2012
Hyundai
Tucson

Overall Rating 4.68/5Overall Rating 4.68/5Overall Rating 4.68/5Overall Rating 4.68/5rating 4.68
4.7
(569 Reviews)
Latest review over 1 year ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

EJ
Edwin J.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/22/2018
2012 Tucson
Not as comfortable as my Santa Fe or as large. Better mileage on highway of about 25 mpg. I like automatic headlights which my model does not have. I will buy this option next time. Love the heated seats. I enstalled remote start and love not having to go out and start my car in winter. If was an inexpensive upgrade. Like the handsfree phone. Have big friends and there is plenty of legroom in back seat. Looks great. Super visibility Great price for the things that come with the car. Santa Fe was much more expensive and less milage..

Pros
cost, comfort, looks

Cons
no automatic lights

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BR
Barbara R.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/19/2018
My Family's Fourth Hyundai
Since Hyundai first introduced the Santa Fe, my family has owned 3, with our last car being the 2012 Tucson. We have always loved the style, comfort and performance and although the Tucson is slightly smaller than the Santa Fe, it's just the right size, with plenty of head room, cargo space and a smooth comfortable ride. A wise decision for sure!

Pros
No complaints on my end.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DV
David V.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/17/2018
2012 hyundai tucson
It's the best little SUV I've ever driven! It handles and drives great in the snow. I have AWD Hyundai and I will buy AWD Hyundai again when the time is right. I'm looking at the Santa Fe 3 row now.

Pros
Great size, small but yet room enough for tall person. handles great in bad weather, 2.4 engine, ECO , AWD, plenty of places for drinks considering the size, lots of cargo space, 3 outlets for chargers, USB outlet. It's just a great sized SUV for the money and looks great too!

Cons
suspension is not like on an BMW, but you're not paying the price either. Doesn't have a lot of features like back up camera or navigation. I didn't buy it for those features anyway! I use my self when driving.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RJ
Rebecca J.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/14/2018
Love my Tucson
My 2012 Tucson was my very first new car and I love it! I have not had one issue with my Tucson but I do take in for service regularly and just recently passed the 100k mark. If I have to buy a new car I would serious think about getting another Tucson. It is big enough to handle all the shopping I love to do but small enough that I don't have to worry about the cost of gas. Love my tucson!!

Pros
I love the design and the features as well as the reliability.

Cons
Would like to see even better gas mileage.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AT
Alicia T.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/09/2018
Surprise! Surprise!
This car was more than expected. It hugs the road, turns on a dime and was able to get 91000 miles out of the tires that came with this car. The 100,000 powertrain warranty did come in hand very recently. Thank goodness. I plan on getting another Hyundai, not to soon. This car still has a lot of driving to do
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DF
Diane F.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/06/2018
2012 Tucson
I love this car, it’s the best car I have ever owned. I plan to buy another model in the future and from the dam dealership, they have the best service and make you feel valued. Tucson has ran very well on long trips and has plenty of leg room for passengers

Pros
Can lock into awd to get through snow
Fun to drive
Can carry things from home improvement store with ease.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
Debbie M.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/06/2018
Luv my Tucson!
Dependable vehicle and I luv my pearl/blue color. The Tucson is roomy and the maintenance is relatively inexpensive and infrequent...The dealership/ service center at Joseph Airport Hyundai is great and always helpful.

Pros
Roomy

Cons
Floor mats come up at times

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KM
Kathleen M.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/05/2018
Didn’t Want to Buy This Car!
My granddaughter had an ‘08 Tucson and I loved it! Came in to buy an 08 and left with my ‘12! Hated it for the first 6 months! Love it now. Handles well.Great on gas. I’m a crabby old lady and I hate the cold! The heater is wonderful and quick! It’s very easy to keep clean. I’m short and the dash and seat configuration are comfortable. Love the door pockets,the eyeglass holder and cup holders Haven’t had one problem mechanically. And it’s the perfect size.

Pros
Good gas mileage. Comfortable interior. Good size.

Cons
Blind spot where the windshield joins the door frame. The sun visors are too small.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RH
Randy H.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/27/2018
Great
Is just a great car and I love everything about it I think it's two good running vehicle has beautiful color interior is leather seats and warm seats that automatically warm up the car good good control and everything

Pros
Over all great

Cons
Na

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BC
Betty C.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/25/2018
6 years happy
I have had very few cars that I was still happy on the sixth year as I was the first. I drive long distance during the week and some weekends. I have no regrets with choice. The stud on has been great in all kinds of weather. I live in the mountains so we get it all and I always get to my destination with no problems.

Pros
My car is an limited AWD. I have the most features offered in 2012. I like them all Great handling in all weather conditions

Cons
A couple blind spots that could be better. You m short so that may be a factor.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
Robert B.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/24/2018
Engine failure
I was on way to the Hyundai service center for a scheduled oil change when my 2012 Tuscon made a rattling sound from under the hood and came to an abrupt stop. Once my car was in the shop, within a few hours, it was determined that the engine had failed internally. I was told at that time all paperwork had been submitted and a new engine had been approved at no cost to me and they offered a free loaner car. Burlington Hyundai City’s service handled everything and my car was completed in four(4) days. That’s service and that’s a car manufacturer who stands behind their product.

Pros
Excellent gas mileage 28 around town and 32-33 highway
Interior flexible in design for your sports activity and yet stylish enough for a night out

Cons
Stiffer ride but still comfortable.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AH
Annie H.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/23/2018
I love my Tucson!
I bought my Tucson over 6 years ago and I still love it. The ride is smooth and it is comfortable both in the front and back seats. Plenty of trunk space too. I don't mind being the driver on long trips since it is fun to drive.

Pros
I love this car! I've had it for over 6 years and I'm still very happy with it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RC
Rhonda C.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/19/2018
...
....................................................................................................................................................................
...........
.......................

Pros
....

Cons
.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AE
Angelique E.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/18/2018
Six Years and Going Strong
I bought my car six years ago. This Tucson is amazing! I sit in comfortable pleasure every day. I have even used it for road trips from Texas to Florida and back to Texas again. The service department has always kept my vehicle up to and running properly. Their diagnostics has never steered me wrong. When I am in need of another vehicle i will definitely buy another Hyundai.

Pros
Road correction on slippery roads
Easy maneuvering on tight turns
Comfortable seating
Roomy back seating
Large trunk space

Cons
Blind spots are different compared to my last vehicle.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DA
Denise A.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/17/2018
Best car I've ever had
My first SUV and I love it. Perfect size. Went on vacation to Pennsylvania and the ride was smooth and comfortable. Very reliable as well.

GREAT ON GAS

The only thing I would change is the seat belts. The don't retract and get caught in the door

Pros
Perfect size
Smooth ride
Easy to handle
Excellent gas mileage

Cons
Seat belts don't retract and get caught in door.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
Louise M.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/16/2018
Me and my Tucson.
I feel very safe every time I get in my car. I have yet to have any major problems also. I like the way it looks and the body style is just perfect for my lifestyle. I can haul just about anything-and I have hauled plenty of things. Never regretted buying my Tucson.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SA
Susan A.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/15/2018
Perfect size car for my busy life!
Whether I'm driving alone, with family or with my dogs, I'm always in perfect comfort in my Hyundai Tucson. I'm a shorter person and it's hard to find a car I can see over the wheel. The Hyundai's driver's seat "pumps" up to exactly where I need it. It's really just the perfect size for me. I really like that I sit a little higher in a car that's not too big, yet not too small. I can load up dog food and groceries and still have room for passengers. We've traveled to other states and had plenty of room for luggage and several souvenirs! I would recommend this car to anyone that needs an overall great car.

Pros
Lots of room - Back seats fold down - Drivers seat moves up and down - Easy to drive - Easy to adjust to different persons heights

Cons
Wish I had internal GPS - Wish I had gotten more internal options

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CP
Caryl P.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/13/2018
Love My Tucson!
I have a 2012 edition with all the bells and whistles. It is fun to drive, attractive, and reliable. It is large enough to transport things and small enough to be easy to park. The warranty is really good. I would buy it again!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AD
Anthony D.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/13/2018
Hyundai Tucson 2012, FWD
I bought the vehicle about a year ago. The handling is superb, like a German auto, very precise and I feel very confident driving it. Brakes and gas mileage are excellent as well. The vehicle is comfortable on a long trip and the inside noise is low. Some issues with the car are that it could have a little more power (2.4L - 170 HP approx.) and I experience some surging with the ECO feature turned on, but accept that is just part of a "drive by wire" system instead of a throttle cable linkage. Lastly, the radio sounds good, but the radio station reception quality is poor. I would definitely work to improve this, given the other things done well on the vehicle. Lastly, the transmission could be a little more decisive when choosing a gear. It does shift very smoothly.

Pros
The handling is superb, like a German auto, very precise and I feel very confident driving it. Brakes and gas mileage are excellent as well. The vehicle is comfortable on a long trip and the inside noise is low. Shifts smoothly. Air conditioning and heat are excellent and work very well to maintain visibility and comfort.

Cons
Some issues with the car are that it could have a little more power (2.4L - 170 HP approx.) and I experience some surging with the ECO feature turned on, but accept that is just part of a "drive by wire" system instead of a throttle cable linkage. The radio sounds good, but the radio station reception quality is poor. I would definitely work to improve this, given the other things done well on the vehicle. Lastly, the transmission could be a little more decisive when choosing a gear.
Service bulletin on that year's engine - potential rod bearing issues long term due to a factory manufacturing problem where machining debris was not all cleaned off the crankshaft. I have had no problems to date on this vehicle.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EN
Edwardo N.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/13/2018
TUCSON REVIEW
I have to admit the Tucson was not my first choice, but It felt nice when i first purchased my new SUV. I've taken it on a few trips and the handling and steering felt great and seemed to do quite well the first few years. It's not until after the five year mark that you start to notice the toll of the wear and tear the veichle takes on. I really wish this car was one of those that lasts, sadly I feel as the older the car gets the more problems I'm starting to get. It seems it's more better to trade after you've paid off you car because major or expensive parts start to give way even if you keep up with regular maintenance. I've driven cars way longer needing less care. It eould be nice if the tuscon was more comfortable after long rides as well.

Pros
Style and handling

Cons
Parts and coverage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 181 - 200 of 569 in total