2012
Hyundai
Tucson

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5rating 4.7
4.7
(560 Reviews)
Latest review 7 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

GC
Gregory C.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/02/2019
Best car ever!
I purchased a new Hyundai Tucson in 2012 and my wife and I have loved it. We purchased an AWD with satellite radio and all leather interior with heated seats. We have put more than 97,000 miles on this great car without a single issue or cost other than gas and oil changes. Remarkable to say the least. Plenty of room inside and confy seats, the back seats fold down and expose a huge cargo bay for hauling large items home from Costco. Snow, no problem. I keep a set of cable chains in the back but have never had to put them on. I lock in the AWD and keep on going, over the snowy pass without a worry. I even placed three large car seats for my grand kids across the back seats during a snow storm to get them home, and they fit. There is nothing that this gem of a car can't seem to do. I keep my BMW in the garage and we use the Tucson as our daily driver and hauler.

Pros
Safe, reliable, comfortable and worry free with a 100,000 mile warranty!

Cons
Original tires were loud so I replaced them with a Goodyear soft and quiet brand. Did the trick.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
Rochelle M.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/31/2019
Beautiful car experience
Beautiful car. Just the right size. Dependable. Economical. Beautiful performance. Second Hyundai and hope to stay in the family when I have to say goodbye to this good friend someday - hopefully not soon (although I sure do love the looks of the Hyundai Kona too!)

Cons
Only con is that compared to the ride of a Santa Fe it can be bumpier - that's it - only con.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AG
Anthony G.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/29/2019
LOVE IT!
It just keep going without any problems. 70,000 miles and it's good as new. More wind noise above 50 MPH than other cars I've owned. Gas mileage is good on the highway. The warranty is as good as it gets. Replaced the battery after 5 years and that's been it other than normal maintenance.

Pros
DEPENDABLE & FUN TO DRIVE

Cons
Front Seats could be an 1" or 2" wider. Too much engine noise when accelerating.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AH
Ana H.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/26/2019
Hyundai - Tucson
This is my second Tucson! My first one saved my life! I loved it from day one; very sad when it was totaled in a accident. Bought my second 2012 Tucson, in 2017; I am still getting use to it, it is fancier than my 2006.

Pros
It has a lot of perks: sunroof, rearview camera (love it) & heated seats
Love my color - silver

Cons
I wish I could have bought brand new; too expensive
Not being able to use the 100,000 miles repairs as a second owner
Wish I felt as secured as my 2006; tires on 2012 doesn't give me that comfy. Tires have a rough ride not as smooth as 2006

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MA
Mariam A.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
03/25/2019
2012 Hyundai Tuscon
Wasn’t pleased with time it took to replace an engine under warranty (7 months) only after 45,000 miles. Loved this vehicle at time of purchase, not my first Hyundai. Gas mileage good , ride comfortability good. Body style , color and interior beautiful.

Pros
Comfortable ride. Nice interior,beautiful color, good gas mileage.

Cons
After 45,000 miles a new engine had to be replaced.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SO
Susan O.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/20/2019
2012 Hyundai Tuscon
Issues in the above review. My concern is NOT with the service/technicians, but with overall issues with the vehicle - my last vehicle was a Honda CRV and had ABSOLUTELY no problems with it - just normal maintenance

Pros
Love the looks! Comfortable/handles well. Very sharp

Cons
All kinds of electrical problems - navigation system- backup camera- inhibitor switch- remote. I have been "stranded" several times!! Very embarrassing! Shouldn't be happening with newer vehicle, and same problems keep happening, even after replacement!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
Cathy S.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/17/2019
I love it. What else do I have to say?
I love this car...period. Do not make your online rating so difficult. Except the characters I have typed...…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………...
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MR
Marian R.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/13/2019
Many Happy Miles and more to come!9
I love my Tucson! It has style. It has plenty of cargo room. It's economical to drive. There is nothing bad to say about it. The sales and service team at Hyundai Wesley Chapel are professional, friendly and helpful. I would recommend a Hyundai to anyone who is looking to buy a new or used car.

Pros
I love everything about it!

Cons
None.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SF
Sharon F.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/12/2019
I'll buy another....
I love my 2012 Tuscon and after riding in, and driving my Tuscon, my sister and brother in law purchased a Tuscon and Santa Fe!!!
When I'm ready for a new vehicle I will definitely go with another Hyundai...maybe the upcoming Palisade!!!!!

Pros
Great on road trips..comfy and roomy.
Back seat looks small but is actually pretty roomy.
Gas mileage is awesome.
Handles well when weather is inclement or bright and sunny.

Cons
Need lighting in rear when hatch is opened.
Any cons have been addressed in newer models with all the new features..i.e., GPS, backup screen in reverse, vehicle detection in blind area, or with upgrade packages.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CW
Christie W.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
02/23/2019
Heater is terrible in this 2018 Hyundai Tucson
I am very disappointed in my heater in this car. I had a 2012 and loved it so much I gave it to my daughter and bought another one but unfortunately the heater is terrible. I would not advise anyone to purchase one until this problem has been checked.

Cons
Heater is terrible

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LC
Lisa C.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
02/16/2019
Tucson 2012
Nice car but needed a new motor, new radio, and muffler. I also felt that after car was paid off and i needed a rental, I received a car that smelled and had a musty oder. That was the one time that I didnt feel like a special customer.

Pros
2nd Tucson, nice car reliable

Cons
1st one had no problems. 2nd one had alot of problems, all repairs were covered but stressful.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

IT
Irma T.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/05/2019
Happy Camper
Very impressed that this vehicle has past the test of time. I am still excited about driving it. All quality components. The style is still current--it seams that it has been copied over & over again by different automotive manufacturers..A lot of value for your money. Hyundai knows how to treat their customers!

Pros
Looks Great --Fun to Drive

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CB
Carol B.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/29/2019
Love Hyundai Service
My Hyundai Service Dept is tops! They take such good care of me and my Tucson. Ryan, Mike and Cain are the best!! They even have my Kiwi Green Tucson washed after service. Couldn’t ask for more! Love going there. Sometimes I just stop by for coffee and hugs!😄

Pros
Kiwi Green is an awesome color. Never get tired of it. It’s distinctive and everyone loves it!

Cons
No longer make Kiwi Green Tucson’s!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EM
Edward M.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/28/2019
Tight
Love my 12 Tucson, great turn radius , ride, maneuverability excellent. The only thing that sucks b@ll,is the way Hyundai lied about the MPG and barely giving less than a penny per mile payback..B.S.!

Pros
Turn radius,performance, road hugger

Cons
MPG 3 less than sticker.
Windshield posts too thick

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CW
Candice W.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
01/24/2019
It works
When I purchased this car it was an impulse buy (silly me) but it had what I wanted buy I the factory tires slid in the rain. Radio cuts off , found s blog where I can restart the radio..but who wants to keep doing that. The truck rides rough. Had to get several alignments and only had the car for a year. Not enough cargo space or leg room in the back.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LH
LAURA H.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/20/2019
New Hyundai owner
I traded in my Sorento for this Tucson and I really enjoy this car. It is smaller than what I am used to, it has so many nice features (pros), and it is fun to drive.

However, if there is any con that I can say about this car it is that it does lack power when merging onto a freeway unless you put the gas pedal all the way down. This has been frustrating for me since every car I have owned has had that power I want In order to get out of any sticky situation I might encounter. It may be because of the Eco Drive system, which is good for gas mileage, but It is the reason I cannot give this car 5 stars.

Pros
Good gas mileage, sleek body style, beautiful two-tone leather interior, front seat warmers, GPS, backup camera, Bluetooth connectivity, hands-free calling, Sirius XM radio, sun roof & moon roof, rear view mirror auto dimming, power brakes, power steering, hill assist, back cargo protection mat and privacy cover, and ample front & back leg room.

Cons
Powerless during freeway merging, small middle console, and no steering wheel warmer

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Susan S.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/20/2019
2012 tucson
I really like my Tucson, however, and would probably buy a new one if I could financially. right now I cannot. if I was in the market to buy right now, I might wanna look at the santa fe, just for more leg room for my husband to be more comfortable.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
James W.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/18/2019
GREAT RELIABLE VEHICLE
We have owned our 2012 Hyundai Tucson since it was new so going on 7 years now. It has run like a champ and other than having to replace the tires and the battery we have not had one problem with our Tucson. We have had he serviced regularly as scheduled at Wesley Chapel Hyundai which has helped ensure everything on the Hyundai stayed in tip top shape. Our Tucson has 68,000 trouble free miles and we look forward to another 40,000 trouble free miles and may buy another Tucson in the near future. Our Tucson is a Limited model but we did not get the electronic package with navigation, moon roof and backup camera on it which is the only thing we would have done different as we would love having navigation, backup camera and a moon roof. Maybe next time.

Pros
Very reliable vehicle and great on gas.

Cons
Small cargo area and our model did not have navigation. backup camera or moon roof. The 2012 Limited model not that stylish inside.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
Marsha C.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/08/2019
2012 Hyundai Tuscon Review
See pros and cons. Before this purchase I drove a Toyota Carola for 21 years which got great gas mileage. Hopefully the Hyundai will be as reliable. In comparison to the 2012 Hyundai, I'm a bit disappointed.

Pros
Decent gas mileage, decent comfort, like the bronze color, decent price. So far after 67,000 miles it's been reliable......knock on wood. :)

Cons
Really difficult to see out of for a shorter person (5ft 2in), placement of side mirrors blocks view. Windshield freezes up quickly in cold snowy weather. Interior lacks top quality. 2012 model so there isn't a backup mirror, lane indicator's. I really wish this vehicle had heating/air conditioning vents in the back seat area, and some kind of speaker system (intercom like) to easily carry on conversation between front passengers and back passengers. An automatic cargo door would be great too as it's really difficult for a shorter person to reach to close. Not as good in the snow as I had hoped. Air conditioner could be better.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SV
Sharad V.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/07/2019
Very Reliable Vehicle!
Very Reliable Crossover! Minimal maintenance required & drives great! Styling is still modern after 8 years. Workmanship & build quality is great. Comfortable seating is a +. Safe vehicle if children are onboard.

Pros
Drives great.

Cons
USB cellular phone charger charges very slow.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 61 - 80 of 560 in total