2014
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.71/5Overall Rating 4.71/5Overall Rating 4.71/5Overall Rating 4.71/5rating 4.71
4.7
(1811 Reviews)
Latest review 1 day ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

BM
Burnadette M.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/13/2019
Red rider!
The perfect size with all the bells and whistles. Seat warming, tinted windows, multiple steering wheel modes, plenty of speed and a sun roof that opens! Plus it’s eco mode saves on gas! I love this car!

Pros
Great buy!

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GW
Gloria W.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/13/2019
Fall apart vehicle
I love my car except for the front bumper has pulled loose and can’t be fixed. Replacement is $800 to $1,000. The plastic on the left of the driver’s seat keeps falling down. The air conditioner doesn’t work very well.

Pros
Love the style and looks.

Cons
Falls apart inside and out.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
Carmella S.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/13/2019
Pleased
I love my Hyundai Sonata I'm so happy that I chose this vehicle it's sporty but also classy and I love the way it drives and handles on the road. I love my my backing up camera it helps me to see behind me and I love the satellite radio.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AH
Anjunea H.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/13/2019
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Love my Sonata, no major issues since I've had it (3yrs). The only thing I needed outside of oil changes so far was brakes and tires! I would definitely recommend this car to any whose looking for something reliable

Pros
Reliable and comfortable

Cons
There a no cons

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WW
Wanda W.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/11/2019
Vehicle Review
The car is easy to handle. It is roomy and comfortable in all seats. Love the heated adjustable electrical seats. Enjoy changing the radio stations and adjusting the volume from the steering wheel. Cruise control is within easy reach. The car is also equipped with side airbags.

Pros
Size, comfort, Bluetooth, warning signals

Cons
Recalls

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KM
Kurt M.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/10/2019
I Love It
This is my second Sonata. Obviously I loved the first one too, since I never buy the same model car twice. It looked nice on the lot, was affordable and after 5 years, it still looks new and runs like a top. Even now people still tell me what a great looking car it is. I have had no service required other than the usual maintenance, so the cost of ownership for me has been great. For a 4 cylinder it has good acceleration, which is needed where I live to get into traffic. Unless something goes very wrong, which I doubt, I am probably a Sonata owner for life.

Pros
stylish
affordable
reliable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Judy S.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/07/2019
2014 Model not good!
I loved my car when I bought it or I wouldn't of bought it. However I have had nothing but problems with this car. More recall & warranty work on this car then all the cars I've owned combined. Ya'll shouldn't of sold me this car with so many flaws. Complete crap!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KA
Kyle A.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
09/06/2019
The recalls
There are a lot of recalls on the car and having to replace a lot on it for it only being 5 years old I have to replace more than my 98. extremely disappointed seeming how we bought it for a new reliable car that has good gas miles witch each time we have something fixed the MPG drops if we knew about all this we would have went with something different

Pros
Inside looks and feels amazing. I’m a bigger guy (370lbs)(6’) and I fit in the front and back easy. The truck is really big. Out side looks slick waist the paint was done better started chipping at first wash.

Cons
Brakes down a lot needs repairs the 2.4 seizes up a lot of junk parts

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
Jennie H.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/06/2019
Sonata
I bought my 2014 Sonata brand new. It has been a good reliable car. I've got 100,000 miles on it now. I would not hesitate to do a roadtrip from Maine to Virginia. I would like to get a brand new one next year. If only it wouldn't come with a payment.

Pros
Reliable, good fuel economy

Cons
Comes with a car payment.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
Memphis C.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/02/2019
I Purchased a New 2014 Hyundai Sonata Based on the Good Experiences A Friend Had With An Earlier Model
The car has now been in service five years, and continues to provide me with reliable, durable, and economical operation. There has been minimal need for repairs: the stalk of the turn signal switch came loose once, and was either repaired or replaced (I do not recall which). Also, a shroud situated below the radiator came loose and had to be reinstalled. The repairs were done very quickly and there have been no further complaints.

The car has fine ride qualities and provides good performance even though I did not buy the turbocharged configuration. I wish it had a tighter turn radius and better rearward visibility. However, compared to a variety of cars I have owned since 1964, including a '74 Cadillac and a '70 Datsun that I turned into hot rods in California, I would rate the Sonata's design as excellent.

I wish the driver's seat were equipped with memory for the seat position. The feature could be used to restore the seat position following seat adjustments for a second driver. Likewise, the mirrors should have been equipped with positioning memory. I would have gladly paid for both of those proposed features.

Pros
The styling of the vehicle is that of a traditional sedan, which appeals to me greatly. I don't enjoy the styling of SUVs. If I buy a new car, I will likely get a two-seat sports car. I especially enjoy the engine and transmission combination of my vehicle.

Cons
The fuel door release and the trunk release buttons should have been illuminated. As it is, I carry a small flashlight to help me see those controls in the dark. The car would benefit from a tighter steering radius. The rearward visibility should be better.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AH
Adela H.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/31/2019
My dream car!
I went to find a black Sonata, for very personal reasons. Midway found me my car, made sure it was perfect, and I couldn't be happier. My car is pefect, drove it to Seattle and it was the most relaxing drive, smooth, quiet, no glare (excellent tinted windows). Climate control is perfect, the different steering modes made it an excellent choice for going from rural and town driving here in Rathdrum to heavy city driving. I'm getting 30 mpg in stop and go traffic and just shy of 60 mpg on the highway. Solidly built, economical, and beautiful! not one single thing I'd change.

Pros
interior features (media, radio, on dash navigation)
style - beautiful inside and out
driving comfort - heated seats, fully adjustable seating and steering wheel, great head room
safety -proximity warnings, responsive and adjustable steering
fuel economy
low maintenance cost

Cons
none.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ER
Eric R.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/31/2019
2014 Sonata
Overall I've been very happy with my 2014 Sonata. I have been a loyal Hyundai customer for over 30 years, and this is my third Sonata (I also owned a 1986 Excel, 2002 and 2013 Elantras). It is a comfortable, smooth riding car that gets excellent gas mileage for a car that size. I have had very few issues with the car since I've owned it (bought new), although I had to have the A/C compressor replaced at about 100K miles. My only complaint, and it is minor, is the placement of the seat heater buttons, which I keep turning on when I have things in my pocket. Hopefully this was addressed in newer models.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AS
Anjelita S.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/30/2019
Not Happy
I should have listened to previous owners that stated this car has a lot of recalls, there is always something being recalled on these vehicles. There body of the vehicles are nice but why so many recalls. I’m shopping around to trade my car in for something else besides a Hyundai.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Josefa M.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/28/2019
Too many service issues makes me believe now this is why the extended warranty is necessary. Just sell a vehicle that doesn't NEED so much service.
Outside of Sonata is beautiful and inside but fronts seats are too hard and passenger too low. Engine had too many breakdowns and repairs but personnel refused to acknowledge only to eventually fix customer's initial complaints. Why would a customer want to return a good vehicle and suffer without it for days??

Pros
Pretty vehicle

Cons
Front seats have very little butt cushion. Pillows are needed for comfort. Too many issues and personnel refused to acknowledge what I heard from the engine noises and finally corrected with a new engine.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CW
Cynthia W.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/24/2019
Hyundai
When I first purchased my Hyundai Sonata, I loved it. Now, after dealing with some issues, that feeling is slowly declining. My vehicle had been part of the recall where the engine block needed to be replaced. At the time, my vehicle had about 50,000 miles on it. That makes no sense to me. Now CV axles and the car only has a little over 58,000 miles. I don’t understand the quality with these types of things needing to be replaced/repaired so soon.

Pros
Looks good

Cons
Quality of the inner workings not so good. I won’t buy another Hyundai again.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CM
Charlotte M.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/24/2019
Hyundai Proud
I have a 2014 Sonata with 132,000+ miles. Miles per gallon is high (34-36); a rarity in todays auto market. It is a good looking car and I'm proud to drive it. I would suggest that Hyundai give more room for getting in and out of for seniors. The car is too low to the ground and needs to be raised so it won't hit the concrete stop when you park and pull off the underskirt, and so it can be driven on pot-holed roads found here in the Houston area.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CH
Claudia H.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/22/2019
Warranty is great
My car is one of my children and as such it is treated this way . We named her because she’s a female car in our books and would love to see more happy drivers like us on the road with this vehicle that we enjoy

Pros
Gas mileage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GF
George F.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/13/2019
New used car
Very surprised in the comfort ability of the Sonata I like the way it handles it is a very Comfortable Ride and was very surprised on how big the trunk was always like the new body style and the interior Was one of the major factors on me purchasing the Vehicle

Pros
The power and handling

Cons
No leather and the screen is a little small

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JF
Jorge F.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/09/2019
SONATA 2014
I have been very happy with my Sonata 2014, which in my trips to Miami made an average of 31 mph, due to my maintainance schedule! Also, my wife has a Sonata 2004 working in perfect condition. Two of our granddaugthers in Miami have also Sonatas!! So, we are a Sonata's Family!!

Pros
As I satyed everything very well. Beside my two Sonatas (mine and the one of my wife). In Miami, two of granddaugther have also Sonata!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GD
Gerry D.
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/09/2019
Almost perfect
Very happy with everything about the car except that the air conditioning takes a long time to get cool. It gets cool best when moving at a high rate of speed but not when idling. But that is my only issue.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 1811 in total