2017
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.78/5Overall Rating 4.78/5Overall Rating 4.78/5Overall Rating 4.78/5rating 4.78
4.8
(2651 Reviews)
Latest review about 19 hours ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

BD
BARRY D.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/07/2019
Seat adjustment
Wish the seat moved back further. The seat adjustments are good but it needs to be able to move the seat back another inch or two which would provide more comfort for a person other than that is fine.

Cons
Needs a like more backward seat adjustment

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AV
Angie V.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/06/2019
Awesome
My absolute favorite car. We got this car already used and it was as if it was new. The style, look and how the car drives is so smooth. It is perfect for our 1 year old and also has sun shields on both back windows which is awesome too
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WJ
William J.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/06/2019
Great In Everyway
I love my Sonata. It is a beautiful car and has every convenience imaginable. I enjoy driving it and recommend it highly. Other than routine maintenance, I have had no major repairs done. It drives well and I cannot imagine any other car, regardless of cost, driving any better. If and when I need to replace it, I will replace it with another Hyundai.

Pros
I love everything about my Sonata.

Cons
No cons.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
James R.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/06/2019
2017 Sonata
Great vehicle except for the driver's seat. The bottom is uncomfortable.. It almost seems like I am sitting on a metal bar with a thin cushion. Offers good visibility. I need lane change warnings, but the cars with that option were way too expensive.

Pros
Good gas mileage. Roomy. Handles well.

Cons
Front seat comfort. Storage slots on doors.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CK
Christie K.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
12/04/2019
Fit and finish are really suffering.
Here we are with a 2017 sonata. I have cared for the car immaculately. And now the paint is chipping. EVERYWHERE. and of course it isn’t covered by warranty! Not even been three years but because I have more than the mileage expected the warranty doesn’t apply. Disappointed in the paint. For the price of the car it should have been able to last a lot longer.

Pros
Reliable mechanically

Cons
The paint is now flaking away and it isn’t three years old yet.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AN
ANTONINO N.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/04/2019
Great car steering could be better
Overall I love the car in the 2 1/2 years that I have owned it performance wise I give it a A+ style A plus the only thing that I have really been unhappy with dissatisfied is the steering from day one the steering has been loose and has had a lot of play in the steering wheel other than that I love the car it’s a great car plenty of room inside outside storage wise Hyundai has come along way since they started bringing cars to America
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

OS
Ollie S.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/03/2019
Great choice!!
I didn’t go to the dealership with the intention to buy a car. I had heard good reviews from a few friends and I was very impressed with their warranty on the cars. I wanted a good car and didn’t want to worry about it breaking down with costly repairs. My sonata has been great, it’s everything I was looking for in a car. And the dealership has been awesome. They didn’t toss me aside after they sold me the car. Anytime I had a need or questions they were very happy to help!!

Pros
Great ride and great on gas

Cons
No problems really but I should have gotten one with leather seats

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
Judith B.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/01/2019
Hyundai Sonata 2017 review
I like my car very much, in general. The one thing I find lacking is the navigation system. First of all, I cannot get it to respond to a voice command. Secondly, it is NOT GREAT at finding places. Places that my phone can find easily, the navigation system cannot find. This is very frustrating!!! Why should that be?
Additionally, when I try to make a call, the name I give cannot always be recognized. I am a native American English language speaker. I do not have a regional accent. All my life I have been a language teacher, so I am very well aware of speaking in a way that can easily be understood, yet, some of the names I request cannot be recognized. These are names that are in my contacts. I would very much like to see these issues resolved.

Pros
good value for the money

Cons
navigation system and call system, as noted above

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
Jeff B.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/30/2019
fantastic car
This is the 7th Hyundai me or my family have bought. Admittedly I'm probably a little biased being a service tech and manager at Hyundai for many years previously (haven't been for more than 10 years now). That being said I think it's very telling that we continue to purchase their products time and again. We have had nothing but positive experiences with every car, three of which surpassed 200k miles with really nothing more than basic maintenance. Aside from the unsurpassed value they offer, the warranty is fantastic and even after that repairs are inexpensive on average.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
JOHN R.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/30/2019
my hyundai
this is my 6th Hyundai. I have loved all my hyundais. gas mileage has improved over time. cost to own my Hyundai's has always been good. my hundai's have always been fun to drive. the looks of my hyunda's has improved over time
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JK
John K.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/29/2019
Love my Sonata
This is my second Sonata and love this as much as my other one. My wife has been driving it and she loves it too she likes the mileage with the car and how comfortable it is the ease of getting in and out of the car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
JEANNE R.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/29/2019
Hyundai sonata
Sonata is by far the best vehicle I have ever purchased. The dealership is also outstanding.
This is my third sonata so obviously i am very pleased with this car. I plan to trade for another sonata in the near future.

Pros
My third sonata so obviously I love this car.

Cons
Nine

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
Dennis S.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/27/2019
Fantastic car.
Wonderful vehicle that keeps on going. So far there have been no problems with this car. Looks good and runs all the time. I have the sport turbo and am very pleased with it. I recommend purchasing these Sonata’s.

Pros
With the three driving modes, it has plenty of power.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WJ
Wayne J.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/27/2019
RADIO SYSTEM IN THE SONATA 2017 MODEL
To drive a car which found is origin from South Korea has been surprising. I served there in the Military many years ago. I am amazed and Happy they've come such a
long way. The overall review on this vehicle is great. My bone of contention is the Radio System Reception. This on a scale of 1 to 10 from me receives a ( - 50 ) !
Other than that I enjoy my vehicle. However, I do wish I had the navigation system on there. Perhaps the Manufacturer might consider putting that in and a new radio that
works since this has been my problem since its purchase. It doesn't hurt to ask.

Pros
OVERALL IS DECENT

Cons
RADIO SYSTEM DOESN'T WORK - RECEPTION SUCKS

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WJ
WAYNE J.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/27/2019
Sonata
My Sonata over all is terrific. The radio reception is the worse I've ever encountered. My suggestion is to replace the entire audio system. I do wish I had the navigation system on my car. But it didn't come with it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
Jim D.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/26/2019
Great car.
Never had any real problems with the car. It got great gas mileage never needed repairs. It was only after I totaled it that I'm now faced with the daunting task of trying to find another decent car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JL
Jolene L.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/21/2019
I’m on my 3rd Sonata! Love them!
Love my car, on my Third one. Love the warranty it carries. Great gas mileage, lots of trunk room. Love my heated seats and hands free phone option. Smooth riding, comfy. I’ve driven to Texas back and forth several times.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DR
DENNIS R.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
11/20/2019
Very disappointed with this vehicle-2016 Sonata
Very disappointed with this vehicle. Engine reliability is very questionable due to the high oil consumption (1-2 quarts per 1000-1500 miles). Engine makes rattling noise (intermittent) during acceleration. Steering is not true and consistent while driving. Feels cheap and poorly built. Road noise is excessive on almost any road surface even after replacing all 4 tires, and having undercoating applied to undercarriage for sound deadening. Would not purchase a Hyundai product again, or recommend to a friend.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America responded on 11/21/2019
Allow us to have a further look at your vehicle concerns. A team member will be in touch with you shortly. Thank you. ^cc

BF
Bradley F.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/19/2019
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Purchased my 2017 Sonata to replace a 2016 Sonata that was totaled in a deer, car collision. Really loved the 2016 and didn't consider any other vehicle to replace it. Quality and value for the money, brought me back for anoyher Sonata. Great car that does everything I expect.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VL
Valentin L.
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/19/2019
Sonata
I love my Sonata! Good looking vehicle. I love the way it feels when I drive it. Very firm but smooth at the same time. Plus I know I will be able to depend it as well.mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Pros
reliability of the car

Cons
tires on it are pricey

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 2651 in total