2019
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5rating 4.7
4.7
(280 Reviews)
Latest review 4 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


SS
s s.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/16/2019
We are still waiting for the week. We feel guilty as if we had left the plane at Hyundai Service Center instead of the car.
We are still waiting for the week.
We feel guilty as if we had left the plane at Hyundai Service Center instead of the car.
Experience in repairing Hyundai Motor and service center repair after it was submitted to customer feedback survey

Pros
driving is good

Cons
We talk about experiences and problems about repair process and attitude of Hyundai Motor Service Center.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KF
Kristina F.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/10/2019
Worst experience ever
Only had the car for less then a month. With in a week of having the vehicle, it started shaking, the buttons dont work side the car. Less then 80 miles. Dealership isn't able find the cause. Drove the car 1 week, in the shop for 2 weeks, and problem still persists. Now have the car for another week. Filed a claim with the corporate office, I was told someone will call me to assist with the claim, 10 days from filing the claim haven't heard back. The claim is escalated and have to wait another 3 to 5 days. Tomorrow will be 1 month having the car and I can say I am completely baffled by the whole situation and lack of interest to resolve the issue by Hyundai USA. Never will I purchase a vehicle from Hyundai again.

Pros
Roomy and comfortable

Cons
Car has major mechanical issues from day one.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
shinseog s.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
03/24/2019
I am still waiting (2). Please save the Hyundai Sonata Hybrid, which died in 3.5 years.
I am still waiting (2). Please save the Hyundai Sonata Hybrid, which died in 3.5 years.

As a large company, I would like to show you the pride of Hyundai Motor Company and the favorable warranty benefits for our customers.

Pros
I am still waiting (2). Please save the Hyundai Sonata Hybrid, which died in 3.5 years.

As a large company, I would like to show you the pride of Hyundai Motor Company and the favorable warranty benefits for our customers.

Cons
I am still waiting (2). Please save the Hyundai Sonata Hybrid, which died in 3.5 years.

As a large company, I would like to show you the pride of Hyundai Motor Company and the favorable warranty benefits for our customers.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JF
Juanita F.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
05/12/2019
Quality Control Issues
This is my 4th Sonata and the first one I wasn't completely happy about driving. My new car occasionally creaked in the rear of the vehicle while driving. Also, there is an occasional rattling noise in the overhead center of the car. The service department at the dealership was able to resolve the creaking but the rattling noise is an open issue for now. Although this car has the best features of all my Sonatas, it doesn't bring me the most satisfaction.

Pros
Comfort, safety features, interior design,

Cons
Manufacturing defects, production quality

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HR
HECTOR R.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
06/21/2019
Cruise control reminiscent of 80's American car.
Worst part about this car is the cruise control. It actively hunts to maintain speed. It will decelerate if it goes over the set speed, then abruptly accelerates and overshoots the intended speed and the cycle restarts over and over again. As someone that travels a lot this is a deal breaker. I've driven and owned many cars, and as dealership technician for 15 years I've never experienced a cruise control that is this bad.

Other than that it's a well built, bland, boring car.

Pros
Good mpg

Cons
Cruise control sucks
Bumper gaps and body panel gaps.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JL
JAMES L.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
06/24/2019
2019 Sonata Sport
Lots of road noise and outside noise in my car. Sunroof leaks when driving through a car wash. Occasional starting issues. Starter seems to stick for a few extra seconds at times. Very rough idle all the time once the car warms up. Car will idle down low enough that it vibrates.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MR
Mary R.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
03/17/2019
I like the Sonata that's why I wanted to discuss it to make sure I was taking care of it.
Sonata is good car. Only had it three months so want to experience more time with the car before I have more to say. Should be good at 3 months
but it is important how it will be in a year or two. I had a Genesis so there is a difference. I thought the Genesis had to many gadgets for me. I want
less bells and more quality.

Pros
Comfortable to drive

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Mike M.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/20/2019
2019 Hyundai Sonata Limited 2.4 Sedan
The Hyundai Sonata Limited is a quality, well built and well appointed average sedan car. The front facia is to busy and could be better designed with higher quality materials. The window glass has some weird flaws in it. The carpeting feels thin and cheap, I don't think it will hold up in the long run. Paint and body seem to be of high quality fit, finish and materials (except for the front facia as mentioned). Gas mileage in town is really disappointing at 18 mpg., however I have achieved 33-35 mpg in straight highway driving at 70-75 mph. The driving experience is ok and pleasant, but disappointing in power delivery due to engine tuning and transmission programming. I would choose the Sonata over a Toyota Camry, but would give the Mazda 6, Honda Accord and VW Passat a closer look. I am not impressed with the two Hyundai dealerships I have dealt with.

Pros
As mentioned above

Cons
City fuel economy.
Driving experience - engine/transmission performance.
Weird window glass flaws.
cheap carpet and mats.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BF
BRENDA F.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/21/2019
2 months in
This car has a really nice smooth ride. It handles well. Great truck space and leg room. It does start on its own or I don’t know if it’s or shutting off. I found it running after I have been at home and I have no idea how long it was running. The second time, I had problems getting in the car and shutting it down. It would work through the remote

Pros
Rides well, smooth, looks good

Cons
Doesn’t shut off. The glove compartment key become disengage easily.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LG
Louis G.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/24/2019
2019 sonata
Nice car but not as good as the previous sonata I had. Were more and better standard features in the old one looks like some things were eliminated so they could save a few dollars on manufacturers cost

Pros
Good value

Cons
They took away some standard features that were in the 2016. Audio system not as good

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CN
CHRISTA N.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/28/2019
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Previously drove a 2016 Hyundai Sonata and that was a better model in comparison to the 2019. What are Blindspot detection would help with driving but it seems to make it much more difficult. Also with CarPlay it tends to freeze your phone or crash while you’re trying to use it especially when using GPS on it. Gas mileage could be better how to better experience filling up on my 2016 model but overall it still does the job. Gets you where you need to go. Interior does seem much smaller but if you’re not putting too much in your car then you won’t really notice.

Pros
Gets you from A to B

Cons
CarPlay freezes and crashes , gas seems to disappear right after filling up and blind spot detection isn’t reliable.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DD
Donald D.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/01/2019
Stupid nickle & dime tactic to save mfg cost - and possibly lose an old customer
Low on refrigerant. Has to be a factory defect or a ploy to save mfg cost by not filling refrigerant to normal levels. Not the first time I have Factory defect would mean all refrigerant was lost,,,,

Cons
Fuel gauge hard to read. In a "busy" location with speedometer.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GJ
Gordon J.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/03/2019
Too much tech for old man
There is nothing special about this vehicle. Korean and Japanese vehicles are pretty much he same. We are not people who think a vehicle is anything more than an a invention to get us from place to place in comfort. We usually lease our vehicles so we do have to deal with " Out of Warranty " circumstances. In the past 15 years we have leased 2 Sonatas, 2 Nissans and a Ford. We have liked thing about each and have disliked things all.

Pros
We like the vehicle in general. It is nothing special but seems to be a descent vehicle for the price.

Cons
Same response. To us a car is a car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
DEVENDRA S.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/04/2019
Too new to this car to form any honest opinion ...
Too new to this car to form any honest opinion. Price andvwarranty were the main reasons that made me buy this car. Time will tell if I made a good devusuin. We have always used Toyota abd/ or Subaru in our household.

Pros
Price and warranty..

Cons
Cannot thinknof any at this time..

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TB
Terri B.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/05/2019
2019 Hyundai Sonata Sport
No room to put Kleenex box. The storage underneath arm rest is useless.. can barely put anything. Not able to hang handicap plaque. When turning sometimes.. the turn signal still blinks. Back seat arm rest hard to pull down
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KM
Kelly M.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/13/2019
Second Sonata
My second sonata as My first was a loser. Hoping for better results with one. 2015 was sold sonata s e eco and it experienced complete engine failure. This 2019 is a gamble! Praying for giid luck.....

Cons
Not sure was worth paid for it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JU
Jaicol U.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/16/2019
Great a to b vehicle
Nice comfortable vehicle. Interior is very spacious. Interior could use a little more up to date features. Could definitely use more power or maybe a bigger engine (3.3t perhaps). Outside design is decent and distinguishable.

Pros
Decently equipped with standard features
Very roomy
Great on gas

Cons
Pricey options
Engine lacks power (a lot)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EW
EVAN W.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/23/2019
So much done right with a couple things that need work.
I compare this car to a 2016 Mazda6 that I previously owned so as a first time Hyundai owner I came into the purchase with an open mind and have so far been extremely satisfied. The room, the ride, the looks are all well done and Sport mode turns it into a whole differient car. My biggest complaint is with how bad the backup camera picture quality is. Unusable in all but the best lighting conditions.

Pros
Sport Mode!
Value for money.
Driver comfort.
Roominess.

Cons
Abyssmal backup camera. In all but the best light it is better to not be used.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WH
WALTER H.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/29/2019
Almost A 10
Overall a great buy, priced right, great looking, roomy,featured packed, feels solid,materials a step up and I can feel good recommending the car. Needs more sound deadening materials and the ride needs smoothing out

Pros
Acceleration, interior room, looks inside and out and features

Cons
Ride and noise from outside while driving

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
James C.
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/02/2019
Low beam headlights
Overall good car just need to do something with low beam headlights......I can[t write book about this car the only problem I have is the low beam head lights are a real safety hazard as forward viewing at night with low beams is not very good. I have come very close to hitting a person or animal with low beams on this car at night
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 280 in total