2012
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.57/5Overall Rating 4.57/5Overall Rating 4.57/5Overall Rating 4.57/5rating 4.57
4.6
(1631 Reviews)
Latest review 12 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

AM
Art M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/14/2018
Bought car new and have no problems not corrected and these were minor. Great car.
I was very appreciative when buying a hybird. I have been very pleased as would not hesitate buying another. Wish they made one in a SUV. The next car I buy will probably be a SUV but has millage will be an important factor. Wife has gotten used to the hybrid millage.

Pros
Just a very reliable, efficient car.

Cons
Passenger site too low & is not adjustable.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EC
Ernest C.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/14/2018
A Good Looking and Dependable Sedan for Long Term Driving
I was attracted to my 2012 Sonata Limited by overall excellent styling from any angle, and Industry-leading warranty terms. Service for a number of recalls has been great. I have had NO problems with anything and the very latest and popular tech items at that time were furnished with little effect on the MSRP. They included panoramic roof, leather and heated seats (front AND back), Auto dimming of rear view mirror, Navigation system, Stability Control, Rear view camera with different view points, alloy wheels on 18" rims, and the usual power seats ,windows, trunk latch release, steering, and brakes . Gas mileage is excellent and displayed on dash screen. My actuals are 23-24 city and 35-38 hiway on regular (non-ethanol) gas. Body panels have unage.ing black paint on a non-metallic surface...it looks GREAT all the time! The rear seat riders laud the leg room and comfort there. Oil usage at odometer reading of 73,000 now is negligible after 5,000 miles duration. Power of engine: More than adequate. What's to want with this car under your control?

Pros
Low gas & oil use Unnexpected high popularity features for MSRP
Comfort (See above narrative for more.)
Dependability
Styling, in & out

Cons
Climate Control sometimes ignores chosen settings. I admit, I never took it in to be "looked at".

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FH
Farah H.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/14/2018
Hyundai Sonata pearl white
I love the Sonata it’s a great ! However make sure you fix things under the warranty time frame as they won’t do it otherwise. We purchased 4 cars with Hyundai and they still would not cover my paint job as warranty had expired. I don’t recommend the pearl white as it chips easily! Other than that it’s an excellent car!

Pros
Car runs great. Great on gas. Maneuvering is easy.

Cons
The passenger seat does not move higher up. They should make it like the drivers seat.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FL
Frank L.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/12/2018
Content with Sonata
I've had my Sonata for over five years. In that time I only had one mechanical issue with the vehicle. It gets great MPG and runs great. There were about one safety recall issue for each year of ownership. The dealer took care of it satisfactorily. I really like the styling of the 2012 Sonata. Mercedes should have been so lucky to have the Sonata's styling.

Pros
Style and gas mileage

Cons
Numerous safety recalls issued, and fixed.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
Reeva S.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
12/11/2018
OK with flaws
My 2012 Sonata has been reliable with few mechanical problems . Faults are (a) paint job is bad; started flaking off within a year or so (b) gas milage is awful..not even close to expectations. Dealer was unable to correct this.

Pros
mechanical reliability

Cons
paint durability
gas milage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JP
Joe P.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/08/2018
Sonata 2012 gls
This car has more power than you’d expect from a 4-cylinder, but there is some down side as well. There’s is problems with the brake lights and I don’t know why Hyundai hasn’t addressed it. Every sonata on the road has at least one brake light out because they keep burning the bulbs and once you replace the bulbs they go out again within a week or two, you could replace the whole socket but the output is too high and the hassle of figuring this out yourself is way to much. Also the battery has a short life because of the high output required and the front tires are always going to be a problem they go out way too fast because of the power and front wheel drive

Pros
Fast

Cons
Brake lights, tires, battery.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
Rose M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/07/2018
2012 Sonata
I have been very happy with my Sonata. It has been a dependable car and is a great looking, comfortable car. I always get compliments on it and would definitely buy another one. Hub Hyundai has been a wonderful dealership.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KC
Keith C.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
12/06/2018
So so
Paid extra for the hybrid thinking it would get better mileage than others in 2012. Due to misreporting and subsequent class action law suit (which is still pending - almost 2019) I didn’t get the mileage I was sold. Not totally unhappy with +/-40mpg for a while but as years went on it was closer to 34. Had lifetime hybrid batteries (the reason I bought this hybrid!) checked twice at dealers only to say they were ok - despite loss of mileage. Not unhappy with car overall, just a couple of things that don’t settle right. I just traded the car on a 2019 non-hybrid Hyundai so I have faith in the overall product.

Pros
Nice style, easy to drive, pretty reliable - except expected mileage

Cons
Mileage not what it should be for stated performance

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EK
Elizabeth K.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/05/2018
2012 Sonata
I purchased this vehicle new in 2012. I put approximately 20,000 miles on it a year. I take in for regular oil changes and maintenance. It has served me well. I am hoping to get 2 more years of service and then I will purchase a new one. Excellent car and handles very well. All of my miles are highway. I had driven Cadillac’s for years and realty considered this a step down. The service and functionality and definitely proved me wrong. Thank you Hyundai

Pros
Handles so well. Great gas mileage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BJ
Byron J.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
12/02/2018
Sonata
Seems repair work always isnt covered by warrenty. $200 here and there. Each visit seems to get more and more expensive. The value and economy of the vehicle disappears from the large repairs to keep it on the road. Its the last sonada for me.

Pros
Comfort

Cons
Repairs

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WL
Way L.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/02/2018
performance of Sonata
I was about to sell my car and one buyer came to test drive and noticed the car engine stalled in minute manner. I did not believe him at first. Well the car did not sell and I continued to drive it and later noticed the stalling during several occasions. It was actually stalling while my gas pedal was pressed to accelerate. As the pedal was pressed the car was responsive for the first one or two seconds and then would not accelerate even if I pressed harder. It took the dealer several times to finally fix the problems. I am hoping that it is fixed. So far so good, cross my fingers. Because of this I am less inclined to buy another Sonata regardless of the excellent services I received. Also I discovered that Hyundai knew the passenger seat was lower and would not improve. the passenger seat cannot be raised to a higher position to match the driver side. This is kind ridiculous. Or I would say a Hyundai mistake. My car is the 2012 model. I don't know if later models had the same issues.

Pros
Cloth materials are comfortable. Exterior color was nice but very conventional.
Drives smooth except the issue with pedal excellerations. Paint conditions seems to last. My car still looks new but that could be due to my frequent hand washings and hand waxing the car.

Cons
passenger seat too low, colors can be brighter but not so in my car. Had pedal excellerations issues. Did not come with touch screen counsel like the newer models. Resale values are not so good.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LB
Lorne B.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/01/2018
Great Car!
We love our Sonata and the service people who take care of it for us! Sorry about the minimum of 200 characters but when you get old, time is more important then minimum characters. Apparently this survey was designed by a young person who had a lot to say.

Pros
Where do I start? If I start you will run out of program memory! lol In short EVERTHING!

Cons
NONE! Well there is one, I wish I had this car TWENTY YEARS AGO!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TM
Thomas M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/01/2018
Hyundai Sonata
I am 83 years of age, owned many vehicles which I have had serviced throughout the US, Puerto Rico and Europe and Buerkle Hyundai is by far the most thorough and friendly service I have ever had the pleasure of experiencing. The Hyunda Sonata is absolutely the finest car I have ever owned and it is the only vehicle I will purchase in the future.

Pros
The entire automobile.

Cons
None whatsoever

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CR
Chris R.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
11/30/2018
Adequate vehicle, Hyundai interest in customers zilch.
Vehicle is comfortable but not extremely so. Maintenance schedule was designed by a sadist and is not at all practical. Reported mileage by BluLink has been in error since very early on and Hyundai web site will not allow the owner to correct it. For a long while Hyundai required the owner to enter dealer performed maintenance on the web site in order to track what items had been accomplished and at what time rather than extracting data from dealer's invoice system to the web site by VIN number. I recommended this fix to Hyundai back in 2012, finally implemented about 2017. Once a recall is posted against a vehicle it is almost impossible to clear it after the work is performed. Navigation system is absolutely atrocious. The navigation system will not learn as a Garmin system will. My $350 Garmin is by far more reliable than the Hyundai system. I could go on for days about the shortcomings of the 2012 Hyundai Sonata, but you get the picture.

Pros
Not many

Cons
Lousy Navigation system
Sadistic maintenance schedule
Absolutely no warning when battery died and then 'secret starting' procedure was not offered by Hyundai (It's on YouTube)
Terrible visibility while backing up & backup camera rarely is clear enough.
Hyundai customer service (actually: non-service)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FS
Fred S.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/29/2018
It's gets greast gas mileage and smooth riding.
It is a good looking car, inside and out, and rides smoothly. The gas millage is around 35 mph - can't beat it for the size of the car. We enjoy taking it on long trips. When others ride with us, they are amazed of the comfort and economy of the car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TE
Todd E.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/29/2018
Amazing car
I bought my 2012 sonata in 2011 and have been happy from day 1. The only service I've had to have is the regular maintenance and a few recalls, which the communication for those is amazing! I love the sunroof! In fact my next car has to have the same type. The leather seats have held up very well. When I'm ready to get a new car it will definitely be another Hyundai. I'd get another sonata but I want a SUV.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SJ
Shateka J.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
11/29/2018
Horrible
I have never seen a car with soooooo many recalls! Once my engine locked up I started doing my research and I found that this car had over 7 recalls which 3 of the 7 were in 2012. I feel like this car is a complete death trap!

Cons
The car itself

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
James S.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/29/2018
We love our Sonata!
We had a 2012 Hyundai Sonata Limited which was "totaled" by insurance adjuster following Hurricane Florence. We loved that car! So, we purchased another one just like it at a Hyundai dealership in another city. About 2 months prior to Hurricane Florence, we had purchased a 2016 Hyundai Sonata Limited, because we had such great service from our first Sonata. We recommend Hyundai as a dependable, affordable and practical vehicle.

Pros
Good looking, dependable automobile.

Cons
Anytime you purchase a used vehicle, you will have some unexpected repair expenses.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CB
Chijki B.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/28/2018
Loving my sonata
I’m ready to upgrade to a newer car or truck so I can really show my friends that Hyundai is the best choice when selecting a vehicle and the service is awesome and I wouldn’t recommend no other car place to go to
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Judith M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
11/27/2018
Convenient
It is a nice car not to good in snow. I like the gas mileage and all of the extra stuff like back up camera, leather heating seat etc. I am not to happy about the many recalls on this car also the parts for this car are way to expensive. Overall it is a nice car.

Pros
super economic, nice interior.

Cons
Parts are to expensive

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 221 - 240 of 1631 in total