2012
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(1679 Reviews)
Latest review about 1 month ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

DR
Daryl R.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
10/28/2020
Good fuel mileage horrible paint.
My 2012 Hyundai Sonata is an awesome car, if you love a car that averages 28 mpg and the indigo paint peels causing rust. Mediocre interior and major problems every few years. The motor was replaced at 45k miles and the fuel pump at 75k. After the warranty ran out there was even more problems, but who needs a high pressure a/c hose anyways.

Pros
Cheap

Cons
Cheap paint that peels, indigo color.
Major engine problems more than once.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
N
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America - Service responded on 10/29/2020
Allow us to look into your concern a little further, a specialist from our corporate office will be in touch with you to investigate further. ^cc

RC
Richie C.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
10/22/2020
Car sucks
It has a safety recall that Hyundai charged me for still not fixed, would never buy another Hyundai. And this is not my first had a Santa Fe also and while that car or SUV was much better the cars suck. I have many friends that bought Elantras but only because they were cheap

Pros
Rest of car ok, braking system sucks.

Cons
Hyundai will only fix a SAFETY PROBLEM OR RECALL ONCE. Even though still unsafe

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BW
Bobbie W.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
10/04/2020
Never had a problem with completion of works/service on the car until September 2020
Not satisfied. You might want to restart the inspection of cars you service. It doesn't look good to pick up a car and on the way home it breaks down again and then after a week something else is wrong. Maybe you might want to restart the major/computer inspection of cars after servicing.

Pros
The style

Cons
It's appears to be falling apart

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
Darren S.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
10/02/2020
Never again!
The engine seized after 120,000 miles. No indication it was going to happen. No check engine light came on. It just stopped! Never again will I buy a Hyundai. I have heard that the 2.4 engines have had a lot of issues - but never thought it would happen to me. Thanks Hyundai!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VK
Valentine K.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/16/2020
My sonata
Sonata is a great car with regards to the engin if taken good care of, but with the other parts it needs a lot of improvement, because it generates a lot sounds after driving for a while. A lot of work has to be done with regards to its parts, making it firm and durable. Aside of all that sonata is a great car to drive.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
Josephine C.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/27/2020
Not perfect, but well worth having.
My biggest complaint is limitation of view when pulling off ramp onto highway. The panel covering the driver's left windshield severely hampers viewing. My son, who is an
excellent driver, also complained about viewing difficulties when he drove me to a medical appointment.

Pros
Mostly very reliable. Mileage acceptable.

Cons
Poor visibility while accessing ramp to highway.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EG
Emily G.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
08/20/2020
Hyundai Sonata
I love my Sonata in many ways, however, it now has its third engine in it, and has had multiple recalls in each of the years I have had it. Consequently, when I went to purchase a second car, I chose not to buy a Hyundai.

Pros
The Sonata is a lovely car and drove well until it stopped cold twice and had to have the engine replaced each time. The air conditioning never worked properly. The service I received from both the dealerships I went to, was excellent.

Cons
There were many many recalls on parts of the car, which made me distrust its
reliability.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CL
Catherine L.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/16/2020
LESS THAN HAPPY 'CAMPER'
THE WARRANTY IS NOT THE BEST FOR ME. IT WILL TAKE ME MORE THAN 9 YEARS TO GET TO 60,000
MILES, MEANWHILE MY WARRANTY EXPIRED AFTER 5 YRS. I NORMALLY DRIVE ABOUT 7,OOO MILES PER YR. OF COURSE I HAD TO BUY AN EXPENSIVE EXTENDED WARRANTY.

Pros
SMOOTH , SAFE RIDE

Cons
BLUE LINK FEATURE IS TERRIBLE-- THE GPS
GOT ME LOST A FEW TIMES--NEEDS A LIVE OPERATOR LIKE ONSTAR!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VF
Valare F.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/06/2020
Best surprise I loved the car,
I never wanted the car but it has been a blessing in my life! Although I didn't want this car I LOVE THE CAR EVEN 6 YEARS LATER!!! I LOVE THE CAR EVEN 6 YEARS LATER!!! I LOVE THE CAR EVEN 6 YEARS LATER!!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Steven S.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/03/2020
Love it
Super economic , comfortable easy to park and drive xxxxxxxxxxxxxxcxxxxxxxxxxxxxxdxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxdxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxcxxxxxcxxxcxddffdfxxxxxdxddddddfffdfdddfffffffffffxxxxxxxxx

Pros
It is very economic

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Scott S.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/01/2020
Love my 2012 Sonat
This car is over 8yrs old and still looks and performs like new. We have never been left stranded. People are amazed that this car is almost 9yrs old. The sound system is better than my 2019 Sonata. This is a car to buy.

Pros
Looks and performs like new

Cons
The padding in the seats is of poor quality

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PM
Patricia M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/29/2020
Sonata Sedan
I did not purchase the car from Autonation.....It is from Carmax. But the car itself is great! It is comfortable and runs extremely well for an 8 year old car. With new tires, brakes and frequent maintenance visits, I feel I can have this car for another 10 years....running just as well as it does now.

Pros
Leather seats, backup camera, gps navigation, great heating and air-conditioning,
attractive body styling

Cons
Side view mirrors stick out too far......cannot see the end of the hood even with raising the seat

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LW
Leshanda W.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
06/28/2020
2012 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
The car was ok at first and I do mean just ok. But once it hit 100k its became my worst nightmare. Ive had it for 3yrs now and it's been an never ending money pit. Ive replaced the air flap system 3x so far ($1200 a pop) and that's just the beginning. I been to the dealership twice in less then 90 days and it's still not fixed, they don't understand what I'm talking about and they can't find the problem. That car is not safe and it's not built for Houston roads or traffic. I really wanted to love my car but it's a complete never again for me.

Pros
It's pretty and good on gas

Cons
To much to types so I'll sum it up with death trap

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
N
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America - Service responded on 06/29/2020
Allow us to look into your concern a little further, a specialist from our corporate office will be in touch with you to investigate further. ^cc

TC
Terrence C.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/16/2020
2012 Hyundai Sonata
My wife and I bought our 2012 Hyundai Sonata from Sacramento Hyundai brand new in 2012! The vehicle is still going strong and is well-made! We highly recommend Hyundai! We like our 2012 Hyundai Sonata so much we bought a 2013 Hyundai Santa Fe GLS.

Pros
Very reliable! Excellent customer support/service for the vehicle.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JV
Jonni V.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/29/2020
Great value acceptation navigation system updates-Ridiculous cost for this service.
The vehicle is valued appropriately as compared to other choices in vehicles.
The extended warranty covers the expected timeline prior to possible repairs ONLY.
The navigation update should be automatic or user friendly.

Pros
The vehicle is worth the value placed. Happy with the service provided by the dealership

Cons
Costly to update the navigation system. Other dealers update automatically, why would Hyundai not have the same??

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
Jenny R.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/23/2020
Great car
This is a great car; low maintenance. Great gas mileage. We bought this car used at 12,000 but at 120,000 still runs like new with same gas mileage. Still my favorite design for exterior. Sporty yet still chic.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LB
Larry B.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/14/2020
Larry Brewer/President of Inter/Product,Inc. /Tallmadge,Ohio
I have a Sonata 2.OT.I have 161,000 miles on it and it drives,looks and feels like it will be good for another 100,000 miles I can drive it for 12-14 hrs
before I get tired.It is a fun car to drive!I have had a lot of cars,but this one stands out as The Best.

Pros
Lite and handle well,so fun to drive.
With the Turbo,it's like driving a Bumble Bee!!!!!

Cons
Does not get around well at all in snow.You can get stuck in 2-3 inches of snow.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KS
Kehinde S.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
05/12/2020
Engine
The car is physically beautiful but the worst car ever most especially the turbo engine vehicles i will advice you aboid any hyudai car if you can,it comes cheap but dont be deceived.I regret buying it
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
N
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America - Service responded on 05/12/2020
Thank you. A specialist from our Headquarters will be in touch soon. ^cc

JG
Janice G.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
05/04/2020
great car
Great car with a good warranty but I'd recommend selling it before it gets out of warranty. Quit buying American-made cars in 1984 and have been satisfied with Toyota Nissan Mazda and now Hyundai. We were considering buying a new Palisade but the reliability of the Hyundai isn't quite what we expected never had additional repairs on any of the other import cars we bought.

Pros
10-year hundred thousand mile warranty

Cons
Very expensive when you have to pay for repairs out of warranty

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

IH
Izhanae H.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/30/2020
Car service!!!
My car has been riding smoothly ever since Chuck has helped me with my car issue. I had to pay for new brakes to be done because they were squeaking very badly. Chuck being their has lightened my worries of my first experience of having a car. I'm from a long way from home due to college but I will say my money was well spent and I appreciate the help!!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 1679 in total