2012
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.58/5Overall Rating 4.58/5Overall Rating 4.58/5Overall Rating 4.58/5rating 4.58
4.6
(1611 Reviews)
Latest review 5 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

RH
Regina H.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/27/2019
2012 Hyundai Sonata 2.0T
Absolutely love this car, bought used at 38,000miles. Comfortable, Beautiful style and alot of power. Make sure oil changed on time. Car has been reliable and safe. Even through an accident of hitting a Farrell donkey! Felt no impact. Great family car, yet still sporty!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MT
MICHAEL T.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/24/2019
Driving the Hybrid
This car has repair cost twice of the 2.0
Everything on this car has is a set of two. The money saved on gas is pennies to the hundreds spent on repairs.
PS
Hate the transmission on this car
This transmission is the worst thing, it keeps slipping in and out of 2nd gear and the dealership says that it is working so there is nothing to repair

Pros
Quiet drive

Cons
transmission

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EL
Eloise L.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/21/2019
Happyiness
This car is the best car I have ever owned barring none.
After 69,000 miles, other than standard maintenance (oil change, air filter, tires, etc) the only repairs I have had is a cleaning of windshield washer fluid container.

Pros
GREAT car

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
Joseph D.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/21/2019
Great car
Comfortable spacious drives well and no headaches from dealing hyundai customer service as of yet. My only real gripe is low quality paint a small ding on my bumper has turned random spots of cracking paint across the entire bumper..

Pros
Look of luxary at a reasonable cost. Good on gas.

Cons
Low quality paint a small ding on my bumper and paint is cracking all over the bumper.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
Josephine G.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/20/2019
I wish that I could afford a car payment.
I wish that I could afford a car payment. Will continue to repair my vehicle until I can afford a car payment. Can't afford car payment. Can't afford car payment. Can't afford a car payment. Can't afford a car payment.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
Donald B.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/20/2019
D.B
My sonata is a 2012 and it has over 115,000 miles. I have had no problems with it other than normal maintenance. It’s been a great car my Daughter is now driving it. The vehicle continues to hold its appearance and looks brand new it also continues to get good gas mileage

Pros
Good gas mileage, little problems, easy to drive,

Cons
Front wheel drive, under sized tires

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KP
Kenneth P.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/17/2019
Stylish vehicle but should have bought gas model
My car is so stylish but I have had numerous problems with "Hybrid Safety Warning, Do Not Drive". The troubleshooting was endless. And when the five year warranty went out, I had to pay $900 for an air damn part of the hybrid system. 7 years in and the gas motor part of the hybrid went out. I wish I had just gotten the same car as gas engine.they have great reviews and great resale value compared to my model

Pros
Design interor and out. Great legroom in back seat.good trunk space for a hybrid. 10k/10yr powertrain warranty was a lifesaver.

Cons
Multiple hybrid problems, two that interrupted road trips.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VS
Veronica S.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/14/2019
2012 Sonata
Owned 2012 Sonata for 7 years and it was a great car. No majors issues. Traded in with 174,000 miles. Very comfortable in long travel trips, for front and back passengers. Roomy trunk for baggage and more.

Pros
Comfortable seating, easy smooth driving. Roomy trunk area.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NB
Nancy B.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/11/2019
Fantastic
Love the car. Handles the road wonderfully, great gas mileage, comfortable, no blind spots and proud to drive one. I love the color. I haven't had any issues beside the normal maintenance. I really like driving this car.

Pros
Just about perfect in every way.

Cons
Wish the buttons on the rear view mirror were somewhere else. When you adjust the mirror to night, your fingers hit the satellite radio, Bluetooth, etc. Buttons.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CR
Chris R.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
05/09/2019
OK Vehicle, Lousy National Company
2012 Hyundai Sonata 2.0T Ltd is an OK vehicle. However, the national Hyundai company is the pits. Hyundai does not answer direct questions. The navigation system is appalling (I have a $350 Garmin that is vastly superior). The maintenance schedule was designed by a sadist. The sunroof is liable to 'spontaneously explode' (actually experienced one of these, and the barrier between the sunroof and the cabin is FABRIC and NOT RIGID, therefore glass rains down on the occupants!).

Pros
decent warranty (but quick to deny answers if you are over a limit)

Cons
Exploding sunroof
Abysmal maintenance schedule
Lousy national support
Terrible navigation system
Too many recall issues
Hard to find information when things go wrong (more info on youtube.com than on Hyundai web site

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AR
April R.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/08/2019
2012 Hyundai Sonata
The 2012 Hyundai Sonata is an awesome ride. Love the way it handles on the open highway in WV. It has the power to handle any hill or curve. Performs great in town through traffic. Entering busy highways is no problem, as it has a quick power for acceleration that merges into traffic seamlessly. You'll not believe how well this vehicle handles and performs unless you drive one. It's a keeper!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TS
Teresa S.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/08/2019
Car quality
The quality of the car and how Hyundai backs their product is excellent. I recommend this car to others. However, I do not like how the seats feel like you are sitting on the ground. The car I have is used.

Cons
The seats sit too low to the ground

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
Careen C.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/07/2019
My new car
Prior too purchasing my Hyundai Sonata..
I always owned Ford my last was a Ford fusion 2010...Great car but has miles become high everything was going wrong..from computer issues too transmission....So loving the Hyundiai very smooth and pretty car...drives nicely and hopefully continue too get good gas mileage...Just hoping has miles get higher pray that nothing goes wrong...I've had it almost a year...

Pros
Sun roof and interior

Cons
Sometimes A.C takes awhile

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SL
Steven L.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/06/2019
Sonata is One of the Best Values on the Road
I originally looked at the Sonata when the new body style came out, thinking the 2011 redesign a pretty bold step. Little did I realize that redesign would kick of an arms race between the manufacturers that has taken the full-size non-Lexus/Acura/BMW/Audi class of cars to new heights. If you think I'm kidding, just compare the styling and features of any Camry, Accord, Altima, etc., to what it was before 2012.
After almost 8 years and 140,000 miles, I consider the Sonata the best value on the road. The car has been dead-nuts reliable, and is a great "road trip" car; comfortable, with plenty of legroom (at 6'7" and 350 lbs., I really appreciate that), all the necessary power accessories, a great sound system, and capable of running 70 mph all day long while returning 40 mpg. All this for less than $24k out the door. Definitely would buy another one.

Pros
Value. Features. Quality

Cons
Wouldn't mind if they made the car a bit heavier in the suspension/drive train. Performs and handles well, but really bad roads (as in NY City after a winter) can make it lose its composure a bit.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AB
Andrew B.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
05/03/2019
Terrible choice
The car is cheap but does look well. It is good on gas and provides good turn radius and noticeably decent cargo space. I loved my car until I’ve been through 2 and there is a recall on the vehicles engine that seizes and shuts off/destroys the engine. They increased warranty and all but they still sell these terrible cars. 2 owned both engines seized.

Pros
Satisfies daily commute very well

Cons
Recall that destroys engine and they can’t detect it until it happens.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TB
Twyla B.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
05/01/2019
Not a Quality Product
I often tell people who compliment my 2012 Sonata SE, don't be fooled. It's an attractive piece of junk. Hyundai makes nicelyt appointed good looking cars, but the recalls, major repairs, low quality products are not worth the 100,000 mi warranty touted as the gold standard.
Let's be honest, no one wants a bi-annual visit to the dealer for recalls or other costly repairs after 60,000miles! The 100,000 mi warranty covers PowerTrain, but nothing else. It seems everything else goes south within the 60,000-100,000mi period. Then after 100,000, it becomes a game of Russian roulette. Do yourself a favor and buy a Honda, Toyota or Mazda...the car may not be as pretty, but should you know that names of just about everyone at the Service center because you spend so much of your valuable time there?

Pros
attractive design
nice features

Cons
many recalls
often under repair

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FM
Felice M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
04/30/2019
2012 Sonata Hyundai
This is the biggest lemon of a car probably ever manufactured.....there have been recalls; the engine, the steering column, the seat belt mechanism (twice), the steering wheel plastic peeled, the ball bearing rods, the air bags. After a year of fighting with Hyundai and paying $300.00 to have the oil pan cleaned out and all new oil put in and being told I was not maintaining the car correctly.....the engine died and they furnished a new one. Thank G-d I did not die driving on 400 in Atlanta when the engine decided it was going....Hyundai should have replaced the cars instead of the engines.....piece of JUNK. Now I just got a class action lawsuit notice for the sunroof that apparently shatters! HUGE mistake to buy this car...and Consumer Reports rated it very highly at time of purchase.

Pros
This is a pretty vehicle
Came with back up camera that works intermittently
Double sunroof
GPS

Cons
Recalls for almost everything
Only rides smoothly for first year
Back up camera wires run through the truck, poorly designed so it only works intermitently

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EB
Evan B.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
04/30/2019
Car is Unreliable
This car is poorly engineered. It cost me several $$$$ to try to maintain this vehicle as I wanted to drive it a long time. Hyundai tried to learn how to engineer a hybrid. and that cost me $$$ I paid for Hyundai to learn. I will never buy a Hyundai hybrid again and likely never buy a Hyundai again.

Pros
Nice interior features, 4 heated seats for a middle level vehicle and all leather was nice. I liked the features of the car and that seemed to override my feeling that a Hyundai hybrid would be reliable.

Cons
Poorly engineering. Once you get a few years and some mileage on the car better open up your wallet and start paying what will be a money pit to maintain your Hyudai hybrid. After a few years you can't count on this car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SH
Syed H.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/30/2019
Excellent value for Money
Great value for money.
Cant afford a Camry or Accord with these many features in the same price.
The Bluetooth and voice features could've been better.
Overall a very good, reliable and affordable hybrid.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SR
Susan R.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/29/2019
Live my Sonata
My favorite car... love the look and performance... has tinted windows... live them. It handles well on the road. Happy with the features and the radio as well as the air conditioning. The seats are comfortable

Pros
Comfort

Cons
Put in a lot of money to keep on the road

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 61 - 80 of 1611 in total