2005
Hyundai
Tucson

Overall Rating 4.79/5Overall Rating 4.79/5Overall Rating 4.79/5Overall Rating 4.79/5rating 4.79
4.8
(168 Reviews)
Latest review 9 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

MH
MARK H.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/11/2019
Tuscon at 200,000 miles
This appears to be a really well put together vehicle. I have the v6 and I'm concerned about the mileage as I'm getting just over 21 mpg with 2WD. The engine is tuned, brakes aren't dragging and the tires are new. Other than that I love it. I'm in Ohio and a lot of vehicles are already rusting out but no sign of rust here. It drives great, is quieter than my Cadillac and has lots of room for tools and people. Hope to make half a million miles.

Pros
seating position (view over the hood and around), quietness of the ride

Cons
poor fuel economy, armrest is too low.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Johnson M.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/02/2019
My personal SUNDAY
My Tucson is like one of the kids. It has been with me through the good times and the bad times. I want to thank the Hyundai corporation for making this awesome vehicle that I hope to keep in the family for a very long time. Great job!!

Pros
Awesome

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BN
Bruce N.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/22/2019
Great little suv
This is a great car I have owned it since new in 05. Everything on this car still works great. It goes every where summer or winter. Body still looks great. I just love this car. The v6 is a strong running beast.

Pros
Everything about this car is a pro..Would purchase again

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CR
Cheryl R.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/19/2019
💘it
This is by far the best purchase I made from Hyundai. I've had two other cars from this dealer, I love their vehicles. I wouldn't dare buy anything else. I don't like the new tucson, no detailing everything is all one piece. No fuel exhaust like mine. Don't like the new tail lights has no character. The 2005 tucson was by far the best one made.

Pros
I love the protected doors bumper pads. They don't offer these on the new suvs'.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
James D.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/14/2019
2005 Tuscon still running like new!
By having Winn Hyundai take care of my car for every need I have, I have no doubt the car will be going in great condition for a really long time.
The Tuscon is a great car, and I am a happy owner.
Thank you Hyundai, and thank you to the service department at Winn Hyundai!

Pros
It's got lots of storage for a small suv.

Cons
The gas mileage is not great.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

L
Linda .
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/12/2019
2005 Tucson GLS V6 4WD
I have been very happy with my Hyundai Tucson and have driven it across country twice. I’ve been to California, North Dakota and Atlanta Georgia and all those states in between. 165,000 miles and still going strong. The gas mileage is really good too.
I have to say I’ve used my Tucson for working, camping and traveling and it has been ideal for each of those uses. I’ve owned many cars and trucks and this is as good as any of those except when I needed to bring home my riding mower.
To sum it up, I love it.

Pros
Versatile, good on gas and dependable

Cons
No truck bed.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LP
Lori P.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/28/2019
Still going strong
My dealership, Antwerpen in Clarksville, Md, keeps it in shape. I have been driving this car for 14+ years and never had a real issue with it. It has some of the first safety features available and I took a chance in 2005 with this new model. It's paid off. I am really happy with this car.

Pros
Reliable, safe, easy to drive. It is comfortable. I love it.

Cons
Low gas mileage and lack of newer features which are standard today. The car is 14 years old, so it's not really a complaint. It has served me well and I plan to drive it several more years. I bought in the first model year- it has had several updates since. (It actually has a tape deck....!!)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JP
Jeanette P.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/04/2019
My Tucson
I have decided this is the last car I will ever buy and it has served me very well. It is 14 years old and I am still pleased with it.. I have had this car since 08 and consider myself "that little old lady from Carson City" who has gotten a lot of use out of it.,
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PB
Powell B.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/13/2019
2005 Tuscan manual tranmission
I've driven a stick for most of my adult life. My last five cars have been manual transmission vehicles. I wanted a small SUV with a manual transmission. I live in Brooklyn. There aren't many manual SUVs in this town. In 2009 I bought this car from a guy who moved to NYC from New Mexico (where stick shifts are plenty). His wife didn't want to drive a stick, so he sold it to me at a bargain price. I love driving this car. I'm a very independent filmmaker. I sometimes sell stuff at flea markets. I lug big canisters of movie film to film festivals. And my wife & I shop big. This car is perfect for us. We've had to change the clutch twice in 14 years. Not bad. The worst problem was an electrical problem the dealership service dept in Brooklyn took care of. I can honestly say I am close to loving this car.

Pros
Fun to drive. Maneuverable. Fast. Small, easy to park in Brooklyn or Manhattan. 5 speed manual transmission. Height is perfect. Sufficient cargo space.

Cons
Small glove compartment. Could use armrest for right arm. Center console rubs up against mt right knee, makes driving long distances very uncomfortable. Pads on the foot pedals keep falling off.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

YJ
Yvette J.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/30/2019
I love my Hyundai Tucson
I love my Hyundai, I'm starting to see a lot of people driving Hyundai more than other name brand cars and trucks. I can't wait to get another one! I won't ever trade the I have for nothing in the world,I love it!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RO
Richard O.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/29/2019
Fifteen years and running strong.
We bought our Tucson 15 years ago and have used Ken Garff Hyundai for all it's service except for tires. So they know the car and it's service history. We bought this car with the thought that we would be keeping this car for a long time and it has not let us down. That is why we just bought a third Hyundai 5 days ago. I know a car dealer does not want to hear that this may be my last new car, but I hope to keep this new car as long!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KW
Ken W.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/27/2019
Best car ever
2005 Tucson 97,000 miles
Love IT!
Held up great over the years
so Comfortable

Love the pickup 6 cylinders
minimum maintance
low oil useagePlenty of storage space
adequate sound system
Hope I get the same value on my next car

Pros
good pick up
leather seats

Cons
safety features were non existant in 2005

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TH
Terry H.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/17/2019
2005 Tucson
This was my first hyundai purchased. It seems you get a lot more from hyundai from the other brands. This car is 13 years old and I have only had one minor problem when the air hose worked lose. I have done all service myseft including a timing belt changes which was not easy. Still runs great and have no plans to get rid of it in the near future as it has been so reliable. I wish it would have got a little closer to the EPA milage but I am still OK with it as it has been so reliable.

Pros
Very Reliable and has been a long lasting car.

Cons
The only con I have is it never can get the EPA rated mileage and I drive very conservative.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VC
Virginia C.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/11/2019
I love it I have had it since 2005
It is a older model , body still looking good it still runs well having some minor repairs done and getting ready to put her back on the road , I hadn't drove her much in the last couple years she has rested enough !!

Pros
It has been a reliable SUV

Cons
Older model

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GP
Geoffrey P.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/28/2019
2005 Tucson
Still running, some parts are now starting to fail, horns, hydrolics for the hatchback, light housing is foggy, (after dealership cleared them up once). Not a bad investment for the money. I may buy another in a few years.

Pros
Very reliable

Cons
V6 power not always there when needed.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CW
Carolyn W.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/31/2019
2005 Best Tucson Year
This model year may not have all the bells and whistles of the newer models but it has all the others beat in quality, service and maintenance. At 103,000+miles still runs like a champ in bad weather.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
Janis D.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/01/2018
Great auto!
I've been very fortunate to find this vehicle. Have owned it since 2011 and purchased it with less than 12000 miles on ti and it has proven to be dependable and trustworthy!
Very happy with it. Still runs fabulously even after being 13 years old!

Pros
Good pick-up (V-6 engine)
Great 4 wheel drive for winter driving.
Comfortable seating for long distance driving.
Roomy interior for hauling large items.
Small enough that you don't feel like you are driving a beast.
Highway mileage good.

Cons
Gas mileage around town could be slightly better.
Getting older now so some of the original parts are needing replaced.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ME
Melanie E.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/27/2018
Love my 2005 tucson!
My car, Charlie, is fabulous. I have had him since 2007. I have some bells and whistles, heated seats, sunroof, 6 cd changer and cassette player, etc. Charlie is not hard or costly to maintain. My recommendation is to invest in a tucson!

Pros
comfortable riding in front and back. has good acceleration with 6-cylinder engine. has lots of cargo room. easy handling. not expensive to maintain.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HO
Helene O.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
11/09/2018
Replacement Car Keeps Me In Business
Bought this car in September 2018 as a replacement for my 2007 Sonata--four breakdowns in a month, and the last having to do with the engine. My mechanic had this car on sale at his workplace. Found I liked riding high and the Tuscon is easy to handle. Trunk area and one seat folded flat gives me as much room needed as the trunk space in the Sonata. Good pickup in traffic, great headroom, fairly decent gas mileage, and no body damage. Poor points are no inside vanity mirror, noisy cabin, and the fuel gradations are so tiny that amount is difficult to gauge. "Consumer Reports for 2011", said it was one of the cars with the least amount of repairs overall.

Pros
Easy to handle
Great headroom
Moderate gas mileage for size
Quick pickup--4 cylinder

Cons
No inside vanity mirror
Noisy cabin
Fuel gradations difficult to asses
Dated controls, but the car is 2005.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CW
Carolyn W.
2005 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/25/2018
2005 Best Tucson Year
The 2005 Tucson is comfortable and just the right size, not too small/large. The build quality is sturdy and it handles even the bumpiest roads well. It has good highway gas mileage and It's basic features performs well. The overall styling, interior/exterior is of good quality. If you keep up the maintenance on the vehicle it's reliability is fantastic! This make and model year of the Tucson is a great value for the money.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 168 in total