2012
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(1679 Reviews)
Latest review about 1 year ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

RS
Raymond S.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/04/2019
Overall review
To this point we are very happy with the vehicle and would definitely consider purchasing another Hyundai when the time comes for another vehicle.aoaooaoaooaoaooaoaoaoaoaoaoaoaoooaooaooaoaoaoaooaaoaoaooaoaoao
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
James W.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/01/2019
Hyundai Sonata 2012
engine noise is low power is good,engine response is good,rear parking brake & regular brakes are not a very good setup definitely don't like not being able to check transmission fluid level fuel tank size is great thanks for not having a small 10 gallon tank.

Pros
fuel economy reliability and engine response over all space is great

Cons
steering wheel should have more adjustability telescoping would help with better sitting position

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AG
Amarilis G.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/01/2019
Great car
I have my Sonata 2012 for about 2 years.
No complaints. Good on gas. Very comfortable and safe.
It is a big car, with a lot of room in the back seat and the trunk is spacious too. From 1 to 10 I give this car 10
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
Judy W.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/31/2019
happy customer
the car has been recalled on a few items, but over all I've had no major problems , I had a small problem with the steering wheel but that was fixed right away. happy with the car, Just not all the recalls. Let me in joy my car with out having to worry about if it's going to break down.

Pros
good on gas performance. comfortable to drive.

Cons
to many recalls.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BC
Betty C.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/26/2019
2012 Sonata
I love my car, the ice blue Metallic color is beautiful
I get lots of compliments !
When on a road trip and I drive 65 mpg
I get 45 miles per gallon one time 50mpg
I have and would recommend this car!

Pros
It is a great car
Easy to drive

Cons
Feel every bump in the road

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DH
Deborah H.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/24/2019
2012 Hyundai Sonata
My vehicle is named Black Beauty. She is still in great running condition. I've received many offers for it! I love my car. I can't depart from it. She's awesome!!!! Hyundai Motors invented a great vehicle. It has many features.?

Pros
None

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
Joe G.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
10/24/2019
Recalls
To many recalls, To many times in for service. Last time in for service had driver side seat belt that would not latch. I felt it was a safety issue that Hyundai should be responsible for. It was not covered by my extended warranty. I had no choice but to pay up.

Pros
Fair price

Cons
Recalls

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AC
Austin C.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/22/2019
One of the most reliable vehicles I've ever owned
I purchased new in 2012 and since then I have only had one issue which the dealership covered 100%. This was my first venture into imports (Hyundai specifically), and after being "big body, big engine" Dodge owner, I have never looked back. I plan to upgrade to Hyundai new premium line "Genesis" G90 next spring and am excited to regain the horsepower of a V8 engine!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Maida M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/20/2019
Vehicle
I love my 2012 Sonata. I enjoy the comfort and the ride of the vehicle. It has a lot of get up and go for a 4 cylinder vehicle. I enjoyed the style, the roominess of the interior and I love my panoramic roof.

Pros
It has a lot of get up and go for a 4 cylinder vehicle. I enjoyed the style, the roominess of the interior and I love my panoramic roof.

Cons
I would suggest improving the suspension so that it grab curves better. Also make it a 6 cylinder vs a 4.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LL
Lottie L.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/19/2019
Black Beauty
My car is fabulous it get great gas mileage and driven to Broken Bow, Oklahoma and to Winter Haven, Florida. I will be driving again to Winter Haven for Christmas. I just love me car it drives great and handle the roads just right..

Pros
I just love the Hyundai Sonata! My next car will be the same kind just new.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
Raymond B.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/09/2019
2012 Hyundai sonata se
I bought my Hyundai new. The company stands behind there brand. I love the car and the gas mileage. I am currently planning on buying a new model but would like to see what the design looks like in a year or two.

Pros
Great gas mileage

Cons
Loud road noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DV
Duglas V.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/06/2019
Great service
Excellent vehicle except for some front drive train inconvenient like the drive shafts, the gas performance is excelente and engine performance is exceptional; the over all appearances interior and exterior are great.

Pros
Gas efficient

Cons
Weakness on Drive shafts

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TH
Tasha H.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/26/2019
Sweet ride
The Sonata overall is great. Trunk space, gas mileage, and ease of parking are all awesome. I only gave 4 stars because I miss having a larger vehicle for the space! If you're in the market for a car though, this is a sweet ride!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HG
Holly G.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/24/2019
Sonata
I bought my 2012 Sonata in 2011 and I still have it and I have not had any problems out of it. My oil has been changed every 3000 miles. It has 130,000 miles on it now and it still drives and rides like it did when I drove it off the lot. I would definitely buy another Sonata!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RW
Ronald W.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/23/2019
Great car
This is my second Sonata and am overall well pleased with the car. My only disappointment was that the Sirius XM was not included in the package and I had to buy an add on satellite radio for travel and enjoyment of my music and sports. The vehicle handles well and is getting good gas mileage. If this car is as good as the last on I do not expect any issues over the life of the car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AA
Archie A.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/20/2019
2012 vehicle is my 3rd Hyundai Sonata
I purchased my 1st Sonata in 2004. My wife still drives that vehicle. I purchased my 2nd Sonata in 2007. I gave it to my son after several years of good service.
2012 Sonata Limited is my 3rd Hyundai. I take good care of my cars, replacing the engine oil, oil filter and air filter regularly. I drive my cars under normal conditions and never abuse them and never push the limits. So far I am very pleased with Sonata quality, technical design and ergonomics. I am also very pleased with the warranty, timely recalls and dealership response.

Pros
quality of materials used, functionality, ergonomics and price

Cons
engine failure problems on some Hyundai vehicles over a period of several years are degrading the perceived quality of this vehicle.
These problems should have been resolved sooner.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ED
Elizabeth D.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/20/2019
Hyundai Sonata
I loved my Hyundai Sonata. I am sorry to say the day after servicing it was totaled in an accident. Now I will return to Sport Hyundai to replace my car and visit my salesman.Hopefully I will find a car there to meet my needs.

Pros
Recently had car demolished in an accident and my Sonata protected me with its safety features. It was always very reliable. I loved it.

Cons
Can't think of any.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AM
Azeem M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/19/2019
excellent Vehicle
Happy and good service good and comfortable rides excellent for Maintenance parts little expensive other than excellent vehicle, my future vehicle will IONIQ and Geneses buy the plan. Lee Johnson best dealer at EVERETT WA.

Pros
excellent

Cons
Happy and good service good and comfortable rides excellent for Maintenance parts little expensive other than excellent vehicle, my future vehicle will IONIQ and Geneses buy the plan.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EM
Edwondna M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/13/2019
Best car ever
I love my 2012 Sonata it's a blessing that I just passed it down to my 17 year old son as i upgraded to a 2019 Tucson.The size of the Sonata is perfect not too small it's just right.You can't even tell when its running it's so quiet.

Pros
Good on gas,speed is awesome,sounds is banging.Best car ever in my eyesight!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WD
Weontha D.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/13/2019
This is the best car I’ve owned!
This is the best car I’ve owned. I’ve had a Buick, Suburu, Chevy Tahoe, and several other make of cars over the years. This has been the best. This cars comfort, handling, and virtually maintenance free capability has sold me on the brand. My Sonata is a 2012 and still looking and rides great. The tires lasted so long, I bought the same tires again from Voss Hyundai. Love my car!

Pros
Maintenance Free

Cons
I’m retired and can’t buy another one.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 61 - 80 of 1679 in total