2012
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.58/5Overall Rating 4.58/5Overall Rating 4.58/5Overall Rating 4.58/5rating 4.58
4.6
(1621 Reviews)
Latest review over 2 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

SP
Sandi P.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/22/2017
Excellent service at Sterling McCall Houston
Good choice.

Pros
Wish I had upgraded to next level with rear viewing, leather seats

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KS
Katrina S.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/22/2017
Hyundai sonata
My ๐Ÿš— is close to a Mercedes or other luxury car, my granddaughter ๐Ÿ‘ my sonata more than her2013 elantra

Pros
All is ๐Ÿ‘, mileage is the best

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

UO
Ursula O.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/22/2017
love my Sonata
I plan on purchasing a 2017 Sonata soon because I'm so happy with my 2012 Sonata.

Pros
best warranty

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AF
Ashley F.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/22/2017
Great car!
Love the engine (2.0T), plenty of power, exterior styling is amazing (I wish Hyundai had worked more with this generation's styling in the next generation), excellent tech package. Interior design with the dashboard center console and steering wheel is a little "over-the-top," but not bad. If the road noise was less, this car would be the ultimate sport sedan. That would really be the only thing I would change about it, as the comfort level would then be very high. Lots of value for the money.

Pros
-2.0T (turbocharged) engine is an absolute powerhouse.
-Exterior styling, looks like it could be a BMW from the back.
-Most of the interior styling: panoramic roof, instrument cluster, leather seats, heated rear seats
-Plenty of room in the interior, especially foot room in the back seat.
-Good sound system
-Great reliability! We're close to 100,000 miles and have had no issues, just ordinary maintenance.

Cons
-Road noise
-Dashboard's center console and steering wheel styling are awkward-looking
-Paint chips a little at the front end, but the dealership has been helpful in patching most of these spots. (We knew that Hyundai vehicles had this tendency before we bought the car, and were willing to put up with a cosmetic issue considering the rest of what we were getting for the money.)
-Electric Power Steering (EPS) takes some getting used to

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PB
Philip B.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/21/2017
It serves me well
My 2012 Sonata is a comfortable family car, although most of the time I am the only person in the car. I drive conservatively and get around 28 mpg overall. If I put the back seats down. I can get ten foot lengths of pipe inside the car on trips to the home improvement stores, and all windows and doors are closed. On the highway there is sometimes more road noise than I would like. When I first got the car, the steering was "twitchy," but that settled in after 10,000 or so miles. When I first got the car I found I could not see the corner of the fenders and was not sure how close to another car I was, but now I have a sense of how close I am, even though I still cannot see the corner of the fenders. The rear side posts behind the rear doors sometimes obstructs vision a little if I am looking over my shoulder, even with the triangular cut outs in the posts. When I first got the car, I noticed the side mirrors left blind spots in my vision. That made changing lanes more difficult. I have since added convex stick on mirrors from a local auto parts store. A larger concern was the current draw when the car is left unused. Computer things running in the background draw 470 milliamperes continuously. In ten days the battery is too depleted to start the car. By poking around on Internet blogs I learned there is a memory fuse behind a cover at the driver's left knee. Now I know to pull it before I leave town. I was disappointed that dealers did not know about this and did not tell me about it. A friend in another city inquired about it at his dealer. That dealer was just as unknowing. When I contacted Hyundai about this they told me I had emergency road service. But, when I have been gone for two weeks and fly into my home airport at 11 PM to find my battery dead and have to wait 45 minutes for emergency road service to find me and get me running. I want to go right home and go to bed. I like the car, but there was a customer service blind spot.

Pros
A very good car

Cons
Dealers did not tell me all I needed to know about battery management.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
James M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/19/2017
Great people with which to do business.
This is the best vehicle I've ever owned. Great value and quality workmanship. (I love the spacious trunk!)

Pros
Everything

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SH
Sergio H.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/19/2017
Excellent car
I love my car...
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LW
Lisa W.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/19/2017
Noise
We love our Hyundai!!! The ONLY issue is it has alot of road noise. The dealer has backed our warranty every time with no issues. Very good family car!

Cons
Road noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JO
Joel O.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/19/2017
Sonata hybrid
Love this car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CP
Carlene P.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/19/2017
Love My Hyundai!
Fast (Turbo), Comfortable, 10 year warranty, Great service well traveling out of state, Whats not to love!

Pros
It's a Hyundai, I have owned more than 40 vehicles, This one is at the top of my list!

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
Cedric S.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/19/2017
Sonata
Awesome
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Jack M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/19/2017
My Wonderful 2012 Sonata
This has been a great buy for me. My 2012 Sonata is a solid well-built vehicle that has retained its eye-pleasing appeal over the years. My 2012 was the first year of a major restyling that many manufacturers have subsequently copied. It has been mistaken for some pretty pricey other cars --- even recently. Well designed and built, it has given me great reliability at very reasonable cost.

Pros
Well-built. Excellent design. Style has been widely copied other makers, including on some very pricey cars. Reliable. Great value for the Money.

Cons
As additional new features come out each year, this remains the car it was designed and built to be in 2012.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MN
Marie N.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/18/2017
My beautiful 2012 Hyundai Sonata
I have had my 2012 Hyundai Sonata since January 2012 and I have been thoroughly satisfied at its quality and performance. I also am very pleased with the service I receive from the dealer where I got this car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AR
Arnold R.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/18/2017
Hyundai Sonata - a great investment
This car has been good to me since day one, starting in the year 2011. I trust it in my 16 yr old daughter's hands that it won't leave her stranded. Will my next investment be a Sonata? You can bet on it!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EH
Ed H.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/16/2017
2012 Hyndai Sonata Limited
Car has experiences multiple (4) steering wheel cruise control switch failures. All were covered under warranty, but each time I needed to bring the car in multiple times until the technician could get an error code and repair the switch. I told them what the problem was but it didn't make any difference. Very annoying and time consuming for all parties. The car itself has only 48,000 miles on it and mechanically it has been reliable. The ride is less than pleasant, seats are uncomfortable on long trips and the factory tires were terrible in snow.

Pros
Overall styling is great and the mechanical reliability is good for <50,000 miles of use. I thoroughly enjoy driving the Sonata, but the seats and ride could be more comfortable on long trips. I purchased many extra cost options and enjoy all of them. The sound system is the best I have ever had in any of my cars.

Cons
Build quality could have been better. To many factory recalls. The use of poor quality cruise switches are one example! My wife and I are very different in size and my next car will have automatic settings for power seat and power mirrors. The cost to update the navigation system maps seemed a bit pricey.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LR
Lisa R.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/16/2017
Great Car
The Sonata is a great car, it gets great gas mileage and has a nice ride and performed well, fast when needed. The look is sleek and well designed. Good solid car for the money.

Pros
Sleek design, good gas mileage...nice and comfortable ride, solid ride. All around a good car for the value.

Cons
plastic bumpers

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KK
Kumarredd K.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/16/2017
Stylish Car.
On the whole very satisfactory.

Pros
Stylish Car, Good Pickup, No Noise at all,

Cons
Less Mileage on local roads.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
Ronald B.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/16/2017
2012 Sonata
No problems

Cons
Hard top get in and out

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
Jenniffer W.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/15/2017
2012 Sonata
Overall a good buy, but recalls are a cause for concern if you don't keep up with Hyundai America.

Pros
The fuel efficiency is AMAZING, rides well and hugs the curves while also offering an eco feature as well as automatic/manual conversion for a more sporty feel. AC is great and radio/sound system is above par.

Cons
SOOO MANY RECALLS! I have had 5 recalls if not more in the past year and the vehicle is well maintained and only 5 years old at 85,000 miles. Aside from tires, brakes, and routine air filter changes, the majority of the vehicle is above standard. The radio and speakers were replaced and fortunately covered under warranty. Inner cabin is spacious for tall/large adults, but the vehicle sits lower than most sedans.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AB
Angela B.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/14/2017
Am extremely happy with my Sonata.
I absolutely love my Hyundai Sonata, and have never been happier than I have been with any car I have had over the past 4 years. With the fact that I am that satisfied, I would always stick with owning a Hyundai of any kind whether it's a car or SUV.

Pros
100% happy with everything about the vehicle.

Cons
Absolutely nothing that I am not happy with, and would definitely stick with Hyundai.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 961 - 980 of 1621 in total