2012
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.57/5Overall Rating 4.57/5Overall Rating 4.57/5Overall Rating 4.57/5rating 4.57
4.6
(1624 Reviews)
Latest review 11 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

RB
Rose B.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/26/2018
Sonata
This is my 3 Hyundai vehicle. previously 2 Elantras and now a Sonata and honestly, I prefer the Elantra as oppose to the Sonata. Nothing to do with the vehicle performance, just that for me the seats are too low, especially from back of seat and unless I use cushion I have a blind spot to clearly see. The side mirrors are also like blind spotsat time. I am very satisfied with performance of vehicle itself.

Cons
only seats for me, they kind of go down towards back of seat,you should make them straight where it lifts your bottom up and not sink in.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GW
Gaynell W.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/26/2018
Hyundai sonata
My Hyundai Sonata has required very few repairs. It usually requires regular maintenance and return for recalls upon notification from Hyundai. It is very dependable, comfortable and stylish. I would buy another one.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
Charlie S.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/26/2018
Muscle car in Disguise
I watched Hyundai and Kia over 25 years evolve into what they are now I havent been happier since. I just think it’s odd to have the name brand dealerships didn’t want anything to do with the car until I took it to Larsen where they had no problem with it they brought it in they took care of it Money was the last thing we talked about

Pros
GDI engine and 6 speed transmission

Cons
Speakers and sound is shitty

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MG
Milton G.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/26/2018
Very reliable
Great car.... very reliable... looks good.. great on Gas..... Great torque acceleration for a 4 cylinder.... Smooth transmission... Roomy interior for small family......................................

Pros
Great on gas

Cons
Engine noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FP
Francois P.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/25/2018
sonata 2012
one of the best vehicles that I had in the past 50 years! That says all..................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

Pros
Nice Power when you need....good brakes...fun to drive

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VW
Victoria W.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/25/2018
Supreme
My Sonata is the best car ever, she’s a 2012 and she still ranks with the newer car. She still holding up well no rust she driving her best no big expensive I like the fact I have excess to call Hyundai services if I was to break down
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BF
Barbara F.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/25/2018
2012 sonata
This is my3rd Hyundai. They just keep getting better and better. Thought about a hybrid but with the great. I league I get...I won’t bother since this Sonata is doing mpg so we’ll. Here in Michigan we all need heated seats in the winter. My grand daughter calls them “butt warmers” LOL

Pros
35-38 mpg on the highway
26-30 mpg around town

Cons
There are none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TV
Talia V.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/23/2018
Love it!
I love my Sonata! It’s great on gas, excellent rear camera, dual sunroof, smooth drive. I always get compliments on how nice it is. I would definitely purchase again! Great features, good interior and exterior design. Overall great car!

Cons
When repairs need to be done they can be quite expensive.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CM
Cynthia M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
12/20/2018
2012 sonata
Like the car design and interior comfort. Drives well and handles good. Gas mileage isnt good at all ; poor exterior lighting (head lights). Love the seats ; they really hug you. Nice dash board and accessories

Pros
great take off ; nice comfortable seats and interior design.

Cons
poor exterior lighting. Cant see a night. Need to place brighter bulbs in the making. Alarm issues with car not starting. Burns alot of fuel

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SG
Shirley G.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/19/2018
Sonata Hybrid
This is my third Sonata . I keep coming back because they get better and better with their features. But when I got my Hybrid like the saying goes “l’ll never go back” . I love love it. It is so quiet and drives great. Definitely a 10. Absolutely little repairs and has original parts at 78000 miles. Could you ask for more.

Cons
Slow pick up at a dead stop

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NA
Nasir A.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/17/2018
Excellent Vehicle
Excellent vehicle for the price. Great driving experience with smooth and fast acceleration. Exceptional miles per gallon, with spacious interior and sleek exterior design. Vehicle was well equipped. Only downsizes are all the recalls that had to be repaired or fixed without factory reimbursement such as the brake light staying on even when the car is off, which kills the car battery and burns the bulb socket.

Pros
Excellent vehicle for the price. Great driving experience with smooth and fast acceleration. Exceptional miles per gallon, with spacious interior and sleek exterior design. Vehicle was well equipped.

Cons
Recalls that had to be repaired or fixed without factory reimbursement such as the brake light staying on even when the car is off, which kills the car battery and burns the bulb socket.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
David C.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/16/2018
Very good value
I commute 100 miles per day, so I put a lot miles on cars fast. I wanted a good value with reasonable gas millage, and I think that's exactly what I got. A few things have broken here and there, mostly after 75 k miles. The serious stuff, has been covered by the manufacturer at no cost to me, including the engine at 140 k miles, they even paid for my rental. So I'm really blown away by that.

It's not a luxury car, it's a value car, and I think for the price it's a great value. Overall, my experience has been really good, I would totally recommend this manufacturer and this model.

Pros
Great value, great gas millage for this year model. Manufacturer has fixed several things free of charge even at high millage, including a new engine at 140 k miles!

Cons
Visibility out of this car is not great, for example, I can't see the feet of pedestrians close to crosswalks when making a right turn. Something about the front window pillars and the height of the dash just limit your view a little more than other cars.

At 140 k miles a few things have broken, as is to be expected, but the manufactures has covered all serious issues free of charge because they were known design flaws.

No one can fix the cruise control. I've had it fixed about 5 times now and it just keeps failing again within a few weeks.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
Rob S.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/14/2018
Love my hybrid.
Love the mileage and the looks. Have owned mine for 3 years and have had no problems. Needed tires but that's normal. It takes a while to get used to the engine starting and shutting of all the time, but it seems normal now. Great car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AM
Art M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/14/2018
Bought car new and have no problems not corrected and these were minor. Great car.
I was very appreciative when buying a hybird. I have been very pleased as would not hesitate buying another. Wish they made one in a SUV. The next car I buy will probably be a SUV but has millage will be an important factor. Wife has gotten used to the hybrid millage.

Pros
Just a very reliable, efficient car.

Cons
Passenger site too low & is not adjustable.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EC
Ernest C.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/14/2018
A Good Looking and Dependable Sedan for Long Term Driving
I was attracted to my 2012 Sonata Limited by overall excellent styling from any angle, and Industry-leading warranty terms. Service for a number of recalls has been great. I have had NO problems with anything and the very latest and popular tech items at that time were furnished with little effect on the MSRP. They included panoramic roof, leather and heated seats (front AND back), Auto dimming of rear view mirror, Navigation system, Stability Control, Rear view camera with different view points, alloy wheels on 18" rims, and the usual power seats ,windows, trunk latch release, steering, and brakes . Gas mileage is excellent and displayed on dash screen. My actuals are 23-24 city and 35-38 hiway on regular (non-ethanol) gas. Body panels have unage.ing black paint on a non-metallic surface...it looks GREAT all the time! The rear seat riders laud the leg room and comfort there. Oil usage at odometer reading of 73,000 now is negligible after 5,000 miles duration. Power of engine: More than adequate. What's to want with this car under your control?

Pros
Low gas & oil use Unnexpected high popularity features for MSRP
Comfort (See above narrative for more.)
Dependability
Styling, in & out

Cons
Climate Control sometimes ignores chosen settings. I admit, I never took it in to be "looked at".

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FH
Farah H.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/14/2018
Hyundai Sonata pearl white
I love the Sonata it’s a great ! However make sure you fix things under the warranty time frame as they won’t do it otherwise. We purchased 4 cars with Hyundai and they still would not cover my paint job as warranty had expired. I don’t recommend the pearl white as it chips easily! Other than that it’s an excellent car!

Pros
Car runs great. Great on gas. Maneuvering is easy.

Cons
The passenger seat does not move higher up. They should make it like the drivers seat.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FL
Frank L.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/12/2018
Content with Sonata
I've had my Sonata for over five years. In that time I only had one mechanical issue with the vehicle. It gets great MPG and runs great. There were about one safety recall issue for each year of ownership. The dealer took care of it satisfactorily. I really like the styling of the 2012 Sonata. Mercedes should have been so lucky to have the Sonata's styling.

Pros
Style and gas mileage

Cons
Numerous safety recalls issued, and fixed.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
Reeva S.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
12/11/2018
OK with flaws
My 2012 Sonata has been reliable with few mechanical problems . Faults are (a) paint job is bad; started flaking off within a year or so (b) gas milage is awful..not even close to expectations. Dealer was unable to correct this.

Pros
mechanical reliability

Cons
paint durability
gas milage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JP
Joe P.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/08/2018
Sonata 2012 gls
This car has more power than you’d expect from a 4-cylinder, but there is some down side as well. There’s is problems with the brake lights and I don’t know why Hyundai hasn’t addressed it. Every sonata on the road has at least one brake light out because they keep burning the bulbs and once you replace the bulbs they go out again within a week or two, you could replace the whole socket but the output is too high and the hassle of figuring this out yourself is way to much. Also the battery has a short life because of the high output required and the front tires are always going to be a problem they go out way too fast because of the power and front wheel drive

Pros
Fast

Cons
Brake lights, tires, battery.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
Rose M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/07/2018
2012 Sonata
I have been very happy with my Sonata. It has been a dependable car and is a great looking, comfortable car. I always get compliments on it and would definitely buy another one. Hub Hyundai has been a wonderful dealership.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 201 - 220 of 1624 in total