2006
Hyundai
Tucson

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(158 Reviews)
Latest review 3 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

JC
JANCE C.
2006 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/14/2020
Great value
This SUV is a quality vehicle. It’s 14 years old so it lacks the features of. Ever cars. But, it’s reliable and has served me well. I have TWICE the number of miles on it than I got out of my Lexus and I’m still driving it. What does that tell you?

Pros
Easy to fold down seat for more trunk room, Heat and air conditioning diction in co trial switches are easy to use and easily accessible, decent back seat room.

Cons
Doesn’t get as good gas mileage as I’d expected.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JJ
Jeffrey J.
2006 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/30/2020
My Tucson keeps on rolling
I’m not so good for new car sales because I’m still driving the 2006 Hyundai Tucson I bought new at Sid Dillon 14 years ago. A few of the normal services, but mainly just tires and wiper blades. 240,000 miles and still going strong.

Pros
240,000 miles. Enough said

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RC
Robert C.
2006 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/30/2020
Love this car!
This is Hyundai #5 in a row. Our first was an 05 Tucson bought new. We also have a 08 Veracruz Limited AWD. When our 05 was totalled in Feb of 2019, I looked for a Limited first gen to replace it. The main reason I like them so much is that the front passenger seat back folds flat forward. This allows you to load 8 ft lumber in the car and close the hatch. For longer lumber, just open the glass hatch. The Limited has leather, auto climate control , 6 disc in-dash changer, 2.7 l V6 and sunroof to name a few. We are sold on Hyundai!

Pros
Many great features, very comfortable. Very fun to drive.

Cons
Mileage could be better, but is on par with small SUVs of this vintage.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LC
Linda C.
2006 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/20/2020
Hyundai Tucson 2006
I really like my car. This the second Hyundai I have owned and yes I would buy another one. Both cars were very reliable, dependable and economical and I had very few problems with either one, as I tried to keep them serviced.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TD
Tee D.
2006 Hyundai Tucson
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/06/2020
Amazing Tucson
Amazing surprise purchase bought off Craigslist in January 2017 and paid great price @ $1,800.. Seller got from auction so I took a big risk. Passed Va State inspection. Great looking SUV. Mileage stated on odometer was inaccurate but acceptable to VA DMV. Alternator replaced by my private mechanic. Needs seat covers but I do like this vehicle. Too bad you won’t be able to say this car was rarely driven by an old lady owner. But it’s true I’m 77 years old but I drive anywhere anytime I am ready. I just blew by you in my 2006 6 cyl Tucson.

Pros
Average maintenance, Nice style. Easy to handle. Lots of space.

Cons
Difficulty viewing out of rear side windows. Trouble backing up and seeing due to design of rear windows.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ML
Martha L.
2006 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/02/2020
2006 Tucson
My 2006 Tucson has just over 100,000 miles on it and is running great. Have never had a major issue with this vehicle. Because of my success with this vehicle I am a lifelong Hyundai devotee and consistently recommend it to others.

Pros
Smooth and quiet operation.
Attractive body style.
Reliable and trouble-free.
Dealer service department is outstanding.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
Jason G.
2006 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/13/2020
Great vehicle
I had a 2006 Hyundai Tucson for almost 12 years never had any issues. I was rear ended and the vehicle was totaled out by insurance. Even after being hit it still ran. This vehicle was great never had anything done except maintenance

Pros
Very reliable drive this in a blizzard when I lived in Illinois

Cons
Poor gas mileage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RK
Robin K.
2006 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/15/2020
My Hyundai Tucson
My 2006 Hyundai Tucson,was my first Hyundai, Purchase. I have been totally pleased with the performance and quality of my Hyundai Tucson. I bought my car new in December 2005 and I still love my car today. Purchasing my Hyundai Tucson, was the best decision I ever made. When it comes time to get a new car I’ll only consider a Hyundai.

Pros
great Design, reliability, safety, and Value

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SW
Stephanie W.
2006 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/19/2019
Terrific Vehicle
I purchased my Tucson Hyundai in 06 with approximately 6,000 miles. She has been a winner ever since! Now 15 years later 2 battery’s and a set of new tires?She has only 72k on her. I have replaced the primary hoses because in older cars they can get brittle and crack. I also replaced the brake pads and rotors last year at Hall Chesapeake and they charged me $1200.00!! A bit much! So Now My favorite Car place is Hall Hyundai and I will keep driving my 06 Tucson as it gets fabulous gas mileage and has lots of room in the interior!

Pros
Great gas mileage and great power when needed. Comfy ride!
Lots of extra space when you fold down the rear compartment and it is very dependable!

Cons
Since it’s an older model it doesn’t have the fancy bells and whistles, but other than that I have n complaints!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TT
Terry T.
2006 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/18/2019
Best Car I've ever owned.
I have loved driving this car since day one. I bought it over another make because of the 10 year warranty. In 13 years all I've had to do is oil changes, replaces tires and batteries, and 2 small inexpensive engine repairs. The paint is the only thing that could have lasted better, but then, it's been parked outside since day one also. It has plenty of power, get up and go when needed. I really do love it, I could buy a new car but would want the same make and model, and they don't make it with 6 cylinders anymore, only 4 cylinders, so I will keep the one I have, maybe get a paint job!

Pros
Reliability

Cons
Paint and Headlights faded

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
JAMES R.
2006 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/17/2019
VERSATIL!!!
Love my Tucson! It can haul about as much stuff as my Ford Ranger pickup did... and out of the rain. THATS BECAUSE THE BACK OF THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT FOLDS ALL THE WAY FORWARD. It allowed me to carry 8-foot landscape timbers diagonally from front to rear. But I think Hyundai changed the seat around 2011 so that it does NOT fold all the way forward in later models. BIG MISTAKE.
Other than that... the only things I DON’T like are the loud sound level, and poor gas mileage as low as 18 mph. But perhaps for a 6-cyl SUV from 2006 it’s the norm.

Pros
Passenger/Cargo versatility.
Ride comfort.
Handling.
Performance. (V-6)
Wide rear door for loading.
Rear door swings up instead of swinging Left or right on hinges and getting in the way.

Cons
HEADLIGHT CLEAR PLASTIC IS A PROBLEM. Yellows and fogs up.
Noise levels of wind and road.
Low gas mileage. (But mine is a V-6)
Feel of braking takes getting used to, but just takes a little time.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GH
GRACE H.
2006 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/23/2019
LOVE This Vehicle!
This vehicle is great! This is my second 2006 Tucson. Both purchased with 120,000 miles on them. First Tucson is still running with 275K miles on it. Current Tucson now has 205K miles. Low maintenance, great in all weather, very comfortable, great size, handles wonderfully. These vehicles just run and run with minimal repairs needed. I would seriously consider buying another 2006 Tucson in good condition with low (120K or less) mileage!

Cons
Only gets 22mpg.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
Sandra B.
2006 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/20/2019
I love my Hyundai Tucson!
My Hyundai Tucson, is very reliable, and I am very happy with it's total performance. Would highly recommend this type vehicle to all my friends and relatives! Would have no other type of transportation!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SP
Steve P.
2006 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/20/2019
Reliable
Very good vehicle in all climates...........
............................................ ............................. ........ .. . ............................. .............. ...........

Pros
Good in bad snow storms.

Cons
No blue tooth.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FP
Fanny P.
2006 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/15/2019
Fanny
My Tucson is 13 years old and I have loved it since day one. I have never had any major problems with it and it has seen me thru many snow storms. Its comfortable, and starts on a dime. If I had to purchase a new car, it would be another Tucson for me.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ZP
ZAIDA P.
2006 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/14/2019
Best car ever
This is the best car I have ever had. It is all season safe and can handle any road condition. It is a comfortable car to drive. I like the window size which gives great visability all around. When you shut the door you feel like you are in a solidly built vehicle.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
Shirley M.
2006 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/30/2019
Service
Two Hundred words not necessary the service my 2006 Tucson has given me speaks for itself just follow your maintenance schedule and it will serve you well as my 2006 Tucson has for me. Love my Tucson.

Pros
Just a great sport utility dependable just the right size for me.

Cons
Seats need more room to move.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LC
Lee C.
2006 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/23/2019
Awesome little trooper!
Bought it new... original battery lasted ten years! Maintenance has been easy. One thing I have a problem with is fuse for the radio and cigarette lighter, and I have read it is a problem for that year Tucson.

Pros
Tough car!

Cons
Electronic

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HD
HANS D.
2006 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/09/2019
Car Performance
Always liked the Tucson style of that era..
The engine could have been a bit more powerful.
This car is very reliable and gets me to vacation places .
Keep up the maintenance and it will last for a long time.

Pros
Like small SUV and this model

Cons
Would have liked a more powerful engine

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PS
Pralles S.
2006 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/02/2019
Great Vehicle.
I researched vehicles and prices online and decided to purchase my Tucson 2006. I'm the first owner and It has never failed me. I love my Tuscon and will drive it until it has had enough of me. I recommend this vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 158 in total