2012
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.58/5Overall Rating 4.58/5Overall Rating 4.58/5Overall Rating 4.58/5rating 4.58
4.6
(1611 Reviews)
Latest review 9 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

HI
Hossein I.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
02/06/2019
after 7 years
I have 2012 T Sonata, I have say it is a ok car but it is not Toyota or Mazda or even Honda. I think this car has a lot to improve on , it may ver well has since 2012. Good thing powertrain has warranty up to 100K, otherwise I would have had many issue & alot of expense since there was a recall and I got a new engine around 60K. Prior to engine fix I complained about engine performance up to 10 time before they took a serious look at my car's engine as they kept telling we can not duplicate the issues you are claiming. Overall it is a ok car but probably up to 3 years. Again they may have improved since 2012.

Pros
aggressive & sporty looking car for the money.

Cons
needs to improve on quality to compete with Toyota or Mazda., advice dealership to address the customers concerns especially if there is official recall by highway safety Dept.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MT
Madeline T.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/06/2019
My 2012 Sonata
I love my car. I've had it for six years and haven't had any major trouble. I've kept all of my maintenance appointments, which I believe is most helpful in keeping my car running smoothly. I would recommend anyone considering purchasing a car to consider a Hyundai Sonata. Plus, the car has a great warranty!

Pros
Very reliable car

Cons
being a 4-cylinder, the ride can be a bit bumpy at times

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LT
Lashondra T.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/05/2019
Awesome
I love my Hyundai Sonata. When I bought my first one in 2015 this is the only car I purchase now. I absolutely will be buying Hyundai’s for the rest of my life. And my kids will be getting Hyundai’s as well.

Pros
Excellent on gas and runs forever

Cons
My windows aren’t tinted so the sun is always beaming on me.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GG
Greg G.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/05/2019
Very Good Family Car
I bought this car new in 2012 when the new 2013 models were already out. I got a slight discount for getting the 2012 model, but it came with the "panorama" view back seat roof (when the front seat sun roof was opened; basically a clear back seat roof window) that my daughter really enjoyed when she was younger. It has been a very reliable car so far and still looks sleek, sporty, & fairly elegant. It has a lot of extras for the money, but my Southern CA mileage has never quite lived up to par; however, when traveling on open highways / freeways, the mileage is good, and when out of state (less gas additives?), I enjoyed superior highway mileage (above advertised). It is fairly peppy, has a pretty good over-drive, if needed, but is a bit sluggish on uphill grades (not utilizing OD / striving for good gas mileage). Even at higher speeds, it feels pretty solid and the engine does not sound like it is working too hard (my last 4-banger really whined when raised above 70 mph). It is pretty roomy (fits 3-average size adults well) and has pretty good trunk space as well. It has been a very good value buy for the family.

Pros
Roomy with a decent sized trunk; the 2012 model still had the "panorama" view for the back seat roof (when sun roof is opened); even the back seat has seat heaters for passengers on cold days; good stereo system; car gets real good mileage on non-traffic freeways / highways (did amazing on Utah / Montana road trip; non-California gas); Hyundai is very good honoring recall issues (I got a new engine at 69,000 miles, due to a recall issue).

Cons
Engine is only 4-cylinders & has over-drive (this is not the turbo model), but is a bit sluggish on uphill grades (without kicking it in O-D); a shade less mileage than advertised (live in & fight CA traffic most days); and horn is a little wimpy: These are my only complaints.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RK
Richard K.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
02/04/2019
2012 Sonata
Dick Smith has done a great job. I have had the car 7 years. To date I have had a total of 9 recalls. Not to mention the hoods supports just went bad. The dealership wanted $103.00 for each support plus labor.

Cons
Great gas milage.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NB
Nancy B.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/02/2019
Hyundai Sonata
It has great traction in bad weather, handles very well, and accelerates when I need it to and is very comfortable to drive. I love the body style and the color. I am very pleased with it. The only thing I wish it had was heated seats.

Pros
All of the above.

Cons
Doesn't have heated seats.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KR
Karen R.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/02/2019
I Love My Hyundai Sonata GLS
My 2012 Hyundai Sonata is very spacious, comfortable when driving long distances, and seats 5 people. Great gas mileage and amenities are perfect. I would like see a better quality build Sonata with less recalls.

Pros
Great performance and gas mileage.

Cons
Too many recalls due to poor non reliable parts.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DR
David R.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/30/2019
2012 Hyundai Sonata - Love it
I had rented a Sonata before I bought one and I liked it. It got great gas mileage so when it was time to get a new car I knew I wanted a Sonata. I bought the car new. I have 245,000 miles on it and I've only had one issue with it - cam sensor. This left me on the side of the road for a tow. But having the car 7 years and only 1 breakdown I can't complain. The interior is great. It has great acceleration. It's fun to drive.

Pros
Great gas mileage (35-37 mpg), good comfort, drives great, low maintenance, timing chain (don't have to worry about changing it), great sound system.

Cons
High road noise (just have to adjust the radio volume and speak louder), short AM/FM radio reception range (I drive a lot out of city so XM works great), lots of recalls (built in engine debris takes out engine), headlights are not very bright and don't get a good distance out of them, headlights go out a lot.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WD
Weontha D.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/29/2019
2012 Hyndai Sonata
I purchased this car in 2011. I use to trade my cars in every 2-3 years. This car has far outweighed my expectations and I still love my car. Aside of the normal maintenance, I haven’t had to do anything else to this car. I would tell anyone whose looking for a car to consider a Sonata. If you are in the Dayton area, go to Voss Hyndai in Miamisburg, OH.

Pros
A very well made automobile

Cons
I seriously have none. The service has been excellent since the day I brought it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
Jack W.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/29/2019
The car I should have bought earlier.
I did not realize the amenities that came with a Hyundai Sonata. Very quiet ride. good styling. Excellent gas mileage. Parts are easy to replace. instrumentation are easy to see.
Had more amenities than my previous car.

Pros
Great amenities. Quiet ride.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TR
Tanya R.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/28/2019
Worth every dollar
I love my Sonata! This car is absolutely wonderful to drive, not to mention very stylish. Easy maintenance and an unbeatable warranty! I would most definitely recommend this car to anyone looking to purchase a cute, reliable vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AF
Andrew F.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/28/2019
2012 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Great car for the money - looks sporty but is practical also. gets great gas mileage but you can not drive 85 and expect 40mpg.. keep it around 70 and get near 40. we have put almost 90,000 miles on the car and still have not replaced the brakes (and have been told they have at least 10K more).
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/28/2019
Good
Good service I would being my vehicle back to you. I had my vehicle in this location 3 or 4 no problem at all. The shuttle was great also. Offered to pick me up but I had a ride. I would recommend your lactation to everyone I know. back.

Pros
Good service.

Cons
Good service.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SW
Shannon W.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/25/2019
Great amenities & value for the money
There are more pluses than minuses. It’s a great car, it’s a has a ton of features for the costs. My only negative comments are the car has blind spots, rattling from the sun roof, loud noise from the under carriage. A small leak from the tail light.

Pros
Design, features, gas mileage

Cons
Blind spots, leak in the tail lights(moisture build up), sun roof rattles, under carriage noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
Joan G.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/25/2019
smart
Great on gas. Style of my Hyundai looks great ( I get a lot of compliments). My 2012 Hyundai is white in color and it is exactly what I wanted. The engine is quiet and the performance is outstanding. It hugs the road. It is really worth the money.

Pros
dependable, fun to drive and looks GOOD.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VR
Vicki R.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/24/2019
Pros and Cons
2012 Model. Seats could be more comfortable. Dependable, attractive and good mileage. There have been lots of recalls, but company response to those problems has been good. I love the Pacific Blue Pearl paint color.

Pros
Exterior Design

Cons
Hard seats

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WC
Winston C.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/24/2019
Great Car
I traded a Cadillac for my Sonata Hybrid. It has all the bells and whistles that the Caddy had. It drives as nice, comfortable, and easy. The best part is the reliability has been awesome. I do a lot of driving travel and the car is comfortable and I have had no trouble at all.

Pros
reliable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HR
Hedy R.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
01/22/2019
I have been happy with my Sonata for the most part.
I have been happy with my Sonata for the most part; however, I have had some issues that should not have occurred. The main one has been the battery. I have had to replace it several times because it has not held a charge. The man who "jumped" my car about 2 years ago told me that he has seen this many times in the Hyundai cars. I have also had to replace a few parts that I feel should have lasted longer, as they did in previous cars.
On the positive side, I have a turbo engine, and it's great! In addition, the driver's seat is very comfortable.

Pros
Nice interior; driver's seat and back seats are very comfortable. Heated seats are a good feature.
Good size trunk.

Cons
Front passenger seat is too low and cannot be changed. Rear view camera does not work consistently.
Navigation system could be better; doesn't always get address correct.
Phone system should work by speech interaction only, not by having to look at the screen. It is very dangerous to have to look at the screen while driving to make a choice of a phone number. In addition, the operator does not always get the proper name when spoken to.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MK
Mark K.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/22/2019
Good sedan.
It's a great vehicle. Now, I have almost 100k miles, I have not had any serious problems with this vehicle.
Even there are a few factory recalls, there were no problems with any parts, nor with systems. I just loved it till now.

Pros
Looking modern and good.

Cons
No comments.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HH
Henry H.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/22/2019
My trustworthy friend
We bought our Sonata in 2012. It has never given us trouble. I get in and never have worried if I might get stranded. It seems to like to travel as fast as I do. The engine just gets going. The turns are easy. I can even parallel park because it turns easily. Had always had trouble in the past. Will get another if this one wears out before this 82 yr old body does!

Pros
Great value, comfort, large trunk, like the extra spot to extend the trunk for a long item, escape thing

Cons
Side mirror on both sides have a blind spot or we just can’t get it adjusted and I don’t think that’s it.
Road noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 141 - 160 of 1611 in total