing the current model when I'm ready to buy.

Pros
Reliability, quality, interior design

Cons
exterior is just average for a midsize sedan

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
Judith H.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/20/2017
staff
allison and terese were excellent and very helpful
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TD
Travis D.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/25/2017
Great value for the driver who just wants to drive
I drive a lot of different cars for my job, so looking back at when I bought my Sonata, I definitely made the right choice. While not a very large car, it handles well and is extremely nimble for a car of this class. And the Sonata's roomy interior leaves me plenty of leg room; the clean console design means easily finding the controls and features I need. There's no being crowded by a cluttered console, and no fumbling around with an obtuse layout. I keep up with the recommended maintenance schedule and my Sonata still runs as well as the day I bought it, used, 7 years ago.

Pros
Roomy interior, lots of leg room in front and back
Easy and responsive handling
Neat console design without clutter
Great visibility all around, few blindspots

Cons
Exterior aesthetic isn't anything special
4C engine offers little power for this size car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
JEMIR C.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/02/2018
My Best Car
I have a Hyundai 2008 and I tell you best car ever, runs great ,economic in gas, comftorble and it looks great. Never had any problems . Overall I recommend this car to anyone. Service is not that expensive either. This is the best car Hyundai has so far.

Pros
has a lot of space inside and a very big trunk.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CD
CHARLES D.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/12/2018
You can't wear it out!
As an Uber driver I've had over 2,000 riders, and hit potholes by the hundreds...yes in the hundreds, and it just continues to perform magnificently!! The interior (leather) looks amazing. After seeing the inside no one can believe I've had all those passengers, but it's documented.
At the oil change yesterday the mechanic was impressed with the condition of the transmission fluid for a car going on 150,000 miles!
Hyundai, my hat is off to you; I feel so blessed!

Pros
Even though it's going on 10 years old, it doesn't look dated. The body looks amazing. While it was up in the air on a lift for the oil change yesterday, I was impressed at how Hyundai went the extra mile in design and protection that the average owner never sees.

Cons
Was disappointed that this particular Hyundai Sonata Limited didn't have the sunroof, whereas most did for this model year. After seeing the Azera wish I had bought one, they have every luxury imaginable.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JN
James N.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/18/2018
2008 Sonata Limited
This is a solid car with good interior space in front and back. Many optional features are included. The gas mileage is above average for a car in its class. Safety and reliability were important to us and this sedan offers relatively high reliability and safety ratings according to Consumer Reports.

Pros
Feature set. Gas Mileage. Reliability. Leg and head room. Reasonable total cost of ownership. Safety and reliability.

Cons
none that we have identified.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TM
Terrence M.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/20/2018
Sonata
I actually own two Sonatas. One is a 2008 4 cylinder and the other is a 2009 6 cylinder. They both are low maintenance and drive well. The 4 cylinder gets better gas mileage and works well for around town. The 6 cylinder is nice for traveling with the added power.

Pros
Good value.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PB
Patricia B.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/26/2018
An oldie but a goodie!
Although I have had this car for over 10 years and it has very low mileage, it has been a real workhorse. Just normal maintenance. Lots of power, and purrs like a baby. Up until my last oil change, there were no leaks or oil usage, but I developed a small leak in the gasket and had it immediately repaired. The only problem I had is that the window cable on the driver's side snapped -after 10 years of hard usage. What a track record!!!

Pros
What a reliable and wonderful car -probably the best I have ever had

Cons
Very poor turning radius and this is the only con

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LG
Linda G.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/30/2018
Best car ever owned.
My Hyudai Sonata is the best car I ever owned. Comfortable, great in gas and excellent handling. Styling is beautiful and great overall performance. Plenty of space and comfort not only for the driver but also for the passengers.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
Davood S.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/15/2018
Don’t know what to put down in here
I am extremely happy with my sonata; with such a high mileage still runs like a new car and had never put me down. I am so proud of it! It is very reliable car and drives very smoothly and comfortably.

Pros
Great car overall

Cons
Sun visors are not good quality. I had to replace the driver side and passenger side is now not functioning right and is getting loose and doesn’t hold in place.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HS
Howard S.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/02/2018
Love it!
Excellent car for the, value and low maintenance on upkeep. Has the power, 6 cylinder, for that get up and go along with sustained power for the long haul. And very comfortable, with plenty of room for those long trips.

Pros
All around excellent vehicle for short and long trips.

Cons
The only problem was that the brakes lasted 121,300. miles on the original set!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SD
STEVE D.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/20/2018
Professionalism & Integrity - Both Of Which Are Becoming Rare
Kevin was very courteous, informative and professional. We've found that to be the the case with the entire staff since we started using All Tire. This is definitely one place you can go to where they'll level with you and you'll get quality work done.

Pros
Very reliable and easy handling car. I love it!

Cons
I really can't think of any except the usual cons when you get close to 100,000 miles - which many of you may not intend too... even at that mileage it performs well considering. This car can last a long time if it's taken care of properly.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FJ
Franklin J.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/29/2018
Oldie but goodie
When we bought our 2008 Sonata, it was July 2010 and the car had about 30,000 miles on it. We thought we’d get 5 years out of it before trading it in, because we don’t like to get stranded, and we don’t like the depreciation of a new car. Currently we have about 140,000 miles on it, and while making “normal” repairs and consistent maintenance, it’s still cost us less than $100 per month and nothing serious has happened to us.

Pros
Reliable beyond expectations.’
Folding rear seat backs turn it into a mini-truck.
Fairly quiet most the time.
The fabric seat covers are incredible for wear!

Cons
Don’t much like the 4-speed auto tranny.
The switches on the drivers door need “exercise” or they’ll quit.
Not as much power as I’d like.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 121 - 140 of 178 in total