2005
Hyundai
Tucson

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5rating 4.8
4.8
(166 Reviews)
Latest review about 1 year ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

KV
Karen V.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/27/2018
Love my Tucson
I love my Tucson. It has been very dependable. I wish could get a 2018 but the down payments are very high!
It has always been dependable. Like the size! Wish it had a gps. Handles good in the winter even though it’s not a 4x4.

Pros
I love this car!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GB
Gloria B.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/22/2018
5
MY FIRST IMPRESSION WAS ONE OF LOVE AT FIRST SIGHT. I COULD NOT BELIEVE HOW WELL IT HANDLE UPON DRIVING. IT WAS SMOOTH AND EASY. IT MOVED LIKE A NEW CAR, I WAS TOTALLY IMPRESSED TO BE THE OWNER. PRICING WAS UNEXPECTEDLY WITHIN MY RANGE.

Pros
as noted above

Cons
not encountered at the time

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
Devin B.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/21/2018
Tucson
My Tucson has been the best Suv! I rarely needed any repairs. It is a very reliable vehicle to own. The interior has held up farely well. The exterior paint has faded. The roof rack has cracked on both sides

Pros
Great Suv to drive. Comfortable and the interior has held up well.

Cons
Roof racks have cracked and pieces broke off. Paint has faded. Front grill is cracking. Interior door handle has broken off.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ED
Edwin D.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/21/2018
An Amazing Vehicle
Every aspect of the design and engineering of this vehicle from the drive train through to the interior amenities is superior, one of the best cars I have ever owned in terms of comfort, convenience and reliability. I bought it in 2005 when it was introduced and thirteen years later am still delighted with it.

Cons
Too much road noise penetrates the cabin, tire mileage not so good.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KW
Kishka W.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/21/2018
MY HYUNDAI TUSCON
When I first purchased my new Hyundai Tuscon, I didn't think much of it, except that I got it for a good price, my payments were low and affordable and no other car, that I knew of, came with a 10 year manufacturer's warranty. However, after driving my vehicle for about a year and getting many compliments on it, I began to love my new car. My Tuscon has always been comfortable to drive, had a smooth ride and all of the amenities I desired. My car now has over 200,000 miles on it and she still runs like new. I say this with all truth. Every appliance in my vehicle works and the paint is still shiny. The air conditioning and heating works excellently. I take good care of my Hyundai Tuscon by maintaining the maintenance on it, as the owner's manual states, keeping her clean and driving it with care. By taking good care of my Hyundai, my Tuscon has not had any breakdowns. However, because it is a 2005, it does not have all the luxuries that the newer vehicles have, but I cannot find a good enough reason to sell it or trade it in for a newer vehicle, other than I want another new vehicle, because new is always fun. So, instead of purchasing another new vehicle, I decided to upgrade my 2005 Tuscon by putting in a new stereo, alarm system and seat covers. Everything else inside and outside of my car has maintained and is in good condition. My car runs excellent and If I ever decide to sell or trade it in, the person getting it will be getting a great vehicle.

Pros
If you take care of the Hyundai Tuscon as the manual states, the car could last over a lifetime.

Cons
Some of the new technology upgrades which are in newer vehicles are unable to be installed on the 2005 Hyundai Tuscon.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BH
Barbara H.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/20/2018
Great
I love it only wish I could afford a new one or a new used one. Very comfortable to drive or be a passenger. Very roomie in back for package or for traveling. Good on gas and I have not had any problems with my suv until now

Pros
None

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
Reynault M.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/19/2018
Excellent Ride
I really have liked my Tucson, it has held up incredibly well over the years, and I now have over 200,000 miles on it and still running like a top. It has been durable, handles well and has only needed to major repairs to wheel bearings at 150,000 miles and struts at 200,000 miles.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CO
Crystal O.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/18/2018
Reliable
My hyundai, was bought used. It had very low miles, on it at the time. We have properly maintained it, by changing oil regularly. We have put close to 200,000 miles, on it. It never has left me down. In the winter, my 4 wheel drive, has been there. One, of the original reasons, that I bought it. Also, the gas mileage, has been good too. My next vehicle, will also be a hyundai.

Pros
4 wheel drive

Cons
Not much leg room, in rear seats

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FJ
Fonda J.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/16/2018
Great buy
It’s a very reliable car no high maintenance love my Hyundai . It’s a good family car it’s like a mini suv lol I like it sounds like a sewing machine lol but it all I would buy another one in the future

Pros
Runs great on the highway

Cons
On my 2005 I believe I have electrical problem because my lock would lock on its own and sometimes I it wouldn’t start have buy new battery

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LS
Linda S.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/14/2018
Long term Dependability
Our 2005 Hyundai Tucson has been reliable transportation since day one. It has a comfortable if not extraordinary interior with all controls in a logical pattern. All materials have shown good resistance to time and wear with the inside still providing an inviting atmosphere. The 2.7 V6 provides competent and smooth acceleration in all circumstances giving the driver a sense of safety and control. The suspension is a less bright spot, always having felt a little bumpy even after replacing the struts at 100,000. The other big miss is the gas mileage only averaging a meager 20 mpg. Overall though we have enjoyed the unending willingness to start, go and never miss a chance to travel through the city or take an extended highway trip.

Pros
Reliability - Fun to drive - Good cockpit design - Ease of entry/exit

Cons
Gas mileage - Somewhat bumpy suspension

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JK
James K.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/14/2018
We have an older version
We own a 2005 Hyundai Tucson bought in Florida and it has been a wonderful car, few repairs, new tires and oll changes and a few other not expensive repairs all in all it has now 167,000 and runs like a top. We expect to keep 'him' until he wears out and since we are 'older' he may indeed outlive us.

Pros
It is a smaller SUV, but reliable and everything works and it has held up well considering - has not rusted out - still looks good.

Cons
Noisy and not the highest comfort level in the seating but pales in comparison to its track record of reliability and inexpensive upkeep.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HL
Helena L.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/09/2018
Great car
I bought this car from Craig's List, was little scared but am very happy with it. I think from so many cars I owned before - even some brand new ones - this Hyundai Tuscon is the most reliable great car. I never had to do anything extra, just the maintenance, tires, etc. It's a very comfy car, not too low nor high. I use it to go to craft shows, just fold down the back seats, fully,loaded with my goods in bins and go. I never got stacked on the road, never had to have it towed. Everything is easy -get in it and out- which makes my life easier as well. I am over 70 years old and would not go to a smaller-lower-car, I highly recommend to try to drive this car if you need to upgrade and have some health issues ....,

Pros
Just great reliable car.,

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MJ
Marie J.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/08/2018
Marie Myvline Jules
I brought this vehicle used and it become a life saver for me. I don't have to care about anything when it's snosnowing. I feel really comfortable with my car. This vehicle has done a good job so far.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
Rosemary S.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/07/2018
2005
Bought 2005 in 2010 with 10k miles, now in 2018 & 62k miles, will have another 8 years as most reliable vehicle ever! 💕 my Tucson! Would buy another one if ever needed & recommend this car to all of my friends!

Pros
Perfect for me

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
Lee M.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/06/2018
Fantastic Vehicle
We love our Hyundai Tucson. This is a great vehicle that seems to last for ever. Just stay up on the basic service and it runs forever. We only have 91,000, miles on this vehicle and it runs and handles great. We bought it new and it is the wife's vehicle now. She uses it to get around town daily.

Pros
Fun vehicle to drive. Very spunky.. We have been very satisfied with the vehicle.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MN
Michelle N.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/06/2018
I love my 2005 Hyundai Tuscon
The ride is comfortable, there is plenty of room for all my grandchildren, and it handles easily. It handled well in snow and I could easily change from 2 wheel drive to 4 wheel when I felt it necessary.
I would recommend a Hyundai to everyone.

Pros
I bought this car used and am pleased with it. Because it is used, I am impressed not only with how well it looks, but also with how well it handles.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FF
Frances F.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/05/2018
My Tucson
I bought my car brand new in 2005. I love it. So far the only issue was with the rear crossmember rusting completely into. But Hyundai replaced it free of charge. It is just now turning over 100000 miles and still going strong.

Pros
Love it. Dreading the day it gives up the ghost.

Cons
Originally had a lot of rust issues but they were taken care of.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
Jesse W.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/05/2018
My 2005 Hyundai Tuscon
I am the original owner. Currently I am at 125,000 miles and because I have never missed an oil change or recommended maintenance, the vehicle runs like new. I take great care of my tucson because it has taken great care of me for 13 plus years now.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DW
David W.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/05/2018
Tough Little Tucson
I purchased my Tucson, new, in 2005. As I recall, I was not sure if I had made the right choice. Some of the performance features did not compare well with the 1997 Cougar that I traded in : Smooth ride and quietness.
HOWEVER, after 13 years and 218000 miles of hard work. My tough little Tucson has proved to be reliable... The best vehicle I've owned.

Pros
Reliable,

Cons
Not so easy to work on

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
Diane C.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/01/2018
my vehicle is 13 yrs old and still rides like a charm
this was the first recall ever nnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 41 - 60 of 166 in total