2005
Hyundai
Tucson

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(176 Reviews)
Latest review 25 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

WS
Willie S.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/10/2020
My 2005 Hyundai Tucson
I bought my Hyundai Tucson brand new in 2005.
It has served me very well.
It gets good gas mileage.
I follow the Maintenance Schedule, and the staff is always professional, polite, and competent.
If/When I buy another car, a Hyundai will probably be my FIRST choice.

Pros
Reliability

Cons
Some of the scheduled maintenance is a bit pricey

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
ROBERT III B.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/17/2020
Keeps on rolling
I bought this suv used with 70,000 miles. It now has over 160,000. The only component other than consumables such as brakes, tires, struts,etc I have had to replace is a power steering pump. The only drawback associated with this car is under carriage rust. But hey, it is upstairs NY where it snows a Lot and I believe the brakes are undersized resulting in excessively frequent pad/ rotor changes at approx 18 months.

Pros
Longevity with low operating costs. Very reliable.

Cons
Undercarriage rusting and brake repairs including calipers, pads and rotors at excessively short intervals.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EB
Eleanora B.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/11/2020
The best car with awesome safety features.
The first 100,00 mile warranty is proof of this truck's go beyond the average car, in that I have changed the timing 2 times now as it stands at 161,00 miles and not a spec off from were it was built to be. I want to give praise to the technology of it as well, I love the heated seats and the all sides SRS system.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AR
ANGEL R.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/02/2020
This was originally my youngest son car, A year and a half ago, he purchased a new car and i puhased it at a family price. I previously had a 2010 in Puerto Rico but it was to expensive to bring it.10
I loved it, and if needed I will buy another Hyundai or Kia. It always work, so it is very reliable in any climate.
We drive it in long or short hauls. My wife loves to drive it for shopping. I will have to perform some work since it has around
102,000 miles but that is normal.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NS
NANCY S.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/17/2020
Rubyred
Really love this car, has been reliable and minimal repairs for the year that it is.
Love that it's a V-6 too. 4-wheel drive.
See these around town and friends and family have one. Would buy another one.

Pros
Good on gas. Gets up and goes

Cons
Older model, but still reliable.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
Melodie C.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/15/2020
LOVE my Tucson!
My 2005 Hyudai Tucson has been the most reliable car that I've had in my life. It's 14 years old, still going strong and rarely have I had any problems with it. I LOVE my car!! Hyundai will be my next vehicle too! Maybe another Tucson.....smile
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GK
Glenn K.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/13/2019
my tucson I do not know what you are looking for.
We bought this Tucson new in 2005. It is now 2019 and we have very little problems. I love this car. This is all you get as I hate surveys.
kkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PB
Patricia B.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/13/2019
2005 Hyundai Tucson
I bought this car new, and except for some electrical problems in the beginning, it's been a great car for 15 years! Because no one in the family has a truck, it's done a lot of moving and hauling. Hasn't let me down yet!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
MARK H.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/11/2019
Tuscon at 200,000 miles
This appears to be a really well put together vehicle. I have the v6 and I'm concerned about the mileage as I'm getting just over 21 mpg with 2WD. The engine is tuned, brakes aren't dragging and the tires are new. Other than that I love it. I'm in Ohio and a lot of vehicles are already rusting out but no sign of rust here. It drives great, is quieter than my Cadillac and has lots of room for tools and people. Hope to make half a million miles.

Pros
seating position (view over the hood and around), quietness of the ride

Cons
poor fuel economy, armrest is too low.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Johnson M.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/02/2019
My personal SUNDAY
My Tucson is like one of the kids. It has been with me through the good times and the bad times. I want to thank the Hyundai corporation for making this awesome vehicle that I hope to keep in the family for a very long time. Great job!!

Pros
Awesome

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BN
Bruce N.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/22/2019
Great little suv
This is a great car I have owned it since new in 05. Everything on this car still works great. It goes every where summer or winter. Body still looks great. I just love this car. The v6 is a strong running beast.

Pros
Everything about this car is a pro..Would purchase again

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CR
Cheryl R.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/19/2019
?it
This is by far the best purchase I made from Hyundai. I've had two other cars from this dealer, I love their vehicles. I wouldn't dare buy anything else. I don't like the new tucson, no detailing everything is all one piece. No fuel exhaust like mine. Don't like the new tail lights has no character. The 2005 tucson was by far the best one made.

Pros
I love the protected doors bumper pads. They don't offer these on the new suvs'.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
James D.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/14/2019
2005 Tuscon still running like new!
By having Winn Hyundai take care of my car for every need I have, I have no doubt the car will be going in great condition for a really long time.
The Tuscon is a great car, and I am a happy owner.
Thank you Hyundai, and thank you to the service department at Winn Hyundai!

Pros
It's got lots of storage for a small suv.

Cons
The gas mileage is not great.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
Linda .
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/12/2019
2005 Tucson GLS V6 4WD
I have been very happy with my Hyundai Tucson and have driven it across country twice. I’ve been to California, North Dakota and Atlanta Georgia and all those states in between. 165,000 miles and still going strong. The gas mileage is really good too.
I have to say I’ve used my Tucson for working, camping and traveling and it has been ideal for each of those uses. I’ve owned many cars and trucks and this is as good as any of those except when I needed to bring home my riding mower.
To sum it up, I love it.

Pros
Versatile, good on gas and dependable

Cons
No truck bed.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LP
Lori P.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/28/2019
Still going strong
My dealership, Antwerpen in Clarksville, Md, keeps it in shape. I have been driving this car for 14+ years and never had a real issue with it. It has some of the first safety features available and I took a chance in 2005 with this new model. It's paid off. I am really happy with this car.

Pros
Reliable, safe, easy to drive. It is comfortable. I love it.

Cons
Low gas mileage and lack of newer features which are standard today. The car is 14 years old, so it's not really a complaint. It has served me well and I plan to drive it several more years. I bought in the first model year- it has had several updates since. (It actually has a tape deck....!!)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JP
Jeanette P.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/04/2019
My Tucson
I have decided this is the last car I will ever buy and it has served me very well. It is 14 years old and I am still pleased with it.. I have had this car since 08 and consider myself "that little old lady from Carson City" who has gotten a lot of use out of it.,
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PB
Powell B.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/13/2019
2005 Tuscan manual tranmission
I've driven a stick for most of my adult life. My last five cars have been manual transmission vehicles. I wanted a small SUV with a manual transmission. I live in Brooklyn. There aren't many manual SUVs in this town. In 2009 I bought this car from a guy who moved to NYC from New Mexico (where stick shifts are plenty). His wife didn't want to drive a stick, so he sold it to me at a bargain price. I love driving this car. I'm a very independent filmmaker. I sometimes sell stuff at flea markets. I lug big canisters of movie film to film festivals. And my wife & I shop big. This car is perfect for us. We've had to change the clutch twice in 14 years. Not bad. The worst problem was an electrical problem the dealership service dept in Brooklyn took care of. I can honestly say I am close to loving this car.

Pros
Fun to drive. Maneuverable. Fast. Small, easy to park in Brooklyn or Manhattan. 5 speed manual transmission. Height is perfect. Sufficient cargo space.

Cons
Small glove compartment. Could use armrest for right arm. Center console rubs up against mt right knee, makes driving long distances very uncomfortable. Pads on the foot pedals keep falling off.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

YJ
Yvette J.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/30/2019
I love my Hyundai Tucson
I love my Hyundai, I'm starting to see a lot of people driving Hyundai more than other name brand cars and trucks. I can't wait to get another one! I won't ever trade the I have for nothing in the world,I love it!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RO
Richard O.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/29/2019
Fifteen years and running strong.
We bought our Tucson 15 years ago and have used Ken Garff Hyundai for all it's service except for tires. So they know the car and it's service history. We bought this car with the thought that we would be keeping this car for a long time and it has not let us down. That is why we just bought a third Hyundai 5 days ago. I know a car dealer does not want to hear that this may be my last new car, but I hope to keep this new car as long!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KW
Ken W.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/27/2019
Best car ever
2005 Tucson 97,000 miles
Love IT!
Held up great over the years
so Comfortable

Love the pickup 6 cylinders
minimum maintance
low oil useagePlenty of storage space
adequate sound system
Hope I get the same value on my next car

Pros
good pick up
leather seats

Cons
safety features were non existant in 2005

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 176 in total