2016
Hyundai
Tucson

Overall Rating 4.63/5Overall Rating 4.63/5Overall Rating 4.63/5Overall Rating 4.63/5rating 4.63
4.6
(3105 Reviews)
Latest review 19 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

MS
Margie S.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/28/2019
I am very dissatisy with the transmisson clutch. I do hope my transmisson don't give out on me because I will never by a Hyundai again. I do hope they stop making this type of transmisson clutch still do not understand it. It's not good.
I will be writing the manufactory on this issue about the transmission clutch. I am very unhappy with it. For the city of Chicago winter I purchase all weather tire because the ones on the vehicle in the beginning for snow over 4 feet over snow was not getting and its bad for this type of transmission clutch. Very displease with it. AND THE SALESMAN DIDN'T MENTION IT.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EC
Eugenia C.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/27/2019
Jerking
Well I really like the space it offers, but from the 3rd month of driving this vehicle it has been jerking on occassions, I have mentioned it to dealer several times and have been told it is because of the dual clutch, and I would think it would be smoother drive but the jerking is awful, was in traffic on GW bridge in short stop in go traffic and the car did not react well at all it jerked continuously.

Pros
Roomy, easy on gas

Cons
Continuously jerking

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EM
Elizabeth M.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/27/2019
Good little SUV
I have a 2016 Tucson. I upgraded from a 4-door Elantra. I needed more cargo space as I am a teacher and have to haul half my classroom around each year. I love my Tucson! My only complaint is that it is so low to the ground- more like driving a sedan. This can be a problem for my husband- the first time he got in it he gave himself a concussion (yes, really) when he hit his head on the door trying to get into it! For my next buy I am considering whether to continue with a Hyundai product or go looking for something higher up off the ground.

Pros
fits small people well
good cargo space
reliable

Cons
low to the ground
bluetooth stereo is a spaz- not reliable
a little on the low-tech side

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GC
Gaspar C.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/27/2019
My Tucson
Very good vehicle, very little problems.
Have a small problem when cold throttle responde when cold, maybe is because mine is a turbo and my Suv is a rocket at high speeds and it wants to fly. Overall it is a great machine.

Cons
Have a small problem when cold throttle responde when cold, maybe is because mine is a turbo and my Suv is a rocket at high speeds and it wants to fly.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LN
Lizbeth N.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/26/2019
Tuscon
The interior is nice, the car easy to drive. The instrument cluster is a bit busy but not bad. The engine on the 4 turbo is pleanty strong but I'm disappointed on the transmission on the car. It shifts pretty rough. The car is also a bit noisy

Pros
Interior comfort

Cons
By far, the transmission leaves little to be desired. It's also a bit noisy for a car of thos quality

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JL
John L.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/26/2019
2016 Tuscon; a lease turn in at 36K miles
I purchased this 2106 Tucson several months ago right after it was turned in from a 3 yr lease. It's my first Hundai, and the Tuscon is the perfect size "cross over SUV" for me. The vehicle is fully loaded, and has the 1.6 liter turbo engine which is peppy and economical with fuel - low to mid 20's mpg in mixed city and freeway driving and 31 - 32 mpg on the one 100+ mile round trip I have taken.

Pros
Economical to drive, and gets great gas mileage. It also is quick (the turbo option is well matched to the size of the vehicle), and handles like it's on rails (yes I push through the curves). The interior is well appointed and comfortable and the exterior is "cool" the wide low-profile tires add to appearance as well as handling.

Cons
The engine stumbles slightly when starting from idle on a significant grade, but quickly recovers. I researched this and found it was a common occurrence with like models. The high-end control panel (stereo/navigation, etc.) makes setting and displaying the time a mystery and the manual is of little help - kind of a nit-pick. I'll probably call the dealer and get help.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PS
Paul S.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/26/2019
2016 Tuscon
I have enjoyed the Tuscon from the beginning. It is good on gas and rides well. I also like the space in the cabin as a driver. Good visibility for the driver. Drives well in snow and in wet conditions.

Pros
Good interior space and visibility. Good brakes.
Economical.

Cons
Light in total weight resulting in a slightly bumpier ride. Some road noise inside cabin.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MT
Magda T.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/23/2019
Good car, but some hiccups
The car looks good and is economical. The fact that the windows constantly malfunction (it's only 3 years old, and we've had to repair 3 of the windows) is a problem. Overall, it's a great car under warranty, but beware if it's out of warranty.

Pros
Economical and nice exterior

Cons
Plastic throughout, no air conditioning vents in back, difficult seat belt attachment in rear, and automatic windows regularly malfunction

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
James H.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/17/2019
Tucson Review
Not only does it feel right driving but so far I haven't had any trouble that needed servicing. The gas mileage never ceases to amaze me, I actually got over 40 mpg on the highway and over 30 mpg in city driving but not all the time.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DR
Debra R.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/13/2019
Road noise
I didn’t test drive the vehicle before I purchased. There is too much road noise on the highways. Next time test drive on the highway too.

Visibility when turning left is not good. Have to lean forward a lot to see the lane and curbs.

Need a magnifying mirror on right fro t side of car. Huge blind spot when changing lanes to the right. Even with turning and looking over my right shoulder.

Pros
Price good. Quality of car is good except for the three things I mentioned before.

Cons
Road noise on freeway
Hard to see curbs and lanes when turning, mostly left but sometimes turning right
Need magnifying curved mirror on the right side of car. Huge blind side

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DH
Diana H.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/10/2019
Great year round vehicle
We absolutely love our Tucson. It has a ton of room , all the great features like the backup camera, Bluetooth, satellite radio! We love the AWD and FWD in the New England winters . Great gas mileage, It rides smoothly, drives wonderfully. Comfortable and stylish. You can’t go wrong!

Pros
AWD FWD Gas mileage and Engine brake

Cons
Haven’t found any Cons yet!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DE
Dennis E.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/08/2019
Love it
I love this car. So nice and very roomy and comfortable. Great on gas and seats are so comfortable and your legs never get tired in the seat for long rides. I would recommend this car to anyone! Great buy!

Pros
Comfortable
Roomy
Gas mileage awesome

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EF
Evan F.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/08/2019
Hyundai does not use quality parts and materials.
I will not purchase another Hyundai based on our family experience with two NEW vehicles including the Elantra and a Tucson.

Every time I’ve had an issue with my vehicle the issue has not been fully resolved upon the first visit, or I’m told there is nothing that can be done.

Pros
- Good looking vehicle
- Nice features on loaded models
-

Cons
- cheap paint that chips easily (my paint was chipped within the first three months) and the warranty basically only covers if the paint that’s all the way through.
- cheap parts, I have a faulty speaker/wiring in my dashboard and my audio indicators for my blinkers only work about 50% of the time. The first time they looked into this, I was told by the service manager “your radio needs to be turned up so you can hear it, it comes through your radio.” When I took it in the second time and showed video of it occuring I was told they replaced a speaker but it’s still happening.
- cheap tires
- windshield wipers are terrible quality
- sensors do not work in heavy rain or snow.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
Diego G.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/07/2019
Nice vehicle
Nice car, efficient, with great conditions everywhere you go. Resistant, save you gas per mile, Smart and with a nice design. The space in the back seats is great and give the passengers a comfortable trip.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GM
Georgia M.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/06/2019
2016 Tuscon
This is the second one that I have own and love the car. It is comfortable riding and easy driving. The only thing that I wish it had in is cd player. very good on gas. plenty of room in the backseat and luggage compartment.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KD
Kathlyn D.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/05/2019
Hurrah for the Hyundai Tuscon
The Hyundai Tuscon is great versatile vehicle. Besides the thoughtful design and snazzy appearance my Carribean blue Tuscon has great gas mileage as it takes me on road trips. Around town it is roomy enough for me to pick up friends for outings and also fit small furniture that I grab from garage sales. The back compartment is super easy to clean after I transport plants, soil and even a bicycle. I enjoy my Tuscon every time I use it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MF
Mark F.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/03/2019
Pretty but no go.
As everyone already knows the dual clutch transmission is dangerous. As the saying goes "He who hesitates is lost" , they were referring to the transmission that usually fails when needed. Step on the gas to go from a slow roll nothing happens then the catch up surge pins you to the seat.Surprise! Cars are coming.

Pros
Sharp vehicle. Comfortable and easy to drive.

Cons
Take your life in your hands with the hesitating dual clutch transmission . When you really need to go it won't until it is damn well ready to. Sporting more gray hairs from near missed on the road.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
Russell S.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/03/2019
We love it so much we have two
I always thought it was kind of silly when I saw two of the same vehicles parked in the driveway of someone’s house. After having several Sonatas and then finally a Hyundai Tucson, my husband loved it so much that when he decided to get a new vehicle he bought one just like it. My son is now considering the Santa Fe because we have talked so much about how great Hyundai is.

Pros
We love the all wheel drive, the moonroof and the seating options.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BT
Barbara T.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/02/2019
Great little CRV/SUV
I am really happy with my Tucson SE. For me personally the next Tucson I get i would like to go up 1trim level to the SEL because you get more things on the vehicle with that trim level. I've had this Tucson for three years . I live in one of the mid Atlantic states so our winters can go either way but, so far the Tucson has been good in winter driving. It's a good little SUV to drive. I use it mostly for running errands.

Pros
Love how it drives
Easy to park
Bottle holders in door
Plenty of cup holders
On off for phone on steering wheel easy to use
Good gas mileage for highway driving
Usb ports
Extra outlets

Cons
Front seat curves in to much and is not comfortable for a bigger person on the SE trim level.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SC
Sallie C.
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/02/2019
Overall rating
I have a 2016 Tuscan. I love the vehicle overall. The engine does hesitate a bit on takeoff and the radio speakers could be better. The sound quality is not really good. I would have like to have had an automatic open door in the rear and a compass on the mirror.

Pros
Love the room inside the car. Looks good and maintains well.

Cons
Engine hesitation on take off and radio speakers could be better.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 21 - 40 of 3105 in total