2013
Hyundai
Tucson

Overall Rating 4.73/5Overall Rating 4.73/5Overall Rating 4.73/5Overall Rating 4.73/5rating 4.73
4.7
(621 Reviews)
Latest review over 4 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


PP
PATRICK P.
2013 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
rating 0rating 0rating 0rating 0rating 0
04/12/2015
30 YEARS OF HYUNDAI'S
OWNING A HYUNDAI TUCSON (MY SECOND) HAS BEEN A GREAT EXPERIENCE. FRIENDS (AND PEOPLE) HAVE ALWAYS ASKED WHY. I HAVE TOLD THEM CONSTANTLY THAT IF THEY WANT QUALITY ASSURANCE THAT THEY ARE BUYING THE BEST LOOKING AND OPERATIONAL AUTO AVAILABLE AND WONT EMPTY THERE WALLET. PERFORMANCE AND MILEAGE HAVE ALWAYS BEEN # 1 ON MY LIST. OWNING CARS AND DRIVING, BUILDING (ENGINES) AND RACING CARS FOR THE PAST 60 YEARS GIVES A PERSON A LITTLE EXPERIENCE.

Pros
STILL THE BEST QUALITY AFTER 30 YEARS OF OWNERSHIP, SINCE THE FIRST EXCEL WE BOUGHT IN 1985

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BA
Benjamin A.
2013 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
rating 0rating 0rating 0rating 0rating 0
04/15/2015
I love it
I have been very happy with my Tucson. It handles well and is giving me good mileage. It is comfortable to drive as well as to be a passenger with. I haul a lots of items for the charity I volunteer with and love the ability to put the seats down with ease.

Pros
Great ease of handling and comfort and good mileage

Cons
The horn could be louder. There are lots of older hard of hearing drivers in this state and the little beep horn just does not get their attention if they start to back up into me in the middle of a crowded parking lot.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RA
ROBERT A.
2013 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
10/22/2015
MY Hyudai Tucson
Great, enjoy driving it every day!!

Pros
fun to drive, I like my stuff on the steering wheel to my touch for convenience.

Cons
back hatch does not lock properly.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AS
Aleyamma S.
2013 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/11/2017
Hyundai Review
Very disappointed

Pros
Exterior design is good and overall style is good.

Cons
No gas mileage period. Hyundai Tucson advertising close to 24 miles average but I am getting 16 miles average. Very poor comfort, and overall performance is very poor, build quality is cheap. Very disappointed with my purchase. Never buy Hyundai again and never recommend to anyone else.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KM
Kim M.
2013 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/04/2018
Tuscon
This is the 3rd huyandai I have bought and the worst I ever had. Electrical issues from the first year and now will not stand behind their product. I have had this vehicle to two of the area dealers at least every couple of months for the same issue. Now it is broken and no warranty. Never asked for a remote start but came with one anyway. I figure I got a vehicle someone didn’t want. JUNK PURE JUNK. Will never buy a huyandai ever again. I will not recommend it and tell friends don’t do it.

Pros
None

Cons
Lemon

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC from Hyundai Motor America responded on 09/05/2018
Allow us to have a further look at your vehicle concerns. A team member will be in touch with you shortly. Thank you. ^cc

JG
Jeffrey G.
2013 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
01/12/2017
Not too impressed but going to keep for long haul
The Tuscan is a good car. Not great. Will keep for the full ten years as that is why I got it. Electronics are below par.

Pros
Nice looking SUV. Is a good care. Not great.

Cons
Electronics are terrible. FM Radio doesn't tune, bumps make it impossible to hear. CD player skips and takes five minutes to start. Blue tooth disconnects often. Wish I looked to see how small a gas tank it has compared to other SUVs. Doesn't have reverse sensors. Too light.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EM
Elaine M.
2013 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
01/22/2018
Love Hyundai but the Tucson...not so much
From a reliability standpoint, I will stick with Hyundai cars. This is the 3rd one I've owned. Previously had Santa Fe, which I LOVED. I find the Tuscon has several blind spots and sight line barriers that create a hazard for me -- I'm 5' tall. Plus, it is much noisier than my Santa Fe was. I would absolutely purchase another Hyundai, but would either go back for a Santa Fe, or scale down a bit to an Elantra. I am not a fan of the Tuscon.

Pros
Love the size and dependability. Interior is very comfortable and I think the design is very attractive. I never worry about mechanical issues when I drive this car.

Cons
no interior thermometer to let me know the outside temperature. Car is noisy. I have a 2013 model. There are wide "posts" at each edge of the windshield that, in my opinion, restrict peripheral vision. Gas mileage is not great.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JP
John P.
2013 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
11/18/2018
2013 Tucson “Limited”
Tucson is a “Limited” doesn’t even have a compass. Bluetooth system has to be re-selected each time the car is started ( pain in the rear). I would think that a vehicle with the top trim level would have remote rear hatch opening and closing.

Pros
Has keys and a heater

Cons
Small, rough ride, lots of road noise. Fred Flintstone would be a proud owner

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KB
Kathleen B.
2013 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
12/12/2018
different headlight
We had no choice but to buy a different vehicle the high-pressure salesman convinces to buy this vehicle it had one new headlight and one dull 1 I wanted the dull one to match the new one they refused I know it's used vehicle but I thought the customer was important to you guys I like a car to look cosmetically okay it is not asking too much that's why I gave you bad view I gave

Pros
All good with one exception

Cons
Discolored headlight high pressure sales people for now on I will use Bartow Ford over you guys for my next vehicle purchase

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
MARGARET B.
2013 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/07/2015
Hyundai 2013 Tucson
Returned car. Did not like the way the car handled the road.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JK
JAMES K.
2013 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
11/07/2015
Tucson
Very Pumpy ride.

Cons
Engine Blew after after 30,000 miles.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LS
Lorrilee S.
2013 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/18/2016
Tuscon
Great as far as maintenance. However way too many blund spots.

Pros
Realibility

Cons
Way too many blindspots

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LH
Laura H.
2013 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/22/2016
Bumpy car ride
Well so far the vehicle has not died on me that's good but it just seems very shaky and a bumpy ride and in this area there's a lot of train tracks and a lot of potholes be nice if the suspension was better

Pros
Pretty color

Cons
Poor suspension bumpy bumpy ride

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Jeni M.
2013 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/15/2016
2013 Tucson
It's a good vehicle and it's been reliable. I have not had any major issues with it, and shouldn't with it's young age. There are little things about it that I wish it had - better technology is a big one. For being the high end model, it lacks some basic upgrades that other cars have on lower end models. There are other vehicle options out there. I have started a list and will shop around more the next time I'm ready to purchase a vehicle.

Pros
sun roof is great
visibility is good, reverse/rear cameral is good

Cons
lack of technology - cannot play music from my iphone. It may sound petty, but it's those little things that add up and make a difference.

There is no way to open the back hatch other than manually - other cars have a button in front or on their key fob. This upgraded model does not. That is disappointing. Again - small things add up and make a difference. I have started a list.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LS
Lorrilee S.
2013 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/18/2016
Tuscon
Have no issues with dependability but this model has too many blind spots.

Pros
Dependability

Cons
Too many blind spots. Door moldings not secure. Steering wheel cover very cheap.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DO
Daniel O.
2013 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/24/2016
Tucson-2013
Gas mileage has never been better than 24 mpg which for the small engine makes no sense. Brakes tend to accumulate dust and frequently squeak because of it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DW
Donda W.
2013 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
01/24/2017
Blue Tucson Limited AwD
Ok after 4 yes of ownership it doesn't get great gas a mileage . The engine is noisy and is under powered. Seats too narrow and need better controls. Backup camera and navigation pod has electronic issues. Overall it's overpriced for the quality.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FP
Florence P.
2013 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
03/07/2017
My Tucson
I wish I had known it wasn't AWD...I would have bought a Santa Fe!!! L

Pros
Heated seats

Cons
Not AWD...

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SA
Susanna A.
2013 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/01/2017
Tucson is a good car for the money
The car is good I feel the movement of brakes when I go over a bump And would like to get better gas mileage,but probably need a hybrid for that! I also have trouble with the seat because they hit the back of my legs in the wrong spot. First car I've ever had with that experience

Pros
Nice size
Good features

Cons
Seats uncomfortable
Lightweight

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
Richard M.
2013 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/24/2017
Style and Interior better than most in the same price class
So far the only major complaint is the vehicle is underpowered. It drives just fine on mor or less level roads and handle small hills as well. But get into any mountainous areas and the small engine really has to huff and puff. On a trip to the Blue Ridge Mountain area. the Tucson really had difficulty making the climb at times. We like the vehicle but will need to look at other makes or Hyundai models, like the Santa Fe with a more powerful engine. Have chosen and driven Santa Fe's when I had to rent and I am impressed with the bigger engine. Also, the Santa Fe drives differently than the Tucson and I like it more. The Santa Fe is bigger but it seems, to me at least, it drives "smaller" I was told the rental agencies do not rent the Sport model with the Turbo and that is unfortunate as you really need to drive a vehicle for 2 to 3 days to really become familiar with the vehicle. Test drives do very little. Still I recommend the Tucson in the class of vehicle it finds itself.

Pros
driver's electric adjustable seat
Proximity key
Exterior design
Regular gas, Yes!!
Smooth drive on level roads

Cons
lack of electric adjustable passenger seat
GPS system - horrible voice which sound like an angry and impatient robot.
Radio sound could be improved
automatic tailgate - understand the newer models have this.
UNDER POWERED ENGINE
Would like choice of Xenon headlamps- I would pay extra for that. Safety first
Also safety features such as lane departure and blind spot missing on my Tucson

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 621 in total