2012
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(1679 Reviews)
Latest review almost 2 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

MR
Marcel R.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
02/14/2019
Electrical Problems
A very comfortable car would definitely buy a new one! To my proplema and that I have some electrical problems that make me worried! My turbo also sometimes does not work! Indoor space and comfort are the highest points!

Pros
Indoor space and comfort are the highest points!
Design!

Cons
Some electrical problems that make me worried!
My turbo also sometimes does not work!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

K
K.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/14/2019
The Best Car I've EVER Owned
I've owned everything from Mercedes Benz to Corvettes to F-150's and more. By far, this car (Sonata Hybrid) was the least problematic in the seven years I've owned it. It gets 40 mpg and runs so smoothly with minimal recalls. So impressive!
I can't wait for Hyundai to develop more EV's as that's the direction we are headed now with our PV power on our home.

Pros
Exellent Gas Mileage and wonderful service record with minimal costs for maintenance.
Lots of luxury items in the car that others charge thousands more for, like front and rear seats have heaters, electric mirrors, auto lights, wonderful sound system.

Cons
Because it is so aerodynamic, the cowl is a bit low in front and hits parking lot curbs or the scrapes if you go too fast over speed bumps.
The voice command for the auto dialing sucks. It never gets the name you ask for correctly.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AP
Adriana P.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/12/2019
great car I love my Sonata ,it's the best car I ever had [Excellent}
the best car I ever had ,good quality dependable ,never a problem ,just regular maintenance , if I have to buy a car I will buy another sonata ,I Am so satisfied and impressed with my Sonata , that I recommended to few of my friends
Thank you Hyundai

Pros
good in gas, low in maintenance , great quality

Cons
car is too low you feel you are sitting on the floor ,the passenger seat is not electric

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LC
Latoya C.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/12/2019
Great service
I came in for an oil change and tire rotation last Saturday. The service was top notch and timely. I received a phone call as soon as my car was finished. I would recommend the service department to anyone.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
Robert M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
02/12/2019
A hybrid that gets the mileage of a gas only vehicle
In general the car has performed well over the years, but it was purchased to increase the miles per gallon. This did not happen! I was later informed that it was found that Hyundai misrepresented the actual mpg. I was stuck! For about a year we received money representing the gasoline cost difference but that vanished just like the performance. I won’t purchase another Hyundai.

Pros
Comfortable with a smooth ride.

Cons
Gas mileage and front decal blistering

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SA
Shadiyah A.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/09/2019
When I originally went to the Hyundai dealer, I was looking at the Santa my 2012 Hyundai Sonata, I was not sure if I would like the vehicle so I leased it for 4 years.
I went back to purchase my 2012 Sonata after first leasing it. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE my Sonata. My Sonata is Black with a wine colored leather interior. There are not that many Sonatas with that interior. Everyone gets in my car and falls in love with the space, comfort, & interior color. I am also in love with the performance of my care seven years later, it has never let me down! I am also very pleased that I am not buying brakes for my car all the time as I did with previous cars, Honda & Mazda. Hyundai makes a great vehicle!
Also my vehicle was fully loaded with an amazing price!

Pros
EVERYTHING about this car is PRO

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TB
Tia B.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
02/07/2019
To many recalls
I've had 2 reacalls already. My active air flap system needs fixed but way too expensive to do.. After looking online lots of people are having same issue but there is no recall for that? I Will never buy another Hyundai. It's a money pit.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ER
Elma R.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
02/06/2019
Great vehicle for the price I paid.
I like my Sonata when it's on the freeway as it gives me a lot mileage per gallon. I also like the thought that Sonata Corporate Worldwide takes corporate responsibility and action if they know of any impending factory defect by being proactive and sends out "recall notices" free of charge.

I've bought my Sonata in November 2011 and it still runs well.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HI
Hossein I.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
02/06/2019
after 7 years
I have 2012 T Sonata, I have say it is a ok car but it is not Toyota or Mazda or even Honda. I think this car has a lot to improve on , it may ver well has since 2012. Good thing powertrain has warranty up to 100K, otherwise I would have had many issue & alot of expense since there was a recall and I got a new engine around 60K. Prior to engine fix I complained about engine performance up to 10 time before they took a serious look at my car's engine as they kept telling we can not duplicate the issues you are claiming. Overall it is a ok car but probably up to 3 years. Again they may have improved since 2012.

Pros
aggressive & sporty looking car for the money.

Cons
needs to improve on quality to compete with Toyota or Mazda., advice dealership to address the customers concerns especially if there is official recall by highway safety Dept.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MT
Madeline T.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/06/2019
My 2012 Sonata
I love my car. I've had it for six years and haven't had any major trouble. I've kept all of my maintenance appointments, which I believe is most helpful in keeping my car running smoothly. I would recommend anyone considering purchasing a car to consider a Hyundai Sonata. Plus, the car has a great warranty!

Pros
Very reliable car

Cons
being a 4-cylinder, the ride can be a bit bumpy at times

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LT
Lashondra T.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/05/2019
Awesome
I love my Hyundai Sonata. When I bought my first one in 2015 this is the only car I purchase now. I absolutely will be buying Hyundai’s for the rest of my life. And my kids will be getting Hyundai’s as well.

Pros
Excellent on gas and runs forever

Cons
My windows aren’t tinted so the sun is always beaming on me.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GG
Greg G.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
02/05/2019
Very Good Family Car
I bought this car new in 2012 when the new 2013 models were already out. I got a slight discount for getting the 2012 model, but it came with the "panorama" view back seat roof (when the front seat sun roof was opened; basically a clear back seat roof window) that my daughter really enjoyed when she was younger. It has been a very reliable car so far and still looks sleek, sporty, & fairly elegant. It has a lot of extras for the money, but my Southern CA mileage has never quite lived up to par; however, when traveling on open highways / freeways, the mileage is good, and when out of state (less gas additives?), I enjoyed superior highway mileage (above advertised). It is fairly peppy, has a pretty good over-drive, if needed, but is a bit sluggish on uphill grades (not utilizing OD / striving for good gas mileage). Even at higher speeds, it feels pretty solid and the engine does not sound like it is working too hard (my last 4-banger really whined when raised above 70 mph). It is pretty roomy (fits 3-average size adults well) and has pretty good trunk space as well. It has been a very good value buy for the family.

Pros
Roomy with a decent sized trunk; the 2012 model still had the "panorama" view for the back seat roof (when sun roof is opened); even the back seat has seat heaters for passengers on cold days; good stereo system; car gets real good mileage on non-traffic freeways / highways (did amazing on Utah / Montana road trip; non-California gas); Hyundai is very good honoring recall issues (I got a new engine at 69,000 miles, due to a recall issue).

Cons
Engine is only 4-cylinders & has over-drive (this is not the turbo model), but is a bit sluggish on uphill grades (without kicking it in O-D); a shade less mileage than advertised (live in & fight CA traffic most days); and horn is a little wimpy: These are my only complaints.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RK
Richard K.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
02/04/2019
2012 Sonata
Dick Smith has done a great job. I have had the car 7 years. To date I have had a total of 9 recalls. Not to mention the hoods supports just went bad. The dealership wanted $103.00 for each support plus labor.

Cons
Great gas milage.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NB
Nancy B.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
02/02/2019
Hyundai Sonata
It has great traction in bad weather, handles very well, and accelerates when I need it to and is very comfortable to drive. I love the body style and the color. I am very pleased with it. The only thing I wish it had was heated seats.

Pros
All of the above.

Cons
Doesn't have heated seats.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KR
Karen R.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/02/2019
I Love My Hyundai Sonata GLS
My 2012 Hyundai Sonata is very spacious, comfortable when driving long distances, and seats 5 people. Great gas mileage and amenities are perfect. I would like see a better quality build Sonata with less recalls.

Pros
Great performance and gas mileage.

Cons
Too many recalls due to poor non reliable parts.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DR
David R.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/30/2019
2012 Hyundai Sonata - Love it
I had rented a Sonata before I bought one and I liked it. It got great gas mileage so when it was time to get a new car I knew I wanted a Sonata. I bought the car new. I have 245,000 miles on it and I've only had one issue with it - cam sensor. This left me on the side of the road for a tow. But having the car 7 years and only 1 breakdown I can't complain. The interior is great. It has great acceleration. It's fun to drive.

Pros
Great gas mileage (35-37 mpg), good comfort, drives great, low maintenance, timing chain (don't have to worry about changing it), great sound system.

Cons
High road noise (just have to adjust the radio volume and speak louder), short AM/FM radio reception range (I drive a lot out of city so XM works great), lots of recalls (built in engine debris takes out engine), headlights are not very bright and don't get a good distance out of them, headlights go out a lot.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WD
Weontha D.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/29/2019
2012 Hyndai Sonata
I purchased this car in 2011. I use to trade my cars in every 2-3 years. This car has far outweighed my expectations and I still love my car. Aside of the normal maintenance, I haven’t had to do anything else to this car. I would tell anyone whose looking for a car to consider a Sonata. If you are in the Dayton area, go to Voss Hyndai in Miamisburg, OH.

Pros
A very well made automobile

Cons
I seriously have none. The service has been excellent since the day I brought it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
Jack W.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/29/2019
The car I should have bought earlier.
I did not realize the amenities that came with a Hyundai Sonata. Very quiet ride. good styling. Excellent gas mileage. Parts are easy to replace. instrumentation are easy to see.
Had more amenities than my previous car.

Pros
Great amenities. Quiet ride.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TR
Tanya R.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/28/2019
Worth every dollar
I love my Sonata! This car is absolutely wonderful to drive, not to mention very stylish. Easy maintenance and an unbeatable warranty! I would most definitely recommend this car to anyone looking to purchase a cute, reliable vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AF
Andrew F.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/28/2019
2012 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Great car for the money - looks sporty but is practical also. gets great gas mileage but you can not drive 85 and expect 40mpg.. keep it around 70 and get near 40. we have put almost 90,000 miles on the car and still have not replaced the brakes (and have been told they have at least 10K more).
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 201 - 220 of 1679 in total