2012
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.58/5Overall Rating 4.58/5Overall Rating 4.58/5Overall Rating 4.58/5rating 4.58
4.6
(1609 Reviews)
Latest review over 4 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


LS
LE S.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/22/2015
Hyundai Sonata
That is my Sonata, sparkling ruby, and a true gem! Comfortable ride, great gas mileage, easy maintenance and I get compliments on it every time I park it.

Pros
Love the sun roof, leather interior and overall looks. Easy to drive, comfortable on long trips and I thank my son for recommending a Sonata!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LL
Linda L.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/03/2015
Great car
We keep the car mainly for travelling. It does the job very well. Looks great. Gets great mileage.

Pros
Great looks. Runs great

Cons
Problem with film build-up on interior of front windshield.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EA
ED A.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/09/2015
Gas milage and Comfort
I have 30000 miles on my Sonata and have had no trouble with it!

Pros
A comfortable automobile to drive and very good on gas milage

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PS
Paul S.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/12/2015
Sonata is the best!
We have to Hyundai but I must say I love my Sonata Turbo. I came very close to being in an accident with two trucks closing in on me. I hit the Turbo and away I went missed being hit by less then an inch. Love my Sonata!

Pros
All Pros

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SL
Sharon L.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/15/2015
Happy Sonata Owner
After researching Hyundai, I decided on the Sonata! Love the sleek look, the cockpit front seating,warranty,one the best I've ever seen.I feel safe sitting inside of the vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SP
Sheila P.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/18/2015
Great car for the money
I will probably buy another one in the future.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
CHRISTOPHER S.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/19/2015
Overall great car.
I get 35 MPG on the highway going 75 MPH. Plenty of power, actually really fast. Smooth ride, great handling, great winter driving. Super car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GP
GABRIEL P.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/21/2015
My Sonata Hybrid
The Sonata is a great vehicle that is a pleasure to drive. It is comfortable and more peppy than I thought a hybrid would be. It provides great gas mileage for my type of driving. If the passenger seat was adjustable height wise it would make it a perfect vehicle (my wife complains about how low it sits and others have also) but that is all. Thanks Hyundai for my Sonata!

Pros
Just a fun vehicle to drive with great gas mileage.

Cons
Passenger seat sits too low for most people occupying it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
MICHAEL S.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/22/2015
Beyond expectations
The Sonata is the 2nd best car I've owned in my life. Most impressive & important when purchased was the front leg room. All else, with the exception of the gas mileage, has been way beyond my expectations. Another surprise has been the wonderful service at the dealership. Overall I'm very pleased in every way, especially considering the price value of the Sonata.

Pros
Size, exterior looks, front leg room, fun to operate & terrific service.

Cons
Not quite the gas mileage I was expecting. Could be a bit quieter & comfortable.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
Raymond S.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/25/2015
Review
The compression brakes are a stroke of genius. I can get over 45mpg on the highway.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WB
William B.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/26/2015
Great Car
This is a great car. I really appreciate it more and more each day. The appearance, mileage, dependability, etc. make it a pleasure to drive.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GR
GABRIELLE R.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/28/2015
Love this car!!
Awesome!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KK
Kenneth K.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/02/2015
Best New Car I've Ever Owned
The quality of the car's performance, appearance, and driving comfort makes the 2012 Sonata the best car I've ever owed....and, in driving for over 55 years, that includes a bunch!! The quality of maintenance I receive ( at the dealer ) probably will delay my need to purchase another car anytime soon. But, you can bet when I buy another, it will be a Hyundai. Love this car!!!!!

Pros
Too many to mention, really--but, I enjoy the handling and performance of the Sonata on the highway. I feel rested whenever I arrive at my destination.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ML
MICHAEL L.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/05/2015
Best car I've ever owned
This car has never given me a problem. I do all of the recommended maintenance and in return the car treats me well.
I gave comfort a 9 because I have an 2.0T SE and it's a little to stif.
Build quality is a 9 because it die have a squeak in the center console but can be fixed with a little felt.
Performance was a 9 because they could provide more HP/torque with this 2.0T.
Features are a 9 because I wish I had adaptable suspension and a few more options available on their higher end cars.

Pros
Sexy curves
Handling
Blue Link
Quality
Reliability

Cons
Options available
Tires
Standard radio isn't very good

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LS
Linda S.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/07/2015
LOVE IT! LOVE IT! LOVE IT!
I could not ask for a better vehicle. Bought it used and have had no problems at all. I have actually added some "after market" touches such as "remote" start and vinyl floor mats for the front, something I have never done with any other vehicle I have purchased..
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PM
PAULINE M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/10/2015
Love my Sonata!
My current Sonata is the second one I've owned and after seeing the new models I will definitely purchase another Sonata in the near future. My 2012 is a very sharp looking car, beautiful roomy interior, runs beautifully and is good on gas. I have had no mechanical issues with my 2012 Sonata and look forward to shopping for the newest model!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KR
Kathryn R.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/11/2015
2012 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Great car!!! Love it!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JK
JANE K.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/11/2015
Sonata Hybrid
Great mileage...great car that I can rely upon.

Pros
Good on comfort but not perfect. Love the heated seats and good quality of most amenities. Performs with good power to get out of the way even tho it is a 4 cyl. Many compliments on its looks. Wonderful Mileage.

Cons
Terrible blind spot when backing up or changing lanes. Next car will have a back up camera. Don't like the way the cruise control is set up...backwards from other cars I have owned.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
SALVATORE M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/15/2015
Best Car Ever
I have the Sonata Hybrid with all the options. This is the best car I've ever had. It is fun to drive and I love having the best of both worlds, the electric engine and the gas engine. They both work very smoothly together. This hybrid is great because of the high horsepower which is available when needed. It's effortless to either pass another car or to enter the freeway into moving traffic. The options are great. Florida can be very hot and humid. The air conditioning system is more than adequate in such extremely hot weather. I put chrome wheels on my Sonata Hybrid and it brought this car into another higher class. I haven't even noticed any difference in gas usage this past year and a half. It's a beautiful car on both the inside and outside. The chrome wheels were the icing on the cake.

Pros
Beautiful form and lines on the outside
Beautiful interior
Layout of all the instrumentation is "eye catching"
Drives and handles nicely
Has a lot of power
Ride is smooth, seats very comfortable
Engine is quiet
Plenty of storage space
Back seat has a portion that comes down to fit long things in the car
Just basically beautiful design on both the inside and out
Mileage is great

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GH
Gwenda H.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/16/2015
Good Economical car
Good Car. Enjoy driving it. Great on the Highway. No problem until engine failure at 50,000 miles (3yrs). Reliable up to this time. Still under warranty so Rebuilt engine installed.

Pros
Economical purchase price
Good gas mileage
Style similar to more expensive cars

Cons
No automatic seat adjustments on passenger side.
Bluetooth failures

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 1609 in total