2017
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.78/5Overall Rating 4.78/5Overall Rating 4.78/5Overall Rating 4.78/5rating 4.78
4.8
(2601 Reviews)
Latest review 3 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

AW
Alan W.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/26/2019
Outstanding value
This is our 5th sonata and best yet. Each year the models get better and I keep saying its going to be tough to beat this years model but you keep doing it! Well done. We are customers for life. Probably will try an SUV next but we sure enjoy our Sonatas and we travel more than 10,000 miles a year !

Pros
All of the above

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LB
Lucia B.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/25/2019
Love my Sonata.....But
I purchased a 2017 Sonata and loved the car until the paint started to peel on the roof. It is not just a tiny nick...it is peeling like you would peel wallpaper off the wall. I'm having it painted through the service dept., but am wondering now what part of the car will start peeling off next. I am not going to be taking the car in every 6 months to have repainted. There is an issue with this paint that Hyundai must be aware of because I am not the only customer that is having this problem. I am stuck as what to do now. Do I keep this car and hope I don't have to take it in again before the warranty wears out? I understand that the paint is only covered by a 3 year 36,000 mile warranty in which case I only have one year left. Or do I trade it in for a new one? I've already paid two years into this car, I hate to have to start all over. I really think Hyundai should do something about this to help these customers out. It abolutely is a defect on their part.

Pros
Stylish car and fun to drive.

Cons
Paint is peeling off and the vehicle is only 2 years old. Not acceptable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HY
HAROLD Y.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/25/2019
EXCELLENT
THE CAR IS FUN TO DRIVE I NEVER HAD THE POWER OF THE CAR IN OTHER CARS I HAD THE WAS ALWAYS LAGGING BEHIND AND THE HANDLING IS WELL WORTH THE MONEY PASSING OTHERS CARS ON THE HIGHWAY IS VERY NICE NO PROBLEMS

Pros
NO PROBLEMS SO FAR

Cons
NO MUD GUARDS ON THE SPORT

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GP
Greg P.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/25/2019
2017 Sonata Sport
No problems at all till wiring harness let go at 49,300. Got repaired under warranty and now it even drives better. Very Happy with it and great gas mileage when in Echo mode (32-35mpg). Love the exterior look and console design, easily maninagble and easy to read.

Pros
Love it

Cons
None yet, except wire harness replacement

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WP
William P.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/24/2019
Value edition
I do like my 2017 Hyundai Sonata it was very good car for me and my family as well as being very good value. The car had no issues other than a software update and the trunk lid got stuck but was remedied very quickly at the dealership. The only complaint that I can think of would be the tires that came on the vehicle. They weren't the best even a little spongy dealing. I did return my vehicle a little bit early but before doing so I made all of the remaining payments that were due and still have yet to hear from Hyundai about any final billing I haven't seen any statements or anything in the mail or email for that matter.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RO
Richard O.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/24/2019
Dick's review
The vehicle has been extremely reliable. It has exceeded my expectations for gas mileage. I was impressed by the good looks of the car when I began shopping for my next vehicle and I continue to be very satisfied.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AL
Allen L.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/24/2019
Our car
From day one we enjoyed driving our car. We had Tucson before and that was our first Hyundai and we really loved it because it didn't give us any problems like our VW did and that's way now I'm a Hyundai owner to this dat
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PC
PHILIP C.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/24/2019
Excellent value.
Excellent value. High build quality. Very quite and good comfort. Good handling. Good fuel economy. Dealer gave big factory rebate and big discount. Will buy a 2020 sonata. The only problem is the dealer does not have enough service technician. I have to wait 3 weeks for an appointment for oil change.

Pros
good value. Dealer gave big discount

Cons
Wait 3 weeks for just oil change

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
Minerva C.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/24/2019
Excellent Vehicle
This car is fun to drive with a beautiful interior. It handles well on the road and I love the sound system.
Excellent gas mileage and it looks great inside and out. I would recommend this car to everyone.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
Dawn M.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/23/2019
Dawn's review
Nice car, drives nice, has great pickup. Drives more like a luxury car. Nice body style, nice interior. Has many options to choose from. Love the technical part of the car and how its comparable with my phone. Only problem is I feel it burns too much oil

Pros
Nice car, drives nice, is more luxury than sporty

Cons
I actually liked my 2012 sonata turbo better.
Feel the car burns oil too much for a brand new car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
Mary H.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
07/22/2019
bad engines
Love the vehicle it is very stylish and looks good but I am really concerned about a engine failure during a family trip or while traveling with grandchildren. Something should have been done with these engines by now.

Pros
Reasonably priced, long warranty, stylish

Cons
Bad engines

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LS
Lynn S.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/22/2019
2017 Sonata
I liked mine so much, my Daughter is leasing the 2020 sister car. Mileage is awesome, the ride is smooth, interior beautiful. Features are unique, Leasing is cheaper than buying. You get discounts thru the website for oil and filter changes.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

IL
IRENE L.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/20/2019
Hyundai Sonata 2017
I like 2017 Hyundai Sonata. I would like to see more improvements with steering and more comfort for an every day drive and commute. My car is also a sport so I wish it had better steering and handling.

Pros
Spacious

Cons
Needs more interior lighting, better material for seats and better design inside. It also needs a bigger screen for navigation.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
Charles C.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/20/2019
My 2017 Sonata Sport
It's a great car. I've leased three a 2012, a 2014 and now the 2017 Sport. I enjoy the ride and handling of the vehicle. The easy of entry is also great. The automobile is a pleasure to drive. In its class it's a standout.

Pros
I enjoy the overall experience with the Sonata. Hyundai continues to improve the model from styling to features.

Cons
I really haven't found any.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AC
Amanda C.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/20/2019
Spacious, comfortable β€” Great family car
I purchased my first Sonata in 2015 and it was a used 2014 Sonata. I absolutely loved it. It was the basic edition with no extras and it was perfect for my son and I. Being 5’10 and having a rather tall child, we got so accustomed to sitting on opposites sides of the car so we each had enough space. The Sonata not only eliminated that problem, but we fell in love. After a bad accident in 2017, we decided to get another Sonata, this time the new 2017 model. Our family uses this car for everything from work commute to sport tournaments in other states. It’s comfortable, roomy, great on gas β€”- everything we need!

Pros
Leg Space, trunk space, overall size of the cabin, technology, gas mileage,

Cons
Better use of the display area in the front, seat movement,

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CK
Christie K.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/19/2019
Fit and finish lacking
I have nearly 90k on my Hyundai Sonata. Mechanically I trust the car and feel good about driving it. Fit and finish however are lackluster. Paint has chipped along the bottom of the drivers door and a couple places on the hood despite being garage kept and regularly washed and waxed. Materials used for the interior are already showing significant aging as well.

Pros
Peppy, mechanically reliable, great mpg.

Cons
Fit and finish and paint job

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Judith M.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/19/2019
Love my Sonata
My 2017 Sonata is not complicated. Want heat or cooling, just turn the knob. Want music, just push the button. The drivers seat has excellent positioning. I never sit in a hole like other popular vehicles. My eyes and vision is well above the steering wheel so i see the road and other cars and drivers clearly and they can see me as well. Passengers sitting in the back seat always comment about the unexpected roominess and comfort. I love my Sonata.

Cons
Front bumper too low and constantly scrapes and hits curbs etc.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RH
Rex H.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/19/2019
My Hyundai Sonata Limited History
First Sonata Limited- 2014 Model- Very good auto: Second Sonata Limited- 2016 Model- Zuric? paint protection was applied by dealer and the protection chemically ate through the paint to expose bare metal; had to trade in model 2016 for 2017 model: Third Sonata Limited- Model 2017- Stored outside under canopy for 1+year and wheel
rotors became rusted and pitted with unsafe braking thus causing me to have to replace the wheel rotors even with very low mileage.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PR
Pamela R.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/16/2019
Sonata is a great all around vehicle
On my second Sonata, and strong chance I will have a third one in the future. Sonata is a versatile car and a strong value for the price. I wanted car with enough leg room that adults would be comfortable in the back seat, Sonata is comfortable for 2 adults in back seat, three will fit, but cozy. Trunk is large for the size of vehicle and the drop down back seat gives a generous cargo area. Vehicle handles well, has good acceleration, excellent fuel economy and a lot of standard features you will pay extra for on similar cars in other brands

Pros
Good value, stylish, economical in fuel, tires and service, back up camera, electric driver seat, comfortable for long drives,

Cons
Tend to end up crooked in pull in parking space and have to adjust. Other drivers have commented on same experience. Wish there was more body color selections,

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RG
Robert G.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/16/2019
My Sonata
Car rides well and easy to use. A/C and heating are reliable. Radio works fine and the dash is easy to operate. Highway driving is wonderful very smooth and quiet. Gas mileage is low I thought it would be much better

Pros
Ride features and colors

Cons
Gas mileage is low

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 141 - 160 of 2601 in total