2016
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(2897 Reviews)
Latest review 4 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

LJ
Letitia J.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/02/2020
Sonata
My 1st Sonata I kept for 14 years. The car warranty is extraordinary. My current one is a sonata sport. Less trunk, but more leg room. Service is excellent at Suburban Hyundai-Troy, MI. I highly recommend this product.

Pros
Love the extra leg room in the Sonata Sport.

Cons
Miss my larger trunk from my previous Sonata.
[Qualifying my response as to fun to drive, you should have a selection - not applicable]

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FD
Frank D.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/30/2020
Happy sonata owner
I’ve been happy with my sonata since the day I drove it off the lot.I like the 2020 sonata but I’m too happy with my baby to want to trade it in it hasn’t given me a single problem.l love the sound system and all other comfort features

Pros
All pros

Cons
No cons

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
Donna C.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/29/2020
The 2016 Sonata
I love the car. Comfortable, stylish, rides and handles nicely. Not a fan of the paint job. When I purchased the car the dealership pushed a solar sealant which would had added an additional $900. I was paying cash and had a set amount I was willing to spend so I declined. I am coming up on 4 years on the road with extremely low mileage and already have some fading and peeling. Also not a fan of the tires, Hankook, they were already dry rotted and had to replaced.

Pros
Overall great car

Cons
Paint and tires

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SC
Susan C.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/28/2020
So far, really excellent
The car is extraordinarily comfortable and easy to drive, with plenty of power for my driving. Because of the covid-19 shutdown, I have not driven it nearly as much as I normally would, but it has been great.

Pros
Comfortable , easy to drive, great visibility. Very easy to get in and out. Great trunk space.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DO
David O.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/28/2020
Hyundai is well-designed with top-quality workmanship
One of the best cars I have ever owned. The fit the finish, the design, the performance, the mileage is amazing for the price. The carbon fiber interior inserts are durable and classy. My girlfriend liked mine so much, she bought one too.

Pros
The design has been copied by other manufacturers

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EB
Erkan B.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/19/2020
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Although I have a total of 22,000 miles, the car's performance is very good. I did not see any problem. I stay with dealers to take the car by experts. I purchased the car in Augusta, GA and moved to Austin, TX last year.

Pros
No Comment, It is a good car to drive.

Cons
Only comment I can see, the miles per gallon is low. I have around 28, 29 mpg which is low. I wish was over 32 mpg.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SL
Sharon L.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/15/2020
I do like the Sonata which was purchased new several years ago
I have been pleased with the above mentioned car. It has excellent speed, if necessary from a stop
The ride is not as comfortable as I would have liked, but I do not travel far.
One drawback, is that the head rest on the passenger side does block the view when trying to back up even tho I have that feature. I still
like to double check.

If purchasing another hyundai I would like a more sporty car. This is still a nice one and I am glad I bought it.

The gas milage is not nearly what they had said, even tho I am conservative.

Pros
Has a CD player. I had heard that other cars were not going to have them in the next models.

Cons
Not the best gas milage
Not a real comfortable ride

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LB
Linda B.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/15/2020
Sonata review
Love the car. Ready for a new one. The car handles well and the upkeep is easy. Love bugs live a white car. Going to buy a different color. Vehicle gets good gas mileage and is easy on the wallet. Still use the different settings for checking mileage, lights, tire pressure, etc. I’m
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

US
Uma S.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/12/2020
Excellent, Reliable, Vehicle
Excellent value with the best safety features, great technology comfort. Have owned the vehicle for 4 years and still happy with it. Like the panaromic sunroof, smart cruise control. Spacious rear sitting and the front cabin.

Pros
Excellent vehicle in the category.

Cons
Low residual/resale value.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
Charles C.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/27/2020
I Heart My Sonata
I love my Sonata. It runs smooth, it gets great gas mileage, It turns corners like no other. It handles magnificently. it is a very reliable car. And the room you have in it is great. I am 6 foot 5 and that car fits me better than my wifes 14 passenger van. The performance of that car is amazing

Pros
I wish it had more power

Cons
Then i guess i would loose me gas mileage.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Justine M.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/24/2020
Awesome car
I can't put into words how great this car is: sexy, powerful, user friendly and great gas mileage to boot! The bose speakers are awesome and the bigger screen is a wonderful feature, easy read. This car is a joy to drive.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MF
Marie F.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/23/2020
Hyundai Sonata a Smooth Operator!
We purchased the Sonata in August 2019. The red exterior adds to it's style. It drives quietly. The adjustable seats make it a comfortable ride. We enjoy the sun roof! I enjoyed driving it to N.C. in 2019.

Pros
Stylist console, sun roof, comfortable seats, price was right.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FH
Frank H.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/22/2020
A car you will love
The Hyundai Sonata is stylish, sleek, and sporty. I have a 6 yr old and it gives us plenty of room. It is roomy, not only inside but also in trunk space for those groceries. It has a smooth ride and comes with a great warranty. I enjoy my apple car play, and love my back up camera. I also appreciate my sport mode when driving on the highway and acceleration is a must to pass. I get 33 mpg and couldn’t be happier with the appearance of my car.

Pros
A lot of features that cost extra elsewhere are standard in Hyundai.

Cons
Back up camera doesn’t make noise when approaching a close object.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KS
Kirk S.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/19/2020
Like my Sonata
This car was the only one we could find that had the features we wanted at a price we liked. Performance is mundane but we're not hot rodders and it gets great milage. The only car in this price class with seat and mirror memory - a big plus as I'm a foot taller than my wife.

Pros
Most features for the money. Good ergonomics. Love adaptive cruise control. Forward crash mitigation saved my ass twice.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AA
Ara A.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
04/16/2020
Very poor quality car
The way they built this car is with very poor quality. The paint is pealing on the roof of the car and the trunk is filling with water and the Dealer can’t help me to solve these issues. I am still waiting for answers from the Dealer before I take further action.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Joyce M.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/03/2020
Customer
Love my SONATO . I'm really really thinking about buying a new one. I like the hands free parking . The black SONATO looks so classy. I'm also thinking about the Santa fe. Took my niece to look at one ..and would you know she bought it!!! This is the 9th xar my family has bought from winner ford in Dover De.

Pros
Love it!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
Matthew C.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
03/31/2020
My car
My car has been very reliable up to the point its at right now. It is roughly over a 100,000 miles and it is seeming to have transmission problems but everything else is great. The sonta is def the nicest of all hyndahi cars i think.

Pros
Great gas mileage

Cons
Kinda looks plain on interior

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JJ
Jerry J.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/24/2020
Excellent vehicle for the money
I bought this car new and have not had to have anything done except warrant work. It is reasonably quite, gets on average 26 miles in town and between 38 and 44 on the interstate (apparently depending on the quality of gas). It handles well and rides smoothly.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MV
Marie V.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/20/2020
I love my 2016 sonata and plan on keeping it as long as I can. I own a 2016 limited and it has all the features anyone could ask for. It has been mechanically sound. Love it.
I love my car and would definitely recommend the Sonata to everyone. It is a good price for the features. I have owned 5 different sonatas and each purchase was a step up from my previous. I would definitely purchase or probably lease a new sonata in about 3 yrs.

Pros
Love all features

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PK
Peter K.
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/19/2020
❤️ love my car 🚘!
Bought my Sonata December 2015 and fell in love quickly. She hasn’t let me down since. I love all of the features and the handling as well. Hate to see her getting older but when it’s time you can bet a Hyundai will be the replacement!!!

Pros
Everything

Cons
Getting older

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 2897 in total