2012
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.58/5Overall Rating 4.58/5Overall Rating 4.58/5Overall Rating 4.58/5rating 4.58
4.6
(1622 Reviews)
Latest review 7 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

SM
Sheila M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/13/2019
Comfy car...
I bought the Sonata used with 15,000 miles. I had rain shields added to the windows. They help keep the unoccupied car cooler in hot weather. I Hope it lasts the rest of my life (I am in cancer remission.)

Pros
Love the heated seats on cold mornings and long drives.

Cons
I would have preferred a light grey color rather than charcoal. There are some annoying blind spots.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Michelle M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
04/09/2019
Don't buy
Do not buy. It will give you problems with the electrical computer of the car. Look up the problem on YouTube. Seems to happen to all of them! I took my car to dealership and they could not find the problem.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LS
LINDA S.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/08/2019
Love it!
I've had the car a little over four years and just love it! I've never had any problems with it. I've had several opportunities to sell and won't do it. Routine maintenance is easy to schedule and is done quickly.

Pros
Everything about the car is "PRO".

Cons
None!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BZ
Barbara Z.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/05/2019
I like my car
I enjoy driving my car. It is comfortable, reliable, roomy. Few things that are a bit annoying... there appears to be a "short" when pushing the radio button on the steering wheel. It doesn't turn the volume up or down... it changes the channel and once in a while the cruise control won't engage.

Pros
Tires have worn well for the 50K miles I have driven. Great gas mileage. Trunk is spacious. Love the sun/moon roof. Tall people have adequate leg room in front and back.

Cons
Don't like having so many recalls. The polycarbonate sunglasses make it difficult to see the radio with the blue background. There appears to be a "short" in the steering column to control the radio and cruise control.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DR
Diane R.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/05/2019
2012 Sonata
I never loved a car so much as my Sonata the gas usage is so great, even my daughter loves it, the ride is comfortable, and the body inside and out is so classy and well looking , oh I love my 2012 car

Pros
Love. THIS car

Cons
I dont want it to get old ,

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LF
LARRY F.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/03/2019
2012 Limited Red Sonata 2.0 turbocharged, long term review
64500 miles. Overall a good dependable semi-sporty car. The red metallic paint is holding up well for Arizona, Had to upgrade the brakes to ceramic type with drilled and slotted rotors as I have a more "sporty" style of driving. No real electrical problems, no body or interior problems. I did however accessorize both the body, lighting and interior. LED lighting, body accenting in black and chrome, carbon fiber interior trim. No reason to upgrade, this 2.0 turbocharged model has excellent power for it's size, handling is good with (wider)aftermarket 18" tires and wheels. NO ENGINE problems! No Transmission problems. I do however as a well certified ASE mechanic/tech highly recommend using full synthetic oil, transmission fluid and brake fluid. Follow the recommendations for maintenance as outlined in your owners manual an YOUR Hyundai should last for several years!

Pros
Great warranty, great reliability and build quality.

Cons
Paint, starting to show age, will have to repaint in the next couple of years.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
Dan G.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/02/2019
2.0T is a great car
I have had this car since 2012 and have done the required maintenance and have had no issues. Any recalls have been done in a timely fashion. Get great mileage and very comfortable for long drives. I travel from Raleigh, NC to Miami, FL 2 to 3 times a year.

Pros
Power & Comfort

Cons
GPS could be better. Very computer like voice.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TF
Tracey F.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/01/2019
Sonata Turbo
This vehicle is amazing. Not to expensive. Great horse power. manageable to fix when parts need to be replaced. comfortable and stylish. i would recommend this car to anyone. I will probably stay with this line for a long time

Pros
stylish and comfortable

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SP
Shana P.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/01/2019
Comfortable
I like my car.It's Ok for me some things about the vehicle I do Not like but I am very satisfied with the car and I do enjoy driving the car. Almost 2 months I had the car and so far its doing just ok.

Pros
sunroof, heated seats

Cons
no back up camera and some of the buttons doesn't work

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EH
Eric H.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/31/2019
Terrible quality. Constant recalls.
Hyundai should be ashamed of this piece of junk wearing it's badge. Constant recalls..... Many for serious safety issues. Stranded my wife twice. Electrical system is terrible.... I've replaced every bulb multiple times. Ride is terrible.... Chews through tires like nothing I've ever seen. Save your money and buy something else. I see first hand why they're priced do cheaply. Hyundai should do the right thing and buy back every one of these horrible cars.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
Joyce D.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/27/2019
My 2012 Hyundai Sonata
I love my car and it has done well by me! If I could change anything it would be for the tires to be a bit larger. I got stuck in the snow once and I think had they been larger, it wouldn’t have been an issue. Other then that, no problems!

Pros
Tires too small. Also, I hate that all the exteriors now are made of such flimsy materials. The older cars had metal that stood up to a bump if they were bumped. Now if that happens, you need to replace a whole section of the car.

Cons
Nice little car for driving around in. Very comfortable inside!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DF
Donald F.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/27/2019
Sonata!
The Sonata is a great car. On my second, and eyeing the 2019! We have around 5 Hyundai's in my immediate family. Have taken on many long trips. No complaints. For driving around town - no complaints, Will be getting another soon.

Pros
I like the Sonata because it is an excellent car for the money. Been through my sports car, fast car phase. Really enjoy my Sonata.

Cons
Front pillar blocks view to the right. Voice telephone system is useless. I connect on about 2 calls per 100. Not a good system.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Melissa M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/26/2019
I Want Another One!
This is our second Sonata. Our first 2002 was purchased new and we sold it with over 200,000 miles on the odometer. It was still purring like a kitten when we sold the car, but we decided to get a newer vehicle. We chose the 2012 Hyundai. It was used when we purchased it; has never given us a minute's problem (minus the recalls Hyundai has placed on the vehicle since we purchased it); currently has 126,000 miles on it and is still going strong. I will purchase another Sonata or similar Hyundai when the time comes. Keep doing what you are doing Hyundai! Your cars and your attention to service details are appreciated by this long-term customer!

Pros
Great gas mileage, comfortable seats 5 medium-sized adults. Large trunk space; easy to drive and hugs the road in all weather.

Cons
The front passenger seat sits veryyyyyyy low.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FV
Fuad V.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/21/2019
Nice vehicle
I purchased this Sonata with 12000 moles on it. It has 75000 miles on it now. Have not had any major problems with it yet. I like how it handles. Very nice acceleration for a 4 cylinder engine. I really like it overall.

Pros
Good gas milage. I love the regular 6 speed transmission as opposed to CVT in other vehicles. Very good acceleration compared to 2.5 L Altima or Camry. love the exterior design. The seats have raised edges that hug your body and keep you in place when you are going around the corners.

Cons
I only have the 2012 GLS trim. It is very decent but it is not loaded so I cannot complain.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SJ
Sherry J.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/19/2019
It has and still is a great car even with 77,000 miles on it.
I would recommend your dealership to everyone to buy the vehicles the Sonata are any best warranty out there.So anyone and everyone you can't beat their great value and comfort. What makes the sale team they will work hard to get you a deal.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Sonja S.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
03/17/2019
2012 Hyundai Sonata 2.0T
My 1st new car was the '04 Santa Fe. I LOVED IT. When I had to replace it, I fell in luv with the Sonata on sight, but due to the many recalls, I'm on the fence about buying another Hyundai. Undecided.

Cons
Recalls

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MG
Mark G.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/15/2019
2012 Hyundai Sonata limited 2.0T
Bought new in August 2011 and still love it.
Sporty looking, quick, great gas mileage, many luxury features. Very dependable. Just turned 85000 miles and still looks and drives like new.
Recommended this vehicle to several friends.

Pros
Sporty looking. Fast for a 4 cylinder, great gas mileage.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RW
Rosezelda W.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/12/2019
car owner
i had a bad car expense with another car dealer when i can too you guys and when i did it did't take all for you too put me in another car. my credit score was not that great they still found me a car.whenever there is a recall on my car they always let me know. and for that i'm grateful and i can keep my car running and not be in any danger, i love my 2012 hyundai sonata and if i can ever afford to upgrade i will do it with conicelli in conshohocken. thanks foe everything.

Pros
it's run's well and.

Cons
when it's cold it's hard for the remote to open and close the door.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KS
Kimberly S.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/12/2019
i love this car
this is the best car i have never had any problems with it it has well over a hundred thousand miles and still drives just fine it has so much room also the back seat and trunk are huge love the style
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AL
Alfredo L.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/12/2019
Mrs. Lopez
Sonata hybrid is a good car .
I think that salesmanan must know more facts about the car that they are selling. I, as a customer, have questions about the functioning of the different features of a new car.

Pros
Sonata hybrid is a new car with a different style. It is comfortable and I was expecting that I could save money on gas.

Cons
Nobody can explain the function of some features of the car Since they do not know the car in the dealer. That was what amazed me the most.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 101 - 120 of 1622 in total