2008
Hyundai
Tucson

Overall Rating 4.78/5Overall Rating 4.78/5Overall Rating 4.78/5Overall Rating 4.78/5rating 4.78
4.8
(74 Reviews)
Latest review over 4 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


MA
Marjorie A.
2008 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/16/2015
2008 Hyundai Tucson
Love the car, hate the very poor mileage in the city (7 - 10 mph!!!). Also bumper made out of cheap plastic which cracks when you look at it. I would buy another if the bumpers were better constructed. Great ride and no major repairs after 70,000 miles.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
Sharon B.
2008 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/09/2016
?
Overall comfortable auto. Have travelled many miles.

Pros
Comfort

Cons
Poor gas mileage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
Dorothy B.
2008 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/17/2016
Missing Rack
need replacement of Rack
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SP
Sarah P.
2008 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/26/2016
we like our 2008 hyundai tucson
We like our tucson, although wish we had gotten a bigger car for 4 passengers, not 3 in back seat. Drives well, although slightly tippy. Wish mileage were a little better, but not bad on highway. Radio very poor. We did get a new clutch (nyc stick shift driving) and new transmission (under warranty) since not many miles for 8 yr old car. Personally would rather parts you can fix at trusted mechanic rather than locked into dealer. Hyundai selling point of long term warranty is a bit crazy if it means parts wear quickly. Not into throw-away culture. We like the high carriage and many airbags and lots of clear windows.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DF
Dennis F.
2008 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/31/2016
2008 Tucson - ideal for my needs
Overall the 2008 Tucson has performed very well. It has met our needs and we are very happy with it. There is one disappointment and that is that the seat belts all around lock up and you can not operate them to adjust them. Also the seat belts tighten so closely, you can not move or sit in the seat comfortably.

Pros
Good performance for a 4 cyl. Have nearly 100K on it and still going strong.

Cons
There is one disappointment and that is that the seat belts all around lock up and you can not operate them to adjust them. Also the seat belts tighten so closely, you can not move or sit in the seat comfortably.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
Mario H.
2008 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/10/2016
Great car
Since I checked on the car online. I knew I wanted it and it didn't disappoint me. Runs smooth and lots of space.

Pros
Easy to drive.
Lots of room for four people.

Cons
None that I've seen yet.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RG
Richard G.
2008 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/07/2016
2008 Hyndai Tucson
I love this little car, I handles well and parks easily. However, it is a little to light on the highway as the passing truck waves tend to rock it. The only disadvantage I found was the depth of the foot pans below the door sills. This make exiting the vehicle very difficult for older people who have disabilities due to age or injury that make it difficult to lift their legs. In fact I am selling my Tucson because my wife can no longer get in and out of the vehicle without someone to lift her legs. I have another vehicle where the door sills and foot pans are flush to each other.

Pros
Good little utility vehicle. Handles very well in town and rural road ways. Fun to drive.

Cons
Difficult vehicle to to get into and out of for handicapped individuals. A little sensitive to wind ways from passing trucks on interstate and major highways. You need to keep control of the wheel.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LE
Larry E.
2008 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/13/2016
Hyundai Tucson
Nice car for travelling. Gets good gas mileage.

Pros
Very economical as far as gas mileage is concerned. I can usually get very close to 300 miles per tank of gas. I really like the looks of a newer model, but unable to afford at this point.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SA
Sandra A.
2008 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/13/2016
Was worth the investment
Been very pleased with my '08 Tucson. Only drawback as been the heater core. Vehicle has never been in a cold climate yet heater core burned out at 53k; replaced by Hyundai dealer under warranty, then went out again at 74.5k. Thinking was due to faulty service work. Very expensive to replace due to labor. Other than that, the vehicle has had no major repairs beside schedule maintenance.

Pros
Engine power for the size of the vehicle

Cons
Poor gas mileage 18-19 city/21-22 highway bu its 8yrs old

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AK
Anna K.
2008 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/30/2016
the Tucson gives me the space I need, without breaking the bank
all I need for the work I do and the adventures I have

Pros
very comfortable , plenty of space and back seat drops flush with the space in the back so there are no bumps

Cons
could be better on gas, my old Elantra was better with gas

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AM
Andrews M.
2008 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/01/2017
LOVE IT
This outstanding vehicle is perfect for me. Drives well, easy to maintain, and well designed. Plenty of space. My two dogs love it too!!

Pros
Heats up quickly on cold days. I really like the window defoggers that are on the front driver and passenger doors. Roomy, easy to clean, a great looking SUV.

Cons
Wish it had a six CD player and cassette player.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SC
Savina C.
2008 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/29/2017
Tucson
I love my car drive very good all the way to Texas.

Pros
Like the way it feels when I drive.

Cons
Needs a third seat.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BC
BARBARA C.
2008 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/12/2018
10 years later I still love my Tucson
I just recently hit the 100,000 mile mark on my Tucson. While the 10 year 100,000 mile warranty is great and I am sure most people hit 100,000 miles well before 10 years, I did experience an issue with the water pump at 101,548 miles that stranded me on 95 S. I was surprised to learn that the water pump was not replaced nor recommended to be replaced when I had the timing belt replaced at 69,000 miles because it is covered under the 100,000 mile warranty. Other than regular routine maintenance, this car has been excellent and always very reliable. I have taken good care of it and my new mechanic (done with the dealer and their overpriced services) reports the car is still in excellent condition and I would be a fool to trade it in yet. I agree, it sure does feel good not to have that monthly car payment for another couple years!

Pros
I love a company confident enough to back up their vehicles with the 10 year 100,000 miles warranty. Well worth it for the peace of mind I felt as a single woman living alone.

Cons
Be careful and have the water pump replaced when you have the timing belt replaced if your car still has a timing belt. If I had to do it again, I would wait until 90,000 miles to change the timing belt (Hyundai recommendation is every 60,000) and replace the water pump at the same time as most other car manufacturers recommend.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KK
KAREN K.
2008 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/29/2019
I love my Tucson!
I bought my Hyundai Tucson in 2008. My prior car had been a 1996 Ford Escort which I drove for 22 years. I wanted a small SUV so I could see over the traffic (I like to drive "3-4 cars" ahead, if possible). On the other hand, because I wear a brace, I needed a car I could get in and out of without "hopping" into the driver's seat. This Tucson met all my needs and I was able to get it in the color and trim I wanted. Not the best gas mileage, but if I need to/decide to replace this car (mostly to get some of the new defensive driving technology), I'll probably get another Tucson.

Pros
Driver height
Easy to get in and out of
Easy to understand controls
Good horsepower to tackle hills and pass other vehicles
Nice color and style

Cons
Doesn't have the latest safety features (it's a 2008, after all)
Rear visibility could be better
Gas mileage good be better (18/23)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WW
William W.
2008 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/01/2019
The little machine does what’s needed
I love my Tucson ...1998.... it is in excellent condition and has around 55,000 miles. The color, Dessert Sage ( which I believe is no longer offered ) is an awesome color. My Tucson ALWAYS looks clean ... because of the color. I would encourage Hyundai to bring this color back. I have always been given VERY GOOD to EXCELLENT service. I must say ....( my only criticism) too many times I have received an offer to buy my Tucson back..... in due time I will decide my future auto... as well, I understand marketing.....
Regarding the auto itself ... I love the entire machine BUT am very disappointed in the gas mileage I obtain. Around 20 mpg on a trip !!
In town I obtain around 17 mpg.
The auto is a feisty little thing with an excellent ride and handling.

Pros
Color, handling.

Cons
Gas mileage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WW
William W.
2008 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/24/2019
Love it except for miles/gallon
Love the color “ Desert Sage “ ... does not show dust and dirt. I don’t think they offer that color now. Everyone comments how clean the car looks. My biggest disappointment is gas mileage .... on a trip, if I get 20 I am surprised. Around town I get around 17.
Handles well, quiet, I have almost 60,000 mikes and all seem well.

Pros
Handles well

Cons
Poor gas mileage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NH
Nancy H.
2008 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/02/2015
Hyundai 2008 Tucson
Best car I have ever driven. Comfortable, easy to drive, heavy, easy to get in and out, Bumpers very strong material.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DH
DAVID H.
2008 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/24/2015
Great car
I bought this Tuscon new in 2008 for my wife and she loves it. It now has 111,000 miles it still looks good, drives good, and performs well.

Pros
Looks and performs great. Is very reliable. Still is tight and does not rattle.

Cons
Has a timing belt that must be replaced every 60,000 mi. Needs more sound insulation in the storage part to cut the the road noise.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WH
Wendell H.
2008 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/30/2015
Better than my Caddy
My '08 Tucson is a great little car. It rides better than my '95 Seville did. It only has 24,000 miles with only oil changes and a battery at 5 years. Scheduled maintenance has been less than $18.00 a month since we purchased it new.

Pros
After shopping around, the Tucson has more features for less money than the competition and the only one with 4 wheel disc brakes

Cons
Can't think of a thing

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
MICHAEL B.
2008 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/28/2015
2008 hyundai tucson
I have owned this suv for almost 8 years. Love it.

Pros
reliability

Cons
old styling

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 74 in total