2008
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.84/5Overall Rating 4.84/5Overall Rating 4.84/5Overall Rating 4.84/5rating 4.84
4.8
(177 Reviews)
Latest review 10 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


NC
Nicholas C.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
12/11/2018
Hyundais are garbage cars and Hyundai Motor Company will charge you for every OEM issue
Needs new trans after 10 years-NO aid. 2 engine rebuilds, battery drain, cooling system leaks, check engine after leaks fixed. A/C compressor, visor, cup holder, change drawer,console latch all broke.

Pros
Good gas mileage ~30 highway/25 city
Comfortable
Roomy
Big trunk

Cons
Unreliable
HORRIBLE in rain or snow - skids and hydroplanes if it rained four hours ago
EXTREMELY EXPENSIVE to maintain
Parts break often and catastrophically
Hyundai corporate delivers ZERO customer service - except 'servicing' my bank account
No Bluetooth or Aux port
Radio head unit has poor reception
Side view mirrors are solid build not collapsible - I had TWO snapped off in parking lots
Rear seats don't fold flat so you can't transport anything large
Donut instead of full size spare
The "driver door open" ping is SO ANNOYING

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
Sharon M.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
11/07/2016
2008 Hyundai Sonata
It's time for another car!!!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
Stephanie M.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
02/28/2017
Sonota is a nice car
Smooth ride and easy to work on simple things like headlights, etc. Wish the fuel economy was a little better, but wouldn't trade it for an even smaller car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DH
DEANNA H.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
03/10/2018
Sonota 2008
Overall it's been a good car, good gas mileage. There are some issues that I'm upset about the biggest being that my car needs valve covers for the third time! This is an expensive repair, runs about $700.00. The first two replacements were done at Hyundai service centers. The last replacement was 2-3 years ago, I really think these should last longer than that! Hyundai needs to stand up admit there is a design flaw and take care of the problem! The second issue is the sun visors. They will not stay up or down pushed against the window so can have a clear view. They hang straight down which obstructs vision and when getting into car, you hit your head on them. I have tried Velcro, several different types, this will not hold them in place. Finally I put plate hangers on the visors and pinned them to car top to hold them up. I looked into replacing the visors but they are over $200.00 each and from what I've read, the new ones will be just like the old ones within 6 months. The last issue I'm having is electrical, there various issues with this everything from driver seat adjustment does not work correctly to seatbelt light doesn't work correctly.

Pros
Good gas mileage
Comfortable ride

Cons
Valve cover issue,
Sun visor issue
Electrical issues

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DP
Diana P.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/06/2016
Still looks good
My 2008 Sonata still looks good. I enjoy the smooth drive. Only nagging problem is that the tire pressure light stays on even after several attempts by service personnel to get it to work as it is supposed to. Also had trouble with the air conditioning, and $$$ to get it to work, but the system is working sufficiently now.

Pros
Styling
Smooth Drive

Cons
Air conditioning problems
Tire pressure light stays on even after several attempts at trying to get it fixed

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EM
Edward M.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/10/2016
Warranty
Rear Brakes failed at about 20000 miles. They blamed me for not having the sliders lubricated, but I brought my cat to them for maintenance and they should have told me it was needed and I would have done it. It was their fault but they didn't honor their warranty.

Pros
Comfortable ride

Cons
Warranty not honored for the problem that should be covered.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VC
Vladislav C.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/18/2016
SONATA '08 - Great Car Giving Great Value
Wonderful car, but has a substandard CD player. it malfunctioned in the 4th year of ownership, but its replacement cost is prohibitive.

Also, the car's AC evaporator coil only lasted 8 years. This, too, is a very expensive repair necessitating dashboard removal. My next Hyundai will be a step up in models where hopefully these weaknesses will be strengthened.

Pros
As in review

Cons
As in review, but add that the interior road noise level should reduced. It's hard to carry on a conversation while car is being driven.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JA
Jeramy A.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/22/2016
Love the car
I love my 2008 Sonata limited 3.3 V6. I've had it 5 years. The only thing is it seems to be going thru the front valve cover gaskets. They leak in the same corner as the alternator and drips oil onto the alternator. I understand this problem was covered under a recall for the Santa Fe but NOT the Sonata. Which doesn't make any since because it's the same motor in BOTH..

Pros
Great dependable , comfortable , a lot of car for less money

Cons
3.3ltr V6 Front valve cover gaskets leak a lot and leak onto the alternator. Poor design on that aspect

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CM
Charles M.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/28/2016
100893614
8
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RC
Ron C.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/10/2016
sonata love
it is the best car i have ever owned , super reliable , good fuel mileage , parts are reasonably priced , the newer models keep getting better in comfort and style !!

Pros
everything is laid out well in easy reach of driver . good quality materials in interior , exterior holding up well . very seldom replace any bulbs

Cons
terrible ride quality very stiff suspension , have to dodge manhole covers , so it wont bump so hard , good hiway car bad in city driving

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GO
Gary O.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/14/2017
great vehicle
over all good car

Pros
very quite ride

Cons
the structural body is rusting and discoloring

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SG
Sylvia G.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/14/2017
You Get Your Money Worth
It is a very reliable car, comfortable and it has many features that comparing with cars that cost a lot more
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DW
Dwight W.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/23/2017
Love my Sonata.
My 2008 Sonata has served me very well. Never had a major problem with it. Just routine maintenance work: brake work, oil change, serpentine belt replacement, etc.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
John M.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/26/2017
Vehicle review
I enjoy this vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
Mark W.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/10/2017
2008 Sonata
Overall a good reliable vehicle that performs well.

Pros
Comfortable, reliable good performing car.

Cons
Too many recalls.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BC
Byron C.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/12/2017
2008 Hyundai sonatA
Very reliable transportation with excellent comfort and mileage pet gallon
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SL
Susan L.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/28/2017
Great car
I purchased a previously used 2008 Sonata , original everything and it’s stoll going strong. I enjoy everything about the car except the front cup holders. I wish they were in a different location.

Pros
Reliability
Gas mileage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TS
Thomas S.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/17/2017
Car Review
Car is just what I need for my life style. This is the 2nd Sonata I have had in a row. Just a good model for the value.

Pros
Just like the car for comfort and style and fuel economy for size of the car

Cons
Nothing

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AJ
Antoine J.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/23/2017
great 2008 hyundai sonata vehicle
Never gave mechanical isssues after 10 yrs of service. Approaching 80k only requires the recommended fixes that will enable it to run the next 80k. Will keep this car no matter if i get a newer car.

Pros
Great dependable and reliable family car

Cons
As it gets older the seats are not as comfortable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JA
Janice A.
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/12/2017
Satisfied Customer
I love my 2008 Sonata. Everyone comments on the smooth ride and efficient merging capability.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 177 in total