2012
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(1672 Reviews)
Latest review 22 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

CL
Catherine L.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/16/2020
LESS THAN HAPPY 'CAMPER'
THE WARRANTY IS NOT THE BEST FOR ME. IT WILL TAKE ME MORE THAN 9 YEARS TO GET TO 60,000
MILES, MEANWHILE MY WARRANTY EXPIRED AFTER 5 YRS. I NORMALLY DRIVE ABOUT 7,OOO MILES PER YR. OF COURSE I HAD TO BUY AN EXPENSIVE EXTENDED WARRANTY.

Pros
SMOOTH , SAFE RIDE

Cons
BLUE LINK FEATURE IS TERRIBLE-- THE GPS
GOT ME LOST A FEW TIMES--NEEDS A LIVE OPERATOR LIKE ONSTAR!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VF
Valare F.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/06/2020
Best surprise I loved the car,
I never wanted the car but it has been a blessing in my life! Although I didn't want this car I LOVE THE CAR EVEN 6 YEARS LATER!!! I LOVE THE CAR EVEN 6 YEARS LATER!!! I LOVE THE CAR EVEN 6 YEARS LATER!!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Steven S.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/03/2020
Love it
Super economic , comfortable easy to park and drive xxxxxxxxxxxxxxcxxxxxxxxxxxxxxdxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxdxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxcxxxxxcxxxcxddffdfxxxxxdxddddddfffdfdddfffffffffffxxxxxxxxx

Pros
It is very economic

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Scott S.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/01/2020
Love my 2012 Sonat
This car is over 8yrs old and still looks and performs like new. We have never been left stranded. People are amazed that this car is almost 9yrs old. The sound system is better than my 2019 Sonata. This is a car to buy.

Pros
Looks and performs like new

Cons
The padding in the seats is of poor quality

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PM
Patricia M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/29/2020
Sonata Sedan
I did not purchase the car from Autonation.....It is from Carmax. But the car itself is great! It is comfortable and runs extremely well for an 8 year old car. With new tires, brakes and frequent maintenance visits, I feel I can have this car for another 10 years....running just as well as it does now.

Pros
Leather seats, backup camera, gps navigation, great heating and air-conditioning,
attractive body styling

Cons
Side view mirrors stick out too far......cannot see the end of the hood even with raising the seat

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LW
Leshanda W.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
06/28/2020
2012 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
The car was ok at first and I do mean just ok. But once it hit 100k its became my worst nightmare. Ive had it for 3yrs now and it's been an never ending money pit. Ive replaced the air flap system 3x so far ($1200 a pop) and that's just the beginning. I been to the dealership twice in less then 90 days and it's still not fixed, they don't understand what I'm talking about and they can't find the problem. That car is not safe and it's not built for Houston roads or traffic. I really wanted to love my car but it's a complete never again for me.

Pros
It's pretty and good on gas

Cons
To much to types so I'll sum it up with death trap

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
N
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America responded on 06/29/2020
Allow us to look into your concern a little further, a specialist from our corporate office will be in touch with you to investigate further. ^cc

TC
Terrence C.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/16/2020
2012 Hyundai Sonata
My wife and I bought our 2012 Hyundai Sonata from Sacramento Hyundai brand new in 2012! The vehicle is still going strong and is well-made! We highly recommend Hyundai! We like our 2012 Hyundai Sonata so much we bought a 2013 Hyundai Santa Fe GLS.

Pros
Very reliable! Excellent customer support/service for the vehicle.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JV
Jonni V.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/29/2020
Great value acceptation navigation system updates-Ridiculous cost for this service.
The vehicle is valued appropriately as compared to other choices in vehicles.
The extended warranty covers the expected timeline prior to possible repairs ONLY.
The navigation update should be automatic or user friendly.

Pros
The vehicle is worth the value placed. Happy with the service provided by the dealership

Cons
Costly to update the navigation system. Other dealers update automatically, why would Hyundai not have the same??

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
Jenny R.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/23/2020
Great car
This is a great car; low maintenance. Great gas mileage. We bought this car used at 12,000 but at 120,000 still runs like new with same gas mileage. Still my favorite design for exterior. Sporty yet still chic.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LB
Larry B.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/14/2020
Larry Brewer/President of Inter/Product,Inc. /Tallmadge,Ohio
I have a Sonata 2.OT.I have 161,000 miles on it and it drives,looks and feels like it will be good for another 100,000 miles I can drive it for 12-14 hrs
before I get tired.It is a fun car to drive!I have had a lot of cars,but this one stands out as The Best.

Pros
Lite and handle well,so fun to drive.
With the Turbo,it's like driving a Bumble Bee!!!!!

Cons
Does not get around well at all in snow.You can get stuck in 2-3 inches of snow.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KS
Kehinde S.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
05/12/2020
Engine
The car is physically beautiful but the worst car ever most especially the turbo engine vehicles i will advice you aboid any hyudai car if you can,it comes cheap but dont be deceived.I regret buying it
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
N
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America responded on 05/12/2020
Thank you. A specialist from our Headquarters will be in touch soon. ^cc

JG
Janice G.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
05/04/2020
great car
Great car with a good warranty but I'd recommend selling it before it gets out of warranty. Quit buying American-made cars in 1984 and have been satisfied with Toyota Nissan Mazda and now Hyundai. We were considering buying a new Palisade but the reliability of the Hyundai isn't quite what we expected never had additional repairs on any of the other import cars we bought.

Pros
10-year hundred thousand mile warranty

Cons
Very expensive when you have to pay for repairs out of warranty

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

IH
Izhanae H.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/30/2020
Car service!!!
My car has been riding smoothly ever since Chuck has helped me with my car issue. I had to pay for new brakes to be done because they were squeaking very badly. Chuck being their has lightened my worries of my first experience of having a car. I'm from a long way from home due to college but I will say my money was well spent and I appreciate the help!!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CW
Cynthia W.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/30/2020
I am enjoying my Hyundai. My daughters also enjoy driving and riding in the car..i it is relaxing and comfortable to drive. My next car will also be a Hyundai .
I enjoy this car. Its dependable. Keeping my hyundai serviced on schedule time keeps me informed of the maintenance that is needed in the future. My next car will also be a hyundai. Gas mileage is great.

Pros
I have enjoyed my hyundai for 4 years. I have no complaints with the services i receive at North West Freeway nor do i have any complaints about my hyundai.

Cons
Of 4 years i have no complaints.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KM
Katherine M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/17/2020
Love my Sonata
This is my second Sonata. Both cars have been very reliable vehicles. I loved the styling of my first Hyundai and although I had low mileage I traded to get my current vehicle. Now the 2020 styling has caught my eye. The cars have been good investments.

Pros
Great styling, reliability and price for all the features.

Cons
Only negative comment would be the gas fill door release does not always open. I have to open the trunk and manually release the door.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NM
Neel M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/14/2020
Nice work
Nice work area is clean and employees are nice know what they are doing nice experience while I was there the clean my car friendly workers free coffee check out new car while you wait they have nice car
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NM
NICOLA M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
04/06/2020
Way too many recalls
Every time I turn around there’s a recall on basic safety things like seat belt anchors not working, air bags not deploying during an accident. It’s expensive to fix, replacement parts don’t last as long as original.

Pros
It still running

Cons
1999 My ford contour handled, less maintenance, cost less to fix and all replacement parts lasted 10x longer.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/03/2020
Sonata 2012 gls
I buy this car used because was cheap, but I love it................
And doesn't spend to much gas (27 to 30 miles per galon)............
I definitely will like to buy a new hyundai........
........
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Judith M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
03/31/2020
Mix emotions
I like and love my car but parts are very expensive when need it to be fix. Parts are also hard to find sometimes. My brothers tell me all the time to get rid of my car because one time they were helping me fixed it and the parts are expensive and difficult to find.

Pros
small, good in gas, pretty and comfortable.

Cons
parts are very expensive and even hard to find.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JO
John O.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/26/2020
My 2012 Hyundai Sonata
A very dependable, safe and comfortable vehicle to be in and operate on the road. Love the design both inside & outside, also handles well during our storms in Arizona, both during wind, dust and rain conditions. Thanks Hyundai engineers !!!

Pros
Happy with my decision when purchasing New my 2012 Hyundai Sonata

Cons
NONE

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 1672 in total