2012
Hyundai
Tucson

Overall Rating 4.68/5Overall Rating 4.68/5Overall Rating 4.68/5Overall Rating 4.68/5rating 4.68
4.7
(572 Reviews)
Latest review 9 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

CN
Carol N.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/03/2019
Great Car
I have had my Tuscon sine 2012. It has been great and required only routine upkeep service. it's nice riding. and its just my size. its easy to manuever. I have enjoyed my Tuscon. its definitely the car for me.

Pros
Everything about the car

Cons
it took a little getting used to driving a little smaller care

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CT
Christina T.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
12/02/2019
I used to love my vehicle
Overall the Tucson is a reliable vehicle- good on gas, the heat and ac work really well, vehicle has bluetooth that works most of the time, heated front seats. The tire pressure light is EXTREMELY sensitive especially in the winter time. I've had to get my tire pressure light fixed 1-2 times a week because the light comes on almost everyday. The brakes on this car also "stick" in wet weather. When I initially purchased the vehicle the brakes were "sticky" and I've since had the brakes replaced and the issue persist. I've spoken to multiple Hyundai service associates about it and after a thorough vehicle check they've all reported there's nothing "wrong" with the brakes they just "stick". This can be frustrating when driving in inclement weather. On a brighter note, the oil changes aren't too expensive and this vehicle doesn't require much maintenance which is helpful.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GC
Greg C.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/18/2019
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Love this vehicle, I have driven 200K+ miles, fantastic!!! Has a very comfortable interior and ride, and very economical to operate. Hyundai stand by their products and the 100K mile warranty shows me the confidence they have in their Cars.

Pros
Love this vehicle, can't beat the value!!!

Cons
My only complaint is they don't offer a 6 cylinder engine.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AF
Anita F.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/11/2019
Hyundai Tucson 3012
Except for the ghastly air conditioning, and blind spots (my granddaughter says that's because I am too short), this vehicle has been great. Very reliable and economical and safe. I like the way it handles and the brakes are awesome.

Pros
Ease of steering, economy, safety.

Cons
Lousy air conditioning!!!!! Blind spots if the driver is short.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
Shelia M.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/08/2019
Hyundai Tucson
I had always wanted a Toyota Rav 4. When I sat in it and test drove it, it didn't fill like the right fit for me. So, when I tried the Hyundai Tucson, it felt just right. I had it for 2 years now and it's my best purchase ever.

Pros
Smooth ride

Cons
Blind spot rear window

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AD
Arleta D.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
11/07/2019
Tucson 2012
For the most part I have really enjoyed my Tucson. It drives and handles great. And it looks great. I am only dissatisfied with the blind spots. Very hard to see in the rear for changing lanes or turning. This feels unsafe for me. I also wish mine had the rear view camera! I am 73 years of age and I need these safety devices. I just want to feel safe in my car and I probably will not be able to purchase a new one.

Pros
Nice car most all around.

Cons
Except the blind spots make it hard for me to be safe. Why didn’t someone test drive it first?

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DK
Doris K.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/03/2019
love it - wish the trunk had auto close
when I had my previous vehicle I had my eye on the Tucson ad said that would be my next vehicle. I got rear ended and my previous car was totaled so I went shopping for my Tucson and found one well maintained with very low mileage and all the extras.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SL
Sandy L.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/26/2019
SUV
I absolutely love my Hyundai Tucson. Best vehicle I have owned. Have no problem getting around in the winter months. Easy to drive & very comfortable. My only change would b to have a back up camera but love everything else about it.

Pros
Love the all wheel drive.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KH
Krista H.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/26/2019
Great for family but no cargo room
I opted for the spacious back seat for ease of having child in carseat and seats that are comfortable. The bells and whistles are great and sunroof and moonroof make it great for lighting and extra air. The cargo space is lacking! It has much to be desired for size. Many cars have more cargo space than this does. If I had it to do over it would not have been my top choice due to limited cargo area. If I pack a stroller I have little room for anything more! No cooler, no groceries...etc. It is not as suitable for family trips as I thought it would be. My escape was way better but it appears that gaining extra room for backseat area is taking much away from cargo space. Overall I like my Tuscon as it handles well but doesn't have the power that my previous escape with a v6 did.

Pros
Spacious seating
Good features
Handles well

Cons
Limited cargo space
Carpeting is below average very thin and cheap

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
Johnny C.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/24/2019
Tuson
I love driving my Hyundai Tucson. As a crossover, the size is perfect, not as small as a sedan and not as large as an SUV. The trunk height is perfect, since I can just position my items straight into the trunk. The seat backs move forward so I have been able to fit a large amount of things into the car, including long poles, Christmas tree, skis, and some oddly shaped items. I feel very safe in the Tucson. It is very sturdy, never wavers, and drives consistently. I do not have engine problems, but I maintain my car well at my Hyundai service station. The gas and brake pedals are consistent and work smoothly. The seats can be positioned perfectly for my back. I am able to keep the car clean on the inside. It has just the right amount of pockets and the glove compartment fits what I need. I use the center front container between the seats all the time. I put in one of those purse organizers and everything is accessible right away. The dashboard is very clear and has never made me confused. I use the Bluetooth connection and the buttons on the steering wheel all the time - mute, volume control, Audio instructions. I do not have to turn off my headlights when I get out of the car, since it automatically turns off when I click to lock the car. This way I never forget to turn on the headlights in bad weather or at night. I can easily control the speed of the windshield wipers, speeding it up a little or slowing it down a little, as the weather changes. In the wind, the car feels sturdy.

Pros
Suitable for me and wife

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TD
Tabitha D.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
10/23/2019
Wish I could give a 1/2 star
Maintenance is done religiously on this car because of the fact that its my car that i transport my kids in. I bought it brand new paid cash. 6 years old.

87k miles the engine blew caused a bunch of damage and 3 weeks to repair.

100.1k miles AC system went out to the tune of 1350.00

168k miles transmission died 3.8 miles after the dealership provided service and said all was good ex rear brakes and 1 belt.

Window controls were going out at 40k miles had that repaired.
Weather stripping was falling apart by 90k miles had that repaired.

Just not worth the money.

No rear ac and the ac isn't powerful enough to cool the rear down quickly
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PR
Patricia R.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/22/2019
Love my car!
I love my Hyundai. It is the perfect amount of room for my family. I love the style and the color. And it is perfect size vehicle for me too. This is our family car and we could not be more satisfied.

Pros
I love the color and the size. It is quiet and reliable.

Cons
Could use a little more leg room in the back. Also my CD player is acting up. Not sure if that is just because it is older or there is a known issue.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
Deborah S.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/21/2019
Great vehicle
Great vehicle for the mountains of Vermont. Great gas mileage @ 28 mpg approx. Easy maintenance. Love the heated front seats. Good vehicle for carrying groceries, dogs and travel. Dependable vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PD
Peter D.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/18/2019
Happy with 2012 Tucson
I like the vehicle and would definitely consider another Tucson or Hyundai in general. I even recommended the brand to my brother who wound up buying a new Sonata. The company always tries to evolve its products. Only thing is that I would prefer a needle gas and temp. gauge.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Michelle B.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/15/2019
Hyundai Tucson - Chai Bronze
I love my Tucson! The quality throughout the vehicle is clear. It’s a beautiful color and it drives so well. My parents have a Tucson and my brother has a Santa Fe. Everything I’ve heard about Hyundai is good!

Pros
It doesn’t show dirt or water spots, great trunk space, love the digital blue dash lights

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GV
Gerald V.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/11/2019
We enjoy driving our car
The biggest complaint is the odor in the car from the first day we bought it. Can't remove the fishy smell for some reason. Even with new cabin filters. Never did get the MPG it was rated at. Why do we need to have a minimum of 200 characters????
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EB
Eva B.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/08/2019
My Tucson
I love it. Its economical and fits my kids plus nephews in there. I haven't had any issues with it. There was a recall on it but Hyundai took care of it and now she is a happy camper. It took me a while to find her and she was worth the wait.

Pros
Beautiful Inside and outside. Fuel efficient. Roomy but compact at the same time.
Sporty but classy looking.

Cons
Blue tooth touch screen not available in this year.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AB
Anna B.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/04/2019
Love my Hyundai Tucson
Love my Tucson. I have had no problems with my Tucson. With regular maintenance she has been great. I get great gas mileage, comfortable seating and plenty of storage. The Tucson is very reliable and stylish. I’m very happy with my Tucson and would definitely buy again. Very pleased customer.

Pros
Great gas mileage

Cons
Nothing

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JJ
Judith J.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/04/2019
2012 Hyundai Tuscon
I have enjoyed my Tucson since buyingit in 9/2011 with regular service and miminal complaints. The only issue, I wished they had required cameras in earlier years for backing out as a safety measure. I would feel more comfortable and at ease. So far, it has held up well.

Pros
Reliability, 10 year warranty

Cons
No rear camera (poor visibility)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BM
Betty M.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/02/2019
Tuscon
Love it. Drives great. Holds a lot of stuff. Works great when I have my niece with her car seat. Love the color. Drives like an SUV but nor too large so easy to drive. Would love to have more automated things like backup camera etc.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 572 in total