2012
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.58/5Overall Rating 4.58/5Overall Rating 4.58/5Overall Rating 4.58/5rating 4.58
4.6
(1609 Reviews)
Latest review 9 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

BC
Boyd C.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/20/2019
Sonata Its pretty good.
Hyndai Sonata is a good vehicle. Iv had trouble with my turbo tho. Iv had it replaced, last yr but its acting up again. I was told that oil is getting around it, & that's y the sound. The workers can not find oil. I smell it tho!

Thanks!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CA
Christoher A.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/19/2019
Placing my 5 years old Hybrid Battery.
As a West Michigan business owner and Management development Consultant I have been traveling though out U.S. and around the would for over 30 Years, to service my American and International clients. Efficiency in time and having a credible transportation is critical to effectively address my client's business needs. For the last 5 + years Fox Hyundai dealer has consistently provided me quality car maintenance at competitive fees and have extended me shuttle transportation to and back to my office. Utilizing my extensive Knowledge of World Class Service, I rate their service quality and customer care "world Class" Thanks
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AD
Anne D.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
01/17/2019
2012 Hyundai Sonata
There has been several recalls on my 2012 Hyundai Sonata. Seems like this year model was made a little inferior. aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

Pros
Mileage

Cons
Factory Recalls. Seems like this 2012 model was made a little inferior.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VW
Victoria W.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/17/2019
2012 and strong
I brought my car New, I bring it to dealer for all my service. My Sonata haven’t failed me, I appreciate if I need road side service I’m never alone I can just call and road service have assist me serval of time usually with flat tire

Pros
I still enjoy the drive and the best is in the snow

Cons
Fitchburg hills can be difficult

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
Robert S.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/16/2019
Sonata hybrid 2012
I like my vehicle the mileage has been good the ride is smooth I think some dealerships try to up sell repair cost to their benefit. I found this dealership ask me what I needed and the requirements for the mileage that I had that made me feel good. The last dealership I went to I felt they were just trying to get charge me for their benefit. I will return to this dealership

Pros
More power than expected

Cons
When I purchased my vehicle I expected better gas mileage.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VB
Viviana B.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/15/2019
Best Car I’ve Owned
This car is gorgeous while still being economical for a college student. I enjoy the way the dash board looks on my 2012 Sonata. I often get compliments on my car. I enjoy the gas mileage. Price of maintence is great. My last car was an audi and it killed me taking it in anywhere for maintence and always had issues. This car has been very reliable even with 120k miles. While I don’t have the turbo, it still accelerates nice. I appreciate how fast the vehicle warms up as well.

Pros
Gorgeous body, very economical

Cons
The recalls that have been made (which a dealership fixes for no cost)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RG
Rogelio G.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
01/15/2019
Is it worth the price?
I had this car for more than five years, it is a stylish and comfy car i would say. However, is it worth your money over millege and reliability? On my experienced driving 21 miles on freeway would not compensate what I paid for, why? First, the car was just service for transmission, hybrid pump, and battery, not even 90k the car broke down that bad. Second, the car went to service not more than 6 months ago due to engine leak. And 3rd, I drove other hybrid, conventinal car, and desseled powered car and I would say about power this one is less; mpg? this one less, and comfy they are about the same. So I dont know if hyundai would post this but I doubt it but if it does well it's on you now if you would still take one. I paid the price of Mercedez for this hybrid fyi, top of the line limited edition and for me it's not worth it.

Pros
Beautiful in appearance and comfort.

Cons
Unreliable, lack of power specially on the hill, hybrid mpg seems not worth what you paid for, there are conventional car that gives you same millege but different performance on a cheaper price.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
John C.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/15/2019
2012 Hyundai Sonata-Turbo
Great vehicle! Only complaint is the passenger seat-feels like sitting in hole and cannot be adjusted higher.This car has exceeded the miles per gallon numerous times from what was listed on specification sheet.The performance from this turbo charged engine is impressive. The style and design brings many comments on its looks from many people.

Cons
Passenger seat cannot be adjusted height wise.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EW
Edward W.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/15/2019
2012 Hyundai sonata
Do not buy the 2012 model, as there have been to many recalls and problems. It took almost 6 years to resolve the air bag problem. The Cruz control on the steering column cannot be turned off, unless you hit the brake pedal. This happens when the Cruz is set between 50 & 58 mph. It's an apparent software problem,, that needs to be addressed. Note, i still have a 2002 sonata that overall is a lot better built.

Pros
Do not include my name or email when forwarding.

Cons
Do not include my name or email when forwarding.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LS
Latrese S.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/14/2019
Horrible
I’ll never get a Hyundai again the engine went and everything I took it to Hyundai where it took them over two months the car still runs funny I will not purchase a Hyundai again I plan on getting rid of the one I have
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WB
William B.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/14/2019
Fantastic car
This is a great car. It doesn't feel like its 6 years old, I have needed very few repairs, people still admire its styling and ask me how I like it and everything still works (very few of my friends who don't have Hyundais can say that). I can still get 34 mpg on the highway if I pay attention to my driving, and routinely get 23 mpg in my stop-&-go city driving. There is a 4 year old chip in the paint down to the metal on a door frame from my carelessness, which I will work on if it starts to show any rust. This car sometimes serves as my construction vehicle, hauling almost everything including 10' boards with all of the seats down. Despite what I consider to be fairly hard use, the inside shows a minimum of wear. The only reason I would part with it would be to get a new Sonata with all of the new safety features.

Pros
A luxury car in every way but purchase price.

Cons
The original tires were a disaster in the snow and replaced at 9,000 miles.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LT
Laura T.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/13/2019
Love My Hyundai Sonata
I’ve been driving my Sonata since I drove it off the lot 7 years ago and when the engine went, I was extremely pleased when Hyundai decided to replace it for me. Thanks so much & I highly recommend the Hyundai Sonata!!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
Jacqueline H.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
01/12/2019
Great but little bad things
Steering wheel peeling
Broken seat belt button
I really don’t expect any problems
In less than 6 years
And less than 35000 miles
I keep cars usually 7-8 years with NO problems other than regular maintenance. So far Hyundai isn’t making the grade

Cons
No power seat on passengers side

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BW
Beverly W.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/11/2019
I highly reccommend the 2012 Hyundai Sonata. It is a well made reliable vehicle. Great performance with minimum maintenance.
The 2012 Hynundai Sonata is one of the best vehicles I have owned. Great performance. Minimum maintenance. Holds the road well whether snow, rain or dry weather. Ages well and is a great value for the money.

Pros
Well made vehicle with minimum maintenance.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
Raymond S.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/11/2019
Review
We bought the car new in January 2012 and have been totally satisfied with the reliability and performance of the car. We now have 106,000 miles on the car with all of the original equipment except for a starter that we recently replaced. We usually take at least one trip a year and are pleasantly surprised that we can get 45mpg on the highway. (It is advertised as 35MPH on the highway) This is the first Hyundai we have owned but at this point because of our satisfaction our next vehicle would be a Hyundai.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CK
Calvin K.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/10/2019
(Almost) always dependable and reliable.
I have 2012 Sonata Hybrid, drove around 84,000 miles. I had one major issue (with component controlling switch between engine and motor) which came to halt in the middle of busy cross section. If it happened on freeway, it could have been a major accident. Other than that, this car's major functionalities are (almost) always dependable. There are numerous minor issues like some buttons don't work as expected. I'm not expecting luxurious features, but basic functions like how a button response to a push or pull are broken without any reason, and are not working properly. Although build quality of major components are excellent, lack of attention to the smallest feature makes me feel like it's a cheap car. I would give this car 4.5 stars due to a major issue I had. And build qualities of minor, non-critical components cost another half star. If I had to go back to 2012, I would buy it again, but plug-in version perhaps.

Pros
Excellent build quality of main components

Cons
Lack of attention to small details and poor build quality of non-critical parts.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RA
Ronald A.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/09/2019
Very good car with amazing quatliy for its price range, highly recommended!
Excellent quality for price. Vehicle drives well, has decent performance for its great fuel mileage engine, seats are conformable, audio system is good quality with a fair amount of features such as Bluetooth, I have driven several 1000+ mile trips with no issues, and was moderately comfortable the entire trip. Nice Job Hyundai.

Pros
Ride quality, mileage, comfort, and nice audio.

Cons
None.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CM
Claire M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
01/08/2019
2012 Sonata Limited
Seats are too low, can't see the hood of the car. Rear window too small, seat belts hard to connect because they are too far down. Like the shape of the 2008 Sonata much better which we have also.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KM
Kathi M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
01/07/2019
Loved it at first now very disappointed
I love my car ..it has all the options I want..runs great . Awesome gas mileage, but the transmission went out with absolutely no warning. Not sure how I feel about losing a tranny in a car that only has 100,000 miles on it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SL
Sharon L.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/04/2019
Passenger seat
Everything is great with my 2012 sonata except front passenger seat. It is a pit! I didn't realize until after purchase how low the front passenger seat was. Driver feels like a giant looking down on the person beside them. A smaller person can't even see over the dash. Tried to replace with electric seat that would bring seat higher but they said could not be done. 😒
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 161 - 180 of 1609 in total