2011
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.51/5Overall Rating 4.51/5Overall Rating 4.51/5Overall Rating 4.51/5rating 4.51
4.5
(2225 Reviews)
Latest review 4 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

VP
Velma P.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/17/2019
Reliable
2011 Sonata has been a very reliable car. Stylish and comfortable. Would like passanger side seat to have better adjustments, especially upward. Feels like one is sitting in a hole.
Also, road noise is pretty loud. Not a quiet ride by any stretch.
Would like an indicator of which tire is low on air, not just air is needed.
We enjoy the Hyundai Sonata. Quality & reliability with good looks for these past six years. Would definitely purchase another one.

Pros
Decent gas mileage. Good looks. Reliable. Easy to drive.

Cons
Excessive road noise.
More seat adjustments needed - especially front passenger.
Tire pressure indicator to identify which tire needs attention.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TG
Tina G.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/16/2019
Sonata
One of the best cars i have ever owned. Bought brand new will definitely will be buying a another Hyundai will most likely buy a Santa fa i only drive my car in the summer i drive a truck in the winter so I'd like to have a suv

Pros
Love the car

Cons
Nothing

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BP
Betty P.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/14/2019
Too Many Recalls
Although I have several things I like about the design, comfort, roominess and handling of the 2011 Sonata, there have been numerous recalls and now that the car is 9 years old with only 42,000 miles and garage kept, several expensive repairs have had to be made. As I have been told by several people, “they don’t make them like they used to!”

Pros
Handling
Roominess
Appearance
Large trunk space

Cons
Too much road noise
Many recalls
Audio problems
Expensive repairs

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
James G.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/14/2019
Sonata
One of the best cars I have had - I will definitely look at this model when we decide to purchase our next car - I will also look at Brandon Hyundai and their Service Department as they have always been courteous, very helpful and not pushy - they asked what I needed, given me an honest estimate.

Pros
Fun to drive.

Cons
It could have more technology updates

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RE
Robert E.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/12/2019
realistically I should have purchased a prius😢
I purchased my 2011 Hybrid Sonata and the milage is dreadful. I have had several major repairs, thankfully for warrantee & mechanical breakdown car insurance.
Received rebate card for first 2-3 years for miss leading mpg. Required maintenance preformed and have requested dealer service manager submit, for a couple of years?? Many of the electrical features have failed. Also gas tank release switch

Pros
looks

Cons
gas milage and durability

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Joseph S.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/12/2019
Very reliable
I have a 2011 Sonata with 125k miles. It's been driven from NY to California and back. I have had only 2 problems with the car and both covered under warranty. A wheel bearing at 99k miles and air bag clock spring at 125k miles. My only complaints with the car is the passenger seat is very low and the headlights aren't so great.

Pros
Reliable

Cons
Passenger seat is low and headlights

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CL
Cesar L.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/12/2019
Best mid sized care owned.
Car surpassed my expectations. I do not like driving however this car is the exception to the rule. I have owned a Chevy, Ford, Nissan, and Dodge. The Hyundai service department at 1271 S. Auto Center Dr. Is by far the best service department I've ever had to deal with.

Pros
Very comfortable to drive.
Instrument panel easy to read.
Nice body shape.

Cons
To many recalls.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WL
Wen L.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/10/2019
easy operating, large space
I like this vehicle, large space and easy to drive. I only spend one or two hours to practice and then I drive to work.
The staff and faculty in Courtesy Hyundai of Tampa are nice and good, I have great experience there. I changed the oil there and the price is good, only 15 dollars with coupon.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AJ
Anisha J.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/08/2019
Hyundai Owner
I would not consider purchasing another Hyundai or referring anyone to this brand. Although the vehicle is stylish and great on gas, it doesn't size to it's competitors in my opinion and it also doesn't hold it's value.

Pros
Nice style, and affordable car, great gas mileage.

Cons
Being the only owner, I ran into a lot of major issues with this vehicle.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SG
Susan G.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/06/2019
Sonata Hybrid
Love my car. I was only supposed to drive it temporarily and then my husband was supposed to take it. But I loved it so much I decided to keep it for myself. Since I hate getting new cars, I hope to be driving it for many more years.

Pros
Have had no problems.

Cons
A little slow from a standstill. Wish it had some of the newer features, but I hate getting a new car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SW
Sue W.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/06/2019
excellent car
I LOVE this car!!! I have enjoyed it so much, and many people have asked me about it and I always give it the highest praise. I enjoy that it's a hybrid and I always tell people about the excellent gas mileage.

Pros
Very good car!

Cons
Wish the passenger seat could be raised.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TF
Tiffany F.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
09/04/2019
Too many recalls
Too many recalls and I feel at this point I should be given a new car with all the constant recalls each year. There was an engine, seat belt, and war bag recall and his can you trust a vehicle that has all these recalls to be a reliable vehicle with a family.

Pros
Cute for a small family or child in college

Cons
Recalls

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KB
Kenneth B.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/04/2019
Dependable Transportation
Purchased a Sonata new in 2011. This car turned out to be very dependable transportation for the 111,000 miles that I had it. The Sonata is an outstanding car for the value and it got great gas mileage. I would not hesitate to own another Sonata.

Pros
The value for the money and its reliability.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
Marty S.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/04/2019
Best overall
Best style,interior size of full size vehicle,on hiway flat road at speed limit 37 mpg lower speeds 40,engine bay you can get to anything,rated in it's day 5star crash rating before crash rating for 5star was initiated,and has paddle shifters (se) and was car of the year 2011.

Pros
Styling,18 in. Tires,mileage,coral paint,low maint.gas direct injection,paddle shifters,console computer for mileage till empty,mpg,time traveling etc.

Cons
Had some recalls but everything was taken care of by Noller- Hyundai

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JT
James T.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/04/2019
2011 Sonata
Like the type of musical composition that this model is named after, my Sonata 2011 still gives me great pleasure. Easy to drive, comfortable and road-worthy, I put my trust in this very reliable automobile. Thanks Hyundai.

Pros
Easy to drive and corners well.

Cons
Trunk access for longer loads is rather limited due to design.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
Jim G.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/04/2019
Performance of Sonata
I liked the original performance and especially the styling of my Sonata, but expensive parts of the vehicle began failing that was not expected. The noise while driving has always been a disturbing issue for me. I am considering not buying another Sonata partially due to the Consumer Reports rating of Sonata compared to Toyota and Honda. Frustrating because I like the styling better.

Pros
Styling, Comfort with the exception of noise.

Cons
Reliability, Noise, Interior surfaces peeling off

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SH
Steven H.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/04/2019
Hyundai Sonata 2011
I really hesitate to write an average review while I truly like my Sonata and have owned Sonatas previously There have been many recalls in the 7 years I have owned this car Although St Cloud Hyundai has taken care of each one in a timely courteous manner I would like to see a car with fewer problems

Pros
Good gas mileage Body style is nice
Love the heated seats

Cons
Passenger seat is not adjustable up and down feel like your sitting on the floor Bluetooth is not clear

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DT
Debra T.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/02/2019
My favorite car
My Hyundai Sonata 2011 is my first Hyundai, but it is my seventh automobile. Of all my cars this one is my favorite. I purchased it with the idea in mind that I would be doing a lot of traveling with family and friends in this car. It is comfortable to drive, has plenty of roomy space inside for passengers, and has a large trunk for suite cases. I have driven nearly 100,000 miles since owning it and it still runs great.

Pros
Comfort, gas mileage, roominess, conveniences and features

Cons
There is a blind spot on the passenger side front windshield when looking for traffic coming from the right side at certain intersections. I have since gotten used to this.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DP
Daniel P.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/01/2019
I love my Sonata
I have always been very pleased that I bought a Sonata at Southtowne Hyundai. The car is excellent and I have always received excellent service at Southowne Hyundai. We were so pleased with my Hyundai purchase that my husband also bought a Hyundai at Southtowne Hyundai and he is also very pleased with his car. The Hyundai cars that we bought are excellent and Southtowne Hyundai has a wonderful service department.

Pros
Easy and comfortable to drive.
Great gas mileage.
Wonderful service at Southtowne Hyundai.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HM
Hector M.
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/30/2019
Sonota
Overall good vechile. Nice looking.handles good , comfortable, good on fuel and dependable. Just passing lane mirrors too small and blind spots , it's a 2011 and friends think it's a newer model best stylish car ever had !!!!!

Pros
Enjoy the sporty look and handling around corners

Cons
the outside passing lane mirrors are too small and very difficult to see blind spot when switching lanes . Dangerous!!!... unless fixed wont buy another .

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 2225 in total