2020
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(472 Reviews)
Latest review about 4 hours ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

CO
Christopher O.
2020 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/13/2020
Very high tech
Love the material and tech in this car. I feel like I'm in a giant computer. Everything looks and feels so nice and the style is super nice. The tech is super responsive and easy to use.Really love this car.

Pros
Nice styling, materials are great, tech is easy to figure out and everything is super responsive.

Cons
Not super quick. Could you more horse power and torque. An all wheel drive version would be nice. Logo should be updated.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CV
CYNTHIA V.
2020 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/12/2020
Great car
I loved my 2012 Hyundai Sonata and was going to keep it for the duration until someday they improve the mileage and added a ton of safety features which they did in 2020. I love the drive I love the style I hope I will be overall as satisfied as I was with my 2012.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
MARK B.
2020 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/11/2020
Great Sedan
Love the car. Only thing I dislike is the position of the speedometer. It is to the left of the tachometer in the digital gauge cluster, and prefer it on the right side, as that is traditionally how all my cars have been.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WE
William E.
2020 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/11/2020
Acceleration as needed.
The 2.0L makes a safer vehicle in today’s driving world of needing instant acceleration as needed. The 1.6L doesn’t supply the acceleration that I have grown to appreciate from Hyundia. Bbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbnnnnnnbbbnnnnnnnnnnn

Pros
Everything excepting the 1.6L engine. Can you tell yet that I don’t like it? Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx. Cxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx ccxxxxxxxxxxxxcxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx. HhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjCxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx ccxxxxxxxxxxcccxxxxccccccccccxxxxxcccccccccccc

Cons
1.6 L engine. Can you tell I want the 2.0L available. Cccccccccccccccxxxxccccccccccxxxxxcccccccccccc cccvccccccccccvvvvcccccvvvvcccgvggggvvvvgghhggghhhVvvbbbbbbb!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!’nnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnmmmmmmmmmmmnnnnnnnnnnnmmmm

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JP
Jeanne P.
2020 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/10/2020
2020 Hyundai Sonata Limited
This will be our forth Sonata Limited Turbo. Each year they improve with better Technology and ride quality. Can't beat the value. Love the new heads up display and drastically improved Bose sound system.

Pros
Value

Cons
None so far.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RR
Robert R.
2020 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
07/10/2020
Expecting a little more maybe
I have owned two previous Sonata's, a 2006 and a 2017 plus a 2017 Elantra. I like the styling of the 2020 but the ride over bumps is not as smooth as my 2017. The car seems to drift ever so slightly and requires a firmer grip on the steering wheel to correct this issue. I find that the seat is not as comfortable as previous models and that the drivers seat controls are hard to get to because they are so close to the door panel, even more so if you wear a watch. I miss the digital speedometer readout when driving unless you are using cruise control when it appears, why not have it always on. A strange thing is the toggle switch on the left steering wheel that moves you forward or backwards in your music choices when using Bluetooth, in the previous other Hyundai's that I have owned the forward and backwards selections are opposite from the three other models so forward is now backwards act. annoying little thing. The speaker sound system is great, hit that one out of the park. Love the cup holder, storage area in the center section, nice that there is a slot to stand your cell phone in and the wide area forward is nice although I miss the sunglass holder between the visors. The seat could go back a little further on its track. The dual AC system is not as cold as my Elantra or the 2017 Sonata. The side mirror safety lights that show yellow when a vehicle is coming up from behind is not very noticeable during the day but the warning sound helps out. The engine has plenty of power and if you need more, the sport drive gives it plenty of boost. Getting used to the push button gear selection is better then I thought, no shifter to hold but the elbow pad is in a good position so that you don't miss the shifter. Over all it's a nice car, and will keep me a Hyundai buyer.

Pros
Looks, Sound system, Engine power, Trunk space

Cons
Drivers seat, Auto trunk too sensitive to key fab, no sunglass holder, Digital speed readout missing unless in cruise mode. AC seems weak

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AC
Angela C.
2020 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/10/2020
Wet satisfied.
I have really enjoyed working with Red Hoagland Hyundai in leasing my last two vehicles. My 2020 sonata is a great looking car that is fun to drive. I receive compliments all the time for its looks.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CA
COLE A.
2020 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/10/2020
2020 Sonata Limited (Styling, Interior, Exterior, Features)
I love Hyundai and was looking for a car to replace my 2013 Hyundai Azera since they no longer sell the Azera’s in North America. My eye was immediately drawn to the Sonata due to it’s new upgraded design and the DRL headlights. The front and rear exteriors are a hit-or-miss with people, I am in love with the front of the car, it looks sporty and yet classy with the chrome strip going down the hood of the car with part of it being the headlights so when the car is off, it just looks like it’s part of chrome piece. And for the rear, I like the integrated spoiler with “fins” for aerodynamics, but I’m not a fan of the styling with the taillights and overall rear exterior design, reminds me to much of Honda. A lot of the cons for me are little things that people might feel are nit-picky, my 2013 Azera: for instance had the rear heated seats/window shades and a 10-way power driver's seat with the 8-way power front passenger seat and a power adjustable steering wheel. Things I would expect to from a sedan marketed as Hyundai’s top tier sedan which was previously the Azera (both of which are before the Genesis line which I consider separate from the Hyundai vehicles). But with the Sonata replacing the Azera, you would expect those to transfer over to the new top of the line sedan especially when a 2013 car had these features, also, power folding side view mirrors which I know the 2017 Azera had are non existent on the Sonata. Now they Sonata does a great job trying to make up for these lack of interior add-ons, I just expected these included as well.

Pros
- Tons of Safety Features
- DRL’s stand out and look fantastic
- Roomy cabin
- Real leather seats
- Heated and cooling (ventilated) front seats/ heated steering wheel
- Climate control is easy to use
- Smart Trunk (auto opens)
- Cameras and Sensors galore
- Moonroof (panoramic sunroof)
- Factory built in navigation system
- 10.25 inch touchscreen/ 12.3 inch dash (customizable) display
- HUD (Head-Up Display)
- Wireless charging

Cons
- No rear heated seats
- No ambient lighting in rear seat area
- No rear window shades
- Radio controls on far right of touchscreen (from the driver)
- Only one usb plug in rear seat
- Passenger seat only 4-way power adjustable (compared to driver’s 8-way)
- Manual adjustable steering wheel
- one-touch power windows (front windows only)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MD
Marilyn D.
2020 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/09/2020
Great car
Love the car and all its features. The blind spots that existed in my 97 sonata have been rectified pleasure to drive the car this is my 4th Hyundai and as always have been very pleased. 2 more years on this lease am sure my next car will be a hyundai
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DR
Dan R.
2020 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/08/2020
Great commuter car
Fun car to drive back and forth between Lansing Area and Jackson. There is a slight delay in acceleration when you step on the gas if not in Sport mode. The automation of everything from climate control to high beams and wipers is first rate and work well. The Highway Driving Assist takes some getting used to and at times I feel like I'm fighting against it. Love the smart cruise control and the Heads Up Display! Sitting height is a little low for me with the sunroof but acceptable, would have liked another inch.

Pros
Great gas mileage. Fun to drive. Extreme automation.

Cons
Sitting height and acceleration

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CN
CAROL N.
2020 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/08/2020
BEAUTIFUL CAR
The newly designed Sonata is a beautiful car with all the bells and whistles anyone could possibly want. Although I haven't driven much (500 miles) the handling and features are wonderful. My only complaint is that the front passenger seat although powered does not raise making it very difficult for an elderly person or handicapped would find it very difficult to get in and out of the vehicle.

Cons
front passenger seat is powered but does not raise up

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JA
Joseph A A.
2020 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/08/2020
Great vehicle
This is my 5th Hyundai vehicle. I have had 1 XG350 model, 1 Azera, 2 Genesis's and now a Sonata. I have had the very best experience with all of the Hyundai's. The Sonata is a step down from the Genesis however, it has proven to be a great vehicle. Everything about it has been more than satisfactory from looks, to driving comfort, to gas mileage and overall performance. I am very happy with this vehicle and all of it's safety features.

Pros
The safety features, performance, styling, interior and exterior design, gas mileage and styling are great.

Cons
This model did not have a Nav unit built in so had to revert to my 7" Garmin.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MD
MELVIN D.
2020 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/07/2020
Great car! Love it!
It’s my second generation, love them! Coming from a different country in which used to own the same model and make allowed me not to even consider other make and model. I love my car, the features and the overall experience, it’s awesome!

Pros
Overall, great experience to drive it!

Cons
Some sort of wind noise but not overwhelming.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LB
LENNIE B.
2020 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/06/2020
2020 Hyundai Sonata - Best Sonata Yet!
The All New 2020 Sonata is simply the BEST Hyundai Sonata yet! We absolutely love it! Of the four we have had, this one outshines all others. Fast, comfortable, affordable, and offered by the best Dealership in Wilmington, Parkway Hyundai, we believe we have the best vehicle on the market at this time! You cannot go wrong with the all new 2020 Hyundai Sonata!

Pros
Heads-Up display; Air-cooled & heated power seats; Bose sound system; Heated steering wheel; Pirelli tires for a safe, smooth ride; Powerful engine; Automatic lights & windshield wipers; plus many more amenities make this a GREAT purchase!

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RW
Ronald W.
2020 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/06/2020
love the new car still working to figure out the android auto. but I think its me not the Sonata.
great car YOU H AVE TO BE KIDDING ME YOU ASK ME FOR A SURVEY AND THEN DEMAND THAT I WRITE AT LEAST 200 CHARACTERS.I WILL GIVE YOU YOUR 200 BUT YOU MAY NOT LIKE IT. I INDICATE BY MY NUMBERS I LOVED THE
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AR
Alan R.
2020 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/06/2020
sonata
Overall the sonata is a excellent vehicle. I find the the drivers seat is not comfortable for me after driving for more than an hour or so. I cannot identify the problem. I would like the passenger seat have a height adjustment to make it easier for older passengers to enter/leave the vehicle. The front end is bland and needs a little bright work. I liked the bright trim on the lower side of the body of my 2015 sonata. The suspension aggressively transmits every bump on the road right up thru the drivers seat. The suspension could be softer. There is a large amount of technology in this car (which is good) and I would like some way to easily obtain an explanation of problems such as (why is the emergency brake sometimes automatically activated when I put the car in the park position?) It is impossible for the driver to easily identify cross roads on the GPS screen as the names are sometimes missing and are not bold enough to be seen (while in the map mode). I was disappointed the car did not receive a plus safety rating. Thank you, Alan Rebman

Pros
good car. see my comments

Cons
see my comments. Also, the day after I took delivery of this car I had to return to the dealer as the engine was stalling. My dealer took excellent care of me and during testing experienced the problem twice but could not identify the problem. Hyundai was contacted and quickly responded but could not find the problem. After much testing which took over a week it was determined the problem was probably due to a connector or something at the time of manufacture and was probably corrected during all of the testing which was done. Overall I feel that my dealer and Hyundai did a excellent job in correcting the problem and I greatly appreciate all of their work and efforts to solve this most difficult problem. Since that time I have not experienced this problem again and it has not changed my good opinion of the Sonata.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RF
Richard F.
2020 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/06/2020
GREAT VEHICLE FOR THE DOLLAR
I LEASED 4 SONATA'S, IF I DIDN'T CARE FOR THE CAR WOULD I GONE BACK TO THE SAME DEALERSHIP. SERVICE AT THE DEALERSHIP IS EXCELLENT. NEVER IN 10 YEARS HAD ANY I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS CAR TO ANYONE. CAR HAS A LOT OF SAFETY FEATURES.

Pros
NONE ISSUES AT THE PRESENT TIME

Cons
NONE

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
David G.
2020 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/05/2020
2020 Hyundai Sonata
This is the fourth Sonata we've had and has the best combination of features, technology and styling yet. We are extremely pleased with all of the Hyundai products we've leased and will likely lease other Hyundai vehicles when our current leases end.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AM
ALTA M.
2020 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/04/2020
I get so many compliments!
I had had my eye on the Sonata for quite some time. My parents have had Hyundais and have never had any trouble, so it was time for me to join the Hyundai Family. I appreciate they are assembled in my home state (Alabama.) I love most of the features, and the styling is beyond impressive. I am very happy with my purchase!

Pros
Great gas mileage
Beautiful styling
Fun to drive
Excellent features

Cons
Sometimes the car drives for you

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AP
Abba P.
2020 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/04/2020
The best car I have ever owned
I get new vehicles every 3 years. I have had a wide variety of cars in my lifetime including 3 Corvettes. This is my fifth Hyundai . I am not a tech kind of person and I describe myself as a 20th century guy living in the 21st century. I have a 2020 Sonata Limited and according to my son, this vehicle has more tech toys than his Volvo Suv and his Acura Suv for 20,000 dollars less. I may never learn how to use everything. The car has a lot of power for a 4cyl turbo, gets approx. 30mpg on regular fuel. The car looks great and most of all my wife loves it. This in itself is an amazing feat since my wife has been known to be a perfectionist and can be very critical. The only negative is the slight rattle in the dash that will be addressed on my next oil change.

Pros
I truly love this car

Cons
slight rattle in the dashboard

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 472 in total