2012
Hyundai
Tucson

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5rating 4.7
4.7
(560 Reviews)
Latest review about 1 year ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

MD
Michael D.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/09/2018
Reliability, Inc.
I have 90,000 miles on my Tucson. I have only replaced the battery and serpentine belt that runs the alternator. I am replacing the spark plugs at this time. This car is a super candidate for anyone looking for a small SUV.

Pros
Reliable

Cons
Because it is an SUV, it can be a little stiff on the ride on bumpy roads.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KM
Kathleen M.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/05/2018
Neat Little Car
Didn’t want to buy this car. Wanted a 2008 Tucson but was shown this 2012 Tucson and it captured my heart. It’s the little things: sunglasses holder,first aid kit and the button down floor mats! Handles really well and gets great gas mileage.

Pros
Good sized car for a 5’2” old lady. Love how high up I sit. Handles without lots of muscle.

Cons
I had to pay for the car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KG
Khadidra G.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/05/2018
My Suave Tucson
I honestly love my Tucson. Its spacious, modern, and great on gas. I've had several cars since I started driving and hands down this is the best. So much I don't let friends or relatives borrow it....

Pros
It's small enough to fit in many parking spaces, family styles SUV where I blend in with soccer parents, yet stand out when I'm with my friends. Durable to hold groceries, liking gear, and construction equipment. I love my Tucson.

Cons
Haven't had issues worth complaining about

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EL
Eizy L.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/23/2018
Almost oerfect
I bought this 2012 Tucson new. It has not given me any problem. I like it very much
The only concern I have is it has not good visibility. This car has given me no problem. It is comfortable for me, it is the type of car I need with space to carry big items, garden supplies , etc in the back of car. It runs well

Cons
Visibility

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EE
Elizabeth E.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/21/2018
The perfect car for us.
This car has been as good as I thought that it would be for the price range that it was.The styling is very sharp contours are very arrow dynamic .It has good gas mileage for this type of engine. I have had very good reliability from this SUV.

Pros
Good gas mileage easy to drive and park.

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
Marilyn W.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/12/2018
Actual customer Marilyn Willhite
I have enjoyed my Tucson and it has been above average in every way. My only complaint is my GPS system died and I think a replacement cost of $4000.00 is outrageous. Needless to say I could not afford to spend that amount of money for a replacement but I sure do miss my GPS, clock, CD player and telephone.

Cons
Defective GPS system and replacement cost outrageous so I live without it!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TH
Teresa H.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/10/2018
Satisfied Owner
I Like the looks and the Quality Overall. Mileage is a Big Factor with Me ! I have had My Tucson for almost 7-years and I still thoroughly enjoy Driving it. We have taken it on Several Road Trips and it never fails to Perform to my satisfaction. My next car will be a Hyundai. Thank You!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TS
Tiffany S.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
09/09/2018
Hyundai Quality
I love Hyundai's and have always been happy with them. This one is letting me down. I have had it in the shop numerous times for repairs. The parts aren't the usual quality. I had to repair my sun roof and I seldom use it (a handful of times). Overall, I will buy another Hyundai, I might wait and not buy the new model until it's been out and people have commented on it before purchasing.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC from Hyundai Motor America responded on 09/10/2018
Allow us to have a further look at your vehicle concerns. A team member will be in touch with you shortly. Thank you. ^cc

RV
Rachael V.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/06/2018
I would not recommend for a family of 3 or more.
I bought this car before I had a child and it was the perfect size but since I’ve had a child I find that there is not enough space and that there is limited air flow to the back seats. I had to by a Noggle (a hose that passes air from the vent to the back seat) to insure my child was staying cool. I wish I would have had the insight to buy a car with air vents in the back or just a regular sedan where air flow is better.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Susan S.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
09/03/2018
2012 Plagued with electrical issues
When I entertained the purchase of The 2012 Tucson. I read reviews from owners warning about its window and door lock electrical issues. I decided to chance it Because of the deal I was offered and I purchased the additional extended warranty. I'm glad I did. Since the 3 years I've owned it the locks and windows have spontaneously stopped working aprx.12 occasions. They stop working then work again after a period of 20mins to sometimes 12hours. The dealership was not able to diagnose problem unless the car was in the shop while the electrical issue was occurring. That never happened. This last issue involved the shifter and radio. Finally it lasted long enough to get the car in the shop. A relay was replaced in the fuse panel. Hopefully this is related to the windows and locks too. All is working now for the time being. Many days and nights worried about vandalism with window stuck in the down position. Thankfully I had the extended warranty.

Pros
Good value

Cons
2012 not a reliable choice

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC from Hyundai Motor America responded on 09/04/2018
Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. A specialist from our Headquarters will be in touch with you to investigate further. ^cc

HM
Holly M.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/02/2018
Tucson
I love my Tucson. It is our second Tucson. I love everything about the car but the poor visibility for backing up and the poor lighting when backing up. Maybe its time for a newer car with the backup cameras.

Pros
Love almost everything about the car but the vision for backing up

Cons
poor back up vision

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EJ
Edward J.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/30/2018
2012 Tucson
I love the 2012 Tuscon that I have owned since buying it new back in 2012. I have had the radio/gps unit replaced twice due to gps address book errors, but other than that the car has been great.
Outside the paint is fantastic and it looks great. Inside with fold-down back seat it can carry a lot. It is under powered but does cruise along.

Pros
looks & reliability

Cons
2012 model, so hopefully any cons have been corrected

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BA
Betty A.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
08/29/2018
This One's a Lemon
Between my husband and myself, we have bought/leased 5 new/used Hyundais. I am sold on Hyundai's durability, comfort, and appearance. But this Tucson is becoming a black hole sucking up my money. Things are going wrong that are not covered by the $3,000 worth of protections I purchased. I don't think this used Tucson was prepped and checked out properly before they sold it to me. I could have bought a newer vehicle with fewer miles on it and still under factory warranty for what I ended up paying for this 2012 Tucson, if the salesman had had my best interests at heart.

Pros
Not many

Cons
I shouldn't have had to finance over $15,000 on a four-year-old, entry-level model Tucson with 70,000 miles on it. The salesman should have steered me to a newer vehicle with fewer miles, instead of pushing me into spending $3,000 on added protection packages which so far have not helped me in the least. And when I had a dead battery of few months ago and called Roadside Assistance, I was told that Roadside Assistance was not available for vehicles with over 70,000 miles! The salesman never told me that! So I was standing outside in the dark, with a dead car, and no one to help me.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC from Hyundai Motor America responded on 08/29/2018
Allow us to have a further look at your vehicle concerns. A team member will be in touch with you shortly. Thank you. ^cc

MF
Maria J F.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/29/2018
Lots of recalls
The Tucson needed a new steering column, was missing the under coating, has seatbelt issues,and the mileage was misrepresented...need I say more. It is not the value I was looking for after all, so I'll go back to the Rav4.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
Mercie W.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/22/2018
The Best SUV
I love this car, smooth drive and the best in gas saving. I will recommend this to any lady out there. It was bought used with very low mileage still run pretty good. Comfortable on long distances, enough space for a long drive.

Pros
Size

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ML
Mary L.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/21/2018
The sunroof is not usable due to wind noise! The door windows are too high to reach an ATM.
I bought the car used and have been happy with it overall the problems that I have with the sunroof, which is one of my favorite features to have in a vehicle. It is too noisy to have open. I love the look of the interior the leather seats are great. I wish the gas mileage was a little better.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FM
Francisco M.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/15/2018
Dependable
My Tucson is very reliable and economical. This is my first Hyundai Tucson purchase. Was skeptical about it but no regrets. It’s spacious despite the size. It’s very deceiving. Looking into purchase another in the next year. Highly recommend it!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BH
Bundu H.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/14/2018
Tucson 2012
Vehicle runs good , cost effective, runs very good, interior still good, only issue is with my remote, sometimes don’t work good, exterior paint loolighting systems is great, wiper blades not too good

Pros
Just comfortable

Cons
Uses more gad

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MR
Marion R.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/12/2018
Tucson satisfaction
My Hyundai Tucson is now seven years old. This is the fourth Hyundai we have owned. I am as satisfied with the Tucson as the day I bought it, for style, performance and dependability. I would not hesitate to buy another when I am ready to purchase a new car.

Pros
I like the style, size and performance. The Tucson has been an
extremely reliable car.

Cons
Ride could be smoother on bumpy roads and we have plenty of them.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Susan S.
2012 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/31/2018
Good for the money
Mechanically sound however electric windows and door locks sporadically stop functions for 10- 15 mins. This has occurred about 10 times in 3yrs. Took it to shop to diagnose but they could not find source. Apparently malfunction has to occur when being diagnosed.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 101 - 120 of 560 in total