2019
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.72/5Overall Rating 4.72/5Overall Rating 4.72/5Overall Rating 4.72/5rating 4.72
4.7
(104 Reviews)
Latest review about 1 hour ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

PL
PAUL L.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/20/2019
Sedan Value
We leased the 2019 base Sonata a few months ago for a very reasonable cost.
It is roomy, drives good, good gas mileage and looks great. We went on a long trip recently and it performed well during highway cruising.

Pros
Great overall sedan, I am a tall man and have plenty of legroom.

Cons
A little more road noise than I would prefer and I would prefer a better brand tire.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Mike M.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/20/2019
2019 Hyundai Sonata Limited 2.4 Sedan
The Hyundai Sonata Limited is a quality, well built and well appointed average sedan car. The front facia is to busy and could be better designed with higher quality materials. The window glass has some weird flaws in it. The carpeting feels thin and cheap, I don't think it will hold up in the long run. Paint and body seem to be of high quality fit, finish and materials (except for the front facia as mentioned). Gas mileage in town is really disappointing at 18 mpg., however I have achieved 33-35 mpg in straight highway driving at 70-75 mph. The driving experience is ok and pleasant, but disappointing in power delivery due to engine tuning and transmission programming. I would choose the Sonata over a Toyota Camry, but would give the Mazda 6, Honda Accord and VW Passat a closer look. I am not impressed with the two Hyundai dealerships I have dealt with.

Pros
As mentioned above

Cons
City fuel economy.
Driving experience - engine/transmission performance.
Weird window glass flaws.
cheap carpet and mats.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KF
KATHLEEN F.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/20/2019
Sonata
Love my Sonata !!!!! Recommend highly. I tell everyone how awesome this car is
My brother .has a 2018 and also raves about. it
His only negative is driving on snow
I have not had to drive in snow yet. So i will not comment until I know. The experience has been awesome

Pros
Everything's great

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GK
GREGORY K.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/20/2019
GREAT CHOICE
Very nice vehicle to own/drive. Easy controls, very responsive engine, great maneuverability, exceptional breaking. The Sonata Turbo is by far smarter that most drivers on the road today. It help keeps you in lane, maintains proper distances in cruise mode, warns you about stopped traffic, corrects steering, alerts you to all sorts of problems. Very intuitive car. Highly recommended.

Cons
Fuel economy is not best in class but considering the turbo it's probably satisfactory.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GP
GEORGE P.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/20/2019
Sonata Sport with Tech Package
Most impressed with safety features for first time drivers (twins) especially the auto brake feature and side mirror car detection. Best safety features than any other car of this class for the price. Also, having the app to monitor the location of the car and send speed alerts was a big plus as well. The twins loved the sporty styling compared to other cars in this class.

Pros
Best sensor detection safety systems for a car in this class for the money. Was for twins turning 16 and wanted the auto brake feature and lane warning detection with the ability to monitor with the app on the phone.

Cons
Didn't notice until home that there was no built in buttons for remote garage opener and that the passenger side seat had manual adjustments unlike the driver seat.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GF
GERARD F.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/20/2019
Nostalgic auto purchase
The purchase of a new car is an emotional experience. This one was no exception. I was familiar with the sonata as my wife has a 2016.
However, when I saw the changes on the 2019 and the new features, and the electric blue color that was similar to my first new car, a 1969 Impala, well, there was no doubt that I would buy it.

Pros
Everything.

Cons
I have to stop, park the car and go to sleep. I can't wait to get back in and drive!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BH
BARBARA H.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/20/2019
Excellent Vehicle !
Excellent quality and affordable car. The appearance is lovely. Overall the car is a gem. We highly recommend Hyundai to anyone looking for a new or, used car. After the other brands and vehicles we considered; we're extremely satisfied with the choice of a 2019 Hyundai Sonata. We also have had an excellent experience with our local dealer. Everyone is a professional and a source of information and support. We will definitely go back to Hyundai.

Pros
The car looks like a much more expensive vehicle.

Cons
Could use more soundproofing. Lumbar support could be improved. A lockable console storage box would be nice.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TH
Terence H.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/18/2019
Great Car
I like all the features that came standard with the car. Performance is excellent. Can't say enough good things about this car.
It is very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, wery, very, very, nice.

Pros
Everything is great.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RZ
Ronna Z.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/18/2019
Excellent safety features and ride
I bought safety features for the first time. I now trust and rely on the new safety features I have. The car has a solid ride and beautiful and comfortable interior. It also has a very stylish exterior.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CD
Charles D.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/17/2019
Outstanding comfort, with a smooth ride.
The Hyundai sonata is a great car to ride in with nice comfort and a smooth ride. My wife loves it, which is a great and I enjoy it as well. I would recommend the Hyundai sonata SLE to all who ask for my opinion.

Pros
Try it for yourself.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BH
Barbara H.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/15/2019
Love it!
Took my first road trip & averaged 46.7mpg in comfort & style! Thank you Natalie, Brenn, Chase for your help in selecting & buying this awesome car! LOVE, LOVE LOVE IT!!!!!
I will DEFINITELY buy my next car from y'all & recommend you!!!

Cons
NONE!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KF
Kristina F.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/10/2019
Worst experience ever
Only had the car for less then a month. With in a week of having the vehicle, it started shaking, the buttons dont work side the car. Less then 80 miles. Dealership isn't able find the cause. Drove the car 1 week, in the shop for 2 weeks, and problem still persists. Now have the car for another week. Filed a claim with the corporate office, I was told someone will call me to assist with the claim, 10 days from filing the claim haven't heard back. The claim is escalated and have to wait another 3 to 5 days. Tomorrow will be 1 month having the car and I can say I am completely baffled by the whole situation and lack of interest to resolve the issue by Hyundai USA. Never will I purchase a vehicle from Hyundai again.

Pros
Roomy and comfortable

Cons
Car has major mechanical issues from day one.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
Larry M.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/10/2019
hyundai great car
4th Hyundai need I say more!!!! bought first in 2006. Third Sonata ,second car elantra lease too small for my needs, third sonata also lease. Decided to purchase new Sonata as it may be last car we own.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WS
Walter S.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/06/2019
Great Car
This is my second sonata and I have had no problems with either one. Great driving car and good mileage. A good value for this car. Had no problem purchasing It and and no high pressure from the Hyundai dealer that I bought it from.

Pros
Just a good car that runs great

Cons
Miss my heated seats and remote start.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RK
Robert K.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/04/2019
Sonata SE
This car is a very smooth ride. The steering is tight and makes cornering fun. It has a decent amount of pickup when needed but still gets good gas mileage. The controls are very well laid out and intuitive.

Pros
Good value, mpg, and controls.

Cons
Externals are a bit over styled.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AK
Andrew K.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/04/2019
2019 SONATA
My 2019 SONATA Is great solid quiet and all the comforts needed for long drives. My only suggestion is that Hyundai do something about the rain dripping in the windows. Just like my 2018 you can’t even crack the window a hair without rain coming in. Besides that the perfect vehicle.

Pros
Everything

Cons
Dripping windows

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AS
Austin S.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/31/2019
A car for a cruise
Bought the 2019 Sport Edition in the beautiful dark red. The interior is still comfortable and I drive roughly 10 hours a week if not more. I get anywhere between 35-38 mpg depending on the hours of the day I'm driving. The lights work beautifully when driving at night/early morning (don't really need brights). Excellent power to get up and go whether to pass someone or just cause. The handling feels absolutely incredible. Doesn't really feel like driving a car at times. All the controls work very well with no issues. Android connect works fantastic. I only have four things I dislike and all four are just minor things. I wish the lumbar for the back could be risen or lowered. The heated steering wheel would have different levels of heat like the seat cause sometimes I can't feel the heat from the steering wheel. Thirdly, I wish the seat came with cooling as well. I love the heated seat in the winter time but man I live in Florida having a cooling seat during the summer time would be epic! Lastly the air conditioning is rather lacking in blowing out cold air. My 08 trailblazer which was on its last legs blew out colder air and maintained or better than the 19 sonata. Maybe that's something I can I have looked into but all in all an amazing car for whatever purpose. 9.7/10

Pros
Size of tire
Handling
Get up and go
mpg

Cons
Air conditioning
Lumbar support
Heated steering wheel

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CM
Charles M.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/28/2019
Greatest, Smoothest Classiest. By Charles Wham Metcalf
This is one of the smoothest cleanest rides ever. I’m over satisfied. That’s why this is my 4th car from Hyundia. Also I referred five people to this dealership and they are very satisfied. Charles Wham Metcalf

Pros
The color is very good

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DH
Derrick H.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/27/2019
Black Beauty
This is a attractive vehicle, with great support. It rides and handles well. Great gas saver! I would definitely recommend this dealership to my friends and family. I hope to upgrade my vehicle once this one is paid off. Maybe give it to my kids.

Pros
Great gas saver!

Cons
I can say nothing bad

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TB
TERRY B.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/25/2019
Hyundai Exceeds Expectations
I considered myself setting when I first purchased my Hyundai. I had to do something to get in to a better situation with the automobile I was currently driving.
A 2017 KIA Forte EX fully equipped, leather, etc.. I drive 80+ miles daily for work and couldn't qualify for the hybrid. I settles on the very minimum available, a bigger ride to meet my husbands handycap need and our finances.
With that said, my husband has been thoroughly impressed in my choice selection of the Hyundai Sonata and its quality and comfort of the ride. We've been most happy without the bells and whistles of the Forte. We love our Sonata.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 104 in total