2012
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(1679 Reviews)
Latest review 10 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

AM
Aaron M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/20/2020
2012 sonata
Although I'm more of the SUV type I am very pleased with my sonata. The warranty is great, good gas mileage and the overall performance is good.I definitely would recommend anyone to purchase Huyndai vehicles just for piece of mind and reliability.

Pros
Great warranty and gas mileage

Cons
Too low to the ground for me.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SP
Susan P.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/18/2020
Hybrid
My hybrid is 7 years old. It's been good to me but I don't think I would buy one again.
It's been very reliable and has the equipment that is sufficient for my driving habits.
Service can be called if there's a breakdown of any kind.

Cons
Take off is slow. It does a thing when you try to speed up quickly.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KM
Katherine M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/16/2020
This is my second Sonata. Love my car.
I have owned two Sonatas. I traded my first for this model because I liked the style. . Both cars have been solid vehicles. The new 2020 Sonata is a real good looking vehicle. Tempts me to trade again.

Pros
- love the navigation in dash

Cons
Gas tank release does not always work. Sometimes need to open the trunk and manually release to open. Have had it looked at several times.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Michael M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/14/2020
Love my Sonata
Great car for a great price. Our last car was totaled (13 yrs old) and insurance gave us 1/4 the cost of what we originally paid.keeps its value. Excellent warranty too. Rides smooth. Looks great. People always tell us they like our car.

Pros
Keeps its value
Awesome warranty

Cons
Can’t think of any

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DR
Doris R.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/30/2019
Gas mileage
Nice car would upgrade to suv. Sturdy on the road, great mileage can drive from MD to NC on one tank of gas.
I would choose a suv with that in mind maybe something in red with camera, sun roof, side sensors, has to have spare tire, automatic starter

Pros
Great on gas
Trunk size big.

Cons
2012 Hyundai sonata is basic package.
No power seats on driver or passenger side.
Passenger seat sits love.
Navigation series had issues with from day that was not fixed so stopped using it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TB
Tom B.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/27/2019
Love this car
Great reliable vehicle, great warranty! Great dealership. Service departments are great at all Hyundai dealerships. Looking at the new Palisade maybe next year after it has good ratings and i will give my car to my older son.

Pros
big trunk

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DH
Donna H.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/20/2019
2012 Sonata Limited
I have thought of buying a newer Sonata, but this one has given me such great service and mileage over these few years that I just couldn't "abandon" it... I have consistently had 30 and better on trips and 27 to 29 in town mpg' with this car... I couldn't ask for better in a straight gasoline car..(Not hybrid.) .. Comfort was exceptional, and looks are also... You can pay more for a high end car, but you won't be any happier than I am with this car and dealership...

Pros
Great on all counts

Cons
The front passenger's seat is not electronically moveable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PW
Patricia W.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/14/2019
Surprisingly nice car
Had not owned a Hyndai before and wasn't sure of the quality. It has given me no problems. Very pleased and will likely purchase one again. Very reliable, dependable, comfortable.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FM
Fran M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/06/2019
Great Purchase
I love my Hyundai. Great gas mileage, beautiful body style, very comfortable seating, and an amazing amount of room inside, and in the trunk. I've had my car for 5 years, and only had 1 major problem, but it was totally covered by recall.

Pros
Color, size, body style, fast, gas mileage, sporty interior comfort, phone pairing/bluetooth, power seats, windows, steering wheel paddle shifter, pushbutton start, 18" low profile wheels/tires

Cons
Not enough radio presets, no dual heating controls, only 1 keyfob,

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CR
Chris R.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
12/04/2019
Decent Vehicle, However . . .
Decent vehicle, however Hyundai national is the pits. Hard to find information from national. Utube has better information. National web site is terrible. Keeps reminding you of recalls and maintenance that have already been performed. Lousy navigation system. Sunroof may spontaneously explode (mine did)!

Pros
Local dealer service.

Cons
Hyundai national. Lousy navigation. Sunroof prone to spontaneous explosion.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AG
Albert G.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/30/2019
You wont get my Sonata 2.0 T
8 yrs and still happy w Sonata 2.0 T No plans to trade in
Your survey is too demanding and way too long. Minimum of 200 characters? You want my help and your telling me how much to write!
If I hadn't written so much so far I'd just delete.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Jerry M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/25/2019
2012 Sonata Hybrid
I purchased my first Sonata in 1987 which was the first year they came out. I have to say that this was a nightmare. Too many problems for a first time vehicle. But, I can say since then the manufacturer has made numerous changes and improvements. The car today is the car to purchase.

Pros
Gas efficiency, mobility and styling.

Cons
No pair....

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NB
Nancy B.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/20/2019
Love my car
I love driving my car. It handles great and does good in bad weather. It's roomy but yet sporty. It's everything I want and expect in a car. They are at the top of the list for safety features along with the Subaru and that means a lot to me.

Pros
All of the above plus great mileage.

Cons
I wish it had heated seats.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RA
Ron A.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/20/2019
2012 Sonata SE
Bought the car new and it’s the best overall car I have ever owned . Only one real issue with the fuel pump a few years ago but this was quickly resolved . It’s now 7 years old with 80 k miles and driving like new . I was going to change it out before the end of the year but as I like it so much I’ve decided to keep it for another year at least ,especially as my mileage has decreased recently . I’m not even going to bother to extend the warranty .

Pros
Overall it’s a very good vehicle and I am convinced I will buy Hyundai again . Maybe a top of the range Tucson next time

Cons
Headlights could be brighter
No rear view camera
Front passenger seat

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TP
Timira P.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/19/2019
Love it
The car I had for 3 years love how drive in snow summer time alot of room no problem with the car great services when I take the car for oil change love the comfort of the car I would buy other if I had to great cars
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SD
Sheryl D.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/19/2019
Blind spot
I love the look & style of the sonata but it does have blind spots that might steer me away from buying another one. Also, I have had issues with the brakes & oil burning too fast. It looks like they are going to replace the engine for free

Pros
Style
Cost

Cons
Blind spots
Brake issues
Interior cheap

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
Roy M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
11/14/2019
2012 Sonata
Problem began within 1 month of purchasing...3 yrs of the same problem! Under the hood would shake, loose power & would become undrivable. I would not recommend

this was the worst vehicle ever owned

Pros
Size, interior

Cons
Had the same ongoing problem for 3 years & still unresolved

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
N
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America - Service responded on 11/14/2019
We would like to get involved to examine your claim further. A specialist from our Headquarters will contact you shortly. Thank you. ^cc

KK
Kathryn K.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/12/2019
Great vehicle
My 2012 Hyundai Sonata is the best vehicle I’ve ever had. I have 109000 miles on it and have no intention to buy another vehicle in the near future. This car is definitely a family hand me down that’ll stay in our family for a while

Cons
The drivers seat sits too low

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RW
Robert W.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/12/2019
Great car except for milrage.
When you had a car for 7 years and the only visit to the dealer is for routine service, I would consider it great. The only problem has been the hybrid gas mileage. It was not what stated from the start but is getting increasingly worse and now down to low 20's. This is the disapointment in the car.

Pros
Runs grest, very reliabile.

Cons
Poor mileage for hybrid.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AC
Andrew C.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/05/2019
2012 Sonota 2.0
Love the car for the most part. Great gas mileage. Fun to drive. Great storage. Road noise is terrible. Have tried 3 types of tires still noisy. Passenger seat is too low, with few adjustments, which makes it uncomfortable for long trips.

Pros
Great gas mileage. Fun to drive. Great sound system.

Cons
Road noise is terrible. Passenger seat is too low, with few adjustments, which makes it uncomfortable for long trips.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 41 - 60 of 1679 in total