2009
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5rating 4.8
4.8
(480 Reviews)
Latest review 3 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

JL
Jesus L.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/10/2019
Good value
Decent gas mileage, manual transmission is fun. Fits my kids’ three car seats across in the back seat, roomy trunk, starts every time. Sadly my car is from New York State originally so it has underbody rust. Rear crossmember replaced under recall. Great features for the price, easy to drive and run.

Pros
Manual transmission offered, decent sound system for base model, longevity.

Cons
Corrosion recall.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
Mike S.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/02/2019
Great reliable car
Have owned this car for 10 years. Extremely reliable and comfortable vehicle after all the years. All the controls still work and I would drive this car anytime and anywhere. Hoping to get 10 more years out of it.

Pros
Comfort, easy on gas, well designed and built automobile.

Cons
A little slow from a complete stop, but once you get moving no problems. Seems to go through a lot of rear brakes and have had numerous issues with frozen calipers on the rear. Otherwise, no major issues.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AK
Atinuke K.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/11/2019
Great comfortable car with very reliable engine
This is the third Hyundai vehicle have owned. So grateful as being a woman, one is nervous about purchasing vehicles, especially used. I have never had any problems with the engines. They are great reliable cars.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BM
Benoit M.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/10/2019
A beautiful and reliable vehicle.
My Hyundai Sonata has served me for nine years and 230,000.00 miles. I look forward to a constant service without failure for the years to come. I have given it a faithful dealership service. Hyundai breaks are very dependable.

Pros
Strong and reliable. It looks great.
Reliable breaking system.

Cons
Lacking in electronic fixtures common to Toyota’s

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TS
Tracy S.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/29/2019
My Sonata review
I love my car!!! A very reliable car. Mine is a 2009 ! This car has a huge trunk. Comfortable and roomy. I love the body style. Great for traveling. Love the seat heaters, love my sun roof. Everything about this car is very good.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KR
Karl R.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/06/2019
Great car
I just have to get used to this car as it has a lot of new features tha my last Sonata didn't have love driving it. If i ever sell my 2005 Santa Fe i would by another Hyundai but my wife would kill me because she loves that car

Pros
back up camera and handling

Cons
does not come serius radio for 3 months

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RC
Roel C.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/18/2019
Best car
Best car I have ever owned. They don’t make them like my car anymore! I LOVE IT! I wish they would make them like this one again! Hopefully my car will last longer than I have years of life left in this body of mine!

Pros
To many to list.

Cons
Trunk can be opened by Valet therefore can not leave valuables in trunk.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WT
William T.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/06/2019
Overview
This car is dependable and road worthy. I have driven it on long road trips with no problems.Trunk space is adequate.I like the adjustable seats, being able to tilt slightly. Sliding the seat back & forth to provide more leg room in the front or for back seat passengers.

Pros
This car has lasted ten years and still looks good and runs good.

Cons
Has more road noise than I would like.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AH
Alexandru H.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/26/2019
Great car!
Great car, excellent for driving everyday to work, aprox 100 miles daily. Comfy interior, strong engine and transmission. Nice features inside.
The basic sound system really sounds good. Is not noisy at all.

Pros
Excellent quality at great price.

Cons
Driver’s side mirror could have a wider viewing angle to cover the dead spot.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DR
David R.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/26/2019
Great service but I find the length and demands of this survey irksome.
My experience with the dealer is consistently pleasant. I have never been disappointed. I will certainly purchase another Hyundai when the need arises. The advances om technology of your newer models is inspiring.

Pros
Vehicle is very reliable. I have owned it for ten years and am very impressed. It has never failed me mechanically.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HS
Helmut S.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/11/2019
Good, dependable
Bought in 2008, sonata, 2009. Have had very few problems. Dependable, easy to drive except for blue light in dashboard. Replaced A/C last year and brakes last week. I feel that is pretty good. Will seriously consider the Sonata again when ready to purchase a new car. Have 1001000 miles on car.

Pros
Have had very little problem with car. A/C replaced after 10 years, brakes after 11 years. Very good. Smooth drive.

Cons
Milage is impossible to see while driving. If you need to go 5 miles it is impossible to see, the blue light is pretty but useless.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
Jane C.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/01/2019
I love my Hyundai Sonata!
I love my Hyundai Sonata. I wouldn't drive any other car but a Hyundai. I'm totally hooked. Well I'm told that if it's not 200 characters they won't take it so I'll just keep typing until I come to 200.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DW
Deborah W.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/28/2019
Dependable
I have a 2009 Sonata and 10 years later, it is still fuel efficient, dependable, powerful, and just an awesome looking vehicle. I had a 2006 Santa Fe which I traded in for a new 2009 Sonata and it was a very good decision.

Pros
Fuel efficient, easy to handle, comfortable, reliable.

Cons
Seat belt needs constant adjusting, too high. Left vent on driver's side, hard to adjust, doesn't seem to have enough air flow.;

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LB
Louis B.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/27/2019
My 10 year old Sonata
Our Sonata is 10 years old and I love it. We recently bought a Santa Fe and will be keeping the Sonata as a second car. It has been reliable and drives well. The only real problem that we experienced during the 10 years is the faulty air conditioning unit. It had to be replaced twice.

Pros
Almost everything about it is great. I love the car. Drives well.

Cons
The Navigation monitor is extremely difficult to see when the sun is shining. Easy to see at night. Same is true for mileage counter. Blue printing is difficult to see. White on black is easy to read. The monitor should NOT have been designed on a slant but should have been vertical (straight up - not slanted). Sometimes I bump my head while entering the vehicle (am only 5'7" tall). The handbooks are not well written. They could have done a better job. The heating a/c unit has not been very reliable. Had to be replaced twice.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BE
Beth E.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/26/2019
would buy another one
I say I would buy another one, but not necessary 2009 Sonata runs like it's brand new. Just keep up the maintenance right at McCarthy service center. They are honest, friendly and provide quality service. When I am ready to buy again not doubt I will be buying from them.

Pros
interior and exterior still looks great
low maintenance
always a great service experience

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
Josephine B.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/18/2019
Reliable car
The more "elder" one gets, the more reliable must a car be. This fits the bill. My only complaint is blind spots. Far too many and, as a result, I've had some close calls. The newer models corrected that.

Pros
Blind spots

Cons
Everything else.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Mandy B.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/14/2019
Looking for a decent vehicle
I love this car and it has been a wonderful vehicle. It's everything I been looking for in a vehicle and has gotten me everywhere I needed to go. It also does great on fuel and I like the xm radio that I got with it
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
Mary W.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/08/2019
Great
My dad was a Ford man! All we drove was fords. My Hyundai is a very good running car. 137k miles, still running strong. It has a sport shift, I miss the clutch so I dont use it much. Has very good horse power.

Pros
Heated seats. GPS. Electric driver seat. Love everything about the car.

Cons
Seats sticky in summmer.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CP
Cynthia P.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/01/2019
Hyundai Sonata
I have had my car since 2009 and it has over 233,000 miles it is continuing to service me well. I keep my major service work and regular oil chains done. Hope to get 500,000 miles out of her but will settle for 400,000 over halfway there.

Pros
Great little ride takes care of me.

Cons
Not enough leg room on the 2009 model

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RD
Ronald D.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/24/2019
Great Car
We purchased 2 of the 2009 Hyundai Sonatas. One for my family and one for my In-Laws. Both cars have performed exceptionally well. My Daughter now drives one of them as her college commuter vehicle and just loves the car. Granny loves hers too! So we have been extremely blessed at how dependable the cars have been. We look at another soon.4

Pros
Just a well built car.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 480 in total