2005
Hyundai
Tucson

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(175 Reviews)
Latest review over 1 year ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

AS
August S.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/02/2018
2005 Hyundai Tucson
A reliable, cost-effective vehicle. Not too happy with the functioning of the automatic transmission (tends to downshift early and remain in 2nd or 3rd gear on hills,): the retainer for front ashtray broke several years ago and it's annoying that it won't stay closed; the functioning of the power door locks are a nuisance, and as of last week, the drivers manual lock switch is inoperative.

Pros
See above comments

Cons
See above comments

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RW
Ronnie W.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/31/2018
Great little SUV
I very much enjoy my 05 Tucson. The 2.7 V6 engine is very peppy! The vehicle handles and drives well. The overall performance of the Tucson is as good as much more expensive competitors. We presently own three Hyundais. I would recommend a Hyundai to all my friends.

Pros
Nice ride
Powerful 2.7LV6
Comfortable
Fun to drive

Cons
Fuel MPG is a little below desired but the engine does perform very strong.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CW
Carolyn W.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/31/2018
2005 Best Tucson Year
I love my "Baby Blue" Tucson! My Tucson is just the right size for me, not too big/small, it drives well and gets very good gas mileage. The backseat and trunk space is excellent and the exterior design is better than the newer models to me. Great value for the money.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Sheila S.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/20/2018
Great vehicle
Love my Hyundai Tucson!! Sporty and fun!! It's been an awesome vehicle and I would recommend this vehicle to anyone!!! Dahl Hyundai is there for the consumer and is willing to go the extra mile to get the consumer exactly what he or she wants!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ES
Edwin S.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/18/2018
Love my Tucson
I turlly recommend this car. I bought the very first 2005 model after during a lot of research and then saw the Tucson on the internet when it first came out. Went to a dealership and when I first saw it in person I was so impressed with the size and style even before I entered the vehicle to take it for my first test drive. Once inside I was so impressed with all the features.After the test drive I was in love with it. I have driven my car to Toronto, Canada, Niagara Falls, Jamestown, NY, North East Connecticut and it still is performing at 150,000 miles

Pros
Fell in love with this car when I first came out in 2005. This car had everything I was looking for. I bought the first model and still have it. I was very, very surprised how it performed in winter driving. I still have this car and will buy a Tucson again when this one does not run anymore.

Cons
I do not have any cons with my 2005. hopefully the new models come standard with all the features I have.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SR
Sharon R.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/13/2018
Excellent Vehicle
My 2005 Hyundai Tucson is awesome because it is very reliable and is easy to maintain. My Hyundai Tucson is the BEST vehicle I have ever owned compared to other new vehicles I have had. One of my favorite attributes is the fact that it has the power to getup and go to merge quickly into traffic on busy highways.

Pros
My 2005 Hyundai Tucson is the BEST vehicle I have ever owned.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GL
Glenda L.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/03/2018
Dependable
Our ‘05 Tucson is dependable. We ran it hard as our primary vehicle for the 1st ten years and it never left us stranded. It’s now our secondary vehicle and still running well. Would purchase again.

Pros
Dependable

Cons
Little noisy on the highway.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

IG
Ismael G.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
06/28/2018
Good but...
Painted radio knobs peeled off in less than 2 years. Leather driver seat cracked and torn in less than 3 years. Now the actuator for the driver’s door not working, locking and unlocking has to be done manually. Trunk lock not working.

Pros
The 4x4 is good.

Cons
Painted radio knobs peeled off in less than 2 years. Leather seat on driver seat cracked and torn in less than 3 years.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PB
Prakash B.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
06/28/2018
Reliable car
Good and feel secure to drive Tucson always.
I have been driving this car more then now 3 year and I still keep it even k recently bought KIA Car but it’s my pleaser Car when I go with my kids outside as it is bigger and stronger midsize SUV.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KV
Karen V.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/27/2018
Love my Tucson
I love my Tucson. It has been very dependable. I wish could get a 2018 but the down payments are very high!
It has always been dependable. Like the size! Wish it had a gps. Handles good in the winter even though it’s not a 4x4.

Pros
I love this car!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GB
Gloria B.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/22/2018
5
MY FIRST IMPRESSION WAS ONE OF LOVE AT FIRST SIGHT. I COULD NOT BELIEVE HOW WELL IT HANDLE UPON DRIVING. IT WAS SMOOTH AND EASY. IT MOVED LIKE A NEW CAR, I WAS TOTALLY IMPRESSED TO BE THE OWNER. PRICING WAS UNEXPECTEDLY WITHIN MY RANGE.

Pros
as noted above

Cons
not encountered at the time

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
Devin B.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/21/2018
Tucson
My Tucson has been the best Suv! I rarely needed any repairs. It is a very reliable vehicle to own. The interior has held up farely well. The exterior paint has faded. The roof rack has cracked on both sides

Pros
Great Suv to drive. Comfortable and the interior has held up well.

Cons
Roof racks have cracked and pieces broke off. Paint has faded. Front grill is cracking. Interior door handle has broken off.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ED
Edwin D.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/21/2018
An Amazing Vehicle
Every aspect of the design and engineering of this vehicle from the drive train through to the interior amenities is superior, one of the best cars I have ever owned in terms of comfort, convenience and reliability. I bought it in 2005 when it was introduced and thirteen years later am still delighted with it.

Cons
Too much road noise penetrates the cabin, tire mileage not so good.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KW
Kishka W.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/21/2018
MY HYUNDAI TUSCON
When I first purchased my new Hyundai Tuscon, I didn't think much of it, except that I got it for a good price, my payments were low and affordable and no other car, that I knew of, came with a 10 year manufacturer's warranty. However, after driving my vehicle for about a year and getting many compliments on it, I began to love my new car. My Tuscon has always been comfortable to drive, had a smooth ride and all of the amenities I desired. My car now has over 200,000 miles on it and she still runs like new. I say this with all truth. Every appliance in my vehicle works and the paint is still shiny. The air conditioning and heating works excellently. I take good care of my Hyundai Tuscon by maintaining the maintenance on it, as the owner's manual states, keeping her clean and driving it with care. By taking good care of my Hyundai, my Tuscon has not had any breakdowns. However, because it is a 2005, it does not have all the luxuries that the newer vehicles have, but I cannot find a good enough reason to sell it or trade it in for a newer vehicle, other than I want another new vehicle, because new is always fun. So, instead of purchasing another new vehicle, I decided to upgrade my 2005 Tuscon by putting in a new stereo, alarm system and seat covers. Everything else inside and outside of my car has maintained and is in good condition. My car runs excellent and If I ever decide to sell or trade it in, the person getting it will be getting a great vehicle.

Pros
If you take care of the Hyundai Tuscon as the manual states, the car could last over a lifetime.

Cons
Some of the new technology upgrades which are in newer vehicles are unable to be installed on the 2005 Hyundai Tuscon.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BH
Barbara H.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/20/2018
Great
I love it only wish I could afford a new one or a new used one. Very comfortable to drive or be a passenger. Very roomie in back for package or for traveling. Good on gas and I have not had any problems with my suv until now

Pros
None

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
Reynault M.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/19/2018
Excellent Ride
I really have liked my Tucson, it has held up incredibly well over the years, and I now have over 200,000 miles on it and still running like a top. It has been durable, handles well and has only needed to major repairs to wheel bearings at 150,000 miles and struts at 200,000 miles.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CO
Crystal O.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/18/2018
Reliable
My hyundai, was bought used. It had very low miles, on it at the time. We have properly maintained it, by changing oil regularly. We have put close to 200,000 miles, on it. It never has left me down. In the winter, my 4 wheel drive, has been there. One, of the original reasons, that I bought it. Also, the gas mileage, has been good too. My next vehicle, will also be a hyundai.

Pros
4 wheel drive

Cons
Not much leg room, in rear seats

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FJ
Fonda J.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/16/2018
Great buy
It’s a very reliable car no high maintenance love my Hyundai . It’s a good family car it’s like a mini suv lol I like it sounds like a sewing machine lol but it all I would buy another one in the future

Pros
Runs great on the highway

Cons
On my 2005 I believe I have electrical problem because my lock would lock on its own and sometimes I it wouldn’t start have buy new battery

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LS
Linda S.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/14/2018
Long term Dependability
Our 2005 Hyundai Tucson has been reliable transportation since day one. It has a comfortable if not extraordinary interior with all controls in a logical pattern. All materials have shown good resistance to time and wear with the inside still providing an inviting atmosphere. The 2.7 V6 provides competent and smooth acceleration in all circumstances giving the driver a sense of safety and control. The suspension is a less bright spot, always having felt a little bumpy even after replacing the struts at 100,000. The other big miss is the gas mileage only averaging a meager 20 mpg. Overall though we have enjoyed the unending willingness to start, go and never miss a chance to travel through the city or take an extended highway trip.

Pros
Reliability - Fun to drive - Good cockpit design - Ease of entry/exit

Cons
Gas mileage - Somewhat bumpy suspension

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JK
James K.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/14/2018
We have an older version
We own a 2005 Hyundai Tucson bought in Florida and it has been a wonderful car, few repairs, new tires and oll changes and a few other not expensive repairs all in all it has now 167,000 and runs like a top. We expect to keep 'him' until he wears out and since we are 'older' he may indeed outlive us.

Pros
It is a smaller SUV, but reliable and everything works and it has held up well considering - has not rusted out - still looks good.

Cons
Noisy and not the highest comfort level in the seating but pales in comparison to its track record of reliability and inexpensive upkeep.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 41 - 60 of 175 in total