2012
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.57/5Overall Rating 4.57/5Overall Rating 4.57/5Overall Rating 4.57/5rating 4.57
4.6
(1630 Reviews)
Latest review about 16 hours ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

CR
Chris R.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
12/04/2019
Decent Vehicle, However . . .
Decent vehicle, however Hyundai national is the pits. Hard to find information from national. Utube has better information. National web site is terrible. Keeps reminding you of recalls and maintenance that have already been performed. Lousy navigation system. Sunroof may spontaneously explode (mine did)!

Pros
Local dealer service.

Cons
Hyundai national. Lousy navigation. Sunroof prone to spontaneous explosion.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AG
Albert G.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/30/2019
You wont get my Sonata 2.0 T
8 yrs and still happy w Sonata 2.0 T No plans to trade in
Your survey is too demanding and way too long. Minimum of 200 characters? You want my help and your telling me how much to write!
If I hadn't written so much so far I'd just delete.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Jerry M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/25/2019
2012 Sonata Hybrid
I purchased my first Sonata in 1987 which was the first year they came out. I have to say that this was a nightmare. Too many problems for a first time vehicle. But, I can say since then the manufacturer has made numerous changes and improvements. The car today is the car to purchase.

Pros
Gas efficiency, mobility and styling.

Cons
No pair....

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NB
Nancy B.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/20/2019
Love my car
I love driving my car. It handles great and does good in bad weather. It's roomy but yet sporty. It's everything I want and expect in a car. They are at the top of the list for safety features along with the Subaru and that means a lot to me.

Pros
All of the above plus great mileage.

Cons
I wish it had heated seats.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RA
Ron A.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/20/2019
2012 Sonata SE
Bought the car new and it’s the best overall car I have ever owned . Only one real issue with the fuel pump a few years ago but this was quickly resolved . It’s now 7 years old with 80 k miles and driving like new . I was going to change it out before the end of the year but as I like it so much I’ve decided to keep it for another year at least ,especially as my mileage has decreased recently . I’m not even going to bother to extend the warranty .

Pros
Overall it’s a very good vehicle and I am convinced I will buy Hyundai again . Maybe a top of the range Tucson next time

Cons
Headlights could be brighter
No rear view camera
Front passenger seat

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TP
Timira P.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/19/2019
Love it
The car I had for 3 years love how drive in snow summer time alot of room no problem with the car great services when I take the car for oil change love the comfort of the car I would buy other if I had to great cars
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SD
Sheryl D.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/19/2019
Blind spot
I love the look & style of the sonata but it does have blind spots that might steer me away from buying another one. Also, I have had issues with the brakes & oil burning too fast. It looks like they are going to replace the engine for free

Pros
Style
Cost

Cons
Blind spots
Brake issues
Interior cheap

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
Roy M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
11/14/2019
2012 Sonata
Problem began within 1 month of purchasing...3 yrs of the same problem! Under the hood would shake, loose power & would become undrivable. I would not recommend

this was the worst vehicle ever owned

Pros
Size, interior

Cons
Had the same ongoing problem for 3 years & still unresolved

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America responded on 11/14/2019
We would like to get involved to examine your claim further. A specialist from our Headquarters will contact you shortly. Thank you. ^cc

KK
Kathryn K.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/12/2019
Great vehicle
My 2012 Hyundai Sonata is the best vehicle I’ve ever had. I have 109000 miles on it and have no intention to buy another vehicle in the near future. This car is definitely a family hand me down that’ll stay in our family for a while

Cons
The drivers seat sits too low

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RW
Robert W.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/12/2019
Great car except for milrage.
When you had a car for 7 years and the only visit to the dealer is for routine service, I would consider it great. The only problem has been the hybrid gas mileage. It was not what stated from the start but is getting increasingly worse and now down to low 20's. This is the disapointment in the car.

Pros
Runs grest, very reliabile.

Cons
Poor mileage for hybrid.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AC
Andrew C.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/05/2019
2012 Sonota 2.0
Love the car for the most part. Great gas mileage. Fun to drive. Great storage. Road noise is terrible. Have tried 3 types of tires still noisy. Passenger seat is too low, with few adjustments, which makes it uncomfortable for long trips.

Pros
Great gas mileage. Fun to drive. Great sound system.

Cons
Road noise is terrible. Passenger seat is too low, with few adjustments, which makes it uncomfortable for long trips.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
Raymond S.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/04/2019
Overall review
To this point we are very happy with the vehicle and would definitely consider purchasing another Hyundai when the time comes for another vehicle.aoaooaoaooaoaooaoaoaoaoaoaoaoaoooaooaooaoaoaoaooaaoaoaooaoaoao
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
James W.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/01/2019
Hyundai Sonata 2012
engine noise is low power is good,engine response is good,rear parking brake & regular brakes are not a very good setup definitely don't like not being able to check transmission fluid level fuel tank size is great thanks for not having a small 10 gallon tank.

Pros
fuel economy reliability and engine response over all space is great

Cons
steering wheel should have more adjustability telescoping would help with better sitting position

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AG
Amarilis G.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/01/2019
Great car
I have my Sonata 2012 for about 2 years.
No complaints. Good on gas. Very comfortable and safe.
It is a big car, with a lot of room in the back seat and the trunk is spacious too. From 1 to 10 I give this car 10
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
Judy W.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/31/2019
happy customer
the car has been recalled on a few items, but over all I've had no major problems , I had a small problem with the steering wheel but that was fixed right away. happy with the car, Just not all the recalls. Let me in joy my car with out having to worry about if it's going to break down.

Pros
good on gas performance. comfortable to drive.

Cons
to many recalls.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BC
Betty C.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/26/2019
2012 Sonata
I love my car, the ice blue Metallic color is beautiful
I get lots of compliments !
When on a road trip and I drive 65 mpg
I get 45 miles per gallon one time 50mpg
I have and would recommend this car!

Pros
It is a great car
Easy to drive

Cons
Feel every bump in the road

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DH
Deborah H.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/24/2019
2012 Hyundai Sonata
My vehicle is named Black Beauty. She is still in great running condition. I've received many offers for it! I love my car. I can't depart from it. She's awesome!!!! Hyundai Motors invented a great vehicle. It has many features.👐

Pros
None

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
Joe G.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/24/2019
Recalls
To many recalls, To many times in for service. Last time in for service had driver side seat belt that would not latch. I felt it was a safety issue that Hyundai should be responsible for. It was not covered by my extended warranty. I had no choice but to pay up.

Pros
Fair price

Cons
Recalls

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AC
Austin C.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/22/2019
One of the most reliable vehicles I've ever owned
I purchased new in 2012 and since then I have only had one issue which the dealership covered 100%. This was my first venture into imports (Hyundai specifically), and after being "big body, big engine" Dodge owner, I have never looked back. I plan to upgrade to Hyundai new premium line "Genesis" G90 next spring and am excited to regain the horsepower of a V8 engine!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Maida M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/20/2019
Vehicle
I love my 2012 Sonata. I enjoy the comfort and the ride of the vehicle. It has a lot of get up and go for a 4 cylinder vehicle. I enjoyed the style, the roominess of the interior and I love my panoramic roof.

Pros
It has a lot of get up and go for a 4 cylinder vehicle. I enjoyed the style, the roominess of the interior and I love my panoramic roof.

Cons
I would suggest improving the suspension so that it grab curves better. Also make it a 6 cylinder vs a 4.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 1630 in total