2019
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5rating 4.7
4.7
(643 Reviews)
Latest review 9 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


SS
s s.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/16/2019
We are still waiting for the week. We feel guilty as if we had left the plane at Hyundai Service Center instead of the car.
We are still waiting for the week.
We feel guilty as if we had left the plane at Hyundai Service Center instead of the car.
Experience in repairing Hyundai Motor and service center repair after it was submitted to customer feedback survey

Pros
driving is good

Cons
We talk about experiences and problems about repair process and attitude of Hyundai Motor Service Center.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KF
Kristina F.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/10/2019
Worst experience ever
Only had the car for less then a month. With in a week of having the vehicle, it started shaking, the buttons dont work side the car. Less then 80 miles. Dealership isn't able find the cause. Drove the car 1 week, in the shop for 2 weeks, and problem still persists. Now have the car for another week. Filed a claim with the corporate office, I was told someone will call me to assist with the claim, 10 days from filing the claim haven't heard back. The claim is escalated and have to wait another 3 to 5 days. Tomorrow will be 1 month having the car and I can say I am completely baffled by the whole situation and lack of interest to resolve the issue by Hyundai USA. Never will I purchase a vehicle from Hyundai again.

Pros
Roomy and comfortable

Cons
Car has major mechanical issues from day one.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KM
K M.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/22/2019
2019 Sonata water pump and belts replaced less than 45 days after purchase
The dealership refuses to acknowledge that there is an issue with my vehicle. Replaced belt showing visible signs of wear and tear less than 4 weeks after being replaced. The engine overheated. I was on the side of a busy highway for hours in 95 degree temps waiting for a tow for a BRAND NEW vehicle with less than 6000 miles. Vehicle purchased new - demo vehicle with 5020 miles.

Pros
Engine overheated on NEW VEHICLE

Cons
I drive in fear hoping my NEW vehicle is safe to drive. Engine overheated. Dealership refuses to acknowledge there is an issue with my vehicle.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ST
Stacy T.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
10/04/2019
Regret buying this car.
The car smokes when you start it even in hot weather and not one mechanic can find anything wrong. My 2019 is the only one is saw doing this. HELLO??????
There is a reason this is happening??????????? Car Play messes up alot. Screen goes blank
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DL
DAVID L.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
11/28/2019
Extremely low average 20 MPG
Car drives fine and looks nice, roomy and ride is smooth. Problem is I’m already at 800 miles and still only reaching average 20-21 MPG everyday basic driving taking/picking up kids from local school. Around 60 miles per day with 70% city / 30% Highway. I was expecting ale at closer to 27-28 MPG as described on the sticker and all marketing communications! 20 MPG is the same as all the 7-seater SUVs I’ve owned (Chevy Traverse, Honda Pilot and Acura MDX). This is unacceptable. Took to to dealership after 2 weeks of purchasing and they said nothing with car with very bad attitude. Extremely disappointing 1st time owning Hyundai.

Pros
Drives nice, good acceleration and transmission is smooth
Suspension is tighter, I like it

Cons
Low 20 average MPG!!
Escondido dealership service team is pretty bad

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
shinseog s.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
03/24/2019
I am still waiting (2). Please save the Hyundai Sonata Hybrid, which died in 3.5 years.
I am still waiting (2). Please save the Hyundai Sonata Hybrid, which died in 3.5 years.

As a large company, I would like to show you the pride of Hyundai Motor Company and the favorable warranty benefits for our customers.

Pros
I am still waiting (2). Please save the Hyundai Sonata Hybrid, which died in 3.5 years.

As a large company, I would like to show you the pride of Hyundai Motor Company and the favorable warranty benefits for our customers.

Cons
I am still waiting (2). Please save the Hyundai Sonata Hybrid, which died in 3.5 years.

As a large company, I would like to show you the pride of Hyundai Motor Company and the favorable warranty benefits for our customers.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JF
Juanita F.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
05/12/2019
Quality Control Issues
This is my 4th Sonata and the first one I wasn't completely happy about driving. My new car occasionally creaked in the rear of the vehicle while driving. Also, there is an occasional rattling noise in the overhead center of the car. The service department at the dealership was able to resolve the creaking but the rattling noise is an open issue for now. Although this car has the best features of all my Sonatas, it doesn't bring me the most satisfaction.

Pros
Comfort, safety features, interior design,

Cons
Manufacturing defects, production quality

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HR
HECTOR R.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
06/21/2019
Cruise control reminiscent of 80's American car.
Worst part about this car is the cruise control. It actively hunts to maintain speed. It will decelerate if it goes over the set speed, then abruptly accelerates and overshoots the intended speed and the cycle restarts over and over again. As someone that travels a lot this is a deal breaker. I've driven and owned many cars, and as dealership technician for 15 years I've never experienced a cruise control that is this bad.

Other than that it's a well built, bland, boring car.

Pros
Good mpg

Cons
Cruise control sucks
Bumper gaps and body panel gaps.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JL
JAMES L.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
06/24/2019
2019 Sonata Sport
Lots of road noise and outside noise in my car. Sunroof leaks when driving through a car wash. Occasional starting issues. Starter seems to stick for a few extra seconds at times. Very rough idle all the time once the car warms up. Car will idle down low enough that it vibrates.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AT
ANTHONY T.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
08/07/2019
The beckrel
My car was delivered with oxidation of the paint asked at delivery to have resolved car was washed asked agai still not resolved also not happy with the amount of road noise while driving the car dose t matter what type of road highway surface street etc

Pros
Good price

Cons
Not a canary

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WB
William B.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
09/17/2019
Beautiful 4 door sedan with several drawbacks
Sub standard front headlamp lighting on low beams, bordering on safety issue. MPG lower than advertised on vehicle invoice. Rear defroster has begun to malfunction at 701 miles. I have an apt for this coming thursday at Dublin Hyunda Service Center to trouble shoot issue.

Pros
Beautiful cosmetic styling. Extremely agile on roads and very comfortable to drive.

Cons
Dim unsafe front headlamps, lower MPG than posted on invoice, questionable rear defroster.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BC
BRET C.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
11/02/2019
Brakes still don’t work properly
Brakes squeak extremely loud, wear ear protection, I would never think a brand new car would be so embarrassing to drive. This cars brakes squeak so loud I crank the radio volume up to try and drown out the noise.

Pros
Lots of features

Cons
Loudest squeaking brakes I’ve ever heard

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VG
Venkata G.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
11/15/2019
Worst Hyundai Sonata ever
I had 2 Hyundai Sonata before. This is my 3rd sonata along with Hyundai palisade. I am really very disappointed with the new sonata . From day 2 I had 2 issues . One sound from the dashboard and the rumbling sound from the engine when we drive around 40 miles/ hr.

Cons
Engine rumbling and interior sound

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America responded on 11/15/2019
Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. A specialist from our Headquarters will be in touch with you to investigate further. ^cc

KD
Kelly D.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
11/18/2019
Pushy salesman
The car shakes and switches gears too early. I just want to trade it in when it makes sense financially. Until then I’ll just have to deal with it and drive a car that I don’t like. I guess it’s my fault for letting the salesman push me.

Pros
Warranty

Cons
I don’t like the car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America responded on 11/19/2019
Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. A specialist from our Headquarters will be in touch with you to investigate further. ^cc

MR
Mary R.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
03/17/2019
I like the Sonata that's why I wanted to discuss it to make sure I was taking care of it.
Sonata is good car. Only had it three months so want to experience more time with the car before I have more to say. Should be good at 3 months
but it is important how it will be in a year or two. I had a Genesis so there is a difference. I thought the Genesis had to many gadgets for me. I want
less bells and more quality.

Pros
Comfortable to drive

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Michael M.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/20/2019
2019 Hyundai Sonata Limited 2.4 Sedan
The Hyundai Sonata Limited is a quality, well built and well appointed average sedan car. The front facia is to busy and could be better designed with higher quality materials. The window glass has some weird flaws in it. The carpeting feels thin and cheap, I don't think it will hold up in the long run. Paint and body seem to be of high quality fit, finish and materials (except for the front facia as mentioned). Gas mileage in town is really disappointing at 18 mpg., however I have achieved 33-35 mpg in straight highway driving at 70-75 mph. The driving experience is ok and pleasant, but disappointing in power delivery due to engine tuning and transmission programming. I would choose the Sonata over a Toyota Camry, but would give the Mazda 6, Honda Accord and VW Passat a closer look. I am not impressed with the two Hyundai dealerships I have dealt with.

Pros
As mentioned above

Cons
City fuel economy.
Driving experience - engine/transmission performance.
Weird window glass flaws.
cheap carpet and mats.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BF
BRENDA F.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/21/2019
2 months in
This car has a really nice smooth ride. It handles well. Great truck space and leg room. It does start on its own or I don’t know if it’s or shutting off. I found it running after I have been at home and I have no idea how long it was running. The second time, I had problems getting in the car and shutting it down. It would work through the remote

Pros
Rides well, smooth, looks good

Cons
Doesn’t shut off. The glove compartment key become disengage easily.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LG
Louis G.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/24/2019
2019 sonata
Nice car but not as good as the previous sonata I had. Were more and better standard features in the old one looks like some things were eliminated so they could save a few dollars on manufacturers cost

Pros
Good value

Cons
They took away some standard features that were in the 2016. Audio system not as good

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CN
CHRISTA N.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/28/2019
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Previously drove a 2016 Hyundai Sonata and that was a better model in comparison to the 2019. What are Blindspot detection would help with driving but it seems to make it much more difficult. Also with CarPlay it tends to freeze your phone or crash while you’re trying to use it especially when using GPS on it. Gas mileage could be better how to better experience filling up on my 2016 model but overall it still does the job. Gets you where you need to go. Interior does seem much smaller but if you’re not putting too much in your car then you won’t really notice.

Pros
Gets you from A to B

Cons
CarPlay freezes and crashes , gas seems to disappear right after filling up and blind spot detection isn’t reliable.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DD
Donald D.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/01/2019
Stupid nickle & dime tactic to save mfg cost - and possibly lose an old customer
Low on refrigerant. Has to be a factory defect or a ploy to save mfg cost by not filling refrigerant to normal levels. Not the first time I have Factory defect would mean all refrigerant was lost,,,,

Cons
Fuel gauge hard to read. In a "busy" location with speedometer.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 643 in total