2012
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.57/5Overall Rating 4.57/5Overall Rating 4.57/5Overall Rating 4.57/5rating 4.57
4.6
(1623 Reviews)
Latest review 4 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

RM
Roy M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
11/14/2019
2012 Sonata
Problem began within 1 month of purchasing...3 yrs of the same problem! Under the hood would shake, loose power & would become undrivable. I would not recommend

this was the worst vehicle ever owned

Pros
Size, interior

Cons
Had the same ongoing problem for 3 years & still unresolved

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America responded on 11/14/2019
We would like to get involved to examine your claim further. A specialist from our Headquarters will contact you shortly. Thank you. ^cc

KK
Kathryn K.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/12/2019
Great vehicle
My 2012 Hyundai Sonata is the best vehicle I’ve ever had. I have 109000 miles on it and have no intention to buy another vehicle in the near future. This car is definitely a family hand me down that’ll stay in our family for a while

Cons
The drivers seat sits too low

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RW
Robert W.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/12/2019
Great car except for milrage.
When you had a car for 7 years and the only visit to the dealer is for routine service, I would consider it great. The only problem has been the hybrid gas mileage. It was not what stated from the start but is getting increasingly worse and now down to low 20's. This is the disapointment in the car.

Pros
Runs grest, very reliabile.

Cons
Poor mileage for hybrid.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AC
Andrew C.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/05/2019
2012 Sonota 2.0
Love the car for the most part. Great gas mileage. Fun to drive. Great storage. Road noise is terrible. Have tried 3 types of tires still noisy. Passenger seat is too low, with few adjustments, which makes it uncomfortable for long trips.

Pros
Great gas mileage. Fun to drive. Great sound system.

Cons
Road noise is terrible. Passenger seat is too low, with few adjustments, which makes it uncomfortable for long trips.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
Raymond S.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/04/2019
Overall review
To this point we are very happy with the vehicle and would definitely consider purchasing another Hyundai when the time comes for another vehicle.aoaooaoaooaoaooaoaoaoaoaoaoaoaoooaooaooaoaoaoaooaaoaoaooaoaoao
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
James W.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/01/2019
Hyundai Sonata 2012
engine noise is low power is good,engine response is good,rear parking brake & regular brakes are not a very good setup definitely don't like not being able to check transmission fluid level fuel tank size is great thanks for not having a small 10 gallon tank.

Pros
fuel economy reliability and engine response over all space is great

Cons
steering wheel should have more adjustability telescoping would help with better sitting position

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AG
Amarilis G.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/01/2019
Great car
I have my Sonata 2012 for about 2 years.
No complaints. Good on gas. Very comfortable and safe.
It is a big car, with a lot of room in the back seat and the trunk is spacious too. From 1 to 10 I give this car 10
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
Judy W.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/31/2019
happy customer
the car has been recalled on a few items, but over all I've had no major problems , I had a small problem with the steering wheel but that was fixed right away. happy with the car, Just not all the recalls. Let me in joy my car with out having to worry about if it's going to break down.

Pros
good on gas performance. comfortable to drive.

Cons
to many recalls.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BC
Betty C.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/26/2019
2012 Sonata
I love my car, the ice blue Metallic color is beautiful
I get lots of compliments !
When on a road trip and I drive 65 mpg
I get 45 miles per gallon one time 50mpg
I have and would recommend this car!

Pros
It is a great car
Easy to drive

Cons
Feel every bump in the road

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DH
Deborah H.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/24/2019
2012 Hyundai Sonata
My vehicle is named Black Beauty. She is still in great running condition. I've received many offers for it! I love my car. I can't depart from it. She's awesome!!!! Hyundai Motors invented a great vehicle. It has many features.👐

Pros
None

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
Joe G.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/24/2019
Recalls
To many recalls, To many times in for service. Last time in for service had driver side seat belt that would not latch. I felt it was a safety issue that Hyundai should be responsible for. It was not covered by my extended warranty. I had no choice but to pay up.

Pros
Fair price

Cons
Recalls

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AC
Austin C.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/22/2019
One of the most reliable vehicles I've ever owned
I purchased new in 2012 and since then I have only had one issue which the dealership covered 100%. This was my first venture into imports (Hyundai specifically), and after being "big body, big engine" Dodge owner, I have never looked back. I plan to upgrade to Hyundai new premium line "Genesis" G90 next spring and am excited to regain the horsepower of a V8 engine!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Maida M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/20/2019
Vehicle
I love my 2012 Sonata. I enjoy the comfort and the ride of the vehicle. It has a lot of get up and go for a 4 cylinder vehicle. I enjoyed the style, the roominess of the interior and I love my panoramic roof.

Pros
It has a lot of get up and go for a 4 cylinder vehicle. I enjoyed the style, the roominess of the interior and I love my panoramic roof.

Cons
I would suggest improving the suspension so that it grab curves better. Also make it a 6 cylinder vs a 4.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LL
Lottie L.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/19/2019
Black Beauty
My car is fabulous it get great gas mileage and driven to Broken Bow, Oklahoma and to Winter Haven, Florida. I will be driving again to Winter Haven for Christmas. I just love me car it drives great and handle the roads just right..

Pros
I just love the Hyundai Sonata! My next car will be the same kind just new.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
Raymond B.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/09/2019
2012 Hyundai sonata se
I bought my Hyundai new. The company stands behind there brand. I love the car and the gas mileage. I am currently planning on buying a new model but would like to see what the design looks like in a year or two.

Pros
Great gas mileage

Cons
Loud road noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DV
Duglas V.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/06/2019
Great service
Excellent vehicle except for some front drive train inconvenient like the drive shafts, the gas performance is excelente and engine performance is exceptional; the over all appearances interior and exterior are great.

Pros
Gas efficient

Cons
Weakness on Drive shafts

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TH
Tasha H.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/26/2019
Sweet ride
The Sonata overall is great. Trunk space, gas mileage, and ease of parking are all awesome. I only gave 4 stars because I miss having a larger vehicle for the space! If you're in the market for a car though, this is a sweet ride!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HR
Holly R.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/24/2019
Sonata
I bought my 2012 Sonata in 2011 and I still have it and I have not had any problems out of it. My oil has been changed every 3000 miles. It has 130,000 miles on it now and it still drives and rides like it did when I drove it off the lot. I would definitely buy another Sonata!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RW
Ronald W.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/23/2019
Great car
This is my second Sonata and am overall well pleased with the car. My only disappointment was that the Sirius XM was not included in the package and I had to buy an add on satellite radio for travel and enjoyment of my music and sports. The vehicle handles well and is getting good gas mileage. If this car is as good as the last on I do not expect any issues over the life of the car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AA
Archie A.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/20/2019
2012 vehicle is my 3rd Hyundai Sonata
I purchased my 1st Sonata in 2004. My wife still drives that vehicle. I purchased my 2nd Sonata in 2007. I gave it to my son after several years of good service.
2012 Sonata Limited is my 3rd Hyundai. I take good care of my cars, replacing the engine oil, oil filter and air filter regularly. I drive my cars under normal conditions and never abuse them and never push the limits. So far I am very pleased with Sonata quality, technical design and ergonomics. I am also very pleased with the warranty, timely recalls and dealership response.

Pros
quality of materials used, functionality, ergonomics and price

Cons
engine failure problems on some Hyundai vehicles over a period of several years are degrading the perceived quality of this vehicle.
These problems should have been resolved sooner.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 1623 in total