2016
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.81/5Overall Rating 4.81/5Overall Rating 4.81/5Overall Rating 4.81/5rating 4.81
4.8
(2837 Reviews)
Latest review about 14 hours ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

HT
Hugh T.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/12/2019
2016 Hyundai Sonata Limited
10 years 100,000 miles bumper to bumper warranty is the best in the industry. Spacious cabin, lots of head shoulder and leg room for 5 full size adults. More safety features than other vehicles in it's class.

Pros
10 years, 100,000 miles bumper to bumper warranty. Spacious cabin.

Cons
Low 2.4L engine output, 185hp. The 2011 - 2014 2.4L engine had 200hp.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BM
Beulah M.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
11/10/2019
Knocks
I hope the frequent knocks are not going to become a transmission issue. I purchased this vehicle with the intention of keeping it for at least eight years. I plan to take it to the dealership for a check. Don't think this will be my next vehicle of choice.

Pros
Good looking car

Cons
Engine knocks

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Sally S.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/31/2019
Hyundai Sonata
This vehicle is very reliable. I
have had it for 3 years and it runs beautifully and is a very comfortable ride. I love the navigation system. The heated seats and steering wheel is a great feauture that I have used often. Sun roof is easy to open and close.

Pros
Navigation System
Heated seats and steering wheel
Back up cameras
Side alarms fro changing lanes

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AB
Aldine B.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/30/2019
Becoming a family tradition
My mother started it,she got a Sonata about 8 years ago. It was roomier on the inside than it looked and was great on gas. Then my aunt who lives with her got one a few years later. When my husband and I started talking about buy a new car our first thought was Hyundai. While on vacation we had to rent a car and we had a chance to drive an Elantra. We were in L.A. for a week up the coast highway and all over and only filled the care up once we were sold. When we went car shopping we were looking at the Elantra but with my husband being over 6 feet tall he preferred the leg room of the Sonata, so that's what we got and we love it, no problems, no worries, no hassles and we love the warranty. You can pretty much bet your bottom dollar that our next car will be a Hyundai most likely another Sonata.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
Donald C.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/25/2019
Love our Sonata
Our 2016 Hyundai Sonata is the nicest car we have owned. We love it so much, we may buy it when our lease is over. We may upgrade to one with more safety options.
we also are considering an SUV for our winters here in the North East.

Pros
everything about it.

Cons
Would like auto stopping feature.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BP
Blair P.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/23/2019
Hyundai Sonata
We took advantage of the Hyundai warranty which is the best in the business. but in 3 years there have been no extreme issues with this car. In fact, it has been a joy to drive and has performed better than our expectations. The EPA fuel economy estimates have been exceeded in regular conditions. As far as comfort goes, we love the leg room in the back seat and the roomy trunk. The seats could be softer. But overall, we love this car!

Pros
The advantages of this vehicle far outweigh any disadvantages. It rides quietly, fairly smoothly, and the instrument panel is easy to read and easy to use. And the room in the back is outstanding. I may have not mentioned that the trunk space is terrific as well.

Cons
The middle storage area can be difficult to open, but that is very seldom.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
John C.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
10/23/2019
2016 sonatta
very nice car however there is an engine bearing premature wear problem w ith motor hyundai put sensor to detect early engine knocking puts car in limp mode,the sensor they put on was defective, unnessarally putting car in limp mode

Pros
its a nice car all around

Cons
engine problem

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
Crystal C.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
10/20/2019
Defective Paint
Defective paint that is slowly but surly peeling off. My hood looks awful. And Hyundai will not fix it. It’s pretty sad when you pay of $20,000 for a brand new car, and you get defective paint. More than likely won’t by Hyundai again.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JP
John P.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/18/2019
Great car.
I bought this car used and I love it. It is very quite, even on rough roads. It absorbs bumps nicely. It has power when you need it. If you need more power, just put it in sport mode, but I have never had any problem merging onto an expressway in regular mode. My previous car was an Acura RL and I have had no problem adapting to this car.

Pros
Quite ride

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

OA
Ogbazgy A.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/16/2019
Routine service and oil change
Hyundai North is a good and closer place to have the service done! I am pleased with the service provided! Continue providing good service as you have been doing throughout the years and to many customers.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TB
Tania B.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/15/2019
Going, going , gone
I was in love with my vehicle when I first purchased. Up until this year when I noticed that my paint was chipping off. Off course I searched to see if this was a known issue and to my surprise it is. I have taken my vehicle in numerous occasions to be serviced and the missing paint was not even a thing of discussions.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Jessica S.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/07/2019
Best Car Ever!!!
You would not believe the MPG this vehicle gets! I would and will own a Hyundai Sonata for the rest of my life. I gave the styling a 9 because of the front grill. Not too sure I like the newer front end. DIDO on the rating for exterior design.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AB
Arlen B.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/06/2019
I love my Sonata....This is my second one since 2011....I think it shows that it's the bes car for me..
I love the sonata....It's comfortable to sit in and also to drive...It's a beautiful looking car and the design in the interior is great....Everything is located just right for a senior and also easy to understand the features...The best is the gas mileage and also the price which makes it very affordable...

Pros
It's the best car for it's value...

Cons
There is none for me..

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JK
Joseph K.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/05/2019
I enjoy my Sonata,
the ride is smooth, the car handles very well and it is quiet. i like everything about the car. Its easy to take care of, easy on gas. Its great. I like the dealership, its clean, friendly and the service is great.

Pros
it is very smooth ride, the steering is smooth, its quiet, there is plenty of leg room and the seats are comfortable, it gets good gas mileage and most of all ( I like it).

Cons
I have NONE. I have bought three of them and enjoyed every one.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SN
Sandra N.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/04/2019
Love My Hyundai Sonata
--I have had my Hyundai Sonata for 3 years & 50,000 miles. It has always performed well. Other than periodic maintenance, I have had no problems with this car.
--I also love the beautiful blue color. Why are so many cars white, black & grey? There are so many other nice colors! The day I first went to look at Hyundai vehicles, there were 3 cars this color sitting right in front of the entry door. I learned later that was because all 3 had been sold & were being picked up at that time. Doesn't that tell you something?
--This car is also very comfortable--both front & back seats--with nice cup holders. And there is lots of storage room in the trunk. My grandson has no trouble putting his cello case back there, even when I have other items in the trunk.
--I have also loved hooking up my smart phone & having a wonderful navigation device on my screen, with verbal reminders of places to turn, as well as warnings such as an accident on the highway ahead, or a speed trap. And I can use a hands-free phone as needed.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GM
George M.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/28/2019
erratic acceleration
If acceleration problems could be fixed it would not be a safety hazard to drive. I get a lot of flashing lights and horn blowing when car does not accelerate from a full stop.at a light or pulling into traffic. Have to allow more than normal amount of space to pull into traffic. When you step on gas at times it doesn't move until tach hits 4000rpm.

Pros
Good gas mileage 35 on hwy 24 around town Good riding..

Cons
Does not accelerate from a full stop at all times. Known problem on Complaints .com,Cars.com and Consumers Reports. I have looked into trading for a good used car but I have not yet. This affects 2015/2016 Sonata's. I have less than 20000 miles.. Taking it in to dealer again next week 10/9/119

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FK
Frances K.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/26/2019
Sonata
5 stars. Driving my third Sonata and one Accent .I would recommend the Hyundai Sonata to any one thinking of buying a car, even a used Hyundai Sonata, or even the Hyundai Elantra, or the Hyundai Accent. I have bought three Hyundai Sonata, I bought the 2006 Sonata, then a 2012 Sonata, a 2011 Accent for my son, then a 2016 Hyundai Sonata, My son is driving the 2012 Sonata and I am driving the 2016 Sonata. I recommended a Hyundai Sonata to my friend and they bought a 2018 Hyundai Sonata...They are also very be well pleased with their 2018 Hyundai Sonata. I highly recommend the Hyundai Sonata to anyone thinking of buying a car.

Pros
Easy to drive, easy to park, great to luck at,great warranty,nice looking interrupt and exterior.My Sonatas have all handled so well,at age 78 I am an expert at making U turns,without backing up. The Sonatas are easy to backup.

Cons
None, or I would not be a repeat 3rd time buyer.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AK
Alex K.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/26/2019
It's great but
It's great I love the car and all the features so high tech and safe. But it's not an easy car to do maintenance on if you're a do it yourselfers like me you'll be frustrated to find the normally easy thing to replace and fix are not so easy to replace or fix with this vehicle
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
Daniel M.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/25/2019
MPG
It has a great MPG and lots of room in the trunk. I bought base on if the lugae I take on trips would fit in the trunk and it did. I even put the lugage in to insure they would fit.....................................
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DA
Diann A.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/23/2019
Satisfied
Im happy with my vehicle....its easy to operate, lm glad it's not a keyless car. Its my favorite color with my custom leather seats. I LOVE my pkg with oil changes & car washes. I have not had any major problems with this 2016 sonata...right size for me

Pros
Its has what i want...does well on gas

Cons
When U fold down seats to use trunk for hauling large item ...the available spce is limited due to structure blockage or configuration...my last car was not s Hyundai, it wss equal in size but the trunk configurstion allowed more spsce in trunk for large items.
.otherwise no other disappointments

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 2837 in total