2012
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.59/5Overall Rating 4.59/5Overall Rating 4.59/5Overall Rating 4.59/5rating 4.59
4.6
(1569 Reviews)
Latest review 5 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

RW
Ronald W.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/12/2019
Sonata 2012
All around great car. I would recommend looking into more comfortable seats for the front. Great on gas and a Smith ride with a nice set of tires. Like the design of outside. Great trunk space to fit items when traveling.

Pros
Great on gas. Smooth ride.

Cons
Front seats need to be improved.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Joe M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/09/2019
dependable
It has been dependable thoughout the 96000 miles with minimum service needed. The miles per gallon has been exceptional getting between 38 and 42 on average. It handles like a sport car with plenty of power and great road hugging

Pros
mpg
dependability
cost of ownership

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RH
Robert H.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/06/2019
My 2012 Hyundai Sonata GLS is a wonderful vehicle
This car can get up and go but it sips gas on the highway. It is fascinating that a 2.4 liter I4 engine accelerates like a V6. The seats are comfortable particularly the driver seat. One down side is that the headlights are very hard to realign. Another is that the cloth seat covers are thin and easy to soil. I see what looks like high quality leather seat covers on Ebay for this car and I plan to install them. Still it is a remarkably fun car to drive for one that has a fairly cushy ride.

Pros
performance
comfortable driver's seat
highway mileage

Cons
cheap fabric seats
poor headlights

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DH
Darneshia H.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/02/2019
BAD CAR
This car has too many recalls and is not a reliable vehicle. I have only had this car for one year and a half and it needed a new motor. It was replaced for free, but that's not normal for a car!!!!!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/02/2019
Beyond my expectations
I have never had a more dependable car. I love the steering, the way it hugs the road, and the way it just goes. I have never even had a dash light come on and I am at 161K miles. I perform the suggested regular maintenance along with regular oil changes. Hyundai has gone above my expectations.

Pros
I love the steering, the way it hugs the road, and the way it just goes. I have never even had a dash light come on and I am at 161K miles.

Cons
The cabin lets a lot of sound out (when using blue tooth) and a lot of external noise in (traffic etc.) That is my only complaint :-)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
Debi C.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/22/2019
Best car ever
This is my 2nd hyundai sonata and love it. Best car I have ever owned. Will only buy Hyundai from here on out. Service on this car is affordable and the warranty on it is out of this world. I recommend hyundai to all my friends and family
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GD
Gerald D.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
06/16/2019
Not what I expected
The Hyundai Sonata is a nice looking vehicle, but mechanical issues and constant recalls are alarming. It just never drives like a newer vehicle. This is my first time buying a Hyundai, and it has left a bad taste in my mouth. I really doubt if another Hyundai would be in my future.

Pros
Looks
Gas mileage
Roomy
Bluetooth

Cons
Reliability
Needs more power
GDI engine

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EL
Eugene L.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/12/2019
Excellent mileage and maintenance
Have 68K miles on vehicle since purchased new. On trips to Fort Myers from Orlando average over 40 mpg. 24.5 mpg around town. Not bad. Very low maintenance costs. Responsive service on recalls. Happy with my purchase.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
Mark C.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/12/2019
My Hyundai
The best vehicle I've ever owned. The paint chipping/cracking and not being honored is a disgrace. I love this vehicle but drive in shame due to appearance. Hyundai should be ashamed. No referrals here.

Pros
Sharp aerodynamically designed

Cons
Dealership will not honor paint work preformed on entire vehicle.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LT
Lavonda T.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/10/2019
Air Conditioner replaced
I am very pleased with the results on my vehicle. My A.C wasn't working properly but now it's blowing out cold cold air like it suppose to be! I'm am very satisfied! Thanks. I enjoy driving my car and would very likely suggest this type of car to someone else!

Pros
I do believe I enjoy everything about my car!

Cons
I dont have any complaints...I am very grateful!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
Cheryl C.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/10/2019
my sonata
of all the vehicles I have purchased in my 45 years of driving this is the best. it peffforms great and I have just turned 110,000 miles and it drives like when I purchased it off the showroom in 2012.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
Laura M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/09/2019
My Sonata
I have loved that car since the day I bought it. It has style, and comfort. Even at 7 years old it is still attractive to me. I have nothing else to say about it.........................................
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NM
Nageswara M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/08/2019
Love my Sonata
I have my Sonata for 8 years and it has 93,000 miles. Never had any major repair in all these years. But this year, the engine had to be replaced ( a few of 2012 models have the problem) and Hyundai honored the warranty and replaced the engine .

Pros
Elegant and comfortable car.

Cons
Wish the engine problems were caught at the manufacturing time.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BW
Brenda W.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/06/2019
I am very satisfied with my 2012 Hyundai Sonata, I have no complaints.
Very satisfied with my 2012 Hyundai Sonata. I love this car, the way it handles on road. The most important thing I like is the power it has when you need it, example- when traffic is heavy as you'll have to find a gap before you merge safely into the flow of traffic.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VA
Vicky A.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/04/2019
Love my Sonata!
My Sonata is not only a beautiful car but it is comfortable and I love the gas mileage I get. On many trips we’ve gotten up to 38 mpg. The 2.0T is a great “get up & go” drive when you need it!! I think it is sporty and all the features I have I enjoy! The sun roof is great but one of the best features is the backup camera!

Pros
Looks great, drives great and good gas mileage!!

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LT
Leonard T.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/04/2019
2012 Hyundai sonata hybrid
Great car .. but could use more take off power....could use more power when you come from a stop and go. Also cam use a tachometer, because you dont know how much you are revving the car at. Also could extend the original warranty to used car buyers

Pros
Interior space

Cons
Lack of take off power..

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SF
Steven F.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/01/2019
most reliable
most reliable car Ive owned in 50 years excellent warranty and service if you maintain the vehicle should last 200000 miles
exterior no rust or undercarriage and its 8 years old interior no signs of wear

Pros
very reliable

Cons
will probably buy a genesis for a bit more luxury

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EM
Elizabeth M.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/27/2019
2012 Sonata
My Sonata hasn't needed much over the years. I did have to replace the hi low fuel pressure system in the fuel tank on a trip but that was the only surprise. I have almost 120k miles but it still is going strong. The dealership took care of all the recent recalls and extended the warranty. I will buy another Hyundai as my next car.

Pros
Gas mileage, cost to maintain

Cons
No bells and whistles

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RH
Regina H.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/27/2019
2012 Hyundai Sonata 2.0T
Absolutely love this car, bought used at 38,000miles. Comfortable, Beautiful style and alot of power. Make sure oil changed on time. Car has been reliable and safe. Even through an accident of hitting a Farrell donkey! Felt no impact. Great family car, yet still sporty!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MT
MICHAEL T.
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/24/2019
Driving the Hybrid
This car has repair cost twice of the 2.0
Everything on this car has is a set of two. The money saved on gas is pennies to the hundreds spent on repairs.
PS
Hate the transmission on this car
This transmission is the worst thing, it keeps slipping in and out of 2nd gear and the dealership says that it is working so there is nothing to repair

Pros
Quiet drive

Cons
transmission

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 1569 in total