2018
Hyundai
SONATA

Overall Rating 4.67/5Overall Rating 4.67/5Overall Rating 4.67/5Overall Rating 4.67/5rating 4.67
4.7
(2508 Reviews)
Latest review over 1 year ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


DC
Debra C.
2018 Hyundai SONATA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
05/29/2018
This car is so stripped down!
This is my second lease of Hyundai Sonata - the only reason I returned was the quality of my previous lease. The 2018 has been stripped of a lot of extras that made it feel like a premium car. I won't look for a Sonata when this lease is up.

Pros
The car is comfortable to drive.

Cons
Lots of little things changed/missing.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Jaqueline M.
2018 Hyundai SONATA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/02/2018
It comes with issues
Things are set up odd. Apple CarPlay will not work if you touch the cords, your phone or if there is a bump in the road. There is no CD player and the Bluetooth is not the best quaility. There is no CD player that could make up for the tease of having CarPlay and Bluetooth that don’t work. Runs great but if you are a bells and whistles type of person the car sucks. The car makes me really miss my 2008 Ford.

Pros
Nice exterior good motor

Cons
The inside is not what you would expect for an “up to date” car. Almost like they rushed to make it

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RR
Raja R.
2018 Hyundai SONATA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
10/23/2018
Not stable
If I am driving in highway @ 70 miles vehicle is wobbling.. I think my selection is wrong
. After I purchased this vehicle from this vendor I came.to know other vendors are offering free cargo net and chrome handle and price is less ( at least $500) comparing to heritage

Pros
Excellent styling and interior ...good milage

Cons
Wobbling even if you drive 70 miles speed.
. Need to change a lot

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WF
Walter F.
2018 Hyundai SONATA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
11/15/2018
2018 Hyundai Sonata Limited
Too many problems, I have driven vehicle about 3400 miles since new, brake disc were rusted, would not cover under warrantee, finally after several calls, got approved, Hyundai district service manager Christopher very rude, hung up on me! Called him back, left message that the brakes were a safety issue, and if I got into an accident, I would sue Hyundai! Would not buy another Hyundai, this is a Blue lemon! Have had several Hyundai's, and so has my family and friends, they also have had problems! Would sell vehicle back in a heartbeat!

Pros
Decent gas mileage!

Cons
Cheap interior, seats uncomfortable, no CD (can't even order one)! Lot of road and wind noise!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
Reza M.
2018 Hyundai SONATA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
11/24/2018
My Hyundai Sonata
After 7 months I found my sonata is dead, not getting started, towed to service center and its been 6 days, no results!!they have been trying to change some parts but it didnt work.Problem remani same with a brand new car!!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JEFFREY M.
2018 Hyundai SONATA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
12/10/2018
2018 sonata
please see previous responses related to "no start" via push button. although the vehicle eventually starts, a 5-10 minute wait while repeatedly attempting to start a brand new vehicle is extremely disappointing and unacceptable. please take action to remedy this defect asap. thank you.

Cons
please see previous responses related to "no start" via push button. although the vehicle eventually starts, a 5-10 minute wait while repeatedly attempting to start a brand new vehicle is extremely disappointing and unacceptable. please take action to remedy this defect asap. thank you.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
Janice R.
2018 Hyundai SONATA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/22/2019
Horrible
Brand New Sonata, less than 5 months old and it's been in for repair 3 times and replacement of major engine component requiring a loaner for a week!!! I would never recommend nor will I ever buy another Hyundai!

Pros
NONE

Cons
EVERYTHING

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RT
Raul T.
2018 Hyundai SONATA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/27/2019
Scared
This car was running perfectly for over a year and we loved it, we brought it in for an oil change and received back a car that may need a motor replacement. We are really concerned about the reliability of the vehicle after such a major repair, not knowing what happened to the car when we were just getting the oil changed and here we are, five days later and still don't know what is going on.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BB
Brooke B.
2018 Hyundai SONATA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/31/2019
Paperweight
Within the two and a half months I have had the vehicle and it's been back in the service department four times. Still cannot be made to run properly issue has not been repaired. Car has 59 miles on it when purchased.
Headliner is alread pulling away.
Lemon

Pros
Beautiful car with tons of features. Roomy and comfortable

Cons
Does not run
Built poorly
Unreliable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WF
Walter F.
2018 Hyundai SONATA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
02/11/2019
2018 Hyundai Sonata Limited
Worse Hyundai I have ever owned! Uncomfortable seats! Engine lacks power, grinding noise at low speed and accelerating! No CD player!Never buy another one! Not worth the money! Would love to have my money back!

Cons
Everything

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
John C.
2018 Hyundai SONATA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
02/12/2019
Buyer's Remorse
Bought the 2018 Hyundai Sonata SE brand new with 9 miles on it. Owned for a little over two months, 3564 miles on it. At the first oil change, they said they were doing an update on the computer software. Less than 5 miles down the road, the car went into "Limp Mode", miss firing and the check engine light flashing. Now I have a loaner and my brand new vehicle is sitting at the dealership with who knows what issue and undrivable. All the service department told me is that they have to order a new wiring harness, this one has too much interference / static. Nothing like paying on a brand new vehicle that you cant even drive. First time Hyundai buyer, definitely not off to a good start.

Pros
We liked everything about the Sonata...…..until the computer software upgrade debacle

Cons
lighting while backing up needs to be brighter.
a car a little over 2 months old with 3564 miles, now in the shop, undrivable with an unknown problem....uncalled for and unacceptable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
Michael W.
2018 Hyundai SONATA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
02/14/2019
10000 miles and in the shop 2 to 3 weeks
The vehicle was scheduled for an upgrade and now it has been in the shop 2 week. I was told the service department would get back with me and even left a message with the manager. And over a week later still have heard nothing from anyone
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CK
Christopher K.
2018 Hyundai SONATA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
02/15/2019
Buyer be VERY aware..
2018 Sonata...9 months/ 12,000 miles needed new starter...Service center needed two weeks to get the part because apparently this is a company wide issue...have owned 6 Hyundais...this is probably the last...

Pros
Affordable....

Cons
Listed in review...

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
James S.
2018 Hyundai SONATA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/13/2019
Title
********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Pros
Brakes work good.

Cons
Uncomfortable seating, rough interior cloth used on ceiling and seats, hard to handle, plenty of road noise, noisy engine, lots of wind noise, poor stereo, stitching on leather steering wheel is rough, low head height, poor directional control, terrible ride stabilization, suspension overreacts to road surface, completely worthless cruise control.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GG
Gerrard G.
2018 Hyundai SONATA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/14/2019
2018 Sonata
Engine failed after 20000 miles. Not satisfied with this Sonata. Traded in a o2015 Sonata with no issues. Car still in shop for 30 days and counting. Should have been provided option to get a new vehicle

Cons
Engine failed after 20000 miles

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WS
Ward S.
2018 Hyundai SONATA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/16/2019
Replacing Engine before 10,000 Miles
I currently own two 2013 Sonatas, driven by my sons, and they have been great vehicles. My 2018 Sonata SLE, however, is a completely different story. The feature set is great, although the layout of the center console makes it difficult to select comfort controls while driving. (It is just a line of buttons that require you to take your eyes off the road.)

The main issue is that the engine must now be replaced with less than 10,000 miles on the car. And, I had purchased the car new from the dealer with 5,000 miles. With such few miles driven, I would have expected a replacement of the car with another dealer demo - or at least to have the engine replaced with a new engine. Instead, the manufacturer is forcing me to accept a remanufactured engine under the warranty! After working with Hyundai's corporate lemon department, they denied my claim but offered me $2,000 in compensation. Do you think that is fair? Accepting the payment would require my waiving any future warranty or rights to future lemon law claims!

This is how they treat a four time Hyundai customer!

Pros
More features for the price than any other car I have seen. It's why I currently own three Sonatas.

Cons
Reliability. Manufacturer.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
Jacline B.
2018 Hyundai SONATA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/19/2019
Sonata
Vibration in steering not fixable
New car ?
Engine still questionable
Since 2015 there was recall I think possible nothing new in the 2018 looks like they used the same engine IS IT NOT
“Same engineCOULD BE A Problem.........?”

Pros
Good looking car

Cons
You can feel a noise in the steering wheel and another recal for the ENGINE THAT WAS QUESTIONABLE IM 2015

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KN
Karina N.
2018 Hyundai SONATA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/29/2019
Recall 953
Not safe car now that this recall came out . Not good that you pay for a car that should be safe and I almost got in a accident . Gas mileage is great but now have my doubt about my choice when I bought car .

Pros
Gas Milage

Cons
Recall 953

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KR
Kenneth R.
2018 Hyundai SONATA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/30/2019
Not Happy
[LOGO] Hyundai Blue Link
A possible condition with your Engine Control System has been detected with your 2018 SONATA (5NPE34AF1JH719981) on 03/30/2019 at 01:25 pm EST. A full system check is recommended to be done when convenient. Use the MyHyundai app or visit www.myhyundai.com to schedule an appointment with your preferred dealer.

Pros
I’m very upset.

Cons
[LOGO] Hyundai Blue Link
A possible condition with your Engine Control System has been detected with your 2018 SONATA (5NPE34AF1JH719981) on 03/30/2019 at 01:25 pm EST. A full system check is recommended to be done when convenient. Use the MyHyundai app or visit www.myhyundai.com to schedule an appointment with your preferred dealer.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GM
Gale M.
2018 Hyundai SONATA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
04/02/2019
Sonata limited
The care lacks a CD player and none of the other fancy options make up for that. I dislike the car intensely as cd was necessary for longer trips. My next car will not be a new Hyndai but a good newer used car with a CD PLAYER. What a dumb ass decision to remove them from your cars. I intensely dislike this car. My smart phone and sirus radio DOL NO make up for no CD

Pros
Nothing

Cons
See my comments

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 2508 in total