2005
Hyundai
Tucson

Overall Rating 4.79/5Overall Rating 4.79/5Overall Rating 4.79/5Overall Rating 4.79/5rating 4.79
4.8
(161 Reviews)
Latest review 16 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

JP
Jeanette P.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/04/2019
My Tucson
I have decided this is the last car I will ever buy and it has served me very well. It is 14 years old and I am still pleased with it.. I have had this car since 08 and consider myself "that little old lady from Carson City" who has gotten a lot of use out of it.,
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PB
Powell B.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/13/2019
2005 Tuscan manual tranmission
I've driven a stick for most of my adult life. My last five cars have been manual transmission vehicles. I wanted a small SUV with a manual transmission. I live in Brooklyn. There aren't many manual SUVs in this town. In 2009 I bought this car from a guy who moved to NYC from New Mexico (where stick shifts are plenty). His wife didn't want to drive a stick, so he sold it to me at a bargain price. I love driving this car. I'm a very independent filmmaker. I sometimes sell stuff at flea markets. I lug big canisters of movie film to film festivals. And my wife & I shop big. This car is perfect for us. We've had to change the clutch twice in 14 years. Not bad. The worst problem was an electrical problem the dealership service dept in Brooklyn took care of. I can honestly say I am close to loving this car.

Pros
Fun to drive. Maneuverable. Fast. Small, easy to park in Brooklyn or Manhattan. 5 speed manual transmission. Height is perfect. Sufficient cargo space.

Cons
Small glove compartment. Could use armrest for right arm. Center console rubs up against mt right knee, makes driving long distances very uncomfortable. Pads on the foot pedals keep falling off.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

YJ
Yvette J.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/30/2019
I love my Hyundai Tucson
I love my Hyundai, I'm starting to see a lot of people driving Hyundai more than other name brand cars and trucks. I can't wait to get another one! I won't ever trade the I have for nothing in the world,I love it!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RO
Richard O.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/29/2019
Fifteen years and running strong.
We bought our Tucson 15 years ago and have used Ken Garff Hyundai for all it's service except for tires. So they know the car and it's service history. We bought this car with the thought that we would be keeping this car for a long time and it has not let us down. That is why we just bought a third Hyundai 5 days ago. I know a car dealer does not want to hear that this may be my last new car, but I hope to keep this new car as long!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KW
Ken W.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/27/2019
Best car ever
2005 Tucson 97,000 miles
Love IT!
Held up great over the years
so Comfortable

Love the pickup 6 cylinders
minimum maintance
low oil useagePlenty of storage space
adequate sound system
Hope I get the same value on my next car

Pros
good pick up
leather seats

Cons
safety features were non existant in 2005

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TH
Terry H.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/17/2019
2005 Tucson
This was my first hyundai purchased. It seems you get a lot more from hyundai from the other brands. This car is 13 years old and I have only had one minor problem when the air hose worked lose. I have done all service myseft including a timing belt changes which was not easy. Still runs great and have no plans to get rid of it in the near future as it has been so reliable. I wish it would have got a little closer to the EPA milage but I am still OK with it as it has been so reliable.

Pros
Very Reliable and has been a long lasting car.

Cons
The only con I have is it never can get the EPA rated mileage and I drive very conservative.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VC
Virginia C.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/11/2019
I love it I have had it since 2005
It is a older model , body still looking good it still runs well having some minor repairs done and getting ready to put her back on the road , I hadn't drove her much in the last couple years she has rested enough !!

Pros
It has been a reliable SUV

Cons
Older model

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GP
Geoffrey P.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/28/2019
2005 Tucson
Still running, some parts are now starting to fail, horns, hydrolics for the hatchback, light housing is foggy, (after dealership cleared them up once). Not a bad investment for the money. I may buy another in a few years.

Pros
Very reliable

Cons
V6 power not always there when needed.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CW
Carolyn W.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/31/2019
2005 Best Tucson Year
This model year may not have all the bells and whistles of the newer models but it has all the others beat in quality, service and maintenance. At 103,000+miles still runs like a champ in bad weather.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
Janis D.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/01/2018
Great auto!
I've been very fortunate to find this vehicle. Have owned it since 2011 and purchased it with less than 12000 miles on ti and it has proven to be dependable and trustworthy!
Very happy with it. Still runs fabulously even after being 13 years old!

Pros
Good pick-up (V-6 engine)
Great 4 wheel drive for winter driving.
Comfortable seating for long distance driving.
Roomy interior for hauling large items.
Small enough that you don't feel like you are driving a beast.
Highway mileage good.

Cons
Gas mileage around town could be slightly better.
Getting older now so some of the original parts are needing replaced.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ME
Melanie E.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/27/2018
Love my 2005 tucson!
My car, Charlie, is fabulous. I have had him since 2007. I have some bells and whistles, heated seats, sunroof, 6 cd changer and cassette player, etc. Charlie is not hard or costly to maintain. My recommendation is to invest in a tucson!

Pros
comfortable riding in front and back. has good acceleration with 6-cylinder engine. has lots of cargo room. easy handling. not expensive to maintain.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HO
Helene O.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
11/09/2018
Replacement Car Keeps Me In Business
Bought this car in September 2018 as a replacement for my 2007 Sonata--four breakdowns in a month, and the last having to do with the engine. My mechanic had this car on sale at his workplace. Found I liked riding high and the Tuscon is easy to handle. Trunk area and one seat folded flat gives me as much room needed as the trunk space in the Sonata. Good pickup in traffic, great headroom, fairly decent gas mileage, and no body damage. Poor points are no inside vanity mirror, noisy cabin, and the fuel gradations are so tiny that amount is difficult to gauge. "Consumer Reports for 2011", said it was one of the cars with the least amount of repairs overall.

Pros
Easy to handle
Great headroom
Moderate gas mileage for size
Quick pickup--4 cylinder

Cons
No inside vanity mirror
Noisy cabin
Fuel gradations difficult to asses
Dated controls, but the car is 2005.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CW
Carolyn W.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/25/2018
2005 Best Tucson Year
The 2005 Tucson is comfortable and just the right size, not too small/large. The build quality is sturdy and it handles even the bumpiest roads well. It has good highway gas mileage and It's basic features performs well. The overall styling, interior/exterior is of good quality. If you keep up the maintenance on the vehicle it's reliability is fantastic! This make and model year of the Tucson is a great value for the money.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PH
Patricia H.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/24/2018
It Runs and runs.....
I bought this car brand new in 2005. I loved it then and I love it now! It has over 123,000 miles on it with very little repairs. We have been good about routine maintenance and have had Fitzgerald do the work, which is always easy to set up, especially oil changes etc. We have had 5 Hyundai's so far! Our first a 2001 Santa Fe, this Tucson, a Genesis coupe, a 2015 Tucson and the new Kona! All have been great! This one has my heart! However my new Kona is right up there ! I love love love my Kona!!!

Pros
Still runs like new

Cons
CD player broke in the warranty period, was replaced without any problem but crapped out again!
Interior fabric did not hold up well cracked and split
Paint especially on door handles repainted in warranty but are still cracking/peeling

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TB
Thomas B.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/11/2018
05 Tucson
I bought this vehicle 10 months ago, when it had 202k miles on it. I don’t usually buy a used car with that much mileage but I knew that it belonged to the daughter of my mechanic, who maintained it carefully for safety and comfort. As with all used cars, I’ve invested some repair costs to continue it’s overall fine performance. I like the all wheel drive as well as optional 4 wheel drive under 35mph, an interesting mix of safety and performance options. My previous vehicle was an 03 Sante Fe, still running fine at 237k miles when I sold it. I am pleased with the Tucson and look forward to using it for several more worry free thousands of miles.

Pros
Usually reliable, with backup systems that make make it drivable even when something is not working 100%

Cons
Seat comfort could be better, but it’s not uncomfortable as is, especially for a 13 year old vehicle

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CK
Charles K.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/26/2018
All Occasion Automobile (AOA)
My Tucson has proven to be one of the most reliable and versatile vehicle, regardless of cost that I have ever owned. I always feel confident each time I get behind the wheel because I know whatever my destination, I will arrive there safely.

Pros
Over 250k on this vehicle, My Tucson just keeps rolling along.

Cons
Cons! what's that??

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CP
Carrie P.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/26/2018
worst car ever
I have never had a car that had so many things go wrong with it. We had the spark plugs fouling out at 50,000 miles. We have had to replace the thermostat, water pump, transfer case; the paint starting peeling off at 100,000 miles, the leather seats rip and are poorly made; just to name a few things.

Pros
had leather and a sunroof

Cons
The leather was actually crap and the car gets worked on as much as it stays on the road. The paint is crap.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TV
Talmadge V.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/31/2018
2005 tuscon
I bought my car new. Loved it from day one. It has 250000 miles on it. I plan on driving it until it can't go anymore. We have had very few problems. It's still a great car. I have another car but this is what I drive. A+++++++

Pros
Every thing

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LC
Lynn C.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/24/2018
Love my TUCSON
My TUCSON IS 13 years old and is still the best running vehicle I have ever had. I would purchase another TUCSON in a HEART beat. One reason is the exceptional service from Jim Click Hyundai in Tucson Arizona. I have never had a major problem in 13 years and do not expect one. Thank you Hyundai for this fantastic automobile. I LOVE IT.

Pros
The entire automobile. All features are perfection.

Cons
NONE

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PN
Pamela N.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/20/2018
LOVE MY CAR
I have been driving for 50 years and I have never had a car so long (13 years). I only have 80,000 miles but I have never driven a car to that extent. I think it's probably time to trade it in but I hate to let it go!

Pros
Everything

Cons
Would like to have electric seats

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 161 in total