2012
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.58/5Overall Rating 4.58/5Overall Rating 4.58/5Overall Rating 4.58/5rating 4.58
4.6
(1611 Reviews)
Latest review 8 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

TG
Theresa G.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/28/2019
I LOVE this car!
I've owned this car for 6 years and I've loved it the entire time! Very little extra maintenance was ever needed, and it still looks like a stylish new car inside and out! I wouldn't consider it great in snow, but we only have about 5 days of winter here; so to love this car 100% for 360 days a year is beyond worth it!

Pros
No major mechanical issues. They are proactive on any recalls, it's a stylish car inside and out, and the company has a great service department.

Cons
Winter weather driving. Wiper blades are unique and more expensive.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Jennifer M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
02/26/2019
Great dependable car
I purchased my Hyundai in November and was super excited. The car runs great. My only complaint is the the clear top coat paint is peeling all over the car. I keep my car clean and only had the car since November and the dealer was like it's not their problem. It's a shame I have years to pay for a car and no one is willing to fix the peeling paint! I wonder if this is Hyundai problem. Being that I owned the car for 3 months, no matter the mileage it had when I bought it. It should be taken care of. I dorn park under trees and again my car is clean. It's a manufacture issue not an owner issue.

Cons
Clear coat paint peeling

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
Michael S.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/25/2019
Graas car, but the bulbs.
The 2012 Sonata has been great, but it has used so many bulbs, headlamp, brake, tail, markers ,turnsignals, and the plastic mounts /fittings on the housing side, for the brake /tail light bulbs melt and destort enough that the new bulbs won't fit back like they are supposed to.Eats a lot of bulbs, like monthly replaceming one or another, it was over 10 yrs before my 2006 ford f250 needed the first light bulb of any kind.

Pros
Everything about the car

Cons
The bulbs for all the exterior lights just go out a lot.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Jerry M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/25/2019
Great vehicle and excellent gas mileage.
Great body style, properly the best in last 2 decades. Hopefully the body improve from the design of 2012. Improve more on gas mileage and make sure the spare tire is incorporated. Maintain present styling.

Pros
Great design, great gas mileage, and performance.

Cons
No spare tire.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RE
Ronald E.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/20/2019
FLAWLESS 6 YEARS
I have never been more satisfied with a vehicle, than with my Sonata Hybrid. I have owned over a dozen cars in the past, and the Sonata has been my most reliable by far. I would definitely (and will) purchase another Hyundai as my next car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CM
Carlos M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
02/20/2019
87000, 2012 AND WARRANTY DOESN'T COVERED
Because im not the first owner i have to pay over $ 6000 to fix this car , and after they charge me for diagnostic the service department doesn't give me a complete description of the problem i have when i driving the car shows a problem with the hybrid system, and they said is the transmission issues. With crazy price to fixed

Pros
Gas mileage
Comfort

Cons
HYBRID SISTEM TO COMPLICATE TO FIX AND EXTREMELY EXPENSIVE. DONT BUY IF YOU DONT HAVE MINIMUM U$5000 IN YOIR SAVINGS ACCOUNT.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RR
Reed R.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/19/2019
Good value for the money
This hasn't been my favorite vehicle of all time but it has been reliable with just a few problems, It has a very good warranty which has come in handy. The view out of the back is poor. Their is no adjustment for up or down on the passenger seat. You sit too low if you are short.

Pros
I performs and handles well. I like the exterior styling. The warranty is very good.

Cons
The view out of the back is poor, I added an aftermarket radio and backup camera to compensate for this. The drivers seat is too firm. The height on the passenger side is too low for my wife, My model has no adjustment for up or down. The cabin noise level is high. The original 18" rim suffer too much curb rash. I swapped to 17" rim for better road noise and ride.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CD
Charles D.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
02/18/2019
Service review
Because I called service department no response yet I would like a call back 770-255-9903 Sometimes on along with the cooling system I need to reach out and I have called and called I want you please give me a call back

Pros
Was a recall on the engine

Cons
Was a recall on the engine But the car is now running a hot

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
David S.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/15/2019
My second Sonata!!
Bought another Sonata and just as last one performed great. Occasional recalls but that is with every manufacturer! Love it
Will always recommend to others on the Hyundai lineup.
Usually a chevy or ford buyer but after 2 hyundais im sold for my next one

Pros
Reliable, comfortable, great styling

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GB
Gerald B.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/15/2019
liked it so much i bought two!
love my Hyundai Sonata hybrid gives great fuel mileage, comfortable ride, reliable, stable in wet weather. hot car 100 plus degrees, car is blowing cold air in 90 seconds and engine hasn't started yet. took a trip 1500 miles got 45 miles per gallon average! car is great. plenty of trunk room. bought second now have two, his and hers! we tell everyone looking for a car to buy a Hyundai sonata hybrid at Southtowne Newnan

Pros
to many to list

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
Michael S.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/14/2019
2012 Hyundai Sonata 2.0t Limited.
Great car. I enjoy riding in it and was impressed by the interior and exterior design as well. The purchase price used was very fair and the standard accessories that came with the car was very impressive. Had a 2015 Sonata and it was totaled in a accident. Air bags deployed and I walked away. Saw this Sonata used and very happy with it. Mileage and pep is very impressive. Could not ask for more. I bring it back to the dealer for service for authentic parts and service and peace of mind as well. I get quite a few compliments on the appearance of this car. Take care and do preventative maintenance and it will take care of you!

Pros
Bang for the buck with all of the extras that are standard. Price was good and the mileage at time of purchase. Car was bought and serviced by the dealer. All recalls were taken care of and I enjoy the pleasure of this vechile.

Cons
Not a bad word as of yet.Recalls are the norm but they were taken care of and a extended warranty on it as well.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
Milton S.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/14/2019
Great car
The Sonata is the best car of it's class on the market today. I am truly happy with mine. It is a great car, tail light problems exist in my 2012 and others have had the same problem. Upgrade the material in the part. Bulbs burn out way to often.

Pros
Comfort, great gas mileage, style, all around great car for the money

Cons
Tail Lights problem bulbs burn out to often

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MR
Marcel R.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
02/14/2019
Electrical Problems
A very comfortable car would definitely buy a new one! To my proplema and that I have some electrical problems that make me worried! My turbo also sometimes does not work! Indoor space and comfort are the highest points!

Pros
Indoor space and comfort are the highest points!
Design!

Cons
Some electrical problems that make me worried!
My turbo also sometimes does not work!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

K
K.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/14/2019
The Best Car I've EVER Owned
I've owned everything from Mercedes Benz to Corvettes to F-150's and more. By far, this car (Sonata Hybrid) was the least problematic in the seven years I've owned it. It gets 40 mpg and runs so smoothly with minimal recalls. So impressive!
I can't wait for Hyundai to develop more EV's as that's the direction we are headed now with our PV power on our home.

Pros
Exellent Gas Mileage and wonderful service record with minimal costs for maintenance.
Lots of luxury items in the car that others charge thousands more for, like front and rear seats have heaters, electric mirrors, auto lights, wonderful sound system.

Cons
Because it is so aerodynamic, the cowl is a bit low in front and hits parking lot curbs or the scrapes if you go too fast over speed bumps.
The voice command for the auto dialing sucks. It never gets the name you ask for correctly.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AP
Adriana P.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/12/2019
great car I love my Sonata ,it's the best car I ever had [Excellent}
the best car I ever had ,good quality dependable ,never a problem ,just regular maintenance , if I have to buy a car I will buy another sonata ,I Am so satisfied and impressed with my Sonata , that I recommended to few of my friends
Thank you Hyundai

Pros
good in gas, low in maintenance , great quality

Cons
car is too low you feel you are sitting on the floor ,the passenger seat is not electric

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LC
Latoya C.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/12/2019
Great service
I came in for an oil change and tire rotation last Saturday. The service was top notch and timely. I received a phone call as soon as my car was finished. I would recommend the service department to anyone.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
Robert M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
02/12/2019
A hybrid that gets the mileage of a gas only vehicle
In general the car has performed well over the years, but it was purchased to increase the miles per gallon. This did not happen! I was later informed that it was found that Hyundai misrepresented the actual mpg. I was stuck! For about a year we received money representing the gasoline cost difference but that vanished just like the performance. I won’t purchase another Hyundai.

Pros
Comfortable with a smooth ride.

Cons
Gas mileage and front decal blistering

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SA
Shadiyah A.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/09/2019
When I originally went to the Hyundai dealer, I was looking at the Santa my 2012 Hyundai Sonata, I was not sure if I would like the vehicle so I leased it for 4 years.
I went back to purchase my 2012 Sonata after first leasing it. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE my Sonata. My Sonata is Black with a wine colored leather interior. There are not that many Sonatas with that interior. Everyone gets in my car and falls in love with the space, comfort, & interior color. I am also in love with the performance of my care seven years later, it has never let me down! I am also very pleased that I am not buying brakes for my car all the time as I did with previous cars, Honda & Mazda. Hyundai makes a great vehicle!
Also my vehicle was fully loaded with an amazing price!

Pros
EVERYTHING about this car is PRO

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TB
Tia B.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
02/07/2019
To many recalls
I've had 2 reacalls already. My active air flap system needs fixed but way too expensive to do.. After looking online lots of people are having same issue but there is no recall for that? I Will never buy another Hyundai. It's a money pit.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ER
Elma R.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/06/2019
Great vehicle for the price I paid.
I like my Sonata when it's on the freeway as it gives me a lot mileage per gallon. I also like the thought that Sonata Corporate Worldwide takes corporate responsibility and action if they know of any impending factory defect by being proactive and sends out "recall notices" free of charge.

I've bought my Sonata in November 2011 and it still runs well.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 121 - 140 of 1611 in total