2005
Hyundai
Tucson

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5rating 4.8
4.8
(166 Reviews)
Latest review 12 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

CK
Charles K.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/26/2018
All Occasion Automobile (AOA)
My Tucson has proven to be one of the most reliable and versatile vehicle, regardless of cost that I have ever owned. I always feel confident each time I get behind the wheel because I know whatever my destination, I will arrive there safely.

Pros
Over 250k on this vehicle, My Tucson just keeps rolling along.

Cons
Cons! what's that??

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CP
Carrie P.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/26/2018
worst car ever
I have never had a car that had so many things go wrong with it. We had the spark plugs fouling out at 50,000 miles. We have had to replace the thermostat, water pump, transfer case; the paint starting peeling off at 100,000 miles, the leather seats rip and are poorly made; just to name a few things.

Pros
had leather and a sunroof

Cons
The leather was actually crap and the car gets worked on as much as it stays on the road. The paint is crap.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TV
Talmadge V.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/31/2018
2005 tuscon
I bought my car new. Loved it from day one. It has 250000 miles on it. I plan on driving it until it can't go anymore. We have had very few problems. It's still a great car. I have another car but this is what I drive. A+++++++

Pros
Every thing

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LC
Lynn C.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/24/2018
Love my TUCSON
My TUCSON IS 13 years old and is still the best running vehicle I have ever had. I would purchase another TUCSON in a HEART beat. One reason is the exceptional service from Jim Click Hyundai in Tucson Arizona. I have never had a major problem in 13 years and do not expect one. Thank you Hyundai for this fantastic automobile. I LOVE IT.

Pros
The entire automobile. All features are perfection.

Cons
NONE

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PN
Pamela N.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/20/2018
LOVE MY CAR
I have been driving for 50 years and I have never had a car so long (13 years). I only have 80,000 miles but I have never driven a car to that extent. I think it's probably time to trade it in but I hate to let it go!

Pros
Everything

Cons
Would like to have electric seats

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
Dann M.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/17/2018
Sleeper AWD value / 2005 Tucson LX
Bought it new, 2005 Tucson LX. Now with 183,000 miles and running strong and reliable. Comfortable space and utility usage. Expected service record and holding up fantastic. Not buying new for quite a while longer.

Pros
Solid build quality. Reliable and power enough V6 with AWD to move it into traffic and more. like it alot!

Cons
Never got a flat with it but dread the idea of getting the full size spare out of the rear compartment if I do.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LL
Lori L.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/17/2018
Great vehicle
I purchased my Hyundai Tuscan in 2005, taking a gamble on the first year this model was available. I continue to drive this vehicle and have maintained it properly through the years. It continues to be the most reliable vehicle I have ever owned, with no issues outside of routine maintenance. I'm confident that I will continue to drive my Tuscan for several more years.

Pros
Good visibility for the driver for someone of short stature
Reliable with proper maintenance

Cons
My 2005 Tuscan is not attractive in styling
"Silver" resembles gray, not silver

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BB
Beverly B.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/13/2018
2005 Hyundai Tucson
I bought this car new in 2005. Yes, I still have it and it's going strong! Love, love, did I say love, my Tucson! It's rugged, dependable, reliable , and all-round super! This is my 3rd Hyundai, and I'm getting ready to buy my 4th!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
Diane M.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/07/2018
It keeps on humming!
I bought my Tucson new in 2005 to accommodate my younger grandchildren and their various equipment. Now that they are older I keep it because I like the roominess, the handling and the comfort. I feel safer in traffic due to its size, and with mileage at 145,000 it keeps on going with no major problems to date. My husband wants me to upgrade a few years, but I am happy with the one I have. I am a senior, and hope that it lasts as long as I do.

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MR
Maria R.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/06/2018
2005 Tucson
I have loved my Tucson from day 1. I bought a 2005 in February 2006. It currently has 181k miles and I plan to keep it. I would like to purchase another Hyundai preferably the Hyundai Santa Cruz that I have been looking at online for over a year. I hope it will be presented to the dealers soon.

Pros
I love my Suv.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RK
Richard K.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/02/2018
Best car ever
Longest car I've ever owned, low maintenance very reliable, 133,000 miles at present and expect to get 100,000 more. If the new Tucson is built as well I might look into them.
I've always loved how you can haul so much.

Pros
Car handles fantastic, lots of power

Cons
Plastic headlight film over and can't be removed, hard to see at night. Hard to find windshield wiper blades that will work properly..Back seats are hard as a rock hard to travel far in them. Don't like replacing timing belt every 30,000!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AS
August S.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/02/2018
2005 Hyundai Tucson
A reliable, cost-effective vehicle. Not too happy with the functioning of the automatic transmission (tends to downshift early and remain in 2nd or 3rd gear on hills,): the retainer for front ashtray broke several years ago and it's annoying that it won't stay closed; the functioning of the power door locks are a nuisance, and as of last week, the drivers manual lock switch is inoperative.

Pros
See above comments

Cons
See above comments

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RW
Ronnie W.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/31/2018
Great little SUV
I very much enjoy my 05 Tucson. The 2.7 V6 engine is very peppy! The vehicle handles and drives well. The overall performance of the Tucson is as good as much more expensive competitors. We presently own three Hyundais. I would recommend a Hyundai to all my friends.

Pros
Nice ride
Powerful 2.7LV6
Comfortable
Fun to drive

Cons
Fuel MPG is a little below desired but the engine does perform very strong.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CW
Carolyn W.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/31/2018
2005 Best Tucson Year
I love my "Baby Blue" Tucson! My Tucson is just the right size for me, not too big/small, it drives well and gets very good gas mileage. The backseat and trunk space is excellent and the exterior design is better than the newer models to me. Great value for the money.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Sheila S.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/20/2018
Great vehicle
Love my Hyundai Tucson!! Sporty and fun!! It's been an awesome vehicle and I would recommend this vehicle to anyone!!! Dahl Hyundai is there for the consumer and is willing to go the extra mile to get the consumer exactly what he or she wants!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ES
Edwin S.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/18/2018
Love my Tucson
I turlly recommend this car. I bought the very first 2005 model after during a lot of research and then saw the Tucson on the internet when it first came out. Went to a dealership and when I first saw it in person I was so impressed with the size and style even before I entered the vehicle to take it for my first test drive. Once inside I was so impressed with all the features.After the test drive I was in love with it. I have driven my car to Toronto, Canada, Niagara Falls, Jamestown, NY, North East Connecticut and it still is performing at 150,000 miles

Pros
Fell in love with this car when I first came out in 2005. This car had everything I was looking for. I bought the first model and still have it. I was very, very surprised how it performed in winter driving. I still have this car and will buy a Tucson again when this one does not run anymore.

Cons
I do not have any cons with my 2005. hopefully the new models come standard with all the features I have.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SR
Sharon R.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/13/2018
Excellent Vehicle
My 2005 Hyundai Tucson is awesome because it is very reliable and is easy to maintain. My Hyundai Tucson is the BEST vehicle I have ever owned compared to other new vehicles I have had. One of my favorite attributes is the fact that it has the power to getup and go to merge quickly into traffic on busy highways.

Pros
My 2005 Hyundai Tucson is the BEST vehicle I have ever owned.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GL
Glenda L.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/03/2018
Dependable
Our ‘05 Tucson is dependable. We ran it hard as our primary vehicle for the 1st ten years and it never left us stranded. It’s now our secondary vehicle and still running well. Would purchase again.

Pros
Dependable

Cons
Little noisy on the highway.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

IG
Ismael G.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/28/2018
Good but...
Painted radio knobs peeled off in less than 2 years. Leather driver seat cracked and torn in less than 3 years. Now the actuator for the driver’s door not working, locking and unlocking has to be done manually. Trunk lock not working.

Pros
The 4x4 is good.

Cons
Painted radio knobs peeled off in less than 2 years. Leather seat on driver seat cracked and torn in less than 3 years.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PB
Prakash B.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/28/2018
Reliable car
Good and feel secure to drive Tucson always.
I have been driving this car more then now 3 year and I still keep it even k recently bought KIA Car but it’s my pleaser Car when I go with my kids outside as it is bigger and stronger midsize SUV.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 21 - 40 of 166 in total