2005
Hyundai
Tucson

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5rating 4.8
4.8
(166 Reviews)
Latest review 12 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


CP
Carrie P.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/26/2018
worst car ever
I have never had a car that had so many things go wrong with it. We had the spark plugs fouling out at 50,000 miles. We have had to replace the thermostat, water pump, transfer case; the paint starting peeling off at 100,000 miles, the leather seats rip and are poorly made; just to name a few things.

Pros
had leather and a sunroof

Cons
The leather was actually crap and the car gets worked on as much as it stays on the road. The paint is crap.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
Dan M.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
11/14/2016
What do you mean. Not very specific.
Enjoyed car, other than had to replace radiator, air compressor, rack and pinon going to be twice.to much road noise, not very quiet.

Pros
6

Cons
7

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PB
Prakash B.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/28/2018
Reliable car
Good and feel secure to drive Tucson always.
I have been driving this car more then now 3 year and I still keep it even k recently bought KIA Car but it’s my pleaser Car when I go with my kids outside as it is bigger and stronger midsize SUV.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

IG
Ismael G.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/28/2018
Good but...
Painted radio knobs peeled off in less than 2 years. Leather driver seat cracked and torn in less than 3 years. Now the actuator for the driver’s door not working, locking and unlocking has to be done manually. Trunk lock not working.

Pros
The 4x4 is good.

Cons
Painted radio knobs peeled off in less than 2 years. Leather seat on driver seat cracked and torn in less than 3 years.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HO
Helene O.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
11/09/2018
Replacement Car Keeps Me In Business
Bought this car in September 2018 as a replacement for my 2007 Sonata--four breakdowns in a month, and the last having to do with the engine. My mechanic had this car on sale at his workplace. Found I liked riding high and the Tuscon is easy to handle. Trunk area and one seat folded flat gives me as much room needed as the trunk space in the Sonata. Good pickup in traffic, great headroom, fairly decent gas mileage, and no body damage. Poor points are no inside vanity mirror, noisy cabin, and the fuel gradations are so tiny that amount is difficult to gauge. "Consumer Reports for 2011", said it was one of the cars with the least amount of repairs overall.

Pros
Easy to handle
Great headroom
Moderate gas mileage for size
Quick pickup--4 cylinder

Cons
No inside vanity mirror
Noisy cabin
Fuel gradations difficult to asses
Dated controls, but the car is 2005.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KY
Kwok Y.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/16/2016
noise
this car are great only problem is that it get kind of noise
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BS
Bill S.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/27/2016
05 Tucson
Great car for dependability for over 10 years then it needed LOTS of work
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CW
Carolyn W.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/22/2017
Simply a Great SUV
Great mileage: I can drive close to 200 miles on a full tank of gas before needing another fill up. Smooth ride. Easy handling: doesn't feel heavy to drive at all. Very roomy without having the look or feel of a large SUV. Very sturdy: I've used my vehicle to move small to medium items and it performed like a champ. Looks good and performs well. I have an early model (2005) so it didn't come with a lot of bells and whistles like the later models and the interior is pretty standard. However, I love the exterior look of it.The only drawback is maintenance gets a little expensive once the warranty is up.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JF
James F.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/22/2017
Dependable but inefficient
Overall dependable, but low mpg (20) for a small car

Pros
Agile

Cons
Poor gas milage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ML
Mike L.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/09/2017
A tough little car
I am working to break the 200,000 mile. I feel confident that the car will make it with the help of the Hyundai people on my side

Pros
The heated seats

Cons
Air conditioner has not been as reliable as it should have

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MZ
Mark Z.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/14/2017
2005 tucson
Vehicle bought brand new love most of the features in and out.

Pros
Fun to drive.

Cons
Underchases knocking noise maybe from gaskets or bushings, since this is thier first SUV out in the US.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
Ceasar S.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/14/2017
Great Car
This car has been trouble free. It is reliable and we have enjoyed driving it.

Pros
Is mechanically reliable and fairly easy to service, therefore keeping ownership cost down.

Cons
It is a bit noisy on the highway - a solvable problem. And It has always had a slight stirring anomaly - it tends to have a bit of resistant force when stirring in one direction over the other.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TB
Theres B.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/22/2018
2005 Hyundai Tuscon White with some black trim
Bought in 2017 with 122,000 miles from nice family on CL.
Service $200 costs 14 months with under 5000 miles include:
Cleaned airflow sensor, new battery, Hyundai reset seat belt light, oil change, add gallon coolant.
I am very happy with the look and performance.

Pros
Heated Seats!

Cons
Used! The leather interior is showing some wear after 12 years.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ER
Edwards R.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/21/2018
Tucson review
Very sturdy vehicle but exhibits weakness in the links.
Vehicle could be a bit more spacious in the rear seat.
Needs better audio system.
Weakness in the driver door elbow rest.
Astray could be designed differently; too close to the gear shift.

Pros
Very reliable.
Feels firm once the suspension is in order.

Cons
Weakness in the suspension

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ZD
Zandra D.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/29/2018
Suv
The 05 suv is a good truck and runs well but I won’t be buying the new model because there are too small and I don’t like the body style therefore I will be looking some place else also this is my second automobile from your company so until the style change I must leave.

Pros
It’s runs well

Cons
Don’t like the new Models so that is the only reason I wouldn’t buy another Hyundai SUV the new models are too small and they’re not appealing to me

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SC
Steven C.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/01/2018
2005 Tucson
I have had this car for 13 years. But because of the service I will be looking else where for a new cari I am presently in the market for a new car. Need to find a reliable dealership as far as service goes

Pros
Easy handling and reliable 2005 and very reliable

Cons
No cons

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LS
Linda S.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/14/2018
Long term Dependability
Our 2005 Hyundai Tucson has been reliable transportation since day one. It has a comfortable if not extraordinary interior with all controls in a logical pattern. All materials have shown good resistance to time and wear with the inside still providing an inviting atmosphere. The 2.7 V6 provides competent and smooth acceleration in all circumstances giving the driver a sense of safety and control. The suspension is a less bright spot, always having felt a little bumpy even after replacing the struts at 100,000. The other big miss is the gas mileage only averaging a meager 20 mpg. Overall though we have enjoyed the unending willingness to start, go and never miss a chance to travel through the city or take an extended highway trip.

Pros
Reliability - Fun to drive - Good cockpit design - Ease of entry/exit

Cons
Gas mileage - Somewhat bumpy suspension

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FJ
Fonda J.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/16/2018
Great buy
It’s a very reliable car no high maintenance love my Hyundai . It’s a good family car it’s like a mini suv lol I like it sounds like a sewing machine lol but it all I would buy another one in the future

Pros
Runs great on the highway

Cons
On my 2005 I believe I have electrical problem because my lock would lock on its own and sometimes I it wouldn’t start have buy new battery

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Sheila S.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/20/2018
Great vehicle
Love my Hyundai Tucson!! Sporty and fun!! It's been an awesome vehicle and I would recommend this vehicle to anyone!!! Dahl Hyundai is there for the consumer and is willing to go the extra mile to get the consumer exactly what he or she wants!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CW
Carolyn W.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/31/2018
2005 Best Tucson Year
I love my "Baby Blue" Tucson! My Tucson is just the right size for me, not too big/small, it drives well and gets very good gas mileage. The backseat and trunk space is excellent and the exterior design is better than the newer models to me. Great value for the money.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 166 in total