2012
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(1679 Reviews)
Latest review over 3 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

RS
Robert S.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/09/2017
Impression
Good car for the money
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
Rodney B.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/08/2017
Favorite car
Good style inside and out. Great gas mileage. Has been a very reliable car.

Pros
Roomy, great gas mileage, excellent air conditioning

Cons
Lots of road noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ST
Sam T.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/07/2017
Very happy
I have been very happy with my vehicle, it is very good on gas and the size is just perfect.

Pros
I love everything about my car.

Cons
I can't think of one.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GD
Gertrude D.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/07/2017
No problems.
good on the road

Pros
east to drive, comfortable, good on gas.

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JI
Jillian I.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/07/2017
2012 Hyundai Sonata
I've enjoyed the car & it's suited my needs well...wish it had more stability in bad weather.

Pros
Very comfortable, looks good, ample leg & trunk space.

Cons
Not the best in snow & rain...doesn't always feel solid on the road in inclement weather. I wish the passenger seat could be auto raised like the driver's side.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TW
Tammy W.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
06/07/2017
2012 Hyundai Sonata
I've had to have the engine replaced after it blew up (recall but I didn't know about it), and then had a clicking in the steering shaft. Later got a letter stating that was a warranty issue. Just had that repaired. Other than that, it's a good car. It's a 2.0 Turbo. That I like. But I'm severely disappointed in the quality of this car. I've had three Hyundai's, with no problems with the other two. Sad about this one. Makes me not want another Hyundai. And I was a lover of Hyundai before this.

Pros
2.0 Turbo is awesome.

Cons
Engine blew up. Recall. Steering column had clicking noise. Warranty issue to replace a steering coupling.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
Juergen B.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/06/2017
2012 Sonata Review
Excellent car except problem with the electronics (pushbuttons)

Pros
Best car I ever owned.

Cons
The pushbuttons are failing making radio, GPS, garage door opener useless.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
Joan G.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/06/2017
smart
My 2012 Sonata is very dependable.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AS
Alice S.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/06/2017
Sonata 2012
Excellent - Don't drive many miles but trust my Sonata to get me where
I need to go. After 6-7 yrs, I give my auto to one of my nieces (they're
getting a brand new car with MAYBE 16,000-18,000 miles!!!! Brand new
car to them.

Pros
Easy to handle, Comfortable - probably has more gadgets on it than I'll ever
use. Good gas mileage and easy to handle. Not too big nor too small.
Just one thing! Make entrance to auto more comfortable to senior citizens.
Not too low, nor too high door entry level,

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DW
David W.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/05/2017
2012 engine sucks
Manufacturing problems from the engine plant in Alabama caught up with my engine. Put a new one in, however, I was uncertain of the quality of the new engines so I jumped ship to another manufacturer

Pros
Outstanding in the majority of areas.

If they get the engine issues corrected I might return to the fold

Cons
2012 engines prone to failure. Mine did. Numerous others failing.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AM
Amber M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/04/2017
Love My car!
I love,love, love my Sonata! The interior is SO NICE! The turbo is ???? and the seats are beyond comfortable. Great gas mileage. The stereo system is better than my boyfriends WAY MORE EXPENSIVE car and the interior is really nice . Great looking all the way around. Reliable. Fun to drive. I've been blown away with this car. Will stay with Hyundai.

Pros
Great gas mileage
Turbo-gets up and goes
Great sound system
Comfortable
Awesome interior
Reliable.

Cons
A few recalls-easily fixed and Hyundai reached out to me several times.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SC
Sharon C.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/04/2017
Love my Sonata
I have a 2012 Sonata. The vehicle was run s great. This is my second Sonata.

Pros
Great value, handles well, Still looks good after all these years!

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KA
Karen A.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/04/2017
Quality car for an affordable price
Quality car for an affordable price. The Fitz Way!

Pros
Purchased for an affordable price. No major problem. Service quarterly $35.00 is another great plus

Cons
Interior molding and by gear shift is all scratched up and coming off. Exterior paint comes off too easily

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PH
Paul H.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/04/2017
2012 Sonata Hybrid
Having now owned my 2012 Sonata for over 5 years, commuting daily from my home in Moreno Valley to San Diego for work, I have been extremely pleased with the vehicles reliability and fuel efficiency features. My overall satisfaction with the Hyundai brand of vehicle has me contemplating, potentially the purchase of a second Hyundai vehicle in the future.

Pros
Reliability, Styling and fuel consumption efficiency.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VR
Vickie R.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/03/2017
I have been very happy with my Sonata.
This was my first purchase from Hyundai. The car surpassed my expectations.

Pros
Good value.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RT
RICHARD* T.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/03/2017
Hyundai 2012 Sonata
This car was pre-owned with very low mileage when we purchased it. Fuel mileage has been as advertised. Mechanical problems we've incurred have been a front wheel bearing and a blown turbo which were both fully covered under the Hyundai 100,000 protection. We now have 68000 miles on the car and it drive very well.

Pros
Good fuel mileage in the low thirties. Excellent horsepower when you need it. Quite with a comfortable ride.

Cons
None really. It has met my expectations.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AB
Adamu B.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
06/02/2017
Sonata has no balls
My Sonata sounds like an empty box

Pros
AC and heat . Reliability.

Cons
Sluggishness

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Jacqueline M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/02/2017
Love this car!
Will always buy a Sonata
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KM
Kathryn M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/01/2017
Love my sonata!
My red sonata is named miss Ruby. She and I go everywhere together.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HS
Harold S.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
05/31/2017
Car is nice looking
Hard to get out of passenger seat,
seat too low!

Pros
Good gas mileage

Cons
Passenger seat too low, my wife can't see over the dash!!!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 981 - 1000 of 1679 in total