2012
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.58/5Overall Rating 4.58/5Overall Rating 4.58/5Overall Rating 4.58/5rating 4.58
4.6
(1609 Reviews)
Latest review about 2 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

EW
Edward W.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/19/2019
2012 hyundai sonata
I would not recommend the 2012 sonata. I bought it new and it has had too many recalls on this model year. I also have a 2002 sonata, which still runs better than the 2012 model. Thus if anybody is looking for the used car, don't buy the 2012 sonata. Hopefully the later years have corrected the problems.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EC
Etta C.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/19/2019
It’s a 🍋
I have had trouble out of this car every since I had it, taken it back and forth to the dealership and staying to three hours. From my backup camera to sensors has been worked on, the engine light stays on and no one knows why! I hold my breath every time and turn the key because anything could be wrong with it or going out on it, I just paid it off and I don’t want to go in debt for another vehicle, every time they fix one thing something else needs fixing. 2012 sonata’s are lemons and that’s maybe just my opinion

Pros
Beautiful car, drives good, performance good, great features

Cons
Stay needing services, on all features, stay in the shop. It’s a beautiful lemon. I wouldn’t recommend this car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AT
Alice T.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/15/2019
MY 2012 HYUnDIA SONATA
I LIKE MY HYUNDIA SONATA NICE RIDING AND HANDLES VERY NICE GETS GOOD MILEAGE PASSES GAS STATIONS LIKE THEY ARE NOT THERE OVERALL I LOVE MY HYUNDIA !!!!!! ONE THING I DO WISH;;;I WISH I HAD LEATHER SEATS EASIER TO SLIDE IIN AND OUT OF CAR
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BM
Bobby M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/15/2019
Excellent Style, Quality, And Road Performance.
Excellent comfortable stylish-comfortable-first-class ride!!! I purchased the vehicle new in 2012. It's an all pro ride!!! And, of course, I am highly satisfied. And, I will purchase another new Sonata in 2020!!!!

Pros
ALL Pro!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MP
Mario P.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/14/2019
Good cart for your money
The Sonata has been a very reliable car for me. I bought it new in 2012 and after 110,000 miles still gives me over 30 miles x gallon in the city. Minimum maintenance until the airbag light turned on and I was told needs 3 dollars to repair the airbag on the driver side. I like the car and was planning on driving it for another 2 years minimum but now I am not sure if that is safe enough to continue driving it. I hope Hyunday would had made the repairs to a faulty airbag without a cost to the consumer.

Pros
Very economic car
After 7 years driving it in the hard winters of Chicago, I see no signs of rusty parts.
Pain still very shine
Confortable for all 5 passengers.

Cons
Faulty airbag after warranty was over and not able to get repairs done because of high cost that a 7 year old car value is equal or less to cost of repairs.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AG
Albert G.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/12/2019
2012 Sonata SE 2.0 Turbo
Six yrs old but only 75k miles. Can still "zip" past semi's going up-hill on I80 in western PA.
No trade in in mind.10.Takeit as is or I'll delete bbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbb

Pros
You got 10's, what more do you want?

Cons
Couldn't get heated front seats or dimming rear view mirror when I bought it. Too much roadnoise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BB
Barbara B.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/11/2019
Would buy another just like it.
Good buy for the money. Stylish, Easy to keep clean, Good Gas mileage, Comfortable seating & Driving. Easy to handle on long trips. Excellent trunk room for baggage. Seats four passengers and the driver comfortably.

Pros
we love our car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CF
Clint F.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/10/2019
Great car, bad gas mileage
I pretty much love everything about the car except for the gas mileage especially in the summertime when the AC is running nonstop I get anywhere from 20 to 25 miles per gallon...need vehicle updates that should have been covered by hyundai but I was made to pay for them

Pros
Looks great, comfy, techy,

Cons
Horrible gas mileage, ac does not cool in winter

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BC
Burger C.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/09/2019
Great value and very reliable
Great value. Stylish inside and out. Very reliable. Fold down rear seats expand trunk capacity. Repair costs seem to be reasonable. Easy to drive on the freeway and off. Exterior finish is holding up well.

Pros
Great audio and Bluetooth. Trunk is a great size. Like the fold down back seats-they make it easy to expand trunk capacity.

Cons
Tail lights seem to have a short “shelf life”. I’ve had to replace both of them in the last 8 months.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CT
Colleen T.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/01/2019
Nice car!
Love my Sonata but a little concerned about the number of recalls that just keep coming. Everything has always been taken care of to my satisfaction but still a concern. Glad Hyundai stands behind their cars!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
Sharon B.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/30/2019
My second Sonata. I am a major Hyundai Sonata fan!
My second Sonata. I am a major Hyundai Sonata fan! I have owned many other brands and Hyundai is now my first choice. My first car served me well and this one is still going strong and I put close to 200000 miles on my first. For me, the Sonata gives me the most comfort and value for the money. I always recommend the Sonata to my friends!

Pros
Solid, reliable, comfortable, many upgrade features.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GM
Glenn M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/29/2019
Sonata 2012
Car has 113,000 miles and runs well. What I don’t care for is too much hard plastic in the interior. This seems to be an issue with Hyundai’s. I find that Toyota’s, Honda’s, and Subaru’s seem to be more “solid” as they age compared to my Hyundai

Pros
Runs well...still looks great.

Cons
Too many hard plastic parts. Car runs a little too tight on its suspension. Hybrid is getting noisier with age. Car sits very low which is ok but it can be a bit burdensome getting in and out of the vehicle.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Mountain B.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/25/2019
EXCELLENT SERVICE AND MR ERIC TAKE CARE OF OUR CAR PRETTY WELL
Thank you Mr. Eric for your help as always you do. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RH
Robert H.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/25/2019
This a agreat vehicle
This car is reliable. It is an I4 with a 2.4 Liter engine that develops over 200 hp but gets 40 mph on the highway. It is eye catching and very streamlined but very comfortable. The cloth seats are a bit hard to keep clean and delicate. I like the car so much I have purchased a leather kit to convert the seats, headrests and console to leather. The headlights are not too great. But I like the car so much I put in Innovited 55w HID bulbs and now they work fine after much help from Sharon Norman and the techs on getting them alligned.

Pros
Economy and performance
Comfort

Cons
Headlights dim and unfocused
Cloth seats delicate and easily soild

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CH
Carlos H.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/24/2019
My 5th Hyundai, Second Santa Fe
No much to add; except that I do appreciate Mario's courtesy and taking care of my problem faster then expected. in order to complete the "minimum" characters will add x's.(A maximum agree, a minimum shouldn't be imposed.
xxx xxx xxx xxx xxx xxx xxx xxx xxx xxx xxx xxx xxx xxx xxx xxx xxx xxx xxx xxx xxx xxx xxx xxx xxx xxx xxx xxx

Pros
Reliable

Cons
Passenger seat too low; like many other models, fading of head lamps lenses

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TM
Toby M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/21/2019
Love it but.....
I have loved my Sonata since owning it and I bought it new (2012). I love the power from the turbo, comfort, even on long trips, gas mileage and style. The last 15 months or so I’ve been chasing a noise that can not be identified as to where it’s coming from. It started off not consistent which I know makes it harder, but it has been consistent for at least the last six months and the dealership still can’t find it. I’ve given up putting money into it even though it drives me crazy to hear it, but I’ve paid enough for no results. My last experience with the dealer was so bad that I’ll just drive it until the wheels fall off now, but it makes me sad because I truly love my car.

Pros
Comfortable, great gas mileage, drives easy.

Cons
Questioning build quality with unknown noise no technician has been able to find.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KC
Kelman C.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/20/2019
Reliable car
Great car to commute in and a night out with friends. I love the color and nice ride to drive. Really reliable car to have and adorable on gas. Comfortable to drive and good in certain weather conditions.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
Samuel M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
07/20/2019
Transmission woes
When we first bought the car,we LOVED it. It had everything we were looking for. Plenty of room for our three growing kids and plenty of trunk space for our family trips. Then the transmission problems started. My wife not hates to drive this car.

Pros
Comfortable, good fuel economy, performance, looks great

Cons
Transmission can't be fixed

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
John M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/19/2019
Overall performance
My car is a 2012 HYBRID. I was disappointed with the Highway gas performance which was rated at 40 miles, the most I got was 36. I had problems receiving mileage checks due to the mileage claim. I only received 2 to my knowledge. It was a tug war between the company and the dealership. When I applied for the gas compensation check, company said the dealership had to verified the mileage. It went back and forth and I just gave. The 2 year mark I had to replace the Hybrid battery. The front passenger seat should have been "motorized" like the driver's seat.
Other than the above, I like the appearance of the car. It has been reliable on trips to Myrtle Beach South Carolina, Destin Florida, Biloxi .Mississippi and Long Beach California. I have approximately 103,000 miles on it.

Pros
Nice looking reliable vehicle to date

Cons
Gas mileage claim

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EZ
Ed Z.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/19/2019
Paint Job
2012 and roof paint is peeling??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 21 - 40 of 1609 in total