Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

DM
David M.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/24/2020
2009 Hyundai Sonata
I purchased this car new. I have about 128,000 miles on it. i expect to put at least another 128,000 miles on it. I have not had any major repair problems. I have only had to replace wear and tear parts. This is probably my favorite car that i have owed. The air conditioning blows cool in the summer and the heater blows hot air in the winter. The car seats 5 adults comfortably and gets between 20 and 30 miles per gallon mileage. Hyundai is different than most auto manufacturers. If there is something wrong with the auto it is recalled and repaired for free. Hyundai doesn't wait for a tragedy to occur to fix a flaw. This is another reason why i would purchase another Hyundai when i wear this one out.

Pros
you put your key in it and it goes where you need to go.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HA
Howard A.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/11/2020
Great
Its a great car. I have it since 2014. I drive it every where i go even to Canada for a summer vacation. My car hugs the road when driving with out any pressure. I would love to do some test drive for you guys.

Pros
Nice car.

Cons
Make them faster .

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MD
Mary D.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/24/2020
Hyundai good cars, good value
I was introduced to the Hyundai brand through experience with a car rental. I was highly impressed with the power and smoothness of the vehicle handling. As a result, my choice for my next car purchase was a Hyundai. I bought a 2009 Hyundai Sonata, pre- owned with 35,000 miles in 2011. It has been a very reliable and smooth driving and powerful car even after the Hyundai Sonata went from 6 cylinders to 4. My car currently has 125,000 miles and I have had no major issues only regular maintenance items. I feel it could go for another 50,000 miles, easily.

Cons
I would like to purchase another Sonata in the future, but it appears they have more recently bumped it up to a price point similar to a Toyota Camry( the previous appeal of the Sonata was that it performed equal to a Camry with attractive features and even more attractive price) and moved the Elantra model up to take its place.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
Josephine B.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/15/2020
Trust worthy
I have enjoyed my car and feel that the only flaw is a.number of blind spots. But being aware of this, I am cautious. It has served me well as has Jim Click and Anna Dickerson. It is a comfortable car and reliable.

Pros
numerous

Cons
Blind spots

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LB
Louis B.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/30/2020
Reliable Vehicle
My Sonata has been a reliable car all these years. I know that if I keep my vehicle up with regular maintenance and listen to my service rep regarding the maintenance, I will have this vehicle for a long time. At this point, I would buy another Hyundai vehicle when the time comes.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
Jim H.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/29/2020
Dependable
Bought the car new. I wanted a dependable vehicle for my spouse to commute around town and in the area. I also wanted adequate power for the freeway and less stress at higher speeds. The six-cylinder did the trick. I just wish they still made the six and in a hybrid. I would buy one tomorrow.

Pros
Great dependability.

Cons
Nonretractable side mirrors.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LS
Larry S.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/22/2020
Good choice
This vehicle is very clean, comfortable and has a lot of room for passengers, trunk is very good. Have only drove it home from the dealer, but runs great AC is cold. The only thing I found was when I got on the highway the cruise did not work.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BF
BRENDA F.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/10/2020
Sonata Limited
I purchased this Sonata Limited used from a private individual with approximately 47,200 miles. I now have 95,230 miles. No major problems just normal wear and tear upkeep.
Love the gas mileage and it has been a reliable source of transportation. i would not hesitate to purchase another Hyundail..

Pros
I go a lot so gas mileage is a big one for me. Whenever I decide to purchase a newer car I will surely check out the newer models.

Cons
Nothing bad to say about this vehicle.. It does not have all the amenities that are available now, but it is comfortable and has everything I have wanted or needed.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BG
BOB G.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/24/2020
Hyundai Vehicles
We've been buying Hyundai vehicles for quite a few years and have always been very satisfied with their performance and reliability. We loved the clean lines of our '09 Sonata sedan and the roomy interior and trunk space. Right now I'm driving a Tucson. Good vehicle for transporting - lay down the back seats and the trunk space holds a lot of stuff. Mileage is very good also, plus I enjoy flipping into "standard" ratio gearing every once in a while (I'd formerly been driving standard shifting since 1978). I love the color of my Tucson, but really loved the "Khaki" color for my '09 Sonata - that car Always(!) looked clean.

Cons
For my '18 Tucson, I don't know how to change the radio stations -- too complicated, too much reading to change and keep a favorite station.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PB
Pamela B.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/08/2020
Enjoy it!
If I had the money, I would buy a used Tuscon. My Sonata has 93k miles on it. The vehicle is fuel efficient and reliable. We are a Hyundai family and enjoy our vehicles. They get great gas mileage for us.

Pros
Reasonably priced. Fuel efficient. Reliable

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
JIM W.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/05/2020
Dependable, Sturdy, and Inexpensive
We bought the Sonata in 2009 because it seemed nearly as quiet and effective as a Camry yet cost almost $5k less and had a much better guarantee. The car has not only not had unexpected maintenance issues, but at 11 years we have not yet replaced the shocks/struts, water pump, radiator, alternator, or even the muffler/tail pipe. I am used to replacing mufflers every 3-4 years. We have had a few dashboard idiot lights go off, but it has never died on us by the roadside. It still is comfortable and remarkably quiet and rides smoothly. It also has little body rot, even though we live close the the biggest salt mine in the U.S.A.

Pros
Inexpensive
Reliable
Cheap to Maintain

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VA
VERNA A.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/04/2020
My car
She runs great and I didn't think when I got the car that I would love it as I do now. Because the car is foreign and not American I that the car wouldn't be good, but I was wrong. It runs good and I get good gas mileage
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DR
Darlene R.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/23/2020
Hyundai is the best!
My Hyundai Sonata is now 11 years old. It is the most dependable vehicle I have ever owned. My car now has 117,000 miles on it. Except for routine maintenance, the only things I have ever had to replace are the brakes and the drive belt. I have owned 2 Cadillac Devilles, a Chevy Cavalier, a Pontiac station wagon, a Ford van, a Buick Skylark and a Chevy Nova. I plan to purchase another Sonata as soon as the Corona virus crisis is over.

Pros
Everything

Cons
I miss the seat heat I had in my last vehicle and I wish the passenger seat had electric controls ;-)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
Joseph H.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/18/2020
Excellant!
No it's not BMW or Cadillac. That's not what i wanted. Bang for the buck my 2009 Sonata can not be beat. I could have bought another new car over these many years,
but why?
One of the best, if not the best, car I have ever owned. I must say the 2020 Sonata has got me thinking.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EC
Ernesto C.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/24/2020
Sonata is the BEST
I purchased my vehicle in July 2008, currently it has 202,000 miles and is in perfect condition. I have never had to make repairs, only routine ones: brakes, tires, and the services recommended by the manufacturer (oil changes, filters etc.)

It is an excellent vehicle that I highly recommend

Pros
Dependable, comfortable, durable, excellent quality, smooth when driving, excellent 2.4L engine

Cons
When I bought it I didn't have alloy wheels

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MO
Maryann O.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/20/2020
Still have this vehicle after 10 + years
this is a 2009 Hyundai .. I loved this vehicle the first time I drove it and I still love it just as much today .. It has never let me down and I am sure taking it to the dealer for service has a lot to do with it . When I am ready to part with it I will get another Hyundai.. I can definitely say I have gotten my money's worth out of this car.

Pros
everything

Cons
can't think of any

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GC
George C.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/14/2020
Excellent Review
Happy over the 10 years with our first new car. Happy with service over the past 10 years. Happy over the 10 years with our first new car. Happy with service over the past 10 years. Good color!!!!

Pros
Warranty by Hyundai came in handy over the years. Marion\Nice people at Fuccillo's I dealt with.

Cons
Inside is noisy - need to up the volume when listening to the radio. Marion

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AC
Amberly C.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/12/2020
Love My Sonata
My Hyundai Sonata is 10 years old and is still going strong. It has the best gas mileage and not too expensive to service. I never take my Hyundai anywhere but a Hyundai dealership for the best care for my car.

Pros
Great Gas Mileage, runs smooth

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NS
Nina S.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/19/2020
11 years old and still humming along
My 2009 Hyundai Sonata has served me well for over 110,000 miles. I feel very comfortable taking it on short or long trips and expect it to keep on humming. It has always been comfortable to drive. We have sort of grown old together, and by golly we are planning to grow even older - together.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AD
Adina D.
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/17/2020
Best vehicle I have had
This baby is still going. It has 250,000 miles and still going strong, doesn’t burn oil. The oil is very clean. As I get older I prefer a higher car, but this car has been dependable and still looks great!

Pros
Pretty good gas mileage, averages about 28 to 30. Has good pep, idles well and has lasted a very long time.

Cons
Kind of hard to get in and out of, But I really don’t have a con at all.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 504 in total