2017
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.79/5Overall Rating 4.79/5Overall Rating 4.79/5Overall Rating 4.79/5rating 4.79
4.8
(2508 Reviews)
Latest review about 13 hours ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

DW
DAN W.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/19/2019
2017 Hyundai Sonata
The best car in my life is this one. My other car is 2000 Chev Prizm. My next car will be a Hyundal. You can not beat it. I would trade in my Prizm if I had the money My friend has one i love it I would buy it from him if he decides to buy another

Pros
Great overall

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WD
William D.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/19/2019
Sonata
I am soo in love with my sonata. !! I will never trade her for anything. My husband has 3 other vehicles. But I love her, sleek, smooth, Crome, twin turbos. Rides and drives beautifully, midnight blue color

Pros
Comfortable, sleek , easy driving

Cons
Not happy with white leather interior
No sunroof

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WI
Wendy I.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/19/2019
A pleasant and postive surprise
Have been a life-long Honda owner. Decided to try a Hyundai because at time of purchase, the redesigned Honda Accord was not available and because the reviews on the Hyundai Sonata were very good. Turned out to be a great decision. Love the car, which looks good and rides well. To date, only issue is a faulty sensor light but dealer has assured that there is no underlying issue.

Pros
Rides well, good gas mileage, great looking car, spacious interior, especially in the back.

Cons
Sensor light(s) malfunctions

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JP
Julius P.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/18/2019
Sonata
I love my Sonata. Car handles well. Gas mileage is great!! Car is very nice looking. Love the Sports model. Tuscaloosa Hyundai is outstanding. From customer service to service department. No problems...
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VK
Virginia K.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/17/2019
Hyundai Sonata Limited
Love my car and will probably purchase it when my lease is up. Perfect car for a short woman-good visibility, comfortable seating, and great safety features. I always feel confident and secure driving this car.

Pros
Lots of safety features, comfortable, great visibility for a short woman

Cons
Only thing I wish is that the interior not be gray -- my least favorite color choice. Would have loved a camel or white interior.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FL
Francis L.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/16/2019
Satisfied Owner
It may not be a luxury car, but it's a very comfortable vehicle. It rides well, and the driving experience is pretty nice. The same quality goes for the aesthetic; it's not luxury, but it is still a pretty car

Pros
See above

Cons
The ringtone song that plays over Bluetooth when I get a phone call is annoying. I would prefer to choose my own ringtone.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SD
STEPHEN D.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/16/2019
Great car over all
This is a great car for the price, looks good, handles well, overall runs great. Good mileage. Easy to maintain. The dealer I bought the car from was horrible but I quickly found a dealer to handle the servicing that met expectations.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
R. S.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/15/2019
remarkable value: price vs. features
The idea of value, i.e., price vs. features, is noteworthy and a deciding factor here than compared to other brands. I had originally compared this to the equivalent Ford. The features and especially the warranty made me chose this. This is our fourth Hyundai. The 2.4L motor is economical, exceeding 40+ MPG at 60MPH, 2 passengers avoiding rabbit starts an stops. Extra ower is available, if needed. We have a fifth, a 2018 Sonata Turbo, and with care, even that achieves near similar milage. A 2.0L turbo is unnecessary, but my wife wants power that is not needed. Features, interior room, seat design, trunk size are excellent. Never had any mechanical roubles with any of the 5 Hyundais (4 Sonatas, 1 Azera). The recalls, usually insignificant, show that the company is concerned with customer safety and comfort, and willing to bear the cost and publicity of recalls to improve and extend the vehicle service life and concern for the customers. We shall continue to buy further Hyundais when these become older!

Pros
see above

Cons
nothing to specify

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PM
PATRICIA M.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/14/2019
not sure what this means
really enjoy how it rides. the price was good. i really enjoy the car and its very economical. Very good appearance and have received a lot of compliments . very easy to control. would recommend it for a purchase.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RC
Robert C.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/13/2019
This vehicle is very impressive. It acts as though it has a v8 motor and wants to run as such.
Just to recap, it's a monster and I love to drive it. This will be the very last vehicle that I will ever have to purchase. For a while. Thank you to the Murdock family for being true to their customers

Pros
Sexy

Cons
Nothing

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JP
Jo P.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/13/2019
3 times
This is my 3rd Sonata. The first one was used, but was beautiful. I traded that in for a Hybrid. THEN, I got a letter saying they wanted me to trade in my hybrid. Well, I HAD to go see what they had. Turns out it was a 2017 Sonata LTD with 99% of all the bells and whistles you can get. I ended up retiring in March so I don't drive it much, but that's fine with me. I LOVE my car - trust me, I mean I LOVE my car. Ask anyone who knows me.

Pros
Handles really well even in snow and rain. Is so dang pretty I hate to get out of it. The sound system is primo and I really enjoy that. The trunk is huge, tons of storage space

Cons
Not so hot on gas - but then I had a Hybrid before so I got spoiled.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CV
Charles V.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/12/2019
I strongly recommend Hyundai Sonata - I believe 2004 was my first, then I traded at least three more times, all for sonatas
What can I say - I keep buying them, I even got my daughter in Georgia to buy one. My first was six cylinder in 2004, my next one dropped to a 4 cylinder and I was leary of that but the four cylinder really surprised me and I don't baby it but still get 30 to 34 MPG. They are great cars.

Pros
I don't have as may features in my current Sonata as I has in my Previous ones but I still say they are the best car for the money. They are starting to get pricy however,

Cons
none from me.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VS
Vickie S.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/12/2019
Love my 2017
What a wonderful car.im happy that I bought this car.the color is perfect. All of the extras. The blue link is gresr.the Google map is great. So look like I will be driving this vehicle for a while. I like the seats.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BL
BRENDA L.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/12/2019
Amazing Vehicle
Easy ride and very comfortable and roomy. Great gas mileage and looks good. I would highly recommend this vehicle for road trips and every day driving. Have had for almost 2 years and have zero complaints. Eventually, I would like to trade in for a newer model. Very happy customer.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
June C.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/11/2019
title
This is my second Hyundai. My first was an Elantra (05) and I put over 200k miles on it before I sold it. I bought the used Sonata Sport while I was looking for an SUV. I love it, so far. The milage was a little high considering the price.

Cons
I can't seem to get Sirius down and the manual is useless.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
CHRISTINE C.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/11/2019
Sonata sport
I chose this car because I tend to gravitate towards a more sporty look and am really happy with it. I just wish it drove better in winter conditions. Other than that it is a great car. It came with most bells and whistles.

Pros
Overall good car. Nice to look at. Sporty looking without the big price tag.

Cons
Doesn't drive very well in the winter.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
James C.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/10/2019
two years without any problems
smooth ride, feels safe. roomy, esp. the trunk. I am not happy with the in-city mileage, which sometimes drops to 13 mph, much different than the sticker.(My 1997 Mercury Sable got 18 mph in the city) -staff claims the advertised 25 mph in the city is done in a "perfect" computer setting, with no red lights, stop signs, etc. that makes no sense. it should say that on the sticker.

Pros
already listed.

Cons
in city mileage is horrible and has been for two years. I took photos of the odometer in June, 2019 showing 13 mph. it never gets close to the advertised 25 mph. the staff has all kinds of pre-arranged excuses. I had a used 1997 Mercury Sable that got 18 -19 miles mph in the city. I later discovered that Hyundai was fined hundreds of millions by the feds for faking mileage numbers.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LB
Lynn B.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/09/2019
Uncomfortable driver's seat
The 2017 Sonata is an attractive auto and passengers comment on a comfortable ride. As the driver I am so uncomfortable. The driver's seat slants too far down to the back and required me to purchase a wedge seat cushion. Head room is too low for me as I need to be close to reach the gas pedal and the roof slants down. My head brushes the top getting in and out. I feel that it could be dangerous in an accident. The headrests tilt way too forward pushing my head. I have turned my headrest around to solve the problem. After 20 years of driving a Hyundai, they no longer fit me.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LV
Linda V.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/09/2019
My Sonata
This is my third and dare I say, my most favorite Sonata. It is a well made and comfortable car. It is beautiful to look at both inside and out. It is fun to drive. The only thing I wish it had, with all the amenities, is a heated steering wheel.

Pros
Beautiful, well made, fun to drive

Cons
The driving noise is still an issue and having the windows open slightly while on the highway causes noises that are quite unpleasant.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DW
Dan W.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/09/2019
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Best car I have driven. My 2000 Chev Prizm comes in second. The car has everything I need. Good looking hugs the road Best performance and rides excellent. I would recommend this car to everyone to drive and see for yourself to see if you agree.

Pros
Good looking

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 2508 in total