2012
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(1679 Reviews)
Latest review over 1 year ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

CC
Cheryl C.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/10/2019
my sonata
of all the vehicles I have purchased in my 45 years of driving this is the best. it peffforms great and I have just turned 110,000 miles and it drives like when I purchased it off the showroom in 2012.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
Laura M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/09/2019
My Sonata
I have loved that car since the day I bought it. It has style, and comfort. Even at 7 years old it is still attractive to me. I have nothing else to say about it.........................................
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NM
Nageswara M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/08/2019
Love my Sonata
I have my Sonata for 8 years and it has 93,000 miles. Never had any major repair in all these years. But this year, the engine had to be replaced ( a few of 2012 models have the problem) and Hyundai honored the warranty and replaced the engine .

Pros
Elegant and comfortable car.

Cons
Wish the engine problems were caught at the manufacturing time.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BW
Brenda W.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/06/2019
I am very satisfied with my 2012 Hyundai Sonata, I have no complaints.
Very satisfied with my 2012 Hyundai Sonata. I love this car, the way it handles on road. The most important thing I like is the power it has when you need it, example- when traffic is heavy as you'll have to find a gap before you merge safely into the flow of traffic.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VA
Vicky A.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/04/2019
Love my Sonata!
My Sonata is not only a beautiful car but it is comfortable and I love the gas mileage I get. On many trips we’ve gotten up to 38 mpg. The 2.0T is a great “get up & go” drive when you need it!! I think it is sporty and all the features I have I enjoy! The sun roof is great but one of the best features is the backup camera!

Pros
Looks great, drives great and good gas mileage!!

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LT
Leonard T.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/04/2019
2012 Hyundai sonata hybrid
Great car .. but could use more take off power....could use more power when you come from a stop and go. Also cam use a tachometer, because you dont know how much you are revving the car at. Also could extend the original warranty to used car buyers

Pros
Interior space

Cons
Lack of take off power..

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SF
Steven F.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/01/2019
most reliable
most reliable car Ive owned in 50 years excellent warranty and service if you maintain the vehicle should last 200000 miles
exterior no rust or undercarriage and its 8 years old interior no signs of wear

Pros
very reliable

Cons
will probably buy a genesis for a bit more luxury

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EM
Elizabeth M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/27/2019
2012 Sonata
My Sonata hasn't needed much over the years. I did have to replace the hi low fuel pressure system in the fuel tank on a trip but that was the only surprise. I have almost 120k miles but it still is going strong. The dealership took care of all the recent recalls and extended the warranty. I will buy another Hyundai as my next car.

Pros
Gas mileage, cost to maintain

Cons
No bells and whistles

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RH
Regina H.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/27/2019
2012 Hyundai Sonata 2.0T
Absolutely love this car, bought used at 38,000miles. Comfortable, Beautiful style and alot of power. Make sure oil changed on time. Car has been reliable and safe. Even through an accident of hitting a Farrell donkey! Felt no impact. Great family car, yet still sporty!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MT
MICHAEL T.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/24/2019
Driving the Hybrid
This car has repair cost twice of the 2.0
Everything on this car has is a set of two. The money saved on gas is pennies to the hundreds spent on repairs.
PS
Hate the transmission on this car
This transmission is the worst thing, it keeps slipping in and out of 2nd gear and the dealership says that it is working so there is nothing to repair

Pros
Quiet drive

Cons
transmission

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EL
Eloise L.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/21/2019
Happyiness
This car is the best car I have ever owned barring none.
After 69,000 miles, other than standard maintenance (oil change, air filter, tires, etc) the only repairs I have had is a cleaning of windshield washer fluid container.

Pros
GREAT car

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
Joseph D.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/21/2019
Great car
Comfortable spacious drives well and no headaches from dealing hyundai customer service as of yet. My only real gripe is low quality paint a small ding on my bumper has turned random spots of cracking paint across the entire bumper..

Pros
Look of luxary at a reasonable cost. Good on gas.

Cons
Low quality paint a small ding on my bumper and paint is cracking all over the bumper.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
Josephine G.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/20/2019
I wish that I could afford a car payment.
I wish that I could afford a car payment. Will continue to repair my vehicle until I can afford a car payment. Can't afford car payment. Can't afford car payment. Can't afford a car payment. Can't afford a car payment.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
Donald B.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/20/2019
D.B
My sonata is a 2012 and it has over 115,000 miles. I have had no problems with it other than normal maintenance. It’s been a great car my Daughter is now driving it. The vehicle continues to hold its appearance and looks brand new it also continues to get good gas mileage

Pros
Good gas mileage, little problems, easy to drive,

Cons
Front wheel drive, under sized tires

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KP
Kenneth P.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
05/17/2019
Stylish vehicle but should have bought gas model
My car is so stylish but I have had numerous problems with "Hybrid Safety Warning, Do Not Drive". The troubleshooting was endless. And when the five year warranty went out, I had to pay $900 for an air damn part of the hybrid system. 7 years in and the gas motor part of the hybrid went out. I wish I had just gotten the same car as gas engine.they have great reviews and great resale value compared to my model

Pros
Design interor and out. Great legroom in back seat.good trunk space for a hybrid. 10k/10yr powertrain warranty was a lifesaver.

Cons
Multiple hybrid problems, two that interrupted road trips.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VS
Veronica S.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/14/2019
2012 Sonata
Owned 2012 Sonata for 7 years and it was a great car. No majors issues. Traded in with 174,000 miles. Very comfortable in long travel trips, for front and back passengers. Roomy trunk for baggage and more.

Pros
Comfortable seating, easy smooth driving. Roomy trunk area.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NB
Nancy B.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/11/2019
Fantastic
Love the car. Handles the road wonderfully, great gas mileage, comfortable, no blind spots and proud to drive one. I love the color. I haven't had any issues beside the normal maintenance. I really like driving this car.

Pros
Just about perfect in every way.

Cons
Wish the buttons on the rear view mirror were somewhere else. When you adjust the mirror to night, your fingers hit the satellite radio, Bluetooth, etc. Buttons.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CR
Chris R.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
05/09/2019
OK Vehicle, Lousy National Company
2012 Hyundai Sonata 2.0T Ltd is an OK vehicle. However, the national Hyundai company is the pits. Hyundai does not answer direct questions. The navigation system is appalling (I have a $350 Garmin that is vastly superior). The maintenance schedule was designed by a sadist. The sunroof is liable to 'spontaneously explode' (actually experienced one of these, and the barrier between the sunroof and the cabin is FABRIC and NOT RIGID, therefore glass rains down on the occupants!).

Pros
decent warranty (but quick to deny answers if you are over a limit)

Cons
Exploding sunroof
Abysmal maintenance schedule
Lousy national support
Terrible navigation system
Too many recall issues
Hard to find information when things go wrong (more info on youtube.com than on Hyundai web site

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AR
April R.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/08/2019
2012 Hyundai Sonata
The 2012 Hyundai Sonata is an awesome ride. Love the way it handles on the open highway in WV. It has the power to handle any hill or curve. Performs great in town through traffic. Entering busy highways is no problem, as it has a quick power for acceleration that merges into traffic seamlessly. You'll not believe how well this vehicle handles and performs unless you drive one. It's a keeper!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TS
Teresa S.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/08/2019
Car quality
The quality of the car and how Hyundai backs their product is excellent. I recommend this car to others. However, I do not like how the seats feel like you are sitting on the ground. The car I have is used.

Cons
The seats sit too low to the ground

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 121 - 140 of 1679 in total